DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-7, 10-12, and 19-20 as amended in applicant’s response dated 24 December 2025 are presently under consideration. Claims 8-9 and 13-18 remain withdrawn from consideration.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims filed with the response dated 24 December 2025 have overcome the indefiniteness rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and thus these rejections are withdrawn.
Upon further search and consideration of applicant’s newly amended claims, new grounds of rejection is set forth below, or the prior grounds of rejection is updated to show where the new claim amendments are taught, disclosed or made obvious.
Applicant’s arguments where applicable are addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al (WO 2016/163121A1, reference made to English machine translation), and further in view of Okawa et al (US 2018/0331652).
Regarding claim 1 Hayashi discloses a flexible foldable photovoltaic module, comprising:
a flexible encapsulation structure (Abstract, page 2 of translation, Figs. 1-2 see: light receiving surface exterior member 12 with Film-shaped transparent members 26a-c and flexible backside exterior material 15), and a hard protection plate (Figs. 1-2 see: rigid substrates 13a-c interconnected through flexible substrates 14a-c) and a photovoltaic cell layer (Figs. 1-2 see: photoelectric conversion modules 11), which are encapsulated in the flexible encapsulation structure (Fig. 2), wherein the photovoltaic cell layer comprises a plurality of photovoltaic cells (Fig. 1 see: photoelectric conversion modules 11 each illustrated with four cells) and wherein the hard protection plate is configured to protect the photovoltaic cells in the photovoltaic cell layer (Fig. 2, Abstract, middle of page 2 of translation see: substates 13 have high rigidity and functions as a reinforcing material of the photoelectric conversion module 11), and
the hard protection plate is provided with flexible folding lines (Abstract, page 2 of translation, Figs. 1-2 see: flexible substrates 14a-c which are integrally formed with rigid substrates 13a-c as a rigid flexible substrate), so that the flexible foldable photovoltaic module is capable of being flexibly folded along the flexible folding lines (Abstract and Figs. 3, 6), wherein the flexible foldable photovoltaic module is divided into a plurality of folding units through the flexible folding lines, and the photovoltaic cells in the photovoltaic cell layer are located within the folding units (see Abstract and Figs. 1-2).
Regarding the claim 1 limitation where “the hard protection plate is monolithic” Hayashi teaches a rigid flexible substrate can be used in which the rigid substrate 13 and the flexible substrate 14 are integrally formed (bottom of page 2 of translation).
Hayashi does not explicitly disclose where the flexible folding lines are formed as living hinges monolithically by cutting, punching or with a laser.
Okawa teaches a folding photovoltaic module where a hinge between two subpanels if formed as a living hinge where the regions are integrally formed as a monolithic panel with the living hinge as a thinner and more flexible region (Okawa, [0088], Fig. 8B).
Okawa and Hayashi are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of foldable photovoltaic modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the module of Hayashi in view of Okawa such that the flexible folding lines of Hayashi are formed as monolithic living hinges as in Okawa (Okawa, [0088], Fig. 8B) as such a modification would have amounted to the use of a known hinge design for a flexible foldable photovoltaic module to accomplish an entirely expected result of providing a folding mechanism between the folding units of the module.
Furthermore, the claim recitation where the flexible folding lines are formed as living hinges monolithically by cutting, punching or with a laser is directed to a method of manufacturing the claimed living hinge of the flexible foldable photovoltaic module.
The examiner notes that the determination of patentability is determined by the recited structure of the apparatus and not by a method of making said structure. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is made does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2113 and 2114.
The flexible foldable photovoltaic module of Hayashi as modified by Okawa meets all the structural limitations of flexible folding lines being formed as living hinges monolithically by cutting, punching or with a laser. Okawa teaches the living hinges may be thinner portions of the panels (Okawa, [0088], Fig. 8B) which structurally meets the limitations imparted by “cutting”.
