DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 14-27 as originally filed are pending and have been considered as follows.
Priority
1. Acknowledgement is made that the present application is a national phase conversion of PCT/JP2022/043819 filed on 11/28/2022, which claims priority to JP2021-196306 filed on 12/02/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 04/30/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
5. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“mobile modules” in claims 14, 16, 17, 18, 19, 22, 23, 24, 25, and 26.
“work module” in claims 14, 15, 16, 17, 19, 20, 21, 22, 24, and 27.
A review of the specification (citation to US pub. No. 20250010478) shows the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitations:
“mobile module” in claims 14, 16, 17, 18, 19, 22, 23, 24, 25, and 26 corresponds to “mobile module 1” [0031] and Fig. 2.
“work module” in claims 14, 15, 16, 17, 19, 20, 21, 22, 24, and 27 corresponds to “work module 2” [0033] and Fig. 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 14-18, 21-24, and 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)/(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krohne et al. (US 20170057081, hereinafter Krohne).
Regarding claim 14, Krohne teaches a self-propelled robot for performing work on a structure (see at least Fig. 12 and [0034]: “Particularly, robots with the meaning of the present disclosure may include mobile robots which comprise any automation capable of locomotion. Mobile robots within the meaning of the present disclosure are not bound to a single physical location and are able to propel themselves forward or backward towards another physical location. Mobile robots within the meaning of the present disclosure include any autonomously acting agents (“autonomous mobile robot,” AMR) and externally guided agents (“autonomously guided vehicles,” AGV).”), the self-propelled robot comprising:
a plurality of mobile modules each including a controller and configured to move relative to the structure (see at least Figs. 1-12 and [0009]: “According to a first aspect of the invention, a modularized robot comprises a robot platform configured to convey mobility and connectivity to external components to the modularized robot, a robot workhead configured to convey the ability to perform an operational task to the modularized robot, and a robot adapter attached to either the robot platform or the robot workhead and configured to mechanically link the robot platform to the robot workhead.”; [0010]: “According to a second aspect of the invention, a modular robot assembly kit comprises a plurality of robot platforms, each configured to convey mobility and connectivity to external components to an assembled modular robot, and a plurality of robot workheads, each configured to convey the ability to perform one of a plurality of operational tasks to an assembled modular robot, wherein each of the plurality of robot workheads comprises a robot adapter configured to mechanically link one of the robot platforms to the respective robot workhead.”; [0041]: “As each of the platform 10 and the workhead 20 are equipped with electronic circuitry forming control logic of the component, such as an ASIC (“application-specific integrated circuit”), an FPGA (“field programmable gate array”), a microprocessor or similar programmable logic devices, data relating to the respective platform 10 and the momentarily connected workhead 20 may be exchanged via a data communication protocol.”); and
a work module configured to perform work on the structure and detachable from the plurality of mobile modules (see at least Figs. 1-12 and [0038]: “FIGS. 1 to 5 schematically illustrate the principles of modularized robots according to embodiments of the invention with regard to the concept of modularization. FIG. 6 schematically illustrates general structural details of a modularized robot which apply to any of the modularized robots according to the embodiments of the invention. FIGS. 7 to 11 show conceptual sketches of various modularized robots with different workheads for different functional applications. The common details of the modularized robots as depicted in FIGS. 1 to 11 will first be explained in conjunction with FIG. 6, particularly with respect to the robot platform and the robot workhead of the modularized robots. Thereafter, various implementation examples for both the robot platform as well as the robot workhead will be explained in conjunction with FIGS. 1 to 5 and FIGS. 7 to 11, respectively.”; [0040]: “The robot adapter 1 may have a mechanical connector 2 which is designed and configured to mechanically interlock with a corresponding mechanical receptacle 6 in the counterpart robot module. For example, the robot adapter 1 may be formed as a structural element protruding from either the robot platform 10 or the robot workhead 20 at a certain fixed location with respect to the receptacle 6 in the other one of robot platform 10 and robot workhead 20, as applicable. Various locking mechanisms may be used for the mechanical connector 2, such as a bayonet lock, a snap-fit lock, or a threaded engagement mechanism. Moreover, the robot adapter 2 may have inbuilt poka-yoke mechanisms that prevent the platform 10 and the workhead 20 from being coupled incorrectly.”; [0054]: “In suitable locations, storehouse facilities for parking, recharging and interchanging functional tools and equipment may be provided remote from the working site. The robots may be directed towards such storehouse facilities for a change of robot workheads 20 on a given robot platform 10 or a change of mobility platform 10 for a given robot workhead 20. The re-assembly of modularized robots may be performed autonomously by the robots themselves, by using support robots and/or by human intervention.”).
