Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 9, 12-14, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 113283971) in view of Lee (US 20150339936).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a page display method comprising:
Displaying a page overlay about a first object on a first media display page, wherein the page overlay covers at least a portion of a region of the first media display page, the page overlay comprises an object display region for displaying the first object and an information display region for displaying first associated information about the first object, and the object display region has a first display size (Page 2, Paragraph 5, displaying a view of at least one object in the first display mode; Page 2, Paragraph 10, the article information of the article object may include at least one of characteristic information of the article object and the first comment information of the object object); and
Changing the object display region of the page overlay from the first display size to a second display size in response to a first operation instruction for the page overlay (Page 2, Paragraph 1, the user needs to click the thumbnail view of the object; Page 2, Paragraph 7, the second display mode may include an enlarged view display mode or thumbnail view display mode of the at least one object object).
While Zhang fails to disclose the following, Lee teaches:
Wherein the first media display page is a video play page, and the object display region is configured to display a picture about the first object (Paragraph 18-19, Picture In Picture (PIP)… a first image received from a first input source on at least one area of the screen, and a second image received from a second input source on a remaining area of the screen; Paragraph 14, a video play function), and
A video on the video play page is a video about the first object (Paragraph 97, The video play function activation/inactivation module 144 may perform the function of selectively inactivating a video play function that is activated on an electronic blackboard screen when an image received from an input source is provided as a background screen; Figures 13 and 14)
Lee and Zhang are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of digital visualization and output. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Lee and play a video on the display associated with an object. Doing so would allow for creating an immersive experience of including a video along with an image of an object.
Apparatus claim 12, system claim 13, and CRM claim 14 correspond to method claim 1. Therefore, claims 12-14 are rejected for the same reasons as used above.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Zhang and Lee teaches the page display method according to claim 1, further comprising:
Replacing the first associated information in the information display region of the page overlay with second associated information, during changing the object display region of the page overlay from the first display size to the second display size (Zhang, Page 6, Paragraph 5, Alternatively, in the item list page, can display at least one thumbnail of the object, and can be associated with the thumbnail view of the object to display object information of the object (e.g., name and price of the object object)).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Zhang and Lee teaches the page display method according to claim 1, wherein the page overlay further comprises a control accommodation region for accommodating at least one page control (Zhang, Page 2, Paragraph 1, user needs to click the thumbnail view of the object object), and the page display method further comprises:
Replacing a first control in the control accommodation region of the page overlay with a second control, during changing the object display region of the page overlay from the first display size to the second display size, wherein the first control is different from the second control (Page 7, Paragraph 2, the transaction control can be a control for displaying the transaction page of the object (e.g., "snatching" button), and the detail control can be a control (e.g., for displaying the detail page of the object; "De-details" buttons). In this way, the user can perform various related operations while browsing the enlarged view of the object, without exiting the enlarged view display mode).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Zhang and Lee teaches the page display method according to claim 1. While the combination as presented previously fails to disclose the following, Lee further teaches:
Wherein if the object display region of the page overlay has the first display size, the object display region displays a portion of an image region of the picture about the first object (Paragraph 19, a first image received from a first input source on at least one area of the screen, and a second image received from a second input source on a remaining area of the screen).
Lee and Zhang are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of digital visualization and output. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Lee and play a video on the display associated with an object. Doing so would allow for effectively visualizing the object based on the size of the display.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Zhang and Lee teaches the page display method according to claim 2, wherein the page overlay further comprises a control accommodation region for accommodating at least one page control (Zhang, Page 2, Paragraph 1, user needs to click the thumbnail view of the object object), and the page display method further comprises:
Replacing a first control in the control accommodation region of the page overlay with a second control, during changing the object display region of the page overlay from the first display size to the second display size, wherein the first control is different from the second control (Zhang, Page 7, Paragraph 2, the transaction control can be a control for displaying the transaction page of the object object (e.g., "snatching" button), and the detail control can be a control (e.g., for displaying the detail page of the object; "De-details" buttons). In this way, the user can perform various related operations while browsing the enlarged view of the object, without exiting the enlarged view display mode).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Zhang and Lee teaches the page display method according to claim 2. While the combination as previously presented fails to disclose the following, Lee further teaches:
Wherein if the object display region of the page overlay has the first display size, the object display region displays a portion of an image region of the picture about the first object (Paragraph 19, a first image received from a first input source on at least one area of the screen, and a second image received from a second input source on a remaining area of the screen).
Lee and Zhang are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of digital visualization and output. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Lee and play a video on the display associated with an object. Doing so would allow for effectively visualizing the object based on the size of the display.
Claims 3, 5-7, 10, 17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Lee as applied to claims 1-2, 4, 9, 12-14, 16 and 19 and further in view of Kim (US 20230325050).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Zhang and Lee teaches the page display method according to claim 2. While the combination fails to disclose the following, Kim teaches:
Wherein the changing the display region of the page overlay from the first display size to the second display size, comprises:
Changing the object display region of the page overlay from the first display size to the second display size (Paragraph 97, The state conversion (first or second state) of the flexible display unit 151, i.e., the size change at the front and rear faces of the mobile terminal);
The replacing the first associated information in the information display region of the page overlay with the second associated information comprises:
Visually replacing the first associated information in the information display region of the page overlay with the second associated information (Paragraph 255, the mobile terminal may output the second application 1912 in a full screen in response to a second signal 1932 for selecting the pop-up window 1960 in which the second application 1912 is output).
