DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of the species of the CTSS gene in the reply filed on 31 August 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Status
3. Claims 1-12 are pending and have been examined herein to the extent that the claims read on the elected species of the CTSS gene. The claims encompass the non-elected subject matter of the additionally recited genes (i.e., the genes other than the CTSS gene) and combinations of genes. Prior to the allowance of claims, any non-elected subject matter which has not been rejoined with the elected subject matter will be required to be removed from the claims.
Improper Markush Grouping Rejection
4. Claims 1-12 are rejected on the basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). A Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives defined by the Markush group (i.e., alternatives from which a selection is to be made in the context of a combination or process, or alternative chemical compounds as a whole) share a “single structural similarity” and a common use. A Markush grouping meets these requirements in two situations. First, a Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives are all members of the same recognized physical or chemical class or the same art-recognized class and are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent and have a common use. Second, where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the alternatives do not belong to a recognized class as set forth above, the members of the Markush grouping may be considered to share a “single structural similarity” and common use where the alternatives share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. See MPEP § 2117.
The Markush groupings of the SLC11A1, CCBL2, LILRB2, LILRB4, LAIR1, CTSS, CTSW, B2M, HAUS1, MS4A4A, FCGR2B, LYZ, and GNPTAB genes and combinations thereof are improper because the alternatives defined by the Markush grouping do not share both a single structural similarity and a common use for the following reasons:
It is first noted that MPEP 2117 states that “A Markush claim may be rejected under judicially approved "improper Markush grouping" principles when the claim contains an improper grouping of alternatively useable members. A Markush claim contains an "improper Markush grouping" if either: (1) the members of the Markush group do not share a "single structural similarity" or (2) the members do not share a common use. Supplementary Guidelines at 7166 (citing In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22, 206 USPQ 300, 305 (CCPA 1980)).“ Members of a Markush group share a “single structural similarity” when they belong to the same recognized physical or chemical class or to the same art-recognized class (prong 1) and the members of a Markush group share a common function or use when they are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent (prong 2).
The phrase “significant structural element is shared by all of the alternatives” refers to cases where the compounds share a common chemical structure which occupies a large portion of their structures, or in case the compounds have in common only a small portion of their structures, the commonly shared structure constitutes a structurally distinctive portion in view of existing prior art, and the common structure is essential to the common property or activity.
A recognized physical class, a recognized chemical class, or an art-recognized class is a class wherein “A recognized physical class, a recognized chemical class, or an art-recognized class is a class wherein there is an expectation from the knowledge in the art that members of the class will behave in the same way in the context of the claimed invention. In other words, each member could be substituted one for the other, with the expectation that the same intended result would be achieved.” (see MPEP 2117IIA).
Herein, the recited alternative species do not share a single structural similarity, as each gene has a different chemical structure in that it consists of a different nucleotide sequence. The only structural similarity present is that all of the genes comprise nucleotides. The fact that the genes comprise nucleotides per se does not support a conclusion that they have a common single structural similarity because the structure of comprising nucleotides alone is not essential to the asserted common activity of being a tumor immune microenvironment (TIME) gene that is associated with sensitivity to an immune checkpoint blockade (ICB) therapy. Accordingly, while the different genes are asserted to have the property of being a TIME gene whose presence, or the presence of a SNP therein, is associated with sensitivity to an ICB therapy, they do not share a substantial structural similarity essential to this activity.
Further, the recited genes do not belong to a chemical or art-recognized class because there is no expectation from the knowledge in the prior art that the genes behave in the same manner and can be substituted for one another with the same intended result achieved. There is no evidence of record to establish that it is clear from their very nature that the recited genes possess the common property of being a TIME gene, whose presence or the presence of a SNP therein, is correlated with sensitivity to ICB therapy.
Following this analysis, the claims are rejected as containing an improper Markush grouping.
