DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after 16 March 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendments
Status of Claims
The amendment, filed on 28 August 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 6-7, 9, 11-12, and 14-15 have been amended.
Claims 2-3, 5, 10, and 16-20 have been cancelled.
Claims 1, 4, 6-9, and 11-15 are pending and under consideration in the instant Office Action, to the extent of the following elected species:
the triazinylsulfonylurea herbicide tribenuron-methyl;
the sulfonic acid derivative salts sodium butyl naphthalene sulfonate and sodium nonyl naphthalene sulfonate; and
the agrochemically acceptable excipient glycine.
Objections Withdrawn
Objections to Claims
Applicant’s amendment to claims 7, 9, 12, and 14-15 have overcome the objections to the claims set forth in the Office action mailed on 28 May 2026. Accordingly, the relevant objections are withdrawn.
Rejections Withdrawn
Rejections pursuant to 35 U.S.C. § 112
Applicant’s amendment to claim 14 has overcome the rejection of the claim under 35 U.S.C. § 112 set forth in the Office action mailed on 28 May 2026. Accordingly, the relevant rejection is withdrawn.
Maintained Objections
Claims
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 recites both “sulfonate” and sulphonate” (e.g., claim 8 recites “sodium butyl naphthalene sulfonate” in line 2 and “sodium dodecylbenzenesulphonate” in lines 4-5). While it is clear these refer to the same chemical structure, clarity and consistency would be improved if one variation were recited throughout the claims.
Response to Remarks
The Applicant’s remarks, filed on 28 August 2026, regarding the use of consistent “sulfonate” terminology are acknowledged. However, claim 8 still recites both “sulfonate” and “sulphonate” and the objection is maintained.
Maintained Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-9, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bristow (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2012/0184435 A1, published on 19 July 2012, provided by Applicant in the IDS filed on 30 April 2024) in view of Bergstrom et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,283,292 B2, published on 9 October 2012, hereafter referred to as Bergstrom).
Bristow teaches herbicidal compositions comprising one or more safeners and one or more herbicides, which in some embodiments may be the triazinylsulfonylurea herbicides tribenuron-methyl and/or thifensulfon-methyl (Abstract and claim 1). The compositions are further taught to comprise carriers as additives such as kaolin clay, bentonite clay, or diatomaceous earth (para. [0039-0040]) and contain sulfonic acid derivates as wetting agents, such as alkanesulfonates, alkylarylsulfonates, and lignosulfonates (para. [0037]).
The compositions are taught to comprise 0.1-95% w/w of the herbicides and 5-99.8% w/w additives (para. [0041]), which encompasses the ranges recited in claims 4 and 14-15. Finally, Bristow teaches that their composition may be formulated in a variety of forms known in the art including water-dispersible granules (para. [0036]) and may be applied to crop plants (para. [0029-0035]). In the instant rejection, the limitation in claim 12 reciting the optional inclusion of the elected agrochemically acceptable excipient glycine is interpreted as not comprising glycine.
Guidelines on the obviousness of similar and overlapping ranges, amounts, and proportions are provided in MPEP § 2144.05. With respect to claimed ranges which “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). These guidelines apply to the ranges of herbicides taught by Bristow which encompasses the range recited in instant claim 4.
Bristow does not teach the specific alkylarylsulfonates sodium butyl naphthalene sulfonate or sodium nonyl naphthalene sulfonate. This deficiency is offset by the teachings of Bergstrom.
Bergstrom teaches agrochemical compositions comprising a) anionic compounds having wetting and dispersing properties and b) nitrogen-containing surfactants which provide a good wetting ability with “high efficiency at a low total content of surfactants” (Abstract and col. 2, lines 35-37). Bergstrom teaches that good wetting ability and rainfastness are desirable properties in agricultural compositions to reduce the total quantity of chemicals required and to prevent loss of applied formulations as a result of rain washing away formulations from the leaves of plants, respectively (col. 2, lines 37-44). Bergstrom teaches that they surprisingly found that compositions comprising a combination of a)+b) achieve the above properties, with preferred compounds of a) being naphthalene sulfonate derivatives (col. 2, lines 61-66). Bergstrom further teaches that the specific naphthalene sulfonate derivatives sodium butyl naphthalene sulfonate and sodium nonyl naphthalene sulfonate are “[e]specially preferred” and can be obtained commercially as Morwet® B and Morwet® IP, respectively (col. 5, lines 57-60). Finally, Bergstrom teaches that their composition may also comprise pesticides (claims 7-8 and col. 3, line 59 - col. 4, line 13) and may be formulated as a solid granule (col. 4, lines 14-33).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant application, to combine the teachings of Bristow and Bergstrom to arrive at the invention of claims 1, 4, 6-9, and 11-12 because combining prior art elements to impart known benefits produces predictable results. Bristow teaches herbicidal compositions that may be formulated as water-dispersible granules comprising one or more herbicides, which may be tribenuron-methyl and/or thifensulfon-methyl, carriers such as kaolin clay, and sulfonic acid derivates as wetting agents such as alkylarylsulfonates. Bristow further teaches the quantity of herbicides in their compositions to be 0.1-95% w/w and the quantity of additives to be 5-99.8% w/w, which encompasses the ranges recited in claims 4 and 14-15.
