DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that “As discussed during the interview, DAVYDOV discloses "[t]o avoid CSI reporting corresponding to such PMIs that are higher interfering than other vectors, a codebook subset restriction can be defined as a parameter in the consideration of beamforming with a bitmap, and utilized by the UE for CSI feedback." DAVYDOV, paragraph 24. However, as discussed during the interview, DAVYDOV does not disclose "receiving, from a base station, a dynamic codebook subset restriction (CBSR) configuration that indicates time-variant CBSR information associated with a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) or synchronization signal block (SSB) resource selection codebook, or with a joint CSI-RS resource and CSI-RS port selection codebook, wherein the time-variant CBSR information indicates limitation patterns of an amplitude of a linear combination coefficient for different time units," as recited in amended claim 1. For at least the foregoing reasons, Applicant submits that amended claim 1 is patentable over DAVYDOV” in pages 13-14.
In response to the applicant’s argument, examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above.
Davydov discloses receiving, from a base station, a dynamic codebook subset restriction (CBSR) configuration that indicates time-variant CBSR information [see para. 24, 50, 88 below;
[0024] CSI can be obtained by the Tx from the Rx: a) from estimation of the uplink channel, and by using channel reciprocity of the wireless channel; and b) from quantized feedback measured by the Rx. The quantized form of CSI feedback can be used for both frequency division duplex (FDD) and time division duplex (TDD) operational systems. Quantized CSI (or referred to as CSI) includes the precoding matrix index (PMI) to assist beamforming or precoding selection at the Tx antennas of the gNB. The set (or group) of possible PMIs is denoted as a codebook. To different possible deployments of the 5G New Radio (NR) system, a codebook is designed and configured to provide reasonable performance in all possible serving directions of the gNB. However, depending on the actual deployment of the gNB, the usage of some PMIs in such codebook should be avoided. For example, considering the interference that may be created to the neighboring cells, some of the PMI vectors result in a higher interference in the downlink channel with respect to other PMIs or PMI vectors. To avoid CSI reporting corresponding to such PMIs that are higher interfering than other vectors, a codebook subset restriction can be defined as a parameter in the consideration of beamforming with a bitmap, and utilized by the UE for CSI feedback.
[0050] However, the UE can be in such a location that the transmission to that location can be harmful for system/network performance. Thus, the base station should help somehow restrict some directions to UE, in which each base station would not transmit to optimize the performance. This indication is called a codebook subset restriction because the codebook is that structure used to indicate a particular precoding matrix. The available precoding matrix can be comprised by a codebook, which can also have multiple precoding matrices available for transmission. Because some of these matrices are not optimal for system performance at a given time some of these are restricted via a codebook subset restriction, indicating the PMI being restricted in a dynamic way.
[0088] In one embodiment, for the purpose of codebook subset restriction the UE 101/102 is configured with a bitmap (e.g., bitmap A) by higher layer signaling. Each bit a.sub.l,m within bitmap A corresponds to 2D DFT vectors v.sub.l,m (eqn. 3). Each PMI within a codebook comprises one or more 2D DFT vectors (see eqns. 1, 2), except the case of rank 3 and rank 4 codebooks for 16, 24, 32 antenna ports at the gNB. If bit a.sub.l, m is set to zero, then PMI that is comprised from v.sub.l, m is restricted for reporting with corresponding indices.
Note that codebook subset restriction inherently indicates time-variant information through its dynamic restriction capabilities. The "time-variant" aspect is explicitly disclosed which states that "some of these matrices are not optimal for system performance at a given time some of these are restricted via a codebook subset restriction, indicating the PMI being restricted in a dynamic way". The use of "at a given time" together with "dynamic" inherently implies temporal variation, namely restrictions that change over time based on system conditions]
associated with a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource selection codebook [see para. 24, 29, 49, 180 below;
[0024] CSI can be obtained by the Tx from the Rx: a) from estimation of the uplink channel, and by using channel reciprocity of the wireless channel; and b) from quantized feedback measured by the Rx. The quantized form of CSI feedback can be used for both frequency division duplex (FDD) and time division duplex (TDD) operational systems. Quantized CSI (or referred to as CSI) includes the precoding matrix index (PMI) to assist beamforming or precoding selection at the Tx antennas of the gNB. The set (or group) of possible PMIs is denoted as a codebook. To different possible deployments of the 5G New Radio (NR) system, a codebook is designed and configured to provide reasonable performance in all possible serving directions of the gNB. However, depending on the actual deployment of the gNB, the usage of some PMIs in such codebook should be avoided. For example, considering the interference that may be created to the neighboring cells, some of the PMI vectors result in a higher interference in the downlink channel with respect to other PMIs or PMI vectors. To avoid CSI reporting corresponding to such PMIs that are higher interfering than other vectors, a codebook subset restriction can be defined as a parameter in the consideration of beamforming with a bitmap, and utilized by the UE for CSI feedback.