To overcome this rejection, Applicant may set forth each alternative (or grouping of patentably indistinct alternatives) within an improper Markush grouping in a series of independent or dependent claims and/or present convincing arguments that the group members recited in the alternative within a single claim in fact share a single structural similarity as well as a common use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) - Indefiniteness
Claims 2 and 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 is indefinite over the recitation that the TIME gene comprises a SNP. It is unclear as to whether the claim intends to require that the TIME gene in the subject comprises a SNP or if the inhibitor of the TIME gene is directed to a TIME gene that contains a SNP, or if it is a property of the TIME gene that it can harbor a SNP. In the first instance, it is unclear as to the criteria for ascertaining that a subject has a SNP in a TIME since the claim does not require that a sample from the subject is assayed for or has been assayed for the presence of a SNP in the TIME gene (i.e., the CTSS gene).
Claims 5 and 10 are indefinite over the recitation that the “solid tumor cancer” is follicular lymphoma. Follicular lymphoma is generally considered to be a hematological / blood cancer. Accordingly, it is unclear as to what is meant by the solid tumor being a follicular lymphoma.
Claims 6-12 are indefinite. The claims are drawn to a “method of treating a solid tumor cancer in a subject by detecting a germline tumor immune microenvironment-single nucleotide polymorphism (TIME-SNP) of a TIME gene in a subject.” However, the claims do not recite a step of detecting a germline SNP in the TIME gene, and particularly the CTSS gene. It is not clear as to whether the claims require only performing only the administering steps in (a) and (b) or the claims somehow are intended to require detecting a TIME-SNP. In the latter instance, it is not clear as to how the steps of the claim (i.e., the two administering steps) accomplish the objective required by the preamble of the claims of detecting a TIME-SNP. Accordingly, the metes and bounds of the claims are not clear.
Claim 8 is indefinite over the recitation of “the TIME gene is relevant to the solid tumor cancer.” This phrase is not clearly defined in the specification or the claims and there is no art recognized definition for this phrase. In the context of the claim, it is unclear as to what is meant by a gene being relevant to a solid tumor. For example, it is unclear as to whether this means only that the gene is present in the solid tumor and/or if this means that the gene is expressed in the solid tumor and/or if this means that the gene causes the solid tumor and/or if this means that the gene may include a polymorphism that may cause the tumor to be insensitive to a therapeutic treatment, etc. Accordingly, the metes and bounds of the claims are not clear.
Priority
5. The present claims are entitled to the filing date of International Application PCT/US2022/48508, filed 11/01/2022. It is noted that a claim as a whole is assigned an effective filing date rather than the subject matter within a claim being assigned individual effective filing dates. U.S. Application 63/274,672, filed 11/02/2021 does not provide support for each of the embodiments in independent claims 1 and 6 and each of the embodiments in the dependent claim. For example, the ‘672 application does not teach methods that administer to a subject with a solid tumor an inhibitor of any one of the SLC11A1, CCBL2, LILRB2, LILRB4, LAIR1, CTSS, CTSW, B2M, HAUS1, MS4A4A, FCGR2B, LYZ, and GNPTAB TIME genes, particularly wherein it is not known if the subject has a mutation or SNP in any one of the TIME genes or wherein it is inherently known, without performing any type of assay, that the subject has any SNP in the TIME gene. The ‘672 application does not appear to teach the method of claim 8 wherein the TIME gene is, in any manner, “relevant to the solid tumor cancer”; the method of claim 11 wherein the inhibitor of the TIME gene and the ICB treatment are administered simultaneously; or the method of claim 12, wherein the inhibitor of the TIME gene is administered prior to the ICB treatment.
If Applicant asserts that the present claims are entitled to priority to the provisional applications, Applicant should point to specific teachings (e.g., by page and line number) in the priority applications to establish priority for each of the recitations set forth in the claims.
See MPEP 2163 II at “(b) New Claims, Amended Claims, or Claims Asserting Entitlement to the Benefit of an Earlier Priority Date or Filing Date under 35 U.S.C. 119, 120, 365, or 386” states “To comply with the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, or to be entitled to an earlier priority date or filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119, 120, 365, or 386, each claim limitation must be expressly, implicitly, or inherently supported in the originally filed disclosure.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oricchio (WO 2021191412).
