Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
2. Acknowledgement is made of the amendment filed 10/30/25.
Claims 1-9 remain pending in the application.
• Claims 1-6 and 8 are currently amended.
• Claim 10 is canceled.
• No claims are new.
• claim limitation(s) being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph are withdrawn because of claim amendments (the pending claims have been amended to recite a "transceiver" and "one or more processor" in lieu of the various units).
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments, filed on 10/30/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-4 and 6-9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong (US 20180041258) in view of Shimezawa (US 10,903,939) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Zhang et al (US 11,509,368B1) and Jiayi Zhang et al (“Prospective Multiple Antenna Technologies for Beyond 5G, IEEE Journal on selected Areas in Communications, Queens’s University Belfast-Research Portal: 2020, pages 1-23).
(1) Applicant's arguments: Regarding amended independent claims 1 and 8, Applicant respectfully asserts that Tong does not disclose or suggest "intensity of a line-of-sight (LOS) channel component." In addition, Tong also does not disclose or suggest an "equivalent digital baseband channel matrix" determined based on "intensity information of a line-of-sight (LOS) channel component."
Examiner's response:
Examiner respectfully agrees, rejection withdrawn.
(2) Applicant's arguments: Regarding amended independent claim 6, this claim is amended in this reply to include the feature "wherein the plurality of antenna ports correspond to at least one of a phased array antenna, a reconfigurable intelligent surface or a lens array antenna." According to the features of amended independent claim 6, unprecoded data streams transmitted through a phased array antenna, a reconfigurable intelligent surface, or a lens array antenna can be used to determine an equivalent digital baseband channel matrix based on intensity information of the line-of-sight (LOS) channel component. These data streams are thereby demodulated. A transmitting device and a receiving device achieve information transmission without precoding. This approach effectively eliminates inter-stream interference in the LOS channel. Performance of multi-stream transmission in the LOS channel is improved. Capacity of the LOS MIMO channel is expanded.
Examiner's response: In response to applicant’s argument that the references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that the features have been newly added/amended (see rejection below).
The examiner will also respectfully like to point to applicant that in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., According to the features of amended independent claim 6, unprecoded data streams transmitted through a phased array antenna, a reconfigurable intelligent surface, or a lens array antenna can be used to determine an equivalent digital baseband channel matrix based on intensity information of the line-of-sight (LOS) channel component. These data streams are thereby demodulated. A transmitting device and a receiving device achieve information transmission without precoding. This approach effectively eliminates inter-stream interference in the LOS channel. Performance of multi-stream transmission in the LOS channel is improved. Capacity of the LOS MIMO channel is expanded.) are not recited in the rejected claim 6 and newly amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Zhang et al (US 11,509,368B1)(See IDs) in view of Jiayi Zhang et al (“ Prospective Multiple Antenna Technologies for Beyond 5G, IEEE Journal on selected Areas in Communications, Queens’s University Belfast-Research Portal: March 19th , 2020, pages 1-23)
With regards to claim 6, Zhang et a discloses in fig. 7, a transmitting device, comprising: one or more processor (processor 740), configured to determine multiple un-precoded data streams for a receiving device (see col.11, lines 40-60, The base stations 105 or the UEs 115 may use MIMO communications to exploit multipath signal propagation and increase the spectral efficiency by transmitting or receiving multiple signals via different spatial layers. Such techniques may be referred to as spatial multiplexing. The multiple signals may be received by the receiving device via different antennas or different combinations of antennas. Each of the multiple signals may be referred to as a separate spatial stream and may carry bits associated with the same data stream (e.g., the same codeword) or different data streams (e.g., different codewords).; Different spatial layers may be associated with different antenna ports used for channel measurement and reporting. - - - and multiple-user MIMO (MU-MIMO), where multiple spatial layers are transmitted to multiple devices.
a transceiver, (transceiver 715) including a plurality of antenna ports, respective ones of the plurality of antenna ports being configured to send the multiple data streams. (see fig. 7, The device 705 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, such as a communications manager 720, an input/output (I/O) controller 710, a transceiver 715, an antenna 725, a memory 730, code 735, and a processor 740. These components may be in electronic communication or otherwise coupled (e.g., operatively, communicatively, functionally, electronically, electrically) via one or more buses (e.g., a bus 745) configured to receive multiple un-precoded data streams sent through a plurality of antenna ports in a transmitting device (the device 705 may have more than one antenna 725, which may be capable of concurrently transmitting or receiving multiple wireless transmissions. The transceiver 715 may communicate bi-directionally, via the one or more antennas 725, wired, or wireless links as described herein. For example, the transceiver 715 may represent a wireless transceiver and may communicate bi-directionally with another wireless transceiver. The transceiver 715 may also include a modem to modulate the packets, to provide the modulated packets to one or more antennas 725 for transmission, and to demodulate packets received from the one or more antennas 725. The transceiver 715, or the transceiver 715 and one or more antennas 725, may be an example of a transmitter 415, a transmitter 515, a receiver 410, a receiver 510);
Zhang et a discloses all of the subject matter discussed above, but is not explicit about wherein the plurality of antenna ports correspond to at least one of a phased array antenna, a reconfigurable intelligent surface or a lens array antenna
However, Jiayi Zhang et al discloses Prospective Multiple Antenna Technologies for Beyond 5G. In section E, Beamspace Using Lens Arrays is discussed. In section IV. Intelligent Reflecting surface is discussed
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the method of Jiayi Zhang et al, such as the using Lens Arrays, within the device of Zhang et al, in order to improving communication systems, offer substantial hardware and power savings (see col.3, Section E).MPEP 2143 Rational C.
With regards to claim 7, the combination of Zhang et al and Jiayi Zhang et al discloses the transmitting device according to claim 6, wherein, the plurality of antenna ports send the data streams using the same modulation and coding strategy and using the same transmit power. (see Zhang et al, MIMO techniques include single-user MIMO (SU-MIMO), where multiple spatial layers are transmitted to the same receiving device, and multiple-user MIMO (MU-MIMO), where multiple spatial layers are transmitted to multiple devices).
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 1-5 and 8-9 are allowed.
7. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claims 1-5 and 8-9 are allowable over prior art of record. The prior art of record failed to teach, alone or in combination, a receiving device, comprising: a transceiver, configured to receive multiple un-precoded data streams sent through a plurality of antenna ports in a transmitting device; one or more processor, configured to determine an equivalent digital baseband channel matrix for a respective one of the plurality of antenna ports based on information on [[a]] an intensity of a line-of-sight (LOS) channel component, and demodulate the multiple data streams according to the equivalent digital baseband channel matrix as recited in claim 1 and similarly recited in claim 8.
Conclusion
8. Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 12/05/25 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HELENE E TAYONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631 February 6, 2026