Regarding claim 15, Krohne teaches the limitations of claim 14. Krohne further teaches wherein the work module is configured to perform work upward on the structure from below the structure or perform work downward on the structure from above the structure (see at least Fig. 12 and [0052]: “FIG. 12 exemplarily depicts a working environment 100 in which a swarm of modularized robots may be employed. The swarm of modularized robots may include working robots R1 to R11 which perform different tasks and subtasks at different locations in the vicinity of a fuselage section 50 of an aircraft. Some robots R4, R5 and R6 may, for example, work on the outside of the fuselage section, for example on a scaffolding 60. Some other robots R7, R8, R9, R10 and R11 may work on the inside of the fuselage section 50, for example on a flight deck 70 of the aircraft. Some robots R1, R2 may, for example, work on a cargo deck 80 of the aircraft. The swarm of robots may, for example, include monitoring and surveillance robots S1, S2 which are tasked with supervising the working environment, giving alarm in case of problems and/or relaying task completion information to a centralized database D. The centralized database D may include a hierarchical listing of tasks to be executed. A task controller C may be responsible for managing the tasks stored in the centralized database D. The working environment 100 of FIG. 12 may also be implemented in a module of a space station with swarm robots performing assembly tasks, maintenance tasks and/or experiments”).
Regarding claim 16, Krohne teaches the limitations of claim 14. Krohne further teaches wherein the controller is configured to control movement of each of the plurality of mobile modules and work of the work module based on a motion characteristic of the work module (see at least [0041]: “The robot adapter 1 may further be configured to form a data communication link between the robot platform 10 and the robot workhead 20. As each of the platform 10 and the workhead 20 are equipped with electronic circuitry forming control logic of the component, such as an ASIC (“application-specific integrated circuit”), an FPGA (“field programmable gate array”), a microprocessor or similar programmable logic devices, data relating to the respective platform 10 and the momentarily connected workhead 20 may be exchanged via a data communication protocol.”; [0045]: “FIGS. 1 to 5 show exemplary embodiments of various robot platforms 10. The robot platforms 10 may be standardized “plug-and-play” platforms which are responsible for the displacement, relocation and movement of a modularized robot. Independently of the operational function or application of the modularized robot, the robot platform 10 may be chosen according to accessibility and positional requirements. The robot platform 10 may, for example, be an aerial vehicle such as a drone with helicopter or quadcopter blades 11 (FIG. 1) or cold gas nozzles 14 (FIG. 5), a ground vehicle with movement conveying kinematic devices such as spider legs, suction caps or wheels 12 (FIG. 2), a connector platform for coupling to industrial robots 30 (FIG. 3), or a connector platform mounted on an extension boom 13 which may be handheld and carried by a human worker 40 (FIG. 4). Modularized robots with robot platforms 10 conveying aerial movement may, in principle, also be employed as diving robots for exploration, maintenance or repair tasks under water.”; [0056]: “FIG. 13 schematically illustrates a control system architecture for a swarm F of modularized robots and robot modules. The swarm F may comprise combined robots and/or robot platforms 10 and robot workheads 20 as discrete swarm members. As each of the robot platforms 10 and robot workheads 20 may have its own microprocessor with control logic, each of those platforms 10 and workheads 20 may separately participate in the functional swarm intelligence as an individual swarm member.”).