Claims 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Oricchio (WO 2021191412).
Oricchio teaches a method of treating cancer comprising administering an inhibitor of Cathepsin S to a subject having cancer, and particularly subjects having follicular lymphoma or having a solid tumor (see, e.g., p. 3 line 15 to p. 4 line 16; p. 32, lines 17-24; p. 34, lines 28-31).
Oricchio (p. 3, line 15 to 30) states:
“The present invention is based on the unexpected findings that patients with aggressive and indolent lymphomas (5%) over-expressed cathepsin S and follicular lymphoma patients harbor a recurrent hot-spot mutation targeting tyrosine 132 (Y132D) that enhances cathepsin S activity. Further, it was found that cathepsin S (( 7 XV) regulates antigen processing and CD4+ and CD8+ T-cell mediated immune responses. Importantly, loss of cathepsin S reduced tumor growth by limiting the communication with CD4+ T follicular helper cells while inducing antigen diversification and activation of CD8+ T-cells. Further, it was found that mutated Cathepsin S is overactivated and this mutation induces the uncontrolled proliferation of the B due to the continuous expression of the antigen on the MHC II. Therefore, since cathepsin S mutation and over-expression accelerate tumorigenesis in animal models of lymphoma, cathepsin S is a promising therapeutic target to turn a pro-tumorigenic into a tumor suppressive microenvironment by altering the antigen repertoire of tumor cells.”
Regarding the preamble of the claims, as set forth in MPEP 2111.02 II: “If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.” Herein, the preamble language that the method is one “of improving sensitivity to immune checkpoint blockade (ICB)” is a statement of purpose and intended result and does not result in a manipulative difference in the method steps of the claims. Accordingly, the process steps are able to stand alone and the preamble limitation is not considered to materially distinguish the claimed method over the prior art.
Further, the final recitation of “thereby improving sensitivity to ICB in the subject with a solid tumor cancer” indicates only an inherent property of the administering step. Since the method of Oricchio is one that administers an inhibitor of the TIME gene of the CTSS gene, the method of Oricchio also necessarily results in “improving sensitivity to ICB in the subject with a solid tumor cancer.”
Regarding claim 2, in the absence of evidence to the contrary, the CTSS inhibitors disclosed by Oricchio would have the property of being able to inhibit CTSS genes having SNPs, including SNPs that do not alter the function of CTSS since Oricchio teaches the ability of the CTSS inhibitors to inhibit cancer metastasis in which CTSS is expressed, including cancers in which there is a higher level of expression of CTSS ( e.g., p. 3, lines 15-30).
Regarding claims 3 and 7, as discussed above, Oricchio teaches that the inhibitor administered to the cancer patient is an inhibitor of the CTSS gene.
Regarding claims 4 and 9, as discussed above, Oricchio teaches that the cancer is a solid tumor cancer such as breast cancer or a follicular cancer (e.g. p. 34, lines 20-24 and 28-29).
Regarding claims 5 and 10, Oricchio teaches that the cancer is follicular lymphoma (p. 34, lines 28-29).
Regarding claims 6-12, Oricchio teaches “According to one aspect, compounds of the invention are to be administered in further combination with at least one therapeutic strategy useful in the prevention and/or treatment of a cancer, in particular an anti-cancer immunotherapy such as ACT therapy or immune checkpoint blockade therapy” (p. 30, lines 16-20). The reference also states “Cathepsin inhibitors of the invention can be administered in humans alone or in combination with immune modulators (e.g. anti-PDI, anti-PDLI, anti-CTLA4)” (p. 30, lines 4-5); and “The invention provides Cathepsin inhibitors for use in the prevention and/or treatment of a cancer, when used in combination with immunotherapy” (p. 31, lines 12-13).
