Response to Argument
This action is in response to the communication filed on 07/09/2026. Applicant argues that prior art does not explicitly disclose the amended claims. Examiner respectfully disagrees because
Saito discloses to calculate a predicted transmission power associated with one or more future transmissions within a first time period (page 08; para 01; calculates transmission power in a state where data is not transmitted. Next, the transmission power when transmitting data is predicted based on the transmission power in the state where data is not transmitted and the data rate of communication – predicting power needed to transmitting data (in future time slot)); and
transmit, to a base station, an information regarding the predicted transmission power (page 08; para 01; page 10; para 02; page 14; last para; transmitting predicted transmission power info to the base station).
Saito does not explicitly disclose that transmission energy is based on the transmission power and to transmit energy report (TER) in the information.
In an analogous art, Yang discloses that transmission energy is based on the transmission power (page 04; para 02-03; page 09; last para -page 10; first para; page 15; las para; energy parameter comprising a power level - measured transmission energy is based on measured transmission power for previous time period and predicted is for the future time slot) and to transmit energy report (TER) in the information (page 04, para 02; page 09, last para; page 16; last para; UE transmits energy report to the base station).
Applicant further argues that prior art does not explicitly disclose “wherein the at least one quantity comprises at least one of a reported energy associated with a time period or an average transmission power associated with the time period, and wherein the at least one quantity indicates indicating”. Examiner disagrees because Saito discloses wherein the at least one quantity comprises at least one of a reported energy associated with a time period or an average transmission power associated with the time period (page 06; para 01; average transmission power for the transmission period).
The reasoning stated above also applies to other pending claims. Therefore, the rejection has been maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-9, 11, 14 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito (WO 2007/138714, hereinafter Saito) in view of Yang (CN 105262514, hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claims 1 and 30, Saito discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (page 7; last para, terminal), comprising:
a memory (page 10; last para; storage unit); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory (page 10; last para; control unit) and configured to:
calculate a predicted transmission power associated with one or more future transmissions within a first time period (page 08; para 01; calculates transmission power in a state where data is not transmitted. Next, the transmission power when transmitting data is predicted based on the transmission power in the state where data is not transmitted and the data rate of communication – predicting power needed to transmitting data (in future time slot)); and
transmit, to a base station, an information regarding the predicted transmission power (page 08; para 01; page 10; para 02; page 14; last para; transmitting predicted transmission power info to the base station).
Saito does not explicitly disclose that transmission energy is based on the transmission power and to transmit energy report (TER) in the information.
In an analogous art, Yang discloses that transmission energy is based on the transmission power (page 04; para 02-03; page 09; last para -page 10; first para; page 15; las para; energy parameter comprising a power level - measured transmission energy is based on measured transmission power for previous time period and predicted is for the future time slot) and to transmit energy report (TER) in the information (page 04, para 02; page 09, last para; page 16; last para; UE transmits energy report to the base station).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Saito’s method/system by having Yang’s disclosure in order to dynamically adjust the transmission according to the power level improve the performance of the communication system.
Regarding claim 2, Saito discloses wherein the first time period comprises a first, previous time subperiod associated with a measured transmission power of a set of zero or more transmissions during the first (page 12; para 02-03; transmission power information notification in a state in which no data is transmitted), previous time subperiod and a second, subsequent time subperiod that is associated with the one or more future transmissions (page 12; last para, page 13, para 01; page 14; last para – transmission power is measured based on previous time period and predicts for the future time period).
Saito does not explicitly disclose that transmission energy is based on the transmission power; and the TER relates to the measured transmission power and the predicted transmission power.
In an analogous art, Yang discloses that transmission energy is based on the transmission power (page 04; para 02-03; page 09; last para -page 10; first para; page 15; las para; energy parameter comprising a power level), and the TER relates to the measured transmission power and the predicted transmission power (page 09; last para; page 16; last para; page 17; para 01). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Saito’s method/system by having Yang’s disclosure in order to dynamically adjust the transmission according to the power level improve the performance of the communication system.
Regarding claim 3, Saito does not explicitly disclose that wherein the measured transmission energy is based on a first duration of the first, previous time subperiod and a measured transmission power and the predicted transmission energy is based on a second duration of the second, subsequent time subperiod and the predicted transmission power.
In an analogous art, Yang discloses that wherein the measured transmission energy is based on a first duration of the first, previous time subperiod and a measured transmission power and the predicted transmission energy is based on a second duration of the second, subsequent time subperiod and the predicted transmission power (page 16; last para and page 17; first para; measured transmission energy is based on measured transmission power for previous time period and predicted energy is for the future time slot based on the measured value). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Saito’s method/system by having Yang’s disclosure in order to dynamically adjust the transmission according to the power level improve the performance of the communication system.