[0029] In further aspects, codebook subset restrictions can be configured for hybrid CSI or advanced CSI with respect to MIMO types. For example, signaling of a codebook subset restriction can correspond specifically for a first enhanced MIMO (eMIMO) type and a second eMIMO type. The first eMIMO type can be a Class B full dimensional (FD) MIMO with K greater than 1, or a Class A FD-MIMO, in which K is a number of bitmaps. Each K-th CSI-RS resource with a structure according to a table or a bitmap indicating a DFT beam restriction. Additionally, the second eMIMO type can correspond to a Class B F-MIMO with K being equal to one.
[0049] In aspects, the UEs 101, 102 and RAN 110 with RAN nodes 111, 112 can operate as MIMO devices enabling CSI feedback to be communicated there-between. CSI feedback can be utilized for systems with multiple antennas at the transmitter of the base station, eNB or gNB 111/112 with multiple antennas or multiple antenna ports in order to effectively use the transmission down link channel state information. The UE 101, for example, measures the channel from reference signals from multiple antennas and then compresses/quantizes the information as CSI feedback. The UE 101 then transmits feedback to the base station 111/112, where it derived information from the CSI feedback for generating the transmission by beamforming to focus the power to the UE direction. CSI feedback is comprised of three components: Rank Indicator (RI), Precoder Matrix Indicator (PMI), and Channel Quality Indicator (CQI). In particular, RI indicates the rank of the matrix of the precoder matrix used for transmission; this indicates how many special layers are preferred for transmission, or how many simultaneous data streams the UE 101/102 can process/receive. PMI indicates which particular matrix that the base station should apply for the transmission at the antenna port.
[0180] When UE 101/102/400 is configured with Class B eFD-MIMO with K>1 for the first eMIMO type, the UE can be configured with K bitmaps, where each bitmap corresponds to each k-th CSI-RS resource with structure (e.g. according to Table 9 above, or according to bitmap indicating DFT beam restriction). For both embodiments, the second eMIMO type corresponds to Class B FD-MIMO with K=1 and codebook subset restriction is bitmap, where each bit is associated with PMI of specific rank.
Note that Davydov explicitly discloses CSI-RS resource selection codebooks within its advanced CSI framework. The "channel state information reference signal CSI-RS" aspect is directly disclosed in Davydov, where Davydov specifically discusses "CSI-RS resource" configurations and "each k-th CSI-RS resource" in the context of codebook subset restriction. The "resource selection codebook" aspect is demonstrated by Davydov's disclosure of CSI systems that enable selection among different CSI-RS resources where the UE is "configured with K bitmaps, where each bitmap corresponds to each k-th CSI-RS resource". This represents a resource selection mechanism where different CSI-RS resources can be selected based on the bitmap configuration],
wherein the time-variant CBSR information indicates limitation patterns of an amplitude of a linear combination coefficient for different time units [see para. 150; The first codebook subset restriction corresponds to bitmap restricting combinations of the DFT vectors and wideband amplitude combining coefficients and the second codebook subset restriction corresponds to the bitmap restricting DFT vectors only. The configuration can include a rank restriction, wherein rank restriction is bitmap A, each bit within bitmap A corresponds to a specific value of rank. The rank restriction can be a maximum value of rank available for CSI reporting. Here, the codebook subset restriction can be a bitmap common for the first codebook and the second codebook].
In view of the above response, Davydov discloses all the features of independent claims 1, 15, 16, and 30.
Specification
The specification amendment submitted on 06/10/2026 which amended the abstract has been accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, 13-16, 18-23, and 28-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Davydov et al. (US 2020/0186207 A1, hereinafter “Davydov”).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Davydov discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) [see Fig. 1, para. 49; "CSI feedback can be utilized for systems with multiple antennas at the transmitter of the base station, eNB or gNB 111/112 with multiple antennas or multiple antenna ports in order to effectively use the transmission down link channel state information. The UE 101, for example, measures the channel from reference signals from multiple antennas and then compresses/quantizes the information as CSI feedback. The UE 101 then transmits feedback to the base station 111/112"], comprising:
a memory [see Fig. 4; memory 430]; and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory [see Fig. 4; processor 410 coupled to memory 430], configured to:
receive, from a base station, a dynamic codebook subset restriction (CBSR) configuration that indicates time-variant CBSR information [par. [0024], "depending on the actual deployment of the gNB, the usage of some PMIs in such codebook should be avoided. For example, considering the interference that may be created to the neighboring cells, some of the PMI vectors result in a higher interference in the downlink channel with respect to other PMIs or PMI vectors. To avoid CSI reporting corresponding to such PMIs that are higher interfering than other vectors, a codebook subset restriction can be defined as a parameter in the consideration of beamforming with a bitmap, and utilized by the UE for CSI feedback", par. [0088], "In one embodiment, for the purpose of codebook subset restriction the UE 101/102 is configured with a bitmap (e.g., bitmap A) by higher layer signaling", par. [0050], "the base station should help somehow restrict some directions to UE, in which each base station would not transmit to optimize the performance. This indication is called a codebook subset restriction because the codebook is that structure used to indicate a particular precoding matrix. The available precoding matrix can be comprised by a codebook, which can also have multiple precoding matrices available for transmission. Because some of these matrices are not optimal for system performance at a given time some of these are restricted via a codebook subset restriction, indicating the PMI being restricted in a dynamic way". Note that codebook subset restriction inherently indicates time-variant information through its dynamic restriction