Regarding claim 2 modified Hayashi discloses the flexible foldable photovoltaic module according to claim 1, wherein the folding units are folded along the flexible folding lines in a mountain folding direction and a valley folding direction under an effect of a folding stress, folding parts along the flexible folding lines are divided into mountain folding parts and valley folding parts (Hayashi, Fig. 5 see: flexible folding parts fold into opposing directions (respective “mountain” and “valley” folding parts)) when the module is in a normal operating state, a folding included angle A in the valley folding part is formed between adjacent folding units (Hayashi, Fig. 5 see: a 180 degree angle is formed between adjacent photoelectric conversion modules 11).
Regarding claim 3 modified Hayashi discloses the flexible foldable photovoltaic module according to claim 2, and the claim 3 recitation “wherein the folding included angle A is 50-70 degrees” is directed to a method of operating the claimed flexible foldable photovoltaic module. The adjacent photoelectric conversion modules 11 of Hayashi are considered fully capable of being bent (Figs. 4-6) such that folding included angle A between adjacent folding units (modules 11) is 50-70 degrees. A recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115.
Regarding claim 6 modified Hayashi discloses the flexible foldable photovoltaic module according to claim 1, wherein the flexible folding lines on the hard protection plate are specifically formed by intermittent points and/or intermittent lines;
alternatively, the flexible folding lines on the hard protection plate are specifically thinned regions of the hard protection plate (Figs. 1-6, Abstract, middle of page 2 of translation and claims see: the flexible folding lines are formed by intermittent lines or thinned regions of the rigid flexible substrate where substrates 13 are removed and flexible substrates 14 remain).
Regarding claim 7 modified Hayashi discloses the flexible foldable photovoltaic module according to claim 1, wherein the photovoltaic cells in adjacent folding units are interconnected through flexible conductors, and the flexible conductors are metal foil conductive bands, conductive paste bands or flexible flat cables (Figs. 1-2, paragraph bridging pages 3-4 of translation see: flexible substrate 14 includes a flexible flat cable, a mesh wire, a metal thin film (such as a copper foil or a silver foil), a thin film tape (such as a copper tape) for interconnecting adjacent photoelectric conversion modules 11).
Claim 1 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DEFIGUEIREDO et al (US 2018/0020536) as further evidenced by Wu et al (Living hinges for resilient and recyclable paper-based flexible printed electronics, Flex. Print. Electron. 9 (2024) 045006) and further in view of Hayashi et al (WO 2016/163121A1, reference made to English machine translation).
Regarding claim 1 DEFIGUEIREDO discloses a flexible foldable photovoltaic module, comprising:
a hard protection plate and a photovoltaic cell layer ([0068]-[0074], Figs. 7A-7C see: hinged solar panels 701 and 702 having rigid panel portions and solar cells mounted thereon), wherein the photovoltaic cell layer comprises a plurality of photovoltaic cells (Fig. 7A) and wherein the hard protection plate is monolithic and configured to protect the photovoltaic cells in the photovoltaic cell layer ([0035], [0068]-[0074], Figs. 7A-7C see: rigid panel portions supporting and protecting solar cells during folding due to their rigidity where the rigid panel portions are formed of a monolithic substrate), and
the hard protection plate is provided with flexible folding lines, the flexible folding lines are formed as living hinges monolithically by cutting punching or with a laser, so that the flexible foldable photovoltaic module is capable of being flexibly folded along the flexible folding lines, wherein the flexible foldable photovoltaic module is divided into a plurality of folding units through the flexible folding lines, and the photovoltaic cells in the photovoltaic cell layer are located within folding units ([0040], [0044] [0068]-[0074], Figs. 3B, 7A-7C see: hinged solar panels 701 and 702 having rigid panel portions and solar cells mounted thereon connected by flexible hinge region 10d of the rigid substrate having array of LET joints 703 where the joints and rigid substrates are part of the same monolithic structure with the LET joints having flexibility due to the slots or other shapes cut into the substrate and thus being a “living hinge”).