Accordingly, Oricchio teaches a method comprising administering an inhibitor of CTSS / Cathepsin S to a subject having a solid tumor, including a follicular lymphoma and administering an immune checkpoint blockade treatment, such as an anti-PDI, anti-PDLI, anti-CTLA4 treatment, to the subject, thereby treating the solid tumor in the subject.
Regarding the recitation in the preamble of the claims of “treating a solid tumor cancer in a subject by detecting a germline tumor immune microenvironment-single nucleotide polymorphism (TIME-SNP) of a TIME gene in a subject,” it is noted that this is only an intended purpose of the method and is not a step within the method. The recitation in the preamble of the claims does not relate to the administering steps of the claims. Accordingly, the recitation of the intended use of the method does not materially distinguish the claimed method over that of Oricchio.
Regarding claim 8, Oricchio teaches that the CTSS gene is relevant to cancer. For instance, Oricchio (p. 3, line 15 to 30; p. 35, line 19 to p.36, line 9). teaches that mutations in Cathepsin S and over-expression of Cathepsin S accelerate tumorigenesis.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Oricchio (p. 31, lines 1-4) teaches “The invention encompasses the administration of a compound of the invention or a formulation thereof wherein it is administered to a subject prior to, simultaneously or sequentially with other therapeutic regimens or co-agents useful for preventing, treating, and/or stabilizing a cancer such as anti-cancer treatments.” Accordingly, Oricchio teaches administering the Cathepsin S inhibitor prior to or simultaneously with the immune checkpoint blockade treatment.
7. Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sevenich (U.S. 20160138113).
Sevenich teaches a method of treating cancer comprising administering an inhibitor of CTSS to a subject having cancer, including solid tumor cancers and particularly breast cancer (see, e.g., para [0027-0030]; and claims 7-10), as well as blood cancers (e.g., para [0059]). For example, para ]0030] of the reference states:
“Another aspect of the present disclosure is directed to a method of treating, preventing or managing cancer cell metastasis in a cancer patient, comprising: extracting a sample from the primary tumor, metastatic tumor, or blood of the cancer patient; assaying the sample to determine the expression of cathepsin S and/or PSMB6 genes in said sample; and administering a cathepsin S inhibitor if the expression of cathepsin S and/or PSMB6 genes is increased over control.”
Regarding the preamble of the claims, as set forth in MPEP 2111.02 II: “If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.” Herein, the preamble language that the method is one “of improving sensitivity to immune checkpoint blockade (ICB)” is a statement of purpose and intended result and does not result in a manipulative difference in the method steps of the claims. Accordingly, the process steps are able to stand alone and the preamble limitation is not considered to materially distinguish the claimed method over the prior art.
Further, the final recitation of “thereby improving sensitivity to ICB in the subject with a solid tumor cancer” indicates only an inherent property of the administering step. Since the method of Sevenich is one that administers an inhibitor of the TIME gene of the CTSS gene, the method of Sevenich also necessarily results in “improving sensitivity to ICB in the subject with a solid tumor cancer.”
Regarding claim 2, in the absence of evidence to the contrary, the CTSS inhibitors disclosed by Sevenich would have the property of being able to inhibit CTSS genes having SNPs, including SNPs that do not alter the function of CTSS since Sevenich teaches the ability of the CTSS inhibitors to inhibit cancer metastasis in which CTSS is expressed, including cancers in which there is a higher level of expression of CTSS ( e.g., para [0027-0029] and claims 7-10 therein).
Regarding claim 3, as discussed above, Sevenich teaches that the inhibitor administered to the cancer patient is an inhibitor of the CTSS / Cathepsin S gene.
Regarding claim 4, as discussed above, Sevenich teaches that the cancer is a solid tumor such as breast cancer (see, e.g., para [0027-0030]; and claims 7-10 therein).
8. Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by EP4137503A1 (no designated inventor; Application filed by École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, filed 08-20-2021).