In view of the teachings of Bergstrom, one of ordinary skill would be motivated to select sodium butyl naphthalene sulfonate and sodium nonyl naphthalene sulfonate as the alkylarylsulfonates in the invention of Bristow because Bergstrom teaches the naphthalene sulfonate derivatives, when used in an agrochemical composition alongside components in category b), to provide surprisingly effective wetting ability and rainfastness. The ordinary artisan would recognize these properties as beneficial to their agrochemical composition and desire their inclusion. Further, Bergstrom teaches that these components are commercially available, which the ordinary artisan would recognize as easy to obtain and use in their composition.
Bristow and Bergstrom are silent on the specific ratio between kaolin clay and the sodium alkyl naphthalene sulfonates in their compositions. However, Bristow teaches the inclusion of kaolin clay and sulfonic acid derivatives as additives and that they may be present in the range of 5-99.8% w/w. “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical.” See MPEP § 2144.05.II.A. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). A person of ordinary skill in the art could arrive at the ratio recited in instant claim 9 via routine optimization within the range taught by Bristow. As a result, there is a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the invention of claims 1, 4, 6-9, and 11-12 in view of the teachings of Bristow and Bergstrom.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bristow (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2012/0184435 A1, published on 19 July 2012, provided by Applicant in the IDS filed on 30 April 2024) in view of Bergstrom (U.S. Patent No. 8,283,292 B2, published on 9 October 2012) as applied to claims 1, 4, 6-9, and 11-12 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (Front. Plant Sci. 2017, 8, 1., hereafter referred to as Yang).
Bristow and Bergstrom have been described above, and particularly relevant to claims 14-15, Bergstrom teaches that the component b) in their composition may be an amino acid (Abstract and claim 1), in a ratio with component a) from 99.99:0.01-50:50 (Abstract and col. 3, lines 28-32), and that the total amount of a)+b) is 1-40% w/w (col. 4, lines 60-64).
Bristow and Bergstrom do not teach their composition to comprise glycine. This deficiency is offset by the teachings of Yang.
Yang teaches the utility of glycine as an antioxidant in plant development using lettuce as a model crop (Abstract). As a result of the nitrogen cycle, Yang teaches that organic nitrogen, especially in simple forms like amino acids, are useful as a fertilizer for plants (pg. 2., left col., para. 2). Glycine is taught to be one of the most abundant free amino acids in soil and to be “taken up more rapidly by plants”, making it a “model amino acid in plant organic nitrogen research” (pg. 2, left col., para. 2). The influence of glycine as a source of organic nitrogen on the nutritional quality of two lettuce crops was examined (pg. 2, right col., para. 2) and Yang found that addition of glycine significantly enhanced levels of antioxidants (pg. 13, Conclusion). Yang concluded that addition of glycine to plants “could be used strategically to promote the accumulation of health-promoting compounds and increase the antioxidative activity of hydroponically grown lettuce”, with applications in human nutrition (pg. 13, Conclusion).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant application, to combine the teachings of Yang with the invention of Bristow because combining known prior art elements to impart known benefits produces predictable results. Bristow and Bergstrom rendered obvious herbicidal compositions that may be formulated as water-dispersible granules comprising one or more herbicides, which may be tribenuron-methyl and/or thifensulfon-methyl, carriers such as kaolin clay, and sulfonic acid derivates as wetting agents such as the alkylarylsulfonates sodium butyl naphthalene sulfonate and sodium nonyl naphthalene sulfonate. Bristow further teaches the quantity of herbicides in their compositions to be 0.1-95% w/w and the quantity of additives to be 5-99.8% w/w, which encompasses the ranges recited in claims 4 and 14-15.