Regarding claim 17, Krohne teaches the limitations of claim 16. Krohne further teaches a plurality of the work modules (see at least Figs. 1-12), wherein
each of the plurality of work modules includes a work tool configured to perform work on the structure and is detachable from each of the plurality of mobile modules (see at least Figs. 1-11 and [0045]: “FIGS. 1 to 5 show exemplary embodiments of various robot platforms 10. The robot platforms 10 may be standardized “plug-and-play” platforms which are responsible for the displacement, relocation and movement of a modularized robot. Independently of the operational function or application of the modularized robot, the robot platform 10 may be chosen according to accessibility and positional requirements. The robot platform 10 may, for example, be an aerial vehicle such as a drone with helicopter or quadcopter blades 11 (FIG. 1) or cold gas nozzles 14 (FIG. 5), a ground vehicle with movement conveying kinematic devices such as spider legs, suction caps or wheels 12 (FIG. 2), a connector platform for coupling to industrial robots 30 (FIG. 3), or a connector platform mounted on an extension boom 13 which may be handheld and carried by a human worker 40 (FIG. 4). Modularized robots with robot platforms 10 conveying aerial movement may, in principle, also be employed as diving robots for exploration, maintenance or repair tasks under water.”), and
a type of work by the work tool is different for each of the plurality of work modules (see at least Figs. 1-11 and [0046]: “FIGS. 7 to 11 show exemplary embodiments of various robot workheads 20 and the implementation as specific task-bound modularized robots. The robot workhead 20 may, for example, be a vacuum cleaner system 21 which may be used to evacuate all the chips and dust remaining from drilling processes (FIG. 7(A)). The vacuum cleaner entry may be equipped with a grid 22 near the ground to avoid contact between chips and the pump system of the vacuum cleaner system 21 (FIG. 7(B)—bottom view of FIG. 7(A)). Vacuum cleaner robots may be controlled by a wheeled platform 10 which polices the areas already cleaned and causes them to drive to not yet cleaned remaining areas. Vacuum cleaner robots may evacuate chips and dust remaining from drilling processes, as well as screws, bolts, rivets, adhesive strips, tapes, claims, clips, brackets or scraps of wire left on the floor.”).
Regarding claim 18, Krohne teaches the limitations of claim 17. Krohne further teaches wherein the motion characteristic includes at least any of a size of the work module, a weight of the work module, a position of a center of gravity of the work module, a running resistance of each of the plurality of mobile modules, and a relative position of the work tool to each of the plurality of mobile modules (see at least [0045]: “Independently of the operational function or application of the modularized robot, the robot platform 10 may be chosen according to accessibility and positional requirements. The robot platform 10 may, for example, be an aerial vehicle such as a drone with helicopter or quadcopter blades 11 (FIG. 1) or cold gas nozzles 14 (FIG. 5), a ground vehicle with movement conveying kinematic devices such as spider legs, suction caps or wheels 12 (FIG. 2), a connector platform for coupling to industrial robots 30 (FIG. 3), or a connector platform mounted on an extension boom 13 which may be handheld and carried by a human worker 40 (FIG. 4). Modularized robots with robot platforms 10 conveying aerial movement may, in principle, also be employed as diving robots for exploration, maintenance or repair tasks under water.”; [0058]: “The functional intelligence (knowledge) for workhead applications may be usually inside the microprocessor of the robot workhead 20, while the positioning intelligence (knowledge) may be usually inside the microprocessor of the robot platform 10. An inter-module communication between platforms 10 and workheads 20 may be possible to exchange functional and positional data and information. The robot workheads 20 may be able to autonomously select the next task to be performed either from the centralized task database D or by being directly queried by the task controller C.”).
Regarding claim 21, Krohne teaches the limitations of claim 14. Krohne further teaches wherein the work module is configured to stand on its own (see at least Figs. 1-11 and [0046]: “FIGS. 7 to 11 show exemplary embodiments of various robot workheads 20 and the implementation as specific task-bound modularized robots. The robot workhead 20 may, for example, be a vacuum cleaner system 21 which may be used to evacuate all the chips and dust remaining from drilling processes (FIG. 7(A)). The vacuum cleaner entry may be equipped with a grid 22 near the ground to avoid contact between chips and the pump system of the vacuum cleaner system 21 (FIG. 7(B)—bottom view of FIG. 7(A)). Vacuum cleaner robots may be controlled by a wheeled platform 10 which polices the areas already cleaned and causes them to drive to not yet cleaned remaining areas. Vacuum cleaner robots may evacuate chips and dust remaining from drilling processes, as well as screws, bolts, rivets, adhesive strips, tapes, claims, clips, brackets or scraps of wire left on the floor.”).