EP4137503A1 teaches a method of treating cancer comprising administering an inhibitor of CTSS to a subject having cancer, including solid tumor cancers and particularly breast cancer (see, e.g., claims 1, 2, 14 and 15; para [0005], [0084-0085], [0097-0099] and [0101]). The reference (para [0099]) states:
“The inhibition of tumor-associated cathepsins, especially cathepsin S (CatS), has emerged as a novel promising strategy in cancer immunotherapy. CatS is prominently expressed in tumor associated M2-type macrophages (TAM), dendritic cells (DC), and myeloid-derived suppressor cells (MDSC) of the TME (Fuchs et al. (2020), Cells; 9(9):2021). The expression "immunotherapy" includes strategies used to activate effector immune cells to increase the efficacy of the patient's own immune response against cancer cells.”
Regarding the preamble of the claims, as set forth in MPEP 2111.02 II: “If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.” Herein, the preamble language that the method is one “of improving sensitivity to immune checkpoint blockade (ICB)” is a statement of purpose and intended result and does not result in a manipulative difference in the method steps of the claims. Accordingly, the process steps are able to stand alone and the preamble limitation is not considered to materially distinguish the claimed method over the prior art.
Further, the final recitation of “thereby improving sensitivity to ICB in the subject with a solid tumor cancer” indicates only an inherent property of the administering step. Since the method of EP4137503A1 is one that administers an inhibitor of the TIME gene of the CTSS gene, the method of EP4137503A1 also necessarily results in “improving sensitivity to ICB in the subject with a solid tumor cancer.”
Regarding claim 2, the reference (para [0134-0135]) teaches:
“It was recently reported that 5.7% of lymphoma patients harbour a specific gain of function mutation changing the tyrosine 132 in aspartate (Y132D) or asparagine (Y132N). Hence, it was checked whether the cathepsin inhibitor that was identified in the screen (C10) is also effective on the mutated form of CTSS. This was measured through a FRET assay in which the inhibitor was incubated with CTSS Y132D. It was observed that C10 reduces the activity of CTSS Y132D of more than 50% when tested at 50 nM, and this inhibition efficiency grows to more than 90% at 500 nM ( Figure 3B ).
Overall, these results suggested that C10 is a potent non-natural peptide inhibitor of both the wild-type and the mutated forms of CTSS.”
Accordingly, the reference teaches that the inhibitor of the TIME gene / CTSS gene is one that inhibits a TIME / CTSS gene having a SNP / mutation. Note that the claim does not recite any structural features of the “SNP” which would distinguish the unspecified SNP over the mutation in the CTSS gene disclosed by the reference. Alternatively, in the absence of evidence to the contrary, the CTSS inhibitors disclosed by EP4137503A1 are considered to have the property of being able to inhibit CTSS genes having SNPs, including SNPs that do not alter the function of CTSS since EP4137503A1 teaches the ability of the CTSS inhibitors, and particularly C10 to inhibit “both the wild-type and the mutated forms of CTSS” (para [0035]).
Regarding claim 3, as discussed above, EP4137503A1 teaches that the inhibitor administered to the cancer patient is an inhibitor of the CTSS gene.
Regarding claim 4, as discussed above, EP4137503A1 teaches that the cancer is a solid tumor such as breast cancer ((see, e.g., claims 1, 2, 14 and 15; para [0005], [0084-0085], [0097-0099] and [0101]).
9. Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pagadala et al. (BioRxiv, 15 April 2021, p. 1-59; cited in the IDS of 08/29/2024).
Pagadala (p. 24) teaches:
“we treated mice implanted with MC38 tumors with a CTSS small molecule inhibitor. Mice treated with CTSS inhibitor had slowed tumor growth and better survival compared to control mice (Figure 6G, 6H). We also evaluated the interaction of CTSS inhibitor treatment with anti-PD-1. Mice treated with CTSS inhibitor or anti-PD-1 monotherapy had significantly decreased tumor growth and better survival compared to
control mice. Additionally, tumor growth was further decreased in mice treated with the combination of anti-PD 1 and CTSS inhibitor as compared to mice treated with anti-PD-1 or CTSS inhibitor alone.”