Wu further evidences this LET joint structure of DEFIGUEIREDO meets the definition of a monolithic living hinge (Wu, Abstract, Figs. 1(a), 2(a) and 4 showing how such cuts as in DEFIGUEIREDO form a living hinge). See also lefthand column of Wu where a living hinge encompasses an array of methods to enable otherwise stiff materials to bend, such as thinning areas of plastics to provide flexible hinge points. Another form of living hinge is an array of kerf cuts, patterned in such a way as to allow a typically rigid material to bend.
DEFIGUEIREDO does not explicitly disclose the flexible foldable photovoltaic module having a flexible encapsulation structure where the photovoltaic cell layer and hard protection plate are encapsulated in the flexible encapsulation structure.
However Hayashi teaches such flexible foldable photovoltaic modules having a flexible encapsulation structure (Abstract, page 2 of translation, Figs. 1-2 see: light receiving surface exterior member 12 with Film-shaped transparent members 26a-c and flexible backside exterior material 15) where the photovoltaic cell layer and hard protection plate are encapsulated in the flexible encapsulation structure (Fig. 2 and see page 2 of translation of Hayashi).
DEFIGUEIREDO and Hayashi are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of flexible foldable photovoltaic modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the photovoltaic module of DEFIGUEIREDO in view of Hayashi to further include a flexible encapsulation structure as in Hayashi (Abstract, page 2 of translation, Figs. 1-2 see: light receiving surface exterior member 12 with Film-shaped transparent members 26a-c and flexible backside exterior material 15) where the photovoltaic cell layer and hard protection plate of DEFIGUEIREDO are encapsulated in the flexible encapsulation structure as in Hayashi (Fig. 2) for providing the well-known purpose of protecting the photovoltaic cell layer and hard protection plate of DEFIGUEIREDO from the exterior environment and external impacts (see page 2 of translation of Hayashi).
Regarding claim 6 modified DEFIGUEIREDO discloses the flexible foldable photovoltaic module according to claim 1, wherein the flexible folding lines on the hard protection plate are specifically formed by intermittent points and/or intermittent lines (DEFIGUEIREDO, [0070]-[0073] Figs. 3B, 7A-7C, see: flexible hinge region 10d having LET joints 703 of intermittent points or intermittent lines in a rigid panel portion to make the portion flexible);
alternatively, the flexible folding lines on the hard protection plate are specifically thinned regions of the hard protection plate.
Regarding claim 7 modified DEFIGUEIREDO discloses the flexible foldable photovoltaic module according to claim 1, wherein the photovoltaic cells in adjacent folding units are interconnected through flexible conductors, and the flexible conductors are metal foil conductive bands, conductive paste bands or flexible flat cables (DEFIGUEIREDO, [0070]-[0073] Figs. 3B, 7A-7C, see: flexible hinge region 10d having copper conductor traces 705 across the array of LET joints 703).
Claims 2-4, 10-11, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DEFIGUEIREDO et al (US 2018/0020536) further evidenced by Wu et al (Living hinges for resilient and recyclable paper-based flexible printed electronics, Flex. Print. Electron. 9 (2024) 045006) in view of Hayashi et al (WO 2016/163121A1, reference made to English machine translation) as applied to claims 1 and 6-7 above, and further in view of Fang et al (CN 111106195 A, reference made to attached English machine translation).
Regarding claim 2 modified DEFIGUEIREDO discloses the flexible foldable photovoltaic module according to claim 1, but it’s not clear DEFIGUEIREDO explicitly discloses the folding units are folded along the flexible folding lines in a mountain folding direction and a valley folding direction under an effect of a folding stress, folding parts along the flexible folding lines are divided into mountain folding parts and valley folding parts wherein when the module is in a normal operating state, a folding included angle A is formed between adjacent folding units.