capabilities. The "time-variant" aspect is explicitly disclosed which states that "some of these matrices are not optimal for system performance at a given time some of these are restricted via a codebook subset restriction, indicating the PMI being restricted in a dynamic way". The use of "at a given time" together with "dynamic" inherently implies temporal variation, namely restrictions that change over time based on system conditions] associated with a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource selection codebook [par. [0049], "CSI feedback can be utilized for systems with multiple antennas at the transmitter of the base station, eNB or gNB 111/112 with multiple antennas or multiple antenna ports in order to effectively use the transmission down link channel state information", par. [0024], "CSI can be obtained by the Tx from the Rx: a) from estimation of the uplink channel, and by using channel reciprocity of the wireless channel; and b) from quantized feedback measured by the Rx. The quantized form of CSI feedback can be used for both frequency division duplex (FDD) and time division duplex (TDD) operational systems. Quantized CSI (or referred to as CSI) includes the precoding matrix index (PMI) to assist beamforming or precoding selection at the Tx antennas of the gNB", par. [0180], "When UE is configured with Class B eFD-MIMO with K>1 for the first eMIMO type, the UE can be configured with K bitmaps, where each bitmap corresponds to each k-th CSI-RS resource", par. [0029], "signaling of a codebook subset restriction can correspond specifically for a first enhanced MIMO (eMIMO) type and a second eMIMO type. The first eMIMO type can be a Class B full dimensional (FD) MIMO with K greater than 1, or a Class A FD-MIMO, in which K is a number of bitmaps. Each K-th CSI-RS resource with a structure according to a table or a bitmap indicating a DFT beam restriction". Note that Davydov explicitly discloses CSI-RS resource selection codebooks within its advanced CSI framework. The "channel state information reference signal CSI-RS" aspect is directly disclosed in Davydov, where Davydov specifically discusses "CSI-RS resource" configurations and "each k-th CSI-RS resource" in the context of codebook subset restriction. The "resource selection codebook" aspect is demonstrated by Davydov's disclosure of CSI systems that enable selection among different CSI-RS resources where the UE is "configured with K bitmaps, where each bitmap corresponds to each k-th CSI-RS resource". This represents a resource selection mechanism where different CSI-RS resources can be selected based on the bitmap configuration], wherein the time-variant CBSR information indicates limitation patterns of an amplitude of a linear combination coefficient for different time units [par. [0150] The first codebook subset restriction corresponds to bitmap restricting combinations of the DFT vectors and wideband amplitude combining coefficients and the second codebook subset restriction corresponds to the bitmap restricting DFT vectors only. The configuration can include a rank restriction, wherein rank restriction is bitmap A, each bit within bitmap A corresponds to a specific value of rank. The rank restriction can be a maximum value of rank available for CSI reporting. Here, the codebook subset restriction can be a bitmap common for the first codebook and the second codebook]; and
transmit, to the base station, channel state information (CSI) feedback that indicates the CSI-RS resource selection codebook based at least in part on the dynamic CBSR configuration indicating the time-variant CBSR information [par. [0049], fig. 1, "The UE 101, for example, measures the channel from reference signals from multiple antennas and then compresses/ quantizes the information as CSI feedback. The UE 101 then transmits feedback to the base station 111/112, where it derived information from the CSI feedback for generating the transmission by beamforming to focus the power to the UE direction", par. [0101], "The at least one of: the advanced CSI codebook or the NR codebook that is configured with the PMI feedback and the RI feedback can be configured to be transmitted on non-restricted beams of the codebook subset restriction", par. [0102], fig. 1, "The UE 101/102/400 can restrict at least one of: the PMI feedback or the RI feedback, associated with the beam of the plurality of beams, based on a configuration of the one or more bits and transmit the PMI feedback and the RI feedback on the plurality of beams as non-restricted beams other than the restricted beam that is unused in the transmission", par. [0088], "In one embodiment, for the purpose of codebook subset restriction the UE 101/102 is configured with a bitmap (e.g., bitmap A) by higher layer signaling. Each bit al,m within bitmap A corresponds to 2D DFT vectors vl,m", par. [0050], "indicating the PMI being restricted in a dynamic way". Note that Davydov explicitly discloses that "The UE 101 then transmits feedback to the base station 111/112" where the feedback includes CSI information derived from channel measurements. This corresponds directly to "transmitting, to the base station, channel state information CSI feedback." Moreover, it is noted that Davydov discloses that CSI feedback indicates codebook elements through its PMI reporting mechanism. In paragraph [0101], Davydov discloses that "the advanced CSI codebook or the NR codebook that is configured with the PMI feedback and the RI feedback can be configured to be transmitted on non-restricted beams of the codebook subset restriction". This demonstrates that the CSI feedback inherently indicates which codebook elements (beams/resources) are being used. Under the broadest interpretation, Davydov's advanced CSI codebooks operating within the CSI-RS framework constitute the functional equivalent of "CSI-RS [...] resource selection codebook" since they enable CSI-driven selection of transmission resources and antenna port configurations. Davydov explicitly establishes that CSI feedback is generated based on dynamic codebook subset restriction as it discloses that that "The UE 101/102/400 can restrict at least one of: the PMI feedback or the RI feedback, associated with the beam of the plurality of beams, based on a configuration of the one or more bits", demonstrating that feedback generation is fundamentally dependent on the codebook subset restriction. The "dynamic" and "time-variant CBSR information" aspect are disclosed in par. [0050] in relation to the fact that the codebook subset restriction conveys information about which codebook elements are restricted, and this restriction pattern changes dynamically based on system conditions].