Note that the mice implanted with MC38 tumors – i.e., a colon cancer – are a subject having a solid tumor cancer.
Pagadala (p. 26) also states “While several studies suggest that CTSS may have immune suppressive roles in follicular lymphoma78–80, this is the first time to the best of our knowledge that inhibition of this gene was shown to relieve immune suppression in solid tumors.”
Accordingly Pagadala teaches a method comprising: administering to a subject with a solid tumor cancer an inhibitor of a TIME gene, wherein the TIME gene is CTSS.
Regarding the preamble of the claims, as set forth in MPEP 2111.02 II: “If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.” Herein, the preamble language that the method is one “of improving sensitivity to immune checkpoint blockade (ICB)” is a statement of purpose and intended result and does not result in a manipulative difference in the method steps of the claims. Accordingly, the process steps are able to stand alone and the preamble limitation is not considered to materially distinguish the claimed method over the prior art.
Further, the final recitation of “thereby improving sensitivity to ICB in the subject with a solid tumor cancer” indicates only an inherent property of the administering step. Since the method of Pagadala is one that administers an inhibitor of the CTSS gene, the method of Pagadala also necessarily results in “improving sensitivity to ICB in the subject with a solid tumor cancer.”
Alternatively, as set forth above, Pagadala teaches that administering the CTSS inhibitor improves sensitivity of the subject to the treatment with the ICB.
Regarding claim 2, the CTSS gene is a TIME gene that can harbor a SNP. For instance, Pagadala (p. 13, first para) states “The CTSS variant, rs2305814, was associated with cancer risk and ICB response.”
Regarding claim 3, as set forth above, Pagadala teaches that the TIME gene is CTSS.
Regarding claim 4, as discussed above, the subject has a colon cancer (e.g., p. 4).
Regarding claims 6-9, Pagadala teaches methods comprising administering to the subjects having the solid tumor cancer (i.e., mice implanted with the colon cancer MC38 tumor) anti-CTSs and anti-PD-1 (an immune checkpoint blockade inhibitor; e.g., p. 24, second para); p. 26, first para and Figure 6).
Regarding the recitation in the preamble of the claims of “treating a solid tumor cancer in a subject by detecting a germline tumor immune microenvironment-single nucleotide polymorphism (TIME-SNP) of a TIME gene in a subject,” it is noted that this is only an intended purpose of the method and is not a step within the method. The recitation in the preamble of the claims does not relate to the administering steps of the claims. Accordingly, the recitation of the intended use of the method does not materially distinguish the claimed method over that of Pagadala.
Regarding claim 8, Pagadala teaches that the CTSS gene is relevant to cancer. For instance, Pagadala (p. 2) characterizes the CTSS gene as “a gene implicated by cancer risk and immunotherapy response-associated TIME-SNPs.” It is further stated that “Increased CTSS expression has been linked to tumor progression in follicular lymphoma due to decreased CD8+ T cell recruitment” (p. 23 final para to p. 24 first para). The reference also states “At a strict FDR threshold (FDR < 0.05), 57 TIME-SNPs were associated with cancer risk, 28 of which were associated with genes critical for antigen presentation, such as CTSS, ERAP1, CTSW, ERAP2 and MHC Class I and II genes” (p. 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP4137503A1 (no designated inventor; Application filed by École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, filed 08-20-2021).
The teachings of EP4137503A1 are presented above.
Regarding claim 5, EP4137503A1 teaches administering the CTSS inhibitor to subjects having cancer, including several solid cancers such as “breast cancer, ovarian cancer, endometrial cancer, vaginal cancer, vulva cancer, bladder cancer, salivary gland cancer, pancreatic cancer, thyroid cancer, kidney cancer, lung cancer, cancer concerning the upper gastrointestinal tract, colon cancer, colorectal cancer, prostate cancer, squamous-cell carcinoma of the head and neck, cervical cancer, glioblastomas” (para [0101]), and lymphomas (para [0101]). EP4137503A1 does not specifically teach administering the CTSS inhibitor to a subject having a follicular lymphoma.