Fang disclose a foldable photovoltaic module with angle adjustable photovoltaic modules where folding units are folded along the flexible folding lines in a mountain folding direction and a valley folding direction under an effect of a folding stress, folding parts along the flexible folding lines are divided into mountain folding parts and valley folding parts wherein when the module is in a normal operating state, a folding included angle A is formed between adjacent folding units (Fang, Abstract, Examples 1-3 on page 3 of translation, Figs. 1-5 see: multiple solar cell plates forming V-shaped units with card 11 and rings 12 or motor pulley 14 and adjusting rod 15 allowing adjustment of angle alpha between adjacent solar cell sheets 3). Fang teaches this allows optimal light irradiation of the panels for different conditions (Fang, middle of page 2 of translation).
Modified DEFIGUEIREDO and Fang are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of flexible foldable photovoltaic modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the photovoltaic module of DEFIGUEIREDO in view of Fang such that when the module of DEFIGUEIREDO is in a normal operating state, the folding units are folded along the flexible folding lines in a mountain folding direction and a valley folding direction under an effect of a folding stress, folding parts along the flexible folding lines are divided into mountain folding parts and valley folding parts and a folding included angle A is formed between adjacent folding units as in Fang (Fang, Abstract, Examples 1-3 on page 3 of translation, Figs. 1-5 see: multiple solar cell plates forming V-shaped units with card 11 and rings 12 or motor pulley 14 and adjusting rod 15 allowing adjustment of angle alpha between adjacent solar cell sheets 3) as Fang teaches this allows optimal light irradiation of the panels for different conditions (Fang, middle of page 2 of translation).
Regarding claim 3 modified DEFIGUEIREDO discloses the flexible foldable photovoltaic module according to claim 2, and regarding the claim 3 recitation of “wherein the folding included angle A is 50-70 degrees” directed to a method of operating the flexible foldable photovoltaic module, Fang teaches the angle adjusting range of the two inclined panel of the V-shaped unit is 45 degrees to 135 degrees (Fang, middle of page 2 of translation) and is thus fully capable of performing the function of setting the folding included angle A to 50-70 degrees. A recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115.
Regarding claim 4 modified DEFIGUEIREDO discloses the flexible foldable photovoltaic module according to claim 2, and Fang discloses wherein the flexible foldable photovoltaic module further comprises a folding and unfolding mechanism of the module, for adjusting the folding included angle A between adjacent folding units by unfolding or folding the flexible foldable photovoltaic module (Fang, Abstract, Examples 1-3 on page 3 of translation, Figs. 1-5 see: multiple solar cell plates forming V-shaped units with card 11 and rings 12 or motor pulley 14 and adjusting rod 15 allowing adjustment of angle alpha between adjacent solar cell sheets 3).
Regarding claim 10 modified DEFIGUEIREDO discloses the flexible foldable photovoltaic module according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the flexible foldable photovoltaic module is folded in a w-folding structure; or alternatively, the flexible foldable photovoltaic module is folded in a combined w-folding structure, wherein the combined w-folding structure is composed of at least three w-folding segments, adjacent w-folding segments are in an inverse-folding relationship with each other, the folding units in the w-folding segments at two ends are in a triangular shape, and the folding units in respective w-folding segments in a middle region are in a trapezoid shape.
Fang discloses a flexible foldable photovoltaic module folded in a w-folding structure (Fang, Abstract, Examples 1-3 on page 3 of translation, Figs. 1-5 see: multiple solar cell plates forming V-shaped units that combine in a w-folding structure with card 11 and rings 12 or motor pulley 14 and adjusting rod 15 allowing adjustment of angle alpha between adjacent solar cell sheets 3). Fang teaches this allows optimal light irradiation of the panels for different conditions (Fang, middle of page 2 of translation).
Modified DEFIGUEIREDO and Fang are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of flexible foldable photovoltaic modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the photovoltaic module of DEFIGUEIREDO in view of Fang such that when the module of DEFIGUEIREDO is folded in a w-folding structure as in Fang (Fang, Abstract, Examples 1-3 on page 3 of translation, Figs. 1-5 see: multiple solar cell plates forming V-shaped units that combine in a w-folding structure with card 11 and rings 12 or motor pulley 14 and adjusting rod 15 allowing adjustment of angle alpha between adjacent solar cell sheets 3) as Fang teaches this allows optimal light irradiation of the panels for different conditions (Fang, middle of page 2 of translation).