Regarding claim 22, Krohne teaches the limitations of claim 14. Krohne further teaches wherein the work module is detachable from each of the plurality of mobile modules while standing on its own (see at least Fig. 7 and [0040]: “For example, the robot adapter 1 may be formed as a structural element protruding from either the robot platform 10 or the robot workhead 20 at a certain fixed location with respect to the receptacle 6 in the other one of robot platform 10 and robot workhead 20, as applicable. Various locking mechanisms may be used for the mechanical connector 2, such as a bayonet lock, a snap-fit lock, or a threaded engagement mechanism. Moreover, the robot adapter 2 may have inbuilt poka-yoke mechanisms that prevent the platform 10 and the workhead 20 from being coupled incorrectly.”; [0046]: “FIGS. 7 to 11 show exemplary embodiments of various robot workheads 20 and the implementation as specific task-bound modularized robots. The robot workhead 20 may, for example, be a vacuum cleaner system 21 which may be used to evacuate all the chips and dust remaining from drilling processes (FIG. 7(A)). The vacuum cleaner entry may be equipped with a grid 22 near the ground to avoid contact between chips and the pump system of the vacuum cleaner system 21 (FIG. 7(B)—bottom view of FIG. 7(A)). Vacuum cleaner robots may be controlled by a wheeled platform 10 which polices the areas already cleaned and causes them to drive to not yet cleaned remaining areas. Vacuum cleaner robots may evacuate chips and dust remaining from drilling processes, as well as screws, bolts, rivets, adhesive strips, tapes, claims, clips, brackets or scraps of wire left on the floor.”).
Regarding claim 23, Krohne teaches the limitations of claim 14. Krohne further teaches a cable connected to any of one of the plurality of mobile modules and the work module (see at least Figs. 1-11: and [0045]: “FIGS. 1 to 5 show exemplary embodiments of various robot platforms 10. The robot platforms 10 may be standardized “plug-and-play” platforms which are responsible for the displacement, relocation and movement of a modularized robot. Independently of the operational function or application of the modularized robot, the robot platform 10 may be chosen according to accessibility and positional requirements.”; [0046]: “FIGS. 7 to 11 show exemplary embodiments of various robot workheads 20 and the implementation as specific task-bound modularized robots.”; Fig. 11-12 and [0050]: “The robot workhead 20 may further comprise wire fixers 27 that include a support for wires and brackets and a number of electronic screwdrivers which are configured to position the wires to be fixed in their correct position and subsequently fix the bracket with screws (FIG. 11). Such wire fixing robots may be controlled by aerial platforms 10 that assure positional stability and synchronization needed for the wire-fixing process.”; [0052]: “Some robots R4, R5 and R6 may, for example, work on the outside of the fuselage section, for example on a scaffolding 60. Some other robots R7, R8, R9, R10 and R11 may work on the inside of the fuselage section 50, for example on a flight deck 70 of the aircraft. Some robots R1, R2 may, for example, work on a cargo deck 80 of the aircraft.”); and
a cable platform (see at least Fig. 11-12 and [0050]: “The robot workhead 20 may further comprise wire fixers 27 that include a support for wires and brackets and a number of electronic screwdrivers which are configured to position the wires to be fixed in their correct position and subsequently fix the bracket with screws (FIG. 11). Such wire fixing robots may be controlled by aerial platforms 10 that assure positional stability and synchronization needed for the wire-fixing process.”), wherein
the cable is configured to move according to movement of the plurality of mobile modules (see at least Fig. 11-12 and [0050]: “The robot workhead 20 may further comprise wire fixers 27 that include a support for wires and brackets and a number of electronic screwdrivers which are configured to position the wires to be fixed in their correct position and subsequently fix the bracket with screws (FIG. 11). Such wire fixing robots may be controlled by aerial platforms 10 that assure positional stability and synchronization needed for the wire-fixing process.”; [0052]: “Some robots R4, R5 and R6 may, for example, work on the outside of the fuselage section, for example on a scaffolding 60. Some other robots R7, R8, R9, R10 and R11 may work on the inside of the fuselage section 50, for example on a flight deck 70 of the aircraft. Some robots R1, R2 may, for example, work on a cargo deck 80 of the aircraft.”), and
the cable platform is configured to extend and contract according to movement of the plurality of mobile modules while supporting the cable (see at least Fig. 11-12 and [0050]: “The robot workhead 20 may further comprise wire fixers 27 that include a support for wires and brackets and a number of electronic screwdrivers which are configured to position the wires to be fixed in their correct position and subsequently fix the bracket with screws (FIG. 11). Such wire fixing robots may be controlled by aerial platforms 10 that assure positional stability and synchronization needed for the wire-fixing process.”; [0052]: “FIG. 12 exemplarily depicts a working environment 100 in which a swarm of modularized robots may be employed. The swarm of modularized robots may include working robots R1 to R11 which perform different tasks and subtasks at different locations in the vicinity of a fuselage section 50 of an aircraft. Some robots R4, R5 and R6 may, for example, work on the outside of the fuselage section, for example on a scaffolding 60. Some other robots R7, R8, R9, R10 and R11 may work on the inside of the fuselage section 50, for example on a flight deck 70 of the aircraft. Some robots R1, R2 may, for example, work on a cargo deck 80 of the aircraft. The swarm of robots may, for example, include monitoring and surveillance robots S1, S2 which are tasked with supervising the working environment, giving alarm in case of problems and/or relaying task completion information to a centralized database D. The centralized database D may include a hierarchical listing of tasks to be executed. A task controller C may be responsible for managing the tasks stored in the centralized database D. The working environment 100 of FIG. 12 may also be implemented in a module of a space station with swarm robots performing assembly tasks, maintenance tasks and/or experiments.”).