Regarding claims 3, 18, and 31, Davydov discloses wherein the limitation pattern of the amplitude of the linear combination coefficient is associated with one or more selected CSI-RS or SSB resources for the CSI-RS or SSB resource selection codebook [par. [0150], "The first codebook subset restriction corresponds to bitmap restricting combinations of the DFT vectors and wideband amplitude combining coefficients and the second codebook subset restriction corresponds to the bitmap restricting DFT vectors only", par. [0177], "When UE is configured with Class B eFD-MIMO with K>1 for the first eMIMO type, the UE can be configured with K bitmaps, where each bitmap corresponds to each k-th CSI-RS resource", par. [0028], "Each K-th CSI-RS resource with a structure according to a table or a bitmap indicating a DFT beam restriction"].
Regarding claims 4, 19, and 32, Davydov discloses wherein the limitation pattern of the amplitude of the linear combination coefficient is associated with CSI-RS ports associated with one or more selected CSI-RS or SSB resources for the joint CSI-RS resource and CSI-RS port selection codebook [par. [0040], "Each resource block comprises a collection of resource elements; in the frequency domain, this can represent the smallest quantity of resources that currently can be allocated. There are several different physical downlink channels that are conveyed using such resource blocks [...] The duration of the resource grid in the time domain corresponds to one slot in a radio frame. The smallest time-frequency unit in a resource grid is denoted as a resource element.", par. [0050], "Because some of these matrices are not optimal for system performance at a given time some of these are restricted via a codebook subset restriction, indicating the PMI being restricted in a dynamic way"), with regard to the fact that these features merely represent design implementations that the skilled person would apply, depending on the circumstances, without exercising inventive skills. Note that Davydov operates within the 5G NR context where the claimed time units (symbol, slot, subframe, frame, etc.) are fundamental, standardized timing structures inherent to all cellular communication systems. These timing units are basic building blocks defined in 3GPP specifications].
Regarding claims 5 and 20, Davydov discloses wherein the time unit is based at least in part on one or more of: a symbol, a symbol group, a sub-slot, a half-slot, a slot, a mini-slot, a half-subframe, a subframe, a half-frame, or a frame [par. [0040], "The duration of the resource grid in the time domain corresponds to one slot in a radio frame", par. [0061], "The UE 32 provides the generated feedback to the macro base station 20". Note that Davydov operates within standard cellular systems where slot-based timing is fundamental. Davydov explicitly references slot timing structures, and CSI feedback transmission inherently requires timing coordination within these standard cellular timing frameworks. The claimed slot associations and timing offsets represent routine engineering choices rather than inventive subject matter, as any skilled person would naturally consider such timing relationships when implementing Davydov's dynamic CBSR system].
Regarding claims 6 and 21, Davydov discloses wherein the time unit is associated with a slot that indicates the CSI feedback, or wherein the time unit is associated with a slot with a configured offset associated with the slot that indicates the CSI feedback [par. [0151], "The configuration can be performed using RRC signaling via the gNB 111/112/500", par. [0088], "In one embodiment, for the purpose of codebook subset restriction the UE 101/102 is configured with a bitmap (e.g., bitmap A) by higher layer signaling"].
Regarding claims 7 and 22, Davydov discloses wherein receiving the dynamic CBSR configuration that indicates the time-variant CBSR information is based at least in part on one or more of: radio resource control signaling, a medium access control control element, or downlink control information [par. [0050], "indicating the PMI being restricted in a dynamic way", par. [0151], "The configuration can be performed using RRC signaling via the gNB 111/112/500", par. [0088], "In one embodiment, for the purpose of codebook subset restriction the UE 101/102 is configured with a bitmap (e.g., bitmap A) by higher layer signaling"].