Regarding claim 11 modified DEFIGUEIREDO discloses the flexible foldable photovoltaic module according to claim 10, and the claim 11 limitations “wherein the combined photovoltaic cells in the trapezoid-shaped folding units have the same shape as the trapezoid-shaped folding units, and each of the combined photovoltaic cells specifically consist of at least one rectangular photovoltaic cell and two right-angled trapezoid-shaped photovoltaic cells, wherein the rectangular photovoltaic cells are arranged in a line to form a main part of a rectangle, and the two right-angled trapezoid-shaped photovoltaic cells are located at two sides of the main part of the rectangle, so as to form the combined trapezoid-shaped photovoltaic cell” are directed to the species of a combined w-folding structure. However, this species is anticipated as Fang discloses the other species of a w-folding structure in the Markush group set forth above in claim 10. As such, the limitations of claim 11 are also anticipated as they are directed to the species of the combined w-folding structure in the Markush group anticipated by Fang as set forth in claim 10 above.
See MPEP 2131.02 Genus-Species Situations:
II. A REFERENCE THAT CLEARLY NAMES THE CLAIMED SPECIES ANTICIPATES THE CLAIM NO MATTER HOW MANY OTHER SPECIES ARE NAMED
A genus does not always anticipate a claim to a species within the genus. However, when the species is clearly named, the species claim is anticipated no matter how many other species are additionally named. See Ex parteA, 17 USPQ2d 1716 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1990) (The claimed compound was named in a reference which also disclosed 45 other compounds. The Board held that the comprehensiveness of the listing did not negate the fact that the compound claimed was specifically taught. The Board compared the facts to the situation in which the compound was found in the Merck Index, saying that “the tenth edition of the Merck Index lists ten thousand compounds. In our view, each and every one of those compounds is ‘described’ as that term is used in [pre-AIA ] 35 U.S.C. 102(a), in that publication.”). Id. at 1718. See also In re Sivaramakrishnan, 673 F.2d 1383, 213 USPQ 441 (CCPA 1982) (The claims were directed to polycarbonate containing cadmium laurate as an additive. The court upheld the Board’s finding that a reference specifically naming cadmium laurate as an additive amongst a list of many suitable salts in polycarbonate resin anticipated the claims. The applicant had argued that cadmium laurate was only disclosed as representative of the salts and was expected to have the same properties as the other salts listed while, as shown in the application, cadmium laurate had unexpected properties. The court held that it did not matter that the salt was not disclosed as being preferred, the reference still anticipated the claims and because the claim was anticipated, the unexpected properties were immaterial.).
Regarding claim 19 modified DEFIGUEIREDO discloses the flexible foldable photovoltaic module according to claim 2, and Fang further teaches wherein the flexible foldable photovoltaic module further comprises a folding and unfolding mechanism of the module, for adjusting the folding included angle A between adjacent folding units by unfolding or folding the flexible foldable photovoltaic module (Fang, Abstract, Examples 1-3 on page 3 of translation, Figs. 1-5 see: multiple solar cell plates forming V-shaped units with card 11 and rings 12 or motor pulley 14 and adjusting rod 15 allowing adjustment of angle alpha between adjacent solar cell sheets 3).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DEFIGUEIREDO et al (US 2018/0020536) further evidenced by Wu et al (Living hinges for resilient and recyclable paper-based flexible printed electronics, Flex. Print. Electron. 9 (2024) 045006) in view of Hayashi et al (WO 2016/163121A1, reference made to English machine translation) as applied to claims 1, and 6-7 above, and further in view of XU (CN 108813883A, reference made to English machine translation).