Regarding claim 24, Krohne teaches a method of manufacturing a structure (see at least Fig. 12 and [0052]: “FIG. 12 exemplarily depicts a working environment 100 in which a swarm of modularized robots may be employed. The swarm of modularized robots may include working robots R1 to R11 which perform different tasks and subtasks at different locations in the vicinity of a fuselage section 50 of an aircraft. Some robots R4, R5 and R6 may, for example, work on the outside of the fuselage section, for example on a scaffolding 60. Some other robots R7, R8, R9, R10 and R11 may work on the inside of the fuselage section 50, for example on a flight deck 70 of the aircraft. Some robots R1, R2 may, for example, work on a cargo deck 80 of the aircraft.”), the method comprising:
connecting a plurality of mobile modules of a self-propelled robot to a work module of the self-propelled robot (see at least Figs. 1-12 and [0034]: “Particularly, robots with the meaning of the present disclosure may include mobile robots which comprise any automation capable of locomotion. Mobile robots within the meaning of the present disclosure are not bound to a single physical location and are able to propel themselves forward or backward towards another physical location. Mobile robots within the meaning of the present disclosure include any autonomously acting agents (“autonomous mobile robot,” AMR) and externally guided agents (“autonomously guided vehicles,” AGV).”; [0039]: “The general structure of a modularized robot, as illustrated in FIG. 6, involves a robot platform 10 and a robot workhead 20 that are connected via a universal robot adapter 1. The robot platform 10 is designed as a basic chassis module for a modularized robot and is configured to convey mobility and connectivity to external components to the robot. The robot workhead 20, in turn, is designed as a customized functional module and is configured to convey the ability to perform certain operational tasks to the robot. The robot adapter 1 may generally be the structural, communication and/or power supply link between the robot platform 10 and the robot workhead 20. A modularized robot comprising a connected robot platform 10 and robot workhead 20 is a fully autonomous system which is capable of performing operational tasks, especially in non-ergonomic conditions for workers during construction, assembly, maintenance and/or repair of aircraft or spacecraft. In exemplary embodiments, each modularized robot may have a maximum weight of about 3 kg and a maximum width, height or depth of about 20 cm.”); and
moving the plurality of mobile modules toward a structure and performing work on the structure by the work module (see at least Figs. 1-12 and [0009]: “According to a first aspect of the invention, a modularized robot comprises a robot platform configured to convey mobility and connectivity to external components to the modularized robot, a robot workhead configured to convey the ability to perform an operational task to the modularized robot, and a robot adapter attached to either the robot platform or the robot workhead and configured to mechanically link the robot platform to the robot workhead.”; [0010]: “According to a second aspect of the invention, a modular robot assembly kit comprises a plurality of robot platforms, each configured to convey mobility and connectivity to external components to an assembled modular robot, and a plurality of robot workheads, each configured to convey the ability to perform one of a plurality of operational tasks to an assembled modular robot, wherein each of the plurality of robot workheads comprises a robot adapter configured to mechanically link one of the robot platforms to the respective robot workhead.”),
wherein in the performing of work, a controller of each of the plurality of mobile modules controls movement of each of the plurality of mobile modules based on a motion characteristic of the work module and control work of the work module based on the motion characteristic of the work module (see at least Figs. 1-12 and [0038]: “FIGS. 1 to 5 schematically illustrate the principles of modularized robots according to embodiments of the invention with regard to the concept of modularization. FIG. 6 schematically illustrates general structural details of a modularized robot which apply to any of the modularized robots according to the embodiments of the invention. FIGS. 7 to 11 show conceptual sketches of various modularized robots with different workheads for different functional applications. The common details of the modularized robots as depicted in FIGS. 1 to 11 will first be explained in conjunction with FIG. 6, particularly with respect to the robot platform and the robot workhead of the modularized robots. Thereafter, various implementation examples for both the robot platform as well as the robot workhead will be explained in conjunction with FIGS. 1 to 5 and FIGS. 7 to 11, respectively.”; [0040]: “The robot adapter 1 may have a mechanical connector 2 which is designed and configured to mechanically interlock with a