Regarding claims 8 and 23, Davydov discloses wherein the time-variant CBSR information is configured or indicated based at least in part on radio resource control signaling that configures semi-statically or periodically applied CBSR patterns associated with different time units [par. [0177], "the UE can be configured with K bitmaps, where each bitmap corresponds to each k-th CSI-RS resource", par. [0151], "The configuration can be performed using RRC signaling via the gNB 111/112/500"].
Regarding claims 13 and 28, Davydov discloses wherein the dynamic CBSR configuration indicates a rank combination specific CBSR that configures the UE with a CBSR pattern associated with a rank combination, and wherein the dynamic CBSR configuration reports at least two sets of ranks that are associated with two sets of CSI-RS or SSB resources [par. [0140], "In one embodiment for the purpose of rank restriction, the UE 101, 102, 400 is configured with bitmap A1 of length 8 where each bit corresponds to specific value of RI", par. [0143], "Type I rank 3-4 codebooks can be used for rank 3-8 CSI reporting for the UEs configured with Type Il/advanced LTE codebooks", par. [0177], "When UE is configured with Class B eFD-MIMO with K>1 for the first eMIMO type, the UE can be configured with K bitmaps, where each bitmap corresponds to each k-th CSI-RS resource", par. [0050], "indicating the PMI being restricted in a dynamic way". Note that Davydov explicitly discloses rank-specific codebook subset restriction mechanisms. The "rank combination specific CBSR" aspect is directly disclosed in paragraph [0140] where Davydov describes "bitmap A1 of length 8 where each bit corresponds to specific value of RI", establishing explicit rank- based restriction patterns. The "CBSR pattern associated with a rank combination" is further supported by paragraph [0143] which discusses different codebook types for different rank ranges (rank 3-4 VS. rank 3-8), demonstrating rank combination approaches. The "at least two sets of ranks that are associated with two sets of CSI-RS or SSB resources" aspect is disclosed through Davydov’s system described in paragraph [0177] where "K bitmaps" correspond to different "CSI-RS resource" configurations, creating sets of resources that can be associated with different rank combinations. Davydov's integrated approach of rank-specific restrictions operating across multiple CSI- RS resources constitutes comprehensive disclosure of rank combination specific CBSR functionality].
Regarding claims 14 and 29, Davydov discloses wherein the time-variant CBSR information indicates a time-variant CBSR pattern, and wherein the dynamic CBSR configuration indicates the rank combination specific CBSR and the time-variant CBSR pattern [par. [0140], "In one embodiment for the purpose of rank restriction, the UE 101, 102, 400 is configured with bitmap A1 of length 8 where each bit corresponds to specific value of RI", par. [0143], "Type I rank 3-4 codebooks can be used for rank 3-8 CSI reporting for the UEs configured with Type Il/advanced LTE codebooks", par. [0177], "When UE is configured with Class B eFD-MIMO with K>1 for the first eMIMO type, the UE can be configured with K bitmaps, where each bitmap corresponds to each k-th CSI-RS resource", par. [0050], "indicating the PMI being restricted in a dynamic way". Note that Davydov explicitly discloses rank-specific codebook subset restriction mechanisms. The "rank combination specific CBSR" aspect is directly disclosed in paragraph [0140] where Davydov describes "bitmap A1 of length 8 where each bit corresponds to specific value of RI", establishing explicit rank- based restriction patterns. The "CBSR pattern associated with a rank combination" is further supported by paragraph [0143] which discusses different codebook types for different rank ranges (rank 3-4 VS. rank 3-8), demonstrating rank combination approaches. The "at least two sets of ranks that are associated with two sets of CSI-RS or SSB resources" aspect is disclosed through Davydov’s system described in paragraph [0177] where "K bitmaps" correspond to different "CSI-RS resource" configurations, creating sets of resources that can be associated with different rank combinations. Davydov's integrated approach of rank-specific restrictions operating across multiple CSI- RS resources constitutes comprehensive disclosure of rank combination specific CBSR functionality].