Regarding claim 5 modified DEFIGUEIREDO discloses the flexible foldable photovoltaic module according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein parts of the flexible encapsulation structure corresponding to the flexible folding lines have a folding stress, so that the folding units is folded along the flexible folding lines in a preset folding direction under effect of the folding stress.
However, XU teaches folding solar cell modules having parts of the flexible encapsulation structure corresponding to the flexible folding lines have a folding stress, so that the folding units is folded along the flexible folding lines in a preset folding direction under effect of the folding stress (XU, Figs. 1-2 see: the thin film solar cell sheet along the folding direction of the photovoltaic is a row, and the reflecting film is between two adjacent thin film solar cell sheets provided with creases to facilitate folding, ‘creases’ considered to meet the structural and functional limitations of the folding stress).
Modified DEFIGUEIREDO and XU are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of flexible foldable photovoltaic modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the photovoltaic module of DEFIGUEIREDO in view of XU such that parts of the flexible encapsulation structure of modified DEFIGUEIREDO corresponding to the flexible folding lines have a folding stress, so that the folding units is folded along the flexible folding lines in a preset folding direction under effect of the folding stress as in XU (XU, Figs. 1-2 see: the thin film solar cell sheet along the folding direction of the photovoltaic is a row, and the reflecting film is between two adjacent thin film solar cell sheets provided with creases to facilitate folding, ‘creases’ considered to meet the structural and functional limitations of the folding stress) for the express purpose of making the module easier to fold along the folding lines.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DEFIGUEIREDO et al (US 2018/0020536) further evidenced by Wu et al (Living hinges for resilient and recyclable paper-based flexible printed electronics, Flex. Print. Electron. 9 (2024) 045006) in view of Hayashi et al (WO 2016/163121A1, reference made to English machine translation) as applied to claims 1, and 6-7 above, and further in view of Sun et al (WO 2021/134983A1, reference made to attached English machine translation) and in further view of Schmaelzle et al (US 2017/0279402) and further in view of Lang et al (DE 10261876A1, reference made to attached English machine translation) .
Regarding claim 12 modified DEFIGUEIREDO discloses the flexible foldable photovoltaic module according to claim 1, and although Hayashi discloses wherein the flexible encapsulation structure comprises a flexible face plate layer (Hayashi, Figs. 1-2 see: light-receiving surface exterior member 12 with film-shaped transparent members 26a-c), and a flexible back plate layer (Hayashi, Figs. 1-2 see: a flexible backside exterior material 15), modified DEFIGUEIREDO does not explicitly disclose the flexible encapsulation structure comprise a bonding layers and where layer structures of the flexible foldable photovoltaic module from top to bottom are: the flexible face plate layer, a first bonding layer, the hard protection plate, a second bonding layer, the photovoltaic cell layer, a third bonding layer and the flexible back plate layer; and the hard protection plate is made of glass, acrylic, glass fiber cloth or a fiber-reinforced composite material, and the flexible face plate layer and the flexible back plate layer are made of ETFE, TPO, PET, nylon or composite material thereof.
However, Sun teaches a flexible foldable photovoltaic module comprising a flexible encapsulation structure comprising a flexible face plate layer (Fig. 1 see: flexible board 1), bonding layers (Fig. 1 see: packaging material layer 3 as adhesive film), and a flexible back plate layer (Fig. 1 see: flexible board 1) wherein layer structures of the flexible foldable photovoltaic module from top to bottom are: the flexible face plate layer, a first bonding layer, the hard protection plate, the photovoltaic cell layer, a third bonding layer and the flexible back plate layer (Sun, page 3 of translation, Fig. 1 see: flexible board 1/packaging material layer 3/rigid board 6/solar cell battery 2/ packaging material layer 3/flexible board 1); and the hard protection plate is made of glass, acrylic, glass fiber cloth or a fiber-reinforced composite material, and the flexible face plate layer and the flexible back plate layer are made of ETFE, TPO, PET, nylon or composite material thereof (Sun, pages 2-3 of translation, Fig. 1 see: rigid board 6 formed of acrylic materials, glass materials, and Glass fiber reinforced materials and front and back flexible boards 1 formed of transparent PET, transparent ETFE, and polymer materials such as nylon).
