DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 8/27/26 has been entered. Claims 1,3-5, and 8-11 are pending in the application. Application’s amendments to the Drawings, Specification, and Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 6/4/26.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/27/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants amended the claims to include a space between the plates.
Examiner asserts the space can be seen between the flanges of Nakamoto and the humidity sensor appears to have plates with spaces in between them.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “similar” in claim 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “similar” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purposes examiner will consider the axial positions of the plates in Nakamoto to be of similar axial positions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8-9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP3006839 to Nakamoto (Nakamoto).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamoto teaches a blower that has an impeller that is rotatable around a rotation axis (5, Figure 3); a bell-mouth (7, Figures 2 and 4) having an inflow port that opens to a first side in an axial direction of the rotation axis, and that is located on the first side of the blower (31, Figure 3); an electric components box that is located on the first side of the bell-mouth (91, Figures 2-6), and that has at least a portion thereof disposed so as to face the inflow port in the axial direction (shown in Figures 2-4), and an air guide including an air guide plate that faces the inflow port in the axial direction (flanges with holes in Figure 5, the vertical attachment flanges for the flanges with holes in Figure 5, and/or 93), and a fixing portion that faces an interior side of the electric components box in a radial direction relative to the rotational axis (shown in Figures 4-5), wherein first and second surfaces of the air guide plate are substantially perpendicular to the axial direction (top and bottom surfaces of the flanges and/or top or bottom surfaces of 93); the first surface of the air guide plate is located closer to a bottom side of the electric components box facing away from the inflow port in the axial direction than a center of the electric components box in the axial direction (bottom and top surfaces as previously cited): and the first surface of the air guide plate is substantially flush with the bottom side of the electric components box (shown in Figure 5 where flanges with holes in Figure 5 and/or 93 appear substantially flush with the bottom surface of 91. It is noted that Applicant appears to be using breadth with the word substantially in especially compared with the disclosure and breadth is being used in the art as well).
Regarding claim 3, Nakamoto teaches a blower that has an impeller that is rotatable around a rotation axis (5, Figure 3); a bell-mouth (7, Figures 2 and 4) having an inflow port that opens to a first side in an axial direction of the rotation axis, and that is located on the first side of the blower (31, Figure 3); an electric components box that is located on the first side of the bell-mouth (91, Figures 2-6), and that has at least a portion thereof disposed so as to face the inflow port in the axial direction (shown in Figures 2-6), and an air guide including a first air guide plate having first and second surfaces that are parallel to the axial direction flanges with holes in Figure 5, the vertical attachment flanges for the flanges with holes in Figure 5, and/or 93), and a first fixing portion, attached to the first air guide plate, that faces an interior side of the electric components box in a radial direction relative to the rotational axis, wherein first and second surfaces of the first air guide plate are substantially perpendicular to an intersecting direction that is orthogonal to both the axial direction and the radial direction; the air guide further includes one or more additional air guide plates disposed at a similar axial position to the first air guide plate and disposed at intervals in the intersecting direction, with a space between first air guide plate and the one or more additional air guide plates being empty of structures such that air can flow between the first air guide plate and the one or more additional air guide plates (flanges with holes in Figure 5 and/or 93 have surfaces that are spaced apart and with nothing in between them. It is additionally noted that 93 appears to have a number of plates that are spaced apart with nothing in between them. The vertical flanges above the flanges with holes in Figure 5 also have nothing in between them).
Regarding claim 4, Nakamoto teaches wherein: the first air guide plate and the one or more additional of air guide plates are separately disposed in the intersecting direction from both ends of the intersecting direction in a portion out of the electric components box that overlaps with the inflow port as seen from the axial direction (shown in Figures 4-5).
Regarding claim 5, Nakamoto teaches wherein: intervals between adjacent air guide plates are the same over an entirety of the axial direction (when only two of the previously identified air guide plates are selected as air guide plates the interval limitation is met).
Regarding claim 8, Nakamoto teaches wherein: the air guide is attached to the electric components box (shown in Figures 2-6).
Regarding claim 9, Nakamoto teaches wherein: the air guide is attached to the bell-mouth (the box is attached to the bell mouth and the air guide plate is attached to the box).
Regarding claim 11, Nakamoto teaches wherein: the bell-mouth has an outflow port that opens to a second side that is opposite to the first side in the axial direction, an inner edge of the outflow port is located on an inside in the radial direction more than an inner edge of the inflow port (interior of 53 is an outflow port, Figure 3), and at least a portion of the electric components box and the air guide overlap with the outflow port as seen from the axial direction (shown in Figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamoto in view of WO2019193755 to Kurihara et al. (Kurihara).
Regarding claim 10, Nakamoto teaches claim 1.
Nakamoto is silent on an outdoor unit.
Kurihara teaches an outdoor unit (Page 3 paragraph 1 of translation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Nakamoto with the teachings of Kurihara to provide an outdoor unit. Doing so would provide structure already likely present in Nakamoto and/or would allow heat to be expelled to the exterior of the conditioned environment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN S ANDERSON II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762