Regarding claims 15 and 30, Davydov discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a base station [see Fig. 1, para. 49; "CSI feedback can be utilized for systems with multiple antennas at the transmitter of the base station, eNB or gNB 111/112 with multiple antennas or multiple antenna ports in order to effectively use the transmission down link channel state information. The UE 101, for example, measures the channel from reference signals from multiple antennas and then compresses/quantizes the information as CSI feedback. The UE 101 then transmits feedback to the base station 111/112"], comprising:
a memory [see Fig. 5; memory 530]; and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory [see Fig. 5; processor 510 coupled to memory 530], configured to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a dynamic codebook subset restriction (CBSR) configuration that indicates time-variant CBSR information [par. [0024], "depending on the actual deployment of the gNB, the usage of some PMIs in such codebook should be avoided. For example, considering the interference that may be created to the neighboring cells, some of the PMI vectors result in a higher interference in the downlink channel with respect to other PMIs or PMI vectors. To avoid CSI reporting corresponding to such PMIs that are higher interfering than other vectors, a codebook subset restriction can be defined as a parameter in the consideration of beamforming with a bitmap, and utilized by the UE for CSI feedback", par. [0088], "In one embodiment, for the purpose of codebook subset restriction the UE 101/102 is configured with a bitmap (e.g., bitmap A) by higher layer signaling", par. [0050], "the base station should help somehow restrict some directions to UE, in which each base station would not transmit to optimize the performance. This indication is called a codebook subset restriction because the codebook is that structure used to indicate a particular precoding matrix. The available precoding matrix can be comprised by a codebook, which can also have multiple precoding matrices available for transmission. Because some of these matrices are not optimal for system performance at a given time some of these are restricted via a codebook subset restriction, indicating the PMI being restricted in a dynamic way". Note that codebook subset restriction inherently indicates time-variant information through its dynamic restriction capabilities. The "time-variant" aspect is explicitly disclosed which states that "some of these matrices are not optimal for system performance at a given time some of these are restricted via a codebook subset restriction, indicating the PMI being restricted in a dynamic way". The use of "at a given time" together with "dynamic" inherently implies temporal variation, namely restrictions that change over time based on system conditions] associated with a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource selection codebook [par. [0049], "CSI feedback can be utilized for systems with multiple antennas at the transmitter of the base station, eNB or gNB 111/112 with multiple antennas or multiple antenna ports in order to effectively use the transmission down link channel state information", par. [0024], "CSI can be obtained by the Tx from the Rx: a) from estimation of the uplink channel, and by using channel reciprocity of the wireless channel; and b) from quantized feedback measured by the Rx. The quantized form of CSI feedback can be used for both frequency division duplex (FDD) and time division duplex (TDD) operational systems. Quantized CSI (or referred to as CSI) includes the precoding matrix index (PMI) to assist beamforming or precoding selection at the Tx antennas of the gNB", par. [0180], "When UE is configured with Class B eFD-MIMO with K>1 for the first eMIMO type, the UE can be configured with K bitmaps, where each bitmap corresponds to each k-th CSI-RS resource", par. [0029], "signaling of a codebook subset restriction can correspond specifically for a first enhanced MIMO (eMIMO) type and a second eMIMO type. The first eMIMO type can be a Class B full dimensional (FD) MIMO with K greater than 1, or a Class A FD-MIMO, in which K is a number of bitmaps. Each K-th CSI-RS resource with a structure according to a table or a bitmap indicating a DFT beam restriction". Note that Davydov explicitly discloses CSI-RS resource selection codebooks within its advanced CSI framework. The "channel state information reference signal CSI-RS" aspect is directly disclosed in Davydov, where Davydov specifically discusses "CSI-RS resource" configurations and "each k-th CSI-RS resource" in the context of codebook subset restriction. The "resource selection codebook" aspect is demonstrated by Davydov's disclosure of CSI systems that enable selection among different CSI-RS resources where the UE is "configured with K bitmaps, where each bitmap corresponds to each k-th CSI-RS resource". This represents a resource selection mechanism where different CSI-RS resources can be selected based on the bitmap configuration], wherein the time-variant CBSR information indicates limitation patterns of an amplitude of a linear combination coefficient for different time units [par. [0150] The first codebook subset restriction corresponds to bitmap restricting combinations of the DFT vectors and wideband amplitude combining coefficients and the second codebook subset restriction corresponds to the bitmap restricting DFT vectors only. The configuration can include a rank restriction, wherein rank restriction is bitmap A, each bit within bitmap A corresponds to a specific value of rank. The rank restriction can be a maximum value of rank available for CSI reporting. Here, the codebook subset restriction can be a bitmap common for the first codebook and the second codebook]; and