corresponding mechanical receptacle 6 in the counterpart robot module. For example, the robot adapter 1 may be formed as a structural element protruding from either the robot platform 10 or the robot workhead 20 at a certain fixed location with respect to the receptacle 6 in the other one of robot platform 10 and robot workhead 20, as applicable. Various locking mechanisms may be used for the mechanical connector 2, such as a bayonet lock, a snap-fit lock, or a threaded engagement mechanism. Moreover, the robot adapter 2 may have inbuilt poka-yoke mechanisms that prevent the platform 10 and the workhead 20 from being coupled incorrectly.”; [0045]: “FIGS. 1 to 5 show exemplary embodiments of various robot platforms 10. The robot platforms 10 may be standardized “plug-and-play” platforms which are responsible for the displacement, relocation and movement of a modularized robot. Independently of the operational function or application of the modularized robot, the robot platform 10 may be chosen according to accessibility and positional requirements. The robot platform 10 may, for example, be an aerial vehicle such as a drone with helicopter or quadcopter blades 11 (FIG. 1) or cold gas nozzles 14 (FIG. 5), a ground vehicle with movement conveying kinematic devices such as spider legs, suction caps or wheels 12 (FIG. 2), a connector platform for coupling to industrial robots 30 (FIG. 3), or a connector platform mounted on an extension boom 13 which may be handheld and carried by a human worker 40 (FIG. 4). Modularized robots with robot platforms 10 conveying aerial movement may, in principle, also be employed as diving robots for exploration, maintenance or repair tasks under water.”; [0054]: “In suitable locations, storehouse facilities for parking, recharging and interchanging functional tools and equipment may be provided remote from the working site. The robots may be directed towards such storehouse facilities for a change of robot workheads 20 on a given robot platform 10 or a change of mobility platform 10 for a given robot workhead 20. The re-assembly of modularized robots may be performed autonomously by the robots themselves, by using support robots and/or by human intervention.”).
Regarding claim 26, Krohne teaches the limitations of claim 24. Krohne further teaches wherein
the plurality of mobile modules move on a frame portion covering the structure (see at least Fig. 12 and [0052]: “FIG. 12 exemplarily depicts a working environment 100 in which a swarm of modularized robots may be employed. The swarm of modularized robots may include working robots R1 to R11 which perform different tasks and subtasks at different locations in the vicinity of a fuselage section 50 of an aircraft. Some robots R4, R5 and R6 may, for example, work on the outside of the fuselage section, for example on a scaffolding 60. Some other robots R7, R8, R9, R10 and R11 may work on the inside of the fuselage section 50, for example on a flight deck 70 of the aircraft. Some robots R1, R2 may, for example, work on a cargo deck 80 of the aircraft. The swarm of robots may, for example, include monitoring and surveillance robots S1, S2 which are tasked with supervising the working environment, giving alarm in case of problems and/or relaying task completion information to a centralized database D. The centralized database D may include a hierarchical listing of tasks to be executed. A task controller C may be responsible for managing the tasks stored in the centralized database D. The working environment 100 of FIG. 12 may also be implemented in a module of a space station with swarm robots performing assembly tasks, maintenance tasks and/or experiments.”), and
the plurality of mobile modules perform work downward on the structure from above the frame portion (see at least Fig. 12 and [0052]: “FIG. 12 exemplarily depicts a working environment 100 in which a swarm of modularized robots may be employed. The swarm of modularized robots may include working robots R1 to R11 which perform different tasks and subtasks at different locations in the vicinity of a fuselage section 50 of an aircraft. Some robots R4, R5 and R6 may, for example, work on the outside of the fuselage section, for example on a scaffolding 60. Some other robots R7, R8, R9, R10 and R11 may work on the inside of the fuselage section 50, for example on a flight deck 70 of the aircraft. Some robots R1, R2 may, for example, work on a cargo deck 80 of the aircraft. The swarm of robots may, for example, include monitoring and surveillance robots S1, S2 which are tasked with supervising the working environment, giving alarm in case of problems and/or relaying task completion information to a centralized database D. The centralized database D may include a hierarchical listing of tasks to be executed. A task controller C may be responsible for managing the tasks stored in the centralized database D. The working environment 100 of FIG. 12 may also be implemented in a module of a space station with swarm robots performing assembly tasks, maintenance tasks and/or experiments.”).