Modified DEFIGUEIREDO and Sun are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of flexible foldable photovoltaic modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the photovoltaic module of DEFIGUEIREDO in view of Sun such that the flexible encapsulation structure further comprises a bonding layer (Fig. 1 see: packaging material layer 3 as adhesive film), and wherein layer structures of the flexible foldable photovoltaic module of DEFIGUEIREDO from top to bottom are: the flexible face plate layer, the first bonding layer, a hard protection plate as in Sun, the photovoltaic cell layer, the third bonding layer and the flexible back plate layer as in Sung (Sun, page 3 of translation, Fig. 1 see: flexible board 1/packaging material layer 3/rigid board 6/solar cell battery 2/ packaging material layer 3/flexible board 1) and the hard protection plate is made of glass, acrylic, glass fiber cloth or a fiber-reinforced composite material, and the flexible face plate layer and the flexible back plate layer are made of ETFE, TPO, PET, nylon or composite material thereof as in Sun (Sun, pages 2-3 of translation, Fig. 1 see: rigid board 6 formed of acrylic materials, glass materials, and Glass fiber reinforced materials and front and back flexible boards 1 formed of transparent PET, transparent ETFE, and polymer materials such as nylon) as Sun teaches the bonding layer functionally adheres the encapsulating layers together while the hard protection plate (rigid board 6) provides protection at the front surface of the solar cells (Sun, see Abstract and page 2 of translation).
Sun does not explicitly disclose where the second bonding layer between the hard protection plate and the photovoltaic cell layer, but Schmaelzle further teaches in such flexible foldable photovoltaic modules, a bonding layer present between a hard protection plate and the photovoltaic cell layer (Schmaelzle, [0059]-[0060], [0063] Figs. 6A and 7 see: frontside encapsulant layer 625 between solar cells 110 and stiffener layer 630).
Modified DEFIGUEIREDO and Schmaelzle are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of flexible foldable photovoltaic modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the photovoltaic module of DEFIGUEIREDO in view of Schmaelzle such that the layer structures of the flexible foldable photovoltaic module of DEFIGUEIREDO further comprises the second bonding layer present between the hard protection plate and the photovoltaic cell layer as in Schmaelzle (Schmaelzle, [0059]-[0060], [0063] Figs. 6A and 7 see: frontside encapsulant layer 625 between solar cells 110 and stiffener layer 630) for the express purpose of bonding the hard protection plate and the photovoltaic cell layer as in Schmaelzle ([0059]-[0060], Fig. 6A).
Furthermore, although Sun does not explicitly recite the hard protection plate (rigid board 6) having flexible folding lines, Lang teaches a flexible foldable photovoltaic modules having a front facing hard protection plate over solar cells also having flexible folding lines that focus a bend of the areas outside the semiconductor elements (solar cells) so that at a bend no shearing between the cover plate (hard protection plate) and the solar cell carrier arises (Lang, Fig. 4, Top of page 4 of translation, see: continuous cover plate 136 preferably has depressions 138 to focus the bend on the areas outside the semiconductor elements).
Modified DEFIGUEIREDO and Lang are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of flexible foldable photovoltaic modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the photovoltaic module of DEFIGUEIREDO in view of Lang such that the hard protection plate (rigid board 6) of modified DEFIGUEIREDO also has flexible folding lines as in Lang to focus a bend of the areas outside the solar cells of modified DEFIGUEIREDO so that at a bend no shearing between the cover plate (hard protection plate) and the solar cell carrier arises (Lang, Fig. 4, Top of page 4 of translation, see: continuous cover plate 136 preferably has depressions 138 to focus the bend on the areas outside the semiconductor elements).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DEFIGUEIREDO et al (US 2018/0020536) further evidenced by Wu et al (Living hinges for resilient and recyclable paper-based flexible printed electronics, Flex. Print. Electron. 9 (2024) 045006) in view of Hayashi et al (WO 2016/163121A1, reference made to English machine translation) in view of Fang et al (CN 111106195 A, reference made to attached English machine translation) as applied to claims 1, 2-4, 6-7, 10-11, and 19 above, and further in view of XU (CN 108813883A, reference made to English machine translation).