Kim and the combination of Zhang and Lee are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of digital visualization and output. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Zhang and Lee to incorporate the teachings of Kim and change the display size and replace the first information with the second associated information. Doing so would allow for creating a responsive application that allows a user to dynamically interact with given information.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Zhang and Lee teaches the page display method according to claim 4. While the combination fails to disclose the following, Kim teaches:
Wherein the replacing the first control in the control accommodation region of the page overlay with the second control, comprises:
Visually replacing the first control in the control accommodation region of the page overlay with the second control (Paragraph 255, the mobile terminal may output the second application 1912 in a full screen in response to a second signal 1932 for selecting the pop-up window 1960 in which the second application 1912 is output).
Kim and the combination of Zhang and Lee are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of digital visualization and output. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Zhang and Lee to incorporate the teachings of Kim and replace the first information with the second associated information. Doing so would allow for creating a responsive application that allows a user to dynamically interact with given information.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Zhang, Lee and Kim teaches the page display method according to claim 3, wherein the first display size is smaller than the second display size (Zhang, Page 2, Paragraph 7, the second display mode may include an enlarged view display mode).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Zhang, Lee, and Kim teaches the page display method according to claim 6. While the combination as previously presented fails to disclose the following, Kim further teaches:
Wherein the page overlay completely covers the first media display page if the object display region of the page overlay has the second display size (Paragraph 255, the mobile terminal may output the second application 1912 in a full screen in response to a second signal 1932 for selecting the pop-up window 1960 in which the second application 1912 is output).
Kim and the combination of Zhang and Lee are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of digital visualization and output. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Zhang and Lee to incorporate the teachings of Kim and completely cover the first media display with the second display. Doing so would allow for creating a responsive application that allows a user to fully visualize the selected information.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Zhang and Lee teaches the page display method according to claim 9. While the combination fails to disclose the following, Kim teaches:
Wherein if the object display region of the page overlay has the second display size, the object display region displays all the image region of the picture about the first object (Paragraph 255, the mobile terminal may output the second application 1912 in a full screen in response to a second signal 1932 for selecting the pop-up window 1960 in which the second application 1912 is output).
Kim and the combination of Zhang and Lee are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of digital visualization and output. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Zhang and Lee to incorporate the teachings of Kim and display the whole image is the overlay has the second size. Doing so would allow for creating a responsive application that allows a user to fully visualize the selected information.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Zhang, Lee, and Kim teaches the page display method according to claim 3, wherein the page overlay further comprises a control accommodation region for accommodating at least one page control (Zhang, Page 2, Paragraph 1, user needs to click the thumbnail view of the object object), and the page display method further comprises:
Replacing a first control in the control accommodation region of the page overlay with a second control, during changing the object display region of the page overlay from the first display size to the second display size, wherein the first control is different from the second control (Zhang, Page 7, Paragraph 2, the transaction control can be a control for displaying the transaction page of the object object (e.g., "snatching" button), and the detail control can be a control (e.g., for displaying the detail page of the object; "De-details" buttons). In this way, the user can perform various related operations while browsing the enlarged view of the object, without exiting the enlarged view display mode).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Zhang, Kim, and Lee teaches the page display method according to claim 3. While the combination as presented previously fails to disclose the following, Lee further teaches:
Wherein if the object display region of the page overlay has the first display size, the object display region displays a portion of an image region of the picture about the first object (Paragraph 19, a first image received from a first input source on at least one area of the screen, and a second image received from a second input source on a remaining area of the screen).
Lee and the combination of Zhang and Kim are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of digital visualization and output. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Zhang and Kim to incorporate the teachings of Lee and play a video on the display associated with an object. Doing so would allow for effectively visualizing the object based on the size of the display.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Lee as applied to claims 1-2, 4, 9, 12-14, 16 and 19 and further in view of Christoph (US 20220342517).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Zhang and Lee teaches the page display method according to claim 1. While the combination fails to disclose the following, Christoph teaches:
Wherein the first associated information comprises first sub-associated information (Paragraph 2, a first portion of a data table from a data store, wherein the first portion of the data table is a subset of the data table);
If the object display region of the page overlay has the first display size, the information display region displays a part of the first sub-associated information (Paragraph 33, The portion of the data table may be determined based on one or more factors, such as the display size); and
If the object display region of the page overlay has the second display size, the information display region displays all the first sub-associated information (Paragraph 33, The portion of the data table may be determined based on one or more factors, such as the display size; Paragraph 29, The selection of the first user interface element 354A indicates that all of the data items in the database table should be selected by the select all operation). Note: Christoph teaches that the size of the display may determine how much data is selected and there is an ability to select (and subsequently display) all the data.
Christoph and the combination of Zhang and Lee are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of digital visualization and output. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Zhang and Lee to incorporate the teachings of Christoph and select how much data to display based on the display size. Doing so would allow dynamically visualizing the desired information while factoring in how much information can be visually depicted based on the screen size.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Lee teaches the limitations of previously claimed 8 (amended claim 1) as seen in figures 13 and 14 of Lee. Figure 13 of Lee explicitly depicts a video playback section that partially covers the screen and indicates an image in the video playback section. When the user clicks “PLAY VIDEO,” a video related to the image begins to play in the same video playback section. Therefore, Lee teaches the newly amended limitations of claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SNIGDHA SINHA/Examiner, Art Unit 2619
/JASON CHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2619