receive, from the UE, channel state information (CSI) feedback that indicates the CSI-RS resource selection codebook based at least in part on the dynamic CBSR configuration indicating the time-variant CBSR information [par. [0049], fig. 1, "The UE 101, for example, measures the channel from reference signals from multiple antennas and then compresses/ quantizes the information as CSI feedback. The UE 101 then transmits feedback to the base station 111/112, where it derived information from the CSI feedback for generating the transmission by beamforming to focus the power to the UE direction", par. [0101], "The at least one of: the advanced CSI codebook or the NR codebook that is configured with the PMI feedback and the RI feedback can be configured to be transmitted on non-restricted beams of the codebook subset restriction", par. [0102], fig. 1, "The UE 101/102/400 can restrict at least one of: the PMI feedback or the RI feedback, associated with the beam of the plurality of beams, based on a configuration of the one or more bits and transmit the PMI feedback and the RI feedback on the plurality of beams as non-restricted beams other than the restricted beam that is unused in the transmission", par. [0088], "In one embodiment, for the purpose of codebook subset restriction the UE 101/102 is configured with a bitmap (e.g., bitmap A) by higher layer signaling. Each bit al,m within bitmap A corresponds to 2D DFT vectors vl,m", par. [0050], "indicating the PMI being restricted in a dynamic way". Note that Davydov explicitly discloses that "The UE 101 then transmits feedback to the base station 111/112" where the feedback includes CSI information derived from channel measurements. This corresponds directly to "transmitting, to the base station, channel state information CSI feedback." Moreover, it is noted that Davydov discloses that CSI feedback indicates codebook elements through its PMI reporting mechanism. In paragraph [0101], Davydov discloses that "the advanced CSI codebook or the NR codebook that is configured with the PMI feedback and the RI feedback can be configured to be transmitted on non-restricted beams of the codebook subset restriction". This demonstrates that the CSI feedback inherently indicates which codebook elements (beams/resources) are being used. Under the broadest interpretation, Davydov's advanced CSI codebooks operating within the CSI-RS framework constitute the functional equivalent of "CSI-RS [...] resource selection codebook" since they enable CSI-driven selection of transmission resources and antenna port configurations. Davydov explicitly establishes that CSI feedback is generated based on dynamic codebook subset restriction as it discloses that that "The UE 101/102/400 can restrict at least one of: the PMI feedback or the RI feedback, associated with the beam of the plurality of beams, based on a configuration of the one or more bits", demonstrating that feedback generation is fundamentally dependent on the codebook subset restriction. The "dynamic" and "time-variant CBSR information" aspect are disclosed in par. [0050] in relation to the fact that the codebook subset restriction conveys information about which codebook elements are restricted, and this restriction pattern changes dynamically based on system conditions].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-12 and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davydov in view of Manolakos et al. (US 2023/0144233 A1, hereinafter “Manolakos”).
Regarding claims 9 and 24, Davydov discloses wherein the time-variant CBSR information is configured or indicated based at least in part on: radio resource control signaling that configures multiple CBSR patterns associated with different time units [par. [0177], "the UE can be configured with K bitmaps, where each bitmap corresponds to each k-th CSI-RS resource", par. [0151], "The configuration can be performed using RRC signaling via the gNB 111/112/500". Note that Davydov discloses multiple bitmap configurations which provides the foundation for multiple CBSR patterns. Paragraph [0177] explicitly describes "K bitmaps" corresponding to different CSI-RS resources, demonstrating that Davydov already contemplates multiple restriction patterns operating simultaneously].
Davydov does not explicitly disclose a medium access control control element that activates or deactivates at least one of the multiple CBSR patterns.
However, Manolakos teaches a medium access control control element that activates or deactivates at least one of the multiple CBSR patterns [par. [0126], One or more aspects of the present disclosure may allow for dynamic reconfiguration of the restricted codebook set (instead of semi-static RRC configuration). In one example, the base station 105-a may perform dynamic reconfiguration via MAC control element or downlink control information (or some other dynamic configuration signaling). The UE 115-a can be configured with a semi-static codebook set for a channel state information report setting, and the UE 115-a may then, receive a MAC control element updating the semi-static codebook set. For example, the UE 115-a may receive a control message from the base station 105-a. Upon receiving the control message, the UE 115-a may update the mapping between the one or more frequency-domain subbands of the configured bandwidth and each codebook restriction set. In some cases, the MAC control element may update how the configured codebook restriction sets are mapped to the subbands. For example, the base station 105-a may first use RRC to configure in a channel state information report setting, four different types of codebook restriction sets. The base station 105-a may then use MAC control element, for each subband or group of subbands, to activate a different set of codebook restrictions. In other words, the subband regions mapped to different codebook restriction sets may be updated and/or activated through MAC control element].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “a medium access control control element that activates or deactivates at least one of the multiple CBSR patterns”, as taught by Manolakos, into the system of Davydov so that it would provide dynamic reconfiguration of the restricted codebook set [see Manolakos, para. 126].
Regarding claims 10 and 25, Davydov discloses wherein the time-variant CBSR information is configured or indicated based at least in part on: radio resource control signaling that configures multiple CBSR patterns associated with different time units [par. [0177], "the UE can be configured with K bitmaps, where each bitmap corresponds to each k-th CSI-RS resource", par. [0151], "The configuration can be performed using RRC signaling via the gNB 111/112/500". Note that Davydov discloses multiple bitmap configurations which provides the foundation for multiple CBSR patterns. Paragraph [0177] explicitly describes "K bitmaps" corresponding to different CSI-RS resources, demonstrating that Davydov already contemplates multiple restriction patterns operating simultaneously].
Davydov does not explicitly disclose downlink control information that triggers or deactivates at least one of the multiple CBSR patterns.