Regarding claim 20 modified DEFIGUEIREDO discloses the flexible foldable photovoltaic module according to claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose wherein parts of the flexible encapsulation structure corresponding to the flexible folding lines have a folding stress, so that the folding units are folded along the flexible folding lines in a preset folding direction under effect of the folding stress.
However, XU teaches folding solar cell modules having parts of the flexible encapsulation structure corresponding to the flexible folding lines have a folding stress, so that the folding units is folded along the flexible folding lines in a preset folding direction under effect of the folding stress (XU, Figs. 1-2 see: the thin film solar cell sheet along the folding direction of the photovoltaic is a row, and the reflecting film is between two adjacent thin film solar cell sheets provided with creases to facilitate folding, ‘creases’ considered to meet the structural and functional limitations of the folding stress).
Modified DEFIGUEIREDO and XU are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of flexible foldable photovoltaic modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the photovoltaic module of DEFIGUEIREDO in view of XU such that parts of the flexible encapsulation structure of modified DEFIGUEIREDO corresponding to the flexible folding lines have a folding stress, so that the folding units is folded along the flexible folding lines in a preset folding direction under effect of the folding stress as in XU (XU, Figs. 1-2 see: the thin film solar cell sheet along the folding direction of the photovoltaic is a row, and the reflecting film is between two adjacent thin film solar cell sheets provided with creases to facilitate folding, ‘creases’ considered to meet the structural and functional limitations of the folding stress) for the express purpose of making the module easier to fold along the folding lines.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 24 December 2024 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues regarding the prior art rejection of claim 1 over DEFIGUEIREDO in view of Hayashi that DEFIGUEIREDO does not disclose the patterning of the monolithic rigid protection plate 10 by mechanical cutting, punching, or laser processing in this application to form flexible folding lines 1 on the hard protective plate 10, allowing the flexible foldable photovoltaic module to fold flexibly along these flexible folding lines. Therefore, Defigueiredo also does not disclose the aforementioned technical features A-B recited in amended claim 1.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive. As recited in the above rejection of claim 1, Defigueiredo at paras [0040], [0044] [0068]-[0074], Figs. 3B, 7A-7C see: hinged solar panels 701 and 702 having rigid panel portions and solar cells mounted thereon connected by flexible hinge region 10d of the rigid substrate having array of LET joints 703 where the joints and rigid substrates are part of the same monolithic structure with the LET joints having flexibility due to the slots or other shapes cut into the substrate and thus being a “living hinge”.
Wu further evidences this LET joint structure of DEFIGUEIREDO meets the definition of a monolithic living hinge (Wu, Abstract, Figs. 1(a), 2(a) and 4 showing how such cuts as in DEFIGUEIREDO form a living hinge). See also lefthand column of Wu where a living hinge encompasses an array of methods to enable otherwise stiff materials to bend, such as thinning areas of plastics to provide flexible hinge points. Another form of living hinge is an array of kerf cuts, patterned in such a way as to allow a typically rigid material to bend. As recited above, DEFIGUEIREDO at para [0044] notes the compliant joints are formed by geometrical shaping (e.g., by cutting, milling, etching, etc.) of the PCB (substrate) and thus meets the limitations of the living hinge as claimed in claim 1.
Applicant’s further arguments and remarks are considered moot as they depend from the arguments rebutted above.
Applicant’s further arguments to the rejection of claims 1-3 and 6-7 over the prior art of Hayashi are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection of Hayashi in view of Okawa set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ANDREW J. GOLDEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/ANDREW J GOLDEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726