Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 15, 17, 19, 23, 25-26, 28, 31, 37, 44, 46 and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thompson et al (PG Pub. 2020/0315273).
Regarding claims 1 and 23, Thompson et al. teaches an article comprising one or more permeable facing layers (can be construed as 32 and 33) and a body of fibrous absorbing material (can be construed as 34) wherein the body comprises a fibrous lofted nonwoven material and the fibrous absorbing material adjacent to a surface having or producing moisture (such moisture from skin of a body) and at least a portion of fibers of the fibrous lofted nonwoven material have a generally vertical orientation relative to the surface having or producing moisture (Thompson et al. teach the fibers are vertical and thus 90 degrees to the surface having or producing moisture) and the fibers having a generally vertical orientation have a visible general trend forming an angle in the claimed range [Abstract, 0042, claim 8]. The article is capable of absorbing and/or transferring moisture, is permeable and is resilient [0007 and 0053]. The item is wearable or adaptable to be incorporated into a wearable item [Abstract]. Thompson et al. teaches the claimed article comprises of the claimed permeable facing layers and fibrous absorbing material with the claimed construction and arrangement, therefore it is clear the article of Thompson et al. has fluid exchanged within the article by expelling the fluid from the article upon compression and drawing in new fluid upon recovery. This would naturally happen during use also and if compressed given Thompson teaches such a similar article made of such similar materials arranged in such a similar manner made by such a similar process. The fibrous absorbing material has an extended portion that increases open surfaces of the fibrous absorbing material to airflow to provide enhanced evaporation and/or dryness to the touch at the surface to the fibrous absorbing material since Thompson et al. teaches the article is for example a shirt and the extended portion can be considered a sleeve.
Applicant argues the limitation of fluid is exchanged within the article to create a pumping effect which increases air flow is not inherent to Thompson. As set forth in the previous rejection, this would naturally happen during use also and if compressed given Thompson teaches such a similar article made of such similar materials arranged in such a similar manner made by such a similar process. Further, as set forth in MPEP 2112 II, There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Moreover, the limitation of “to create a pumping effect that increases air flow within the article” is inherent to the article of Thompson and further is considered to be intended use. The recitation in the claims that the fluid exchange is “to create e a pumping effect” is merely an intended use. Applicants attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that intended use statements must be evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is the examiner’s position that the intended use recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art and further that the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use. Given that Thompson discloses an article as presently claimed, it is clear that the article of Thompson would be capable of performing the intended use, i.e. creating a pumping effect, presently claimed as required in the above cited portion of the MPEP, and thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 4, the fibers have a generally vertical orientation prior to any compression operation.
Regarding claim 5, the fibrous absorbent material includes hydrophilic fibers [0031].
Regarding claim 7, the article is dry to touch at the surface having or producing moisture before the article has dried (as the outer layers are taught as quick drying) [0040].
Regarding claim 15, the fibrous lofted nonwoven material is carded and lapped material and the lapped material is vertically lapped [0032 and 0037].
Regarding claim 17, Thompson teaches the fibrous lofted nonwoven is air laid [0049].
Regarding claim 19, the article includes one or more moisture wicking facing materials [0135].
Regarding claims 25-26, the fibrous absorbing material wicks moisture in a direction area) [0040]. The evaporation of moisture absorbed by fibrous absorbing material occurs form multiple directions at the extended portion [0040 and 0059; “…the type and/or orientation of the fibers of the one or more fibrous layers may create a capillary effect to pull the moisture away from the surface; one or more of the moisture wicking layers may transfer moisture to the one or more fibrous layers; one or more of the moisture wicking layers may transfer moisture to the one or more fibrous layers and/or may spread the moisture over a larger surface area of the one or more fibrous layers and/or fibers thereof”].
Regarding claim 28, the article is used to adapted to be used with a backpack and the article is positioned at a back contact portion, a side panel, a strap, a waist strap or any combination thereof [0019].
Regarding claim 31, the opposing surface is a rigid shell (can be construed as metallized layer) of protective gear and/or a helmet [0019 and 0048].
Regarding claim 37, the article is adapted to be used in a garment or vest [0019].
Regarding claim 44, the fibrous lofted nonwoven material has a weight in the claimed range [Table 3]. Further, the claimed fibrous lofted nonwoven material weight is taught as a results effective variable to achieve light weightedness and the desired weight to affect properties [0022 and 0024]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one to arrive at the claimed range (which is a wide range) in order to achieve light weightedness and the desired weight to affect properties through routine experimentation and arrive at the claimed weight.