In view of the teachings of Yang, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include glycine in the composition rendered obvious by Bristow and Bergstrom because Yang teaches glycine to be beneficial to plants for growth and for eventual nutritional benefits to humans. Bristow teaches that their composition may be applied to crops and the ordinary artisan would recognize the usefulness of a chemical that benefits both the plants and humans consuming the plants in an agricultural composition. While Yang teaches a concentration of glycine to be added to aqueous nutrient solutions applied to soil, they do not teach a concentration for agricultural compositions that will be applied directly to plants. In view of the teachings of Bergstrom that amino acids can be present in amounts from 1x10-4-20% w/w (component a):b) ratio of 99.99:0.01-50:50 and a total amount of a)+b) that is 1-40% w/w), it would be obvious for an ordinary artisan to optimize within the range of 1x10-4-20% w/w, which significantly overlaps with the ranges recited in instant claims 14-15. As a result, there is a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the invention of claims 13-15 in view of the teachings of Bristow and Bergstrom and further in view of the teachings of Yang.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments, filed on 28 August 2026, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in the final para. of pg. 6 that the Bristow reference is directed to safening and the Bergstrom reference is directed to species for wetting rather than stabilization of tribenuron-methyl or thifensulfuron-methyl. This is not found to be persuasive because it is not a requirement that prior art be directed to the same problem to be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103, but rather “it must be analogous art to the claimed invention”. See MPEP § 2141.01(a). “In order for a reference to be proper for use in an obviousness rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, the reference must be analogous art to the claimed invention.” In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325, 72 USPQ2d 1209, 1212 (Fed. Cir. 2004). “A reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem); or (2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention)” (bold added for emphasis). The Bristow reference is directed to herbicidal compositions comprising one or more safeners and one or more herbicides, which in some embodiments may be tribenuron-methyl and/or thifensulfon-methyl, and the Bergstrom reference is directed to agrochemical compositions comprising a) anionic compounds which may be the naphthalene sulfonate derivatives sodium butyl naphthalene sulfonate and sodium nonyl naphthalene sulfonate and b) nitrogen-containing surfactants. The herbicidal compositions taught by Bristow and the agrochemical compositions taught by Bergstrom are considered to be reasonably pertinent to the agrochemical compositions recited in the instant claims, therefore the Bristow and Bergstrom references are considered analogous art to the instant application and are thus appropriate to use in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
In para. 1 of pg. 7, Applicant asserts that the rejection presented in the previous Office action “relies on an improper reconstruction”, which is interpreted to be an allegation of improper hindsight reasoning. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). The Bristow and Bergstrom references were publicly available prior to the filing of the instant application and the motivation for their combination was found within the cited references. No hindsight reasoning was required to reject the claimed invention and the argument is found to be unpersuasive.
Also in para. 1 of pg. 7, Applicant argues that neither the Bristow nor Bergstrom reference identify the problem addressed by the instant application nor does either reference provide a reason to combine a silicate carrier with at least two salts of sulfonic acid derivatives “for the claimed stabilization function”. This is not found to be persuasive because “[t]he reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant” (bold added for emphasis). See MPEP § 2144.IV. and, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006).
Finally, in para. 5 of pg. 7 Applicant argues that the Yang reference is directed to glycine in the context of plant development rather than stabilization of triazinylsulfonylurea herbicides and does not provide motivation to modify the Bristow and Bergstrom references. Regarding the first argument, as stated above, it is not a requirement that prior art be directed to the same problem as the instant application to be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103, but rather “it must be analogous art to the claimed invention”. The Yang reference is directed to plant/crop treatments, is considered to be analogous to the instant application and therefore proper to use in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103, and the argument is found to be unpersuasive. Regarding the second argument, the rejection presented in the previous Office action and maintained above did not argue that the Yang reference provided motivation to combine the Bristow and Bergstrom references with each other, but rather motivated the inclusion of glycine in the composition that had already been rendered obvious (vide supra). As a result, Applicant’s arguments are found to be unpersuasive.
New Grounds of Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 6-9, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 12 were amended to recite “wherein the triazinylsulfonylurea herbicide is…”. These amendments lack antecedent basis because claim 1 recites “at least one triazinylsulfonylurea herbicide” in line 2 and claim 12 recites “at least two triazinylsulfonylurea herbicides” in line 2. It is unclear if claims 1 and 12 are limiting only one triazinylsulfonylurea herbicide, more than one triazinylsulfonylurea herbicide, or all of the triazinylsulfonylurea herbicides, rendering the claims indefinite. Claims 4, 6-9, and 11 depend from claim 1 and claims 13-15 depend from claim 12. These dependent claims incorporate all of the limitations of the independent claims, do not resolve the issues of antecedent basis, and are therefore also rejected for being indefinite. Applicant may overcome this rejection by amending claims 1 and 12 to refer to “the at least one” or “the at least two” triazinylsulfonylurea herbicide(s), respectively.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.J.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/TIGABU KASSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619