Regarding claim 27, Krohne teaches the limitations of claim 24. Krohne further teaches wherein in the performing of work, the work module inspects the structure (see at least Figs. 1-12 and [0047]: “The robot workhead 20 may further comprise a monitoring and surveillance unit containing a black light 23 and a camera system 24 to inspect the surface protection quality (FIG. 8). The monitoring and surveillance robots may register positions where non-quality evidences were detected and may, under control of the robot platform 10, police the areas already inspected or relocate to not yet inspected remaining areas. Monitoring and surveillance robots may conveniently use aerial robot platforms 10 with helicopter blades 11 in order to have a better overview over the working environment. They may be used for a quality control of defects on surface protection or painting, as well as a visual inspection of rivets and bolts.”; [0060] When currently not in use or idle, any robot platform 10 or robot workhead 20 may indicate itself to the task controller C and/or the remaining swarm members as being available. Additionally, when a robot platform 10 or robot workhead 20 needs to be recharged or cleaned, it may indicate itself to the task controller C and/or the remaining swarm members as being out of order. The swarm F may be setup/assembled either autonomously, for example due to its self-conferred mobility, or with the support of a human operator. Each of the robot platforms 10 and robot workheads 20 may be equipped with some degree of autonomation mechanism allowing an interruption of the working process swiftly and in-time for maintenance, inspection and repair of the platforms 10 and workheads 20 themselves. The remaining swarm members may independently continue with their assigned tasks so that the temporary failure of some swarm members will not bring the whole task execution to a halt.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krohne et al. (US 20170057081, hereinafter Krohne) in view of Raizer (US 20170158430, hereinafter Raizer).
Regarding claim 19, Krohne teaches the limitations of claim 17. Krohne further teaches wherein
the work module (see at least Figs. 1-12 and [0039]: “The general structure of a modularized robot, as illustrated in FIG. 6, involves a robot platform 10 and a robot workhead 20 that are connected via a universal robot adapter 1.”) further includes
a drive mechanism configured to move the work tool along at least two directions (see at least [0015]: “Different platform types may be used to form different robot types: The platform may for example be a wheeled, caterpillar type, bladed, skidded, pedaled or suction cup platform, capable of forming an unmanned mobile ground vehicle (UMGV). The platform may alternatively be a winged, propeller type, hovering or jet/rocket-engine platform, capable of forming an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) or flying drone. The platform may also be a connector platform for a stationary robotic device, such as a robotic arm, an industrial robot, pick-and-place robot or any other automaton with limited range movement capability. The platform may finally also be a connector platform for a handheld tool, reach extension boom or stabilizing carrier frame which may be held, carried and operated by a human worker or user.”; [0034]: “Robots within the meaning of the present disclosure may comprise any automatic machine or artificial agent which is controlled by means of electronic circuitry or computer software. Particularly, robots with the meaning of the present disclosure may include mobile robots which comprise any automation capable of locomotion. Mobile robots within the meaning of the present disclosure are not bound to a single physical location and are able to propel themselves forward or backward towards another physical location. Mobile robots within the meaning of the present disclosure include any autonomously acting agents (“autonomous mobile robot,” AMR) and externally guided agents (“autonomously guided vehicles,” AGV).”; [0037]: “A UGV may, for example, include a rover, a ground based drone, an omni-wheeled ground vehicle, a Mecanum wheeled vehicle and other mobile robots capable of movement along or on the ground. For example, the UGV may also comprise hexapod robots, quadruped robots, robots with wheels, bipedal robots, robots with transport means conveying metachronal motion or other mechanisms that allow robots to transport themselves from place to place autonomously.”), and
