DETAILED ACTION
The information disclosure statements filed on 2/12/2025, 5/14/2025, and 11/3/2025 have been entered. The preliminary amendment filed on 4/30/2024 has been entered. Claims 1-13 have been cancelled. Claims 14-33 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14, 18, 23, 25, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being anticipated by Ryoo et al. (Ryoo et al. – 2021/0175609; herein after referred as “Ryoo) in view of Yang et al. (Yang et al. – 2019/0319364; herein after referred to as “Yang”).
Regarding claims 14 and 25, Ryoo discloses an antenna apparatus, comprising:
an antenna patch (Ryoo; Figs 1D, 2B, 6A, 7B; par. 0100, 0101 0104; patch antenna pattern 111a, 112a, side radiation pattern 190b which includes 193a, 192b, and 191b);
a capacitor (Ryoo; Figs 1F, 2B, 6A, 7B; par. 0100, 0101 0104, 149; patch antenna pattern 111a, 112a; passive component 350 which may be a capacitor, an inductor, a chip resistor);
a feed line, wherein a first end of the feed line is connected to the antenna patch, and wherein a second end of the feed line is connected in series to the capacitor (Ryoo; Figs 1F, 2B, 7B; par. 0100, 0101 0104, 149; patch antenna pattern 111a, 112a; passive component 350 which may be a capacitor, an inductor, a chip resistor, a feed line 170a, 161a, ground plane 201a, 202a);
a feed point connected to the capacitor; and a ground line, wherein a first end of the ground line is connected to the antenna patch, wherein a second end of the ground line is configured to couple with a ground plane, wherein the antenna patch and the ground plane are spaced apart, and wherein the antenna patch, the feed line, the capacitor, and the ground line are configured to excite operation modes corresponding to three resonances to encompass a frequency band of 698 megahertz (MHz) to 1500 MHz (Ryoo; Figs 1F, 2B, 7B; par. 0090, 0100, 0101 0104, 149; patch antenna pattern 111a, 112a; passive component 350 which may be a capacitor, an inductor, a chip resistor, a feed line 170a, 161a, ground plane 201a, 202a, different operating frequencies 2GHz, 3.5GHz, 5GHz, 6GHz and 28GHz, 39GHz, or 60GGHz).
The claim differs in calling for a different frequency range.
Yang reference is cited as the evidence showing the conventionality of wireless communication system may operates using one or more frequency banks in the range of 300MHz to 300Ghz (Yang; par. 0083).
In view of Yang’s teachings, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the invention to incorporate the frequency bands as specified in the claim in Ryoo’s system. The modification would be well within the skill levels and expectations of an ordinary skill in the art in view of Yang.
Regarding claim 18, see the discussions to claim 1 in view Ryoo/Yang. Further, Ryoo discloses the antenna apparatus of claim 14, further comprising a dielectric block connected to the ground plane, the antenna patch, the feed line, and the ground line (Ryoo; Figs 1F, 2B, 7B; par. 0090, 0100, 0101 0104, 149; patch antenna pattern 111a, 112a; passive component 350 which may be a capacitor, an inductor, a chip resistor, a feed line 170a, 161a, ground plane 201a, 202a, different operating frequencies 2GHz, 3.5GHz, 5GHz, 6GHz and 28GHz, 39GHz, or 60GGHz, dielectric layer 151a , 161a).
Regarding claims 23 and 29, see the discussions to claim 1 in view of Ryoo/Yang. Further, Ryoons discloses the antenna apparatus of claim 14, wherein the feed line and the ground line are spaced apart by a preset second distance (Ryoo; Figs 1F, 2B, 7B; par. 0090, 0100, 0101 0104, 149; patch antenna pattern 111a, 112a; passive component 350 which may be a capacitor, an inductor, a chip resistor, a feed line 170a, 161a, ground plane 201a, 202a, different operating frequencies 2GHz, 3.5GHz, 5GHz, 6GHz and 28GHz, 39GHz, or 60GGHz, dielectric layer 151a , 161a).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-17, 19-22, 24, 26-28, and 30-33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
i. The antenna apparatus of claim 14, wherein the antenna patch comprises:a first horizontal radiating metal patch comprising two ends: a first vertical radiating metal patch; and a second vertical radiating metal patch, wherein the first vertical radiating metal patch and the second vertical radiating metal patch are respectively vertically connected to the two ends of the first horizontal radiating metal patch wherein the first vertical radiating metal patch and the second vertical radiating metal patch extend toward the ground plane, wherein the first end of the feed line and the first end of the ground line are connected to the first horizontal radiating metal patch, and wherein the feed line is disposed between the ground line and the first vertical radiating metal patch (the prior art fails to disclose the vertical radiating patches having the arrangements as recited in claim 15; claims 16-17 depends on claim 15; claim 26 is similar to claim 15 and claim 27-28 depend on claim 26).
ii. The antenna apparatus of claim 18, wherein the antenna patch comprises: a second horizontal radiating metal patch; a third vertical radiating metal patch; and a fourth vertical radiating metal patch, wherein the third vertical radiating metal patch and the fourth vertical radiating metal patch are respectively vertically connected to two ends of the second horizontal radiating metal patch, wherein the second horizontal radiating metal patch, the third vertical radiating metal patch, and the fourth vertical radiating metal patch each are attached to a top face of the dielectric block, wherein the feed line and the ground line are each attached to a side face of the dielectric block that is adjacent to the top face, and wherein the first end of the feed line and the first end of the ground line are each connected to the second horizontal radiating metal patch (the prior art fails to discloses the vertical radiating metal patches having the arrangements as recited in claim 19; claims 20-22 depend claim 19; claim 30 recites similar limitations to claim 19 and claims 31-32 depend on claim 30).
iii. The antenna apparatus of claim 23, wherein the preset second distance ranges from 6.5 millimeters (mm) to 8 mm (the prior art fails to disclose the range of the preset second distance in claim 24; claim 33 recites similar limitations to claim 24).
Conclusion
/THIEN M LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876