However, EP4137503A1 (para [0005]) states:
“Dheilly et al. (2020), Cancer Cell, doi: 10.1016/j.ccell.2020.03.016 analyzed genomic data from several cohorts of follicular lymphoma (FL) patients and observed that 5.7% of FL patients harbor Y132D hot-spot mutation of cathepsin S. They demonstrated that somatic alteration Y132D is a gain-of-function mutation that enhances the protein activity. It was observed that cathepsin proteins are also overexpressed in several tumor types and furthermore shown that cathepsin S mutation and over-expression accelerate tumorigenesis in animal models of lymphoma. Next, the genetic knock-out of cathepsin S demonstrated that loss of its activity reduces tumorigenesis and improves response to immunotherapies in pre-clinical studies.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have specifically applied the method of EP4137503A1 to subjects having follicular lymphoma. One would have been motivated to have done so because EP4137503A1 teaches that administration of a CTSS inhibitor to follicular lymphoma subjects having a somatic Y132D gain of function mutation showed a reduction in tumorigenesis and improved response to immunotherapies.
11. Claims 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Sevenich (U.S. 20160138113) in view of Dheilly et al (Cancer Cell. 11 May 2020. 37: 674-689; cited in the IDS of 08/29/2024).
The teachings of Sevenich are presented above.
In particular, Sevenich teaches a method of treating cancer comprising administering an inhibitor of CTSS to a subject having cancer (see, e.g., para [0027-0030]; and claims 7-10). Sevenich teaches that the inhibitor of CTSS is administered to those cancer patients who overexpress CTSS, as compared to a control sample (e.g., para [0030]).
Sevenich does not teach that the cancer is a follicular lymphoma.
Dheilly teaches that CTSS was most frequently mutated in follicular lymphomas (FLs) and that “15 out of 20 cases with mutated CTSS harbored a specific T to G converting tyrosine 132 in aspartate (Y132D, c.394T > G)” (p. 675, col. 1). It is reported that the Y132D mutation leads to overactivity of CTSS (abstract and p. 675, col. 2). Moreover, Dheilly teaches that “CTSS was significantly overexpressed in tumor cells compared with centroblasts and centrocytes (Figure 2G)…. we observed that 40% of FL cases showed intermediate to high level of CTSS protein in 10%–80% of the malignant cells (Figure 2H; Table S4). Overall, CTSS is over-activated by Y132D hotspot mutations and overexpressed in FL and DLBCL, suggesting a specific and selective role of CTSS in lymphoma pathogenesis” (p. 877, col. 1).
In addition, Dheilly (“Summary” at p. 674) states:
“Loss of CTSS activity reduces lymphoma growth by limiting communication with CD4+ T follicular helper cells while inducing antigen diversification and activation of CD8+ T cells. Overall, our results suggest that CTSS inhibition has non-redundant therapeutic potential to enhance anti-tumor immune responses in indolent and aggressive lymphomas.”
In view of the teachings of Dheilly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the method of Sevenich specifically to follicular lymphomas. One would have been motivated to have done so because Dheilly teaches that follicular lymphomas particularly overexpress CTSS and have overactivity of CTSS and are a particular type of cancer that would benefit from treatment with an inhibitor of CTSS.
Regarding claims 6-12, Sevenich does not teach a method that further comprises administering an immune checkpoint blockade (ICB) treatment to the subject.
However, Dheilly (p. 686, col. 1) also analyzed CTSS expression in follicular lymphoma patients treated with anti-PD1 – i.e., an ICB treatment. Dheilly (p. 686, col. 1) reports that:
“treatment with anti-PD1 increased the levels of PDCD1 expression in tumors with low CTSS expression, while PDCD1 expression was reduced in two of three patients with high expression of CTSS (Figures 7F andS7F).These observations suggested that blocking CTSS activity could improve response to anti-PD1 therapy.”