a first sensor configured to recognize a position of the structure (see at least [0016]: “Similarly, different workhead types may be used to implement working functionality for different tasks that a robot is to perform: The workhead may be specialized for various surveillance or monitoring tasks, such as an autonomous survey of an interior and/or exterior of an airborne vehicle to be inspected and autonomous gathering of state parameters. To that end, the workhead may employ one or more of workhead mounted sensors such as cameras, laser scanners, ultrasonic sensors, magnetic sensors, infrared sensors, barcode scanners, chemical sensors, gas sensors, metal detectors, biosensors and similar physical parameter detection devices. The workhead may further, additionally or alternatively, include working tools that provide specific interaction with the environment, for example in an assembly, construction, maintenance or repair setting. The workhead may, for example, employ cleaning devices, printing devices, fastening devices, welding devices, screwing devices, electric testing devices, clamping devices, vacuuming devices, gluing devices, stamping devices, bolting devices, drilling devices or any other similar type of working tool.”; [0047]: “The robot workhead 20 may further comprise a monitoring and surveillance unit containing a black light 23 and a camera system 24 to inspect the surface protection quality (FIG. 8). The monitoring and surveillance robots may register positions where non-quality evidences were detected and may, under control of the robot platform 10, police the areas already inspected or relocate to not yet inspected remaining areas. Monitoring and surveillance robots may conveniently use aerial robot platforms 10 with helicopter blades 11 in order to have a better overview over the working environment. They may be used for a quality control of defects on surface protection or painting, as well as a visual inspection of rivets and bolts.”; [0051]: “Robots may be devised to support other robots or human workers in placing, handling and positioning components and parts in a precise location and to measure their precise positioning.),
accuracy of movement of the work tool by the actuator is high (see at least [0047]: “The robot workhead 20 may further comprise a monitoring and surveillance unit containing a black light 23 and a camera system 24 to inspect the surface protection quality (FIG. 8). The monitoring and surveillance robots may register positions where non-quality evidences were detected and may, under control of the robot platform 10, police the areas already inspected or relocate to not yet inspected remaining areas. Monitoring and surveillance robots may conveniently use aerial robot platforms 10 with helicopter blades 11 in order to have a better overview over the working environment. They may be used for a quality control of defects on surface protection or painting, as well as a visual inspection of rivets and bolts.”; [0051]: “Other robot types may, of course, be combined as well, for example, for rivet head sealing, applying surface protection in difficult access areas, applying sealing coating on surfaces and fasteners or screwing. Robots may be devised to support other robots or human workers in placing, handling and positioning components and parts in a precise location and to measure their precise positioning.”), and
the drive mechanism is configured to cause the work tool to approach the structure based on the position of the structure recognized by the first sensor (see at least [0047]: “The robot workhead 20 may further comprise a monitoring and surveillance unit containing a black light 23 and a camera system 24 to inspect the surface protection quality (FIG. 8). The monitoring and surveillance robots may register positions where non-quality evidences were detected and may, under control of the robot platform 10, police the areas already inspected or relocate to not yet inspected remaining areas. Monitoring and surveillance robots may conveniently use aerial robot platforms 10 with helicopter blades 11 in order to have a better overview over the working environment. They may be used for a quality control of defects on surface protection or painting, as well as a visual inspection of rivets and bolts.”; [0052]: “FIG. 12 exemplarily depicts a working environment 100 in which a swarm of modularized robots may be employed. The swarm of modularized robots may include working robots R1 to R11 which perform different tasks and subtasks at different locations in the vicinity of a fuselage section 50 of an aircraft. Some robots R4, R5 and R6 may, for example, work on the outside of the fuselage section, for example on a scaffolding 60. Some other robots R7, R8, R9, R10 and R11 may work on the inside of the fuselage section 50, for example on a flight deck 70 of the aircraft. Some robots R1, R2 may, for example, work on a cargo deck 80 of the aircraft. The swarm of robots may, for example, include monitoring and surveillance robots S1, S2 which are tasked with supervising the working environment, giving alarm in case of problems and/or relaying task completion information to a centralized database D. The centralized database D may include a hierarchical listing of tasks to be executed. A task controller C may be responsible for managing the tasks stored in the centralized database D. The working environment 100 of FIG. 12 may also be implemented in a module of a space station with swarm robots performing assembly tasks, maintenance tasks and/or experiments.”).
Krohne fails to explicitly teach that the drive mechanism is an actuator configured to move the work tool along at least two directions crossing each other and wherein accuracy of movement of the work tool by the actuator is higher than accuracy of movement of each of the mobile module.
However, Raizer ‘430 teaches a system and apparatus for a set of autonomous mobile robots to pick and place items in a warehouse that comprises an actuator configured to move the work tool along at least two directi