However, Manolakos teaches downlink control information that triggers or deactivates at least one of the multiple CBSR patterns [par. [0126], One or more aspects of the present disclosure may allow for dynamic reconfiguration of the restricted codebook set (instead of semi-static RRC configuration). In one example, the base station 105-a may perform dynamic reconfiguration via MAC control element or downlink control information (or some other dynamic configuration signaling). The UE 115-a can be configured with a semi-static codebook set for a channel state information report setting, and the UE 115-a may then, receive a MAC control element updating the semi-static codebook set. For example, the UE 115-a may receive a control message from the base station 105-a. Upon receiving the control message, the UE 115-a may update the mapping between the one or more frequency-domain subbands of the configured bandwidth and each codebook restriction set. In some cases, the MAC control element may update how the configured codebook restriction sets are mapped to the subbands. For example, the base station 105-a may first use RRC to configure in a channel state information report setting, four different types of codebook restriction sets. The base station 105-a may then use MAC control element, for each subband or group of subbands, to activate a different set of codebook restrictions. In other words, the subband regions mapped to different codebook restriction sets may be updated and/or activated through MAC control element].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “downlink control information that triggers or deactivates at least one of the multiple CBSR patterns”, as taught by Manolakos, into the system of Davydov so that it would provide dynamic reconfiguration of the restricted codebook set [see Manolakos, para. 126].
Regarding claims 11 and 26, Davydov does not explicitly disclose wherein the time-variant CBSR information indicates a full-duplex resource pattern, and wherein the full-duplex resource pattern is based at least in part on a CBSR usage dedicated for a base station full-duplex operation.
However, Manolakos teaches wherein the time-variant CBSR information indicates a full-duplex resource pattern, and wherein the full-duplex resource pattern is based at least in part on a CBSR usage dedicated for a base station full-duplex operation [par. [0024], "In some examples, the report may be associated with full-duplex communication", par. [0102], "A base station 105 may include multiple antenna panels, where one antenna panel may be dedicated for downlink communications and another antenna panel may be dedicated for simultaneous uplink communication (e.g., communicating simultaneously on the uplink and downlink during a particular time period). Simultaneous downlink and uplink transmissions may result in self- interference at a base station 105, at a UE 115, or both", par. [0103], "One or more aspects of the present disclosure may provide for a wireless communications system 100 supporting subband-specific codebook subset restrictions to account for the self-interference between uplink communication and downlink communication", par. [0119], "As described herein, the base station 105-a may determine a configuration of a time period for downlink transmissions. For example, the configuration may indicate an uplink portion within the time period (e.g., frequency resources configured for uplink communications) and a downlink portion (e.g., frequency resources configured for downlink communications) within the time period", par. [0126], "One or more aspects of the present disclosure may allow for dynamic reconfiguration of the restricted codebook set (instead of semi-static RRC configuration). In one example, the base station 105-a may perform dynamic reconfiguration via MAC control element or downlink control information (or some other dynamic configuration signaling].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “wherein the time-variant CBSR information indicates a full-duplex resource pattern, and wherein the full-duplex resource pattern is based at least in part on a CBSR usage dedicated for a base station full-duplex operation”, as taught by Manolakos, into the system of Davydov so that it would provide dynamic reconfiguration of the restricted codebook set [see Manolakos, para. 126].
Regarding claims 12 and 27, Davydov does not explicitly disclose wherein the full-duplex resource pattern indicates one or more of: a radio resource control configured periodic or semi-persistent full-duplex resource pattern, or a medium access control control element or downlink control information indicated full-duplex resource pattern.
However, Manolakos teaches wherein the full-duplex resource pattern indicates one or more of: a radio resource control configured periodic or semi-persistent full-duplex resource pattern, or a medium access control control element or downlink control information indicated full-duplex resource pattern [par. [0024], "In some examples, the report may be associated with full-duplex communication", par. [0102], "A base station 105 may include multiple antenna panels, where one antenna panel may be dedicated for downlink communications and another antenna panel may be dedicated for simultaneous uplink communication (e.g., communicating simultaneously on the uplink and downlink during a particular time period). Simultaneous downlink and uplink transmissions may result in self- interference at a base station 105, at a UE 115, or both", par. [0103], "One or more aspects of the present disclosure may provide for a wireless communications system 100 supporting subband-specific codebook subset restrictions to account for the self-interference between uplink communication and downlink communication", par. [0119], "As described herein, the base station 105-a may determine a configuration of a time period for downlink transmissions. For example, the configuration may indicate an uplink portion within the time period (e.g., frequency resources configured for uplink communications) and a downlink portion (e.g., frequency resources configured for downlink communications) within the time period", par. [0126], "One or more aspects of the present disclosure may allow for dynamic reconfiguration of the restricted codebook set (instead of semi-static RRC configuration). In one example, the base station 105-a may perform dynamic reconfiguration via MAC control element or downlink control information (or some other dynamic configuration signaling].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “wherein the full-duplex resource pattern indicates one or more of: a radio resource control configured periodic or semi-persistent full-duplex resource pattern, or a medium access control control element or downlink control information indicated full-duplex resource pattern”, as taught by Manolakos, into the system of Davydov so that it would provide dynamic reconfiguration of the restricted codebook set [see Manolakos, para. 126].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN T LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469