Dheilly further teaches that loss of CTSS in CTSS knock out (KO) cells led to reduced ability of the cells to infiltrate and form liver metastasis (p. 680, col. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Sevenich so as to have administered the CTSS inhibitors disclosed therein to patients having follicular lymphomas and overexpressing CTSS and to have also administered an anti-PD1 inhibitor to the subjects. One would have been motivated to have done so because Dheilly teaches that inhibiting CTSS may improve the response of follicular lymphoma patients to anti-PD1 (i.e., a ICB inhibitor) therapy.
Regarding the recitation in the preamble of the claims of “treating a solid tumor cancer in a subject by detecting a germline tumor immune microenvironment-single nucleotide polymorphism (TIME-SNP) of a TIME gene in a subject,” it is noted that this is only an intended purpose of the method and is not a step within the method. The recitation in the preamble of the claims does not relate to the administering steps of the claims. Accordingly, the recitation of the intended use of the method does not materially distinguish the claimed method over that of Oricchio.
Regarding claim 8, Sevenich is considered to teach that the CTSS gene is relevant to cancer since Sevenich teaches that overexpression of CTSS is correlated with metastasis of cancer.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have administered the CTSS inhibitor in the modified method of Sevenich prior to or simultaneously with the anti-PD1 (ICB inhibitor therapy) since Dheilly teaches that blocking CTSS activity improves response to anti-PD1 therapy and thereby the ordinary artisan would have recognized that the inhibition of CTSS would need to occur first so that anti-PD1 therapy could be more effective.
12. Claims 5 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pagadala et al. (BioRxiv, 15 April 2021, p. 1-59; cited in the IDS of 08/29/2024).
The teachings of Pagadala are presented above.
Regarding claims 5 and 10, Pagadala does not teach administering the CTSS inhibitor, alone or in combination with the anti-PD-1 (ICB treatment) to a subject having a follicular lymphoma.
However, Pagadala teaches that studies have shown that CTSS may have an immune suppressive role in follicular lymphoma (p. 23 “Discussion”). It is also disclosed that “current immunotherapies such as anti-PD-1, anti-PD-L1 and anti-CTLA-4 require high infiltration of lymphocytes of the adaptive immune system for benefit, targets from the innate immune component could potentially serve as an avenue to target immunity in "cold" tumors” (p. 24 final para). Pagadala (abstract p. 2) also states “we found that inhibition of CTSS led to better tumor control and survival in murine models, alone or in combination with anti-PD-1.” This statement suggests that the findings therein are applicable to any type of cancer.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the treatment method of Pagadala to other types of cancers, including follicular lymphoma. One would have been motivated to have done so because Pagadala teaches that CTSS may suppress the immune system in follicular lymphoma and that inhibition of CTSS in general improves survival and response to ICB. Accordingly, such a modification of the method of Pagadala would have the benefit of improving the outcome of patients having follicular lymphoma, particularly when such patients expressed higher levels of CTSS and/or were also administered an ICB treatment.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, while Pagadala teaches administering the combination of the CTSS inhibitor and anti-PD-1 inhibitor to the subjects (e.g., p. 24 and Figure 6H), Pagadala is silent as to the order in which these inhibitors were administered to the subject. Thus, Pagadala does not specifically teach that the CTSS inhibitor and anti-PD-1 inhibitor are administered simultaneously (claim 11) or that the CTSS inhibitor is administered prior to administering the anti-PD-1 inhibitor (i.e., ICB treatment; claim 12).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have performed the method of Pagadala by administering to the subject the CTSS inhibitor prior to or simultaneously with the anti-PD-1 (ICB inhibitor therapy) since Pagadala teaches that inhibiting CTSS activity improved response to ICB / anti-PD-1 therapy (e.g., p. 24). Accordingly, the ordinary artisan would have recognized that the inhibition of CTSS would need to occur first so that anti-PD1 therapy could be more effective.
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang (Molecular Medicine Reports. 2020. 22: 975-985) teaches that MC38 is a murine colon adenocarcinoma cell line (p. 975, col. 1).
/CARLA J MYERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682