Regarding claim 46, Thompson et al. teach the fibrous lofted nonwoven material that is lapped which would inherently possess the claimed amount of fibers oriented in a generally vertical direction and the lofted nonwoven materials has fibers in the claimed amount in a generally horizontal direction.
Regarding claim 57, the fibrous lofted nonwoven material has a thickness in the claimed range [0069 and 0075].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 35 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson et al (PG Pub. 2020/0315273).
Regarding claim 35, the article is adapted to be used with an article of footwear as socks are taught. As evidenced by PG Pub. 2016/0198797 and 2016/0066648 , socks are footwear. Thompson teaches the article can be footwear and teach articles of clothing and protective gear. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the article as a shoe or boot given the teachings of Thompson and in order to provide protection to the foot that is breathable and provides moisture wicking.
Regarding claim 46, Thompson et al. teach the lofted nonwoven material that is lapped which would inherently possess the claimed amount of fibers oriented in a generally vertical direction and the lofted nonwoven materials has fibers in the claimed amount in a generally horizontal direction. In the alternative, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed amount of horizontal and vertical fibers in order to improve strength, permeability and wicking properties and arrive at the claimed invention.
Art Not Used Relevant
PG Pub. 2004/0180177 teaches an article comprising a fibrous absorbing material with facing layers.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues no citation was pointed to where the limitations of previous claim 10 are taught. Previous claim 10 depended upon claim 1 where 7 was cited and the limitations of claim 10 are clearly delineated and met. Further Figure 1 clearly shows the limitations of claim 10.
Applicant argues the limitation of fluid is exchanged within the article to create a pumping effect which increases air flow is not inherent to Thompson. As set forth in the previous rejection, this would naturally happen during use also and if compressed given Thompson teaches such a similar article made of such similar materials arranged in such a similar manner made by such a similar process. Further, as set forth in MPEP 2112 II, There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Moreover, the limitation of “to create a pumping effect that increases air flow within the article” is inherent to the article of Thompson and further is considered to be intended use. The recitation in the claims that the fluid exchange is “to create e a pumping effect” is merely an intended use. Applicants attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that intended use statements must be evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is the examiner’s position that the intended use recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art and further that the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use. Given that Thompson discloses an article as presently claimed, it is clear that the article of Thompson would be capable of performing the intended use, i.e. creating a pumping effect, presently claimed as required in the above cited portion of the MPEP, and thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
Furthermore, paragraph 0014 of the presents specification teaches “ Air may be exchanged within the material. Fluid, such as air or vapor, may be exchanged within the fibrous absorbing material by expelling the fluid from the fibrous absorbing material upon application of a load or upon compressing the material. New fluid may be drawn in upon recovery of the material to its unstressed or uncompressed state. This may create a pumping effect.”. Therefore, it is abundantly clear Thompson meets the present claim limitations.
Applicant argues no citation is taught for the vertical fiber limitation of claim 4. Claim 4 depends upon claim 1 and claim addresses this limitation with citations.
Applicant argues Thompson does not teach the limitations of claim 7. The article is dry to touch at the surface having or producing moisture before the article has dried (as the outer layers are taught as quick drying) [0040]. Further, the limitation “dry to the touch” is subjective and does not have clear quantitative bounds. What one person considers “dry to the touch” is different form another person. Moreover, given Thompson teaches such a similar article made of such similar materials arranged in such a similar manner made by such a similar process, the claimed property would be inherent to the article of Thompson.
In regard to claim 19, Applicant argues the cited paragraph 0135 does not exist in Thompson. This is taught in 0007 and Abstract and was typo.
Regarding claims 25-26, as set forth “[0040 and 0059; “…the type and/or orientation of the fibers of the one or more fibrous layers may create a capillary effect to pull the moisture away from the surface; one or more of the moisture wicking layers may transfer moisture to the one or more fibrous layers; one or more of the moisture wicking layers may transfer moisture to the one or more fibrous layers and/or may spread the moisture over a larger surface area of the one or more fibrous layers and/or fibers thereof”].”. Further, given Thompson teaches such a similar article made of such similar materials arranged in such a similar manner made by such a similar process, the claimed property would be inherent to the article of Thompson.
Applicant is invited to amend the claims over the cited art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Shawn Mckinnon/Examiner, Art Unit 1789