DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “component inspection device”, “imaging section”, “storage section”, and “processing section” in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to mental process abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites:
“extracting a pixel having a luminance value in a predetermined range corresponding to the color of the component among pixels constituting the color image as a specific pixel”, which can reasonably be interpreted as a human observer viewing a displayed image and mentally extracting image region(s) based on a visually perceived range of displayed luminance value color; and
“determining whether the component is mounted at a correct position by performing edge detection on the color image subjected to the emphasis processing”, which can reasonably be interpreted as a human observer viewing a displayed image and mentally determining whether a component is mounted at a correct position by visually perceiving and mentally detecting an edge of the component.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because additional elements:
“imaging an upper surface of a board on which a component is mounted to acquire a color image in which a color of each pixel is represented by luminance values of multiple primary colors” are generically recited insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering; and
“performing emphasis processing of emphasizing the luminance value of the extracted specific pixel” are generically recited.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because additional elements:
“imaging an upper surface of a board on which a component is mounted to acquire a color image in which a color of each pixel is represented by luminance values of multiple primary colors” are insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering; and
“performing emphasis processing of emphasizing the luminance value of the extracted specific pixel” are well-understood, routine, conventional.
Depending claim 3 does not remedy this deficiency because it also recites limitations that pertain to insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering.
As per claim(s) 4, arguments made in rejecting claim(s) 1 are analogous. Claim 4 further recites, “component inspection device”, “storage section”, and “processing section”, which are interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) as incorporating disclosed structure and equivalents thereof. These limitations are generically recited computer elements that do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. Also, these limitations are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). Limitations “imaging section” pertain to insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 107945184 A (Hao) in view of US 20190357396 A1 (Matsumoto).
Claim 1. (Original) A component inspection method comprising (Hao:
Page 3, middle para:
):
imaging an upper surface of a board on which a component is mounted to acquire a color image in which a color of each pixel is represented by luminance values of multiple primary colors (Hao:
page 3, near end of page:
color imaging top surface of integrated circuit board on which a component is mounted. Figures and associated text show that the circuit board is image from above);
extracting a pixel having a luminance value in a predetermined range corresponding to the color of the component among pixels constituting the color image as a specific pixel (Hao:
page 3, near end of page:
Page 5, middle of page:
Page 7, third-to-last para:
segmenting based on intensity ranges in each color channel);
performing emphasis processing of emphasizing the luminance value of the extracted specific pixel (Hao:
page 3, near end of page:
Page 5, middle of page:
perform enhancement (e.g. alignment) on the segmented region); and
determining whether the component is mounted at a correct position by performing edge detection on the color image subjected to the emphasis processing (Hao:
page 3, near end of page:
Page 5, middle of page:
End of page 10 to beginning of page 11:
determining whether the component is mounted at a correct position by performing edge detection on the enhanced segmented image).
Matsumoto also teaches imaging an upper surface of a board on which a component is mounted (Matsumoto:
Para 64: “imaging device 26 moves above circuit board 12 and images circuit board 12”;
Para 91: “the position of a specified black circle 482 from imaging of plate 480 loaded on the upper surface of stage 156 is calculated as X1, and the position of the specified black circle 482 from imaging of plate 480 10 mm above the upper surface of stage 156 is calculated as X2. Further, the position of the specified black circle 482 from imaging of plate 480 20 mm above the upper surface of stage 156 is calculated as X3, and the position of the specified black circle 482 from imaging of plate 480 30 mm above the upper surface of stage 156 is calculated as X4.”;
).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to filing, to implement the teachings of Matsumoto into Hao since both Hao and Matsumoto suggest a practical solution and field of endeavor of imaging components on a circuit board in general and Matsumoto additionally provides teachings that can be incorporated into Hao in that the top surface of the circuit board is imaged as to so that “work head 60 or 62 holding the component moves above circuit board 12, and mounts the held component on circuit board 12 after correcting for the error in the holding position of circuit board 12 and the error in the holding position of the component and so on” (Matsumoto: para 64). The teachings of Matsumoto can be incorporated into Hao in that the top surface of the circuit board is imaged. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and, in combination, each component functions the same as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would be predictable.
As per claim 3, Hao in view of Matsumoto teaches the component inspection method according to Claim 1. Hao in view of Matsumoto, as cited above, is silent regarding the component is a bottom electrode component having an electrode portion on a bottom surface.
Matsumoto further teaches limitations (Matsumoto:
Para 60: “two leads 414 that protrude from the bottom surface of component”;
imaging the upper surface of a board on which a bottom electrode (i.e. electrical connection) component is mounted).
As per claim(s) 4, arguments made in rejecting claim(s) 1 are analogous. Hao also teaches a component inspection device comprising: an imaging section; a storage section; and a processing section (Hao: See arguments and citations offered in rejecting claim 1 above;
Page 3, near end of page: camera;
Page 5, first para: camera;
Page 6, middle paras: “detection device”, “computer processing system”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao in view of Matsumoto as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of machine translation of CN 108961275 A (Fei).
As per claim 2, Hao in view of Matsumoto teaches the component inspection method according to Claim 1, wherein in the predetermined range, the luminance value of each primary color is equal to or less than a predetermined value (Hao: See arguments and citations offered in rejecting claim 1 above;
Page 5, middle of page:
segmenting based on intensity ranges (e.g. below a threshold) in each color channel of an RGB image ).
Hao does not teach a luminance difference of each primary color is equal to or less than a predetermined difference.
Fei teaches a luminance difference of each primary color is equal to or less than a predetermined difference (Fei:
Page 4, middle paras:
Page 7, middle paras:
Page 10, middle paras:
the intensity differences (e.g. within tolerance) between color channels).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to filing, to implement the teachings of Fei into Hao since both Hao and Fei suggest a practical solution and field of endeavor of a capturing color image of circuit and component and analyzing the image for component positioning based on color segmentation in general and Fei additionally provides teachings that can be incorporated into Hao in that the color segmentation involves color channel differences as to “standard for differentiating black region” (Fei: page 7, para 3). The teachings of Fei can be incorporated into Hao in that the color segmentation involves color channel differences. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and, in combination, each component functions the same as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would be predictable.
Conclusion
Atiba Fitzpatrick
/ATIBA O FITZPATRICK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2677