Regarding claim 4, Saito discloses wherein the TER relates to at least one of an average transmission power over the first time period (page 06; para 01; average transmission power) or a maximum transmission power over the first time period (page 5; para 02; maximum transmission power) for at least one of the measured transmission power or the predicted transmission power (page 06; para 01; acquired expected value).
Saito does not explicitly disclose that transmission energy is based on the transmission power.
In an analogous art, Yang discloses that transmission energy is based on the transmission power (page 04; para 02-03; page 09; last para -page 10; first para; page 15; las para; energy parameter comprising a power level). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Saito’s method/system by having Yang’s disclosure in order to dynamically adjust the transmission according to the power level improve the performance of the communication system.
Regarding claim 8, Saito does not explicitly disclose that the at least one processor further configured to: transmit, to the base station, a subsequent TER regarding an additional predicted transmission energy associated with one or more additional future transmissions within a second time period, wherein a time between a beginning of the first time period and a beginning of the second time period is based on at least one of a value known by the UE, a configuration received from the base station, or a beginning of a transmission comprising the subsequent TER associated with the second time period.
In an analogous art, Yang discloses that the at least one processor further configured to: transmit, to the base station, a subsequent TER regarding an additional predicted transmission energy (page 09; last para; measured transmission energy is based on measured transmission power for previous time period and predicted is for the future time slot) associated with one or more additional future transmissions within a second time period (page 16; last para and page 17; first para; measured transmission energy is based on measured transmission power for previous time period and predicted energy is for the future time slot based on the measured value), wherein a time between a beginning of the first time period and a beginning of the second time period is based on at least one of a value known by the UE (page 04; para 02; terminal periodically transmits energy report which implies that UE knows predefined time slots to transmit the report), a configuration received from the base station, or a beginning of a transmission comprising the subsequent TER associated with the second time period. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Saito’s method/system by having Yang’s disclosure in order to dynamically adjust the transmission according to the power level improve the performance of the communication system.
Regarding claim 9, Saito discloses that the at least one processor further configured to: transmit a preserved transmission power report indicating a value for a maximum output power associated with at least one of the one or more future transmissions within the first time period (page 05; first & last para; upper limit of transmission power), wherein the value for the maximum output power is based on the predicted transmission power (page 12; para 01).
Saito does not explicitly disclose that transmission energy is based on the transmission power.
In an analogous art, Yang discloses that transmission energy is based on the transmission power (page 04; para 02-03; page 09; last para -page 10; first para; page 15; las para; energy parameter comprising a power level). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Saito’s method/system by having Yang’s disclosure in order to dynamically adjust the transmission according to the power level improve the performance of the communication system.
Regarding claim 11, Saito does not explicitly disclose wherein the TER regarding the predicted transmission power comprises a report for a set of two or more time subperiods.
In an analogous art, Yang discloses wherein the TER regarding the predicted transmission power comprises a report for a set of two or more time subperiods (page 4; para 02; periodically sending messages – it can two or more time periods). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Saito’s method/system by having Yang’s disclosure in order to dynamically adjust the transmission according to the power level improve the performance of the communication system.
Saito does not explicitly disclose that transmission energy is based on the transmission power.
In an analogous art, Yang discloses that transmission energy is based on the transmission power (page 04; para 02-03; page 09; last para -page 10; first para; page 15; las para; energy parameter comprising a power level). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Saito’s method/system by having Yang’s disclosure in order to dynamically adjust the transmission according to the power level improve the performance of the communication system.
Regarding claim 14, Saito discloses a transceiver coupled to the at least one
processor (page 10; last para and page 11; para 02; terminal transmits and receives communication from base station, so inherently comprises of transmit/receive units and comprises of a control unit that controls the communication).
Regarding claim 31, Saito discloses wherein a transmission energy corresponds to power integrated over time for a time period (page 06; para 01; average transmission power – it means transmission power for number of intervals is added and divided by those number to get the average).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito/Yang in view of Oh et al. (US 2021/0168849, hereinafter Oh).
Regarding claim 5, Saito discloses wherein a configuration of the first time period comprises one of a first length of the first, previous time subperiod (page 3; para 01; page 09; last para; past time period/subperiod), a second length of the second, subsequent time subperiod, and a third length of time between the first, previous time subperiod.
Saito/Young does not explicitly disclose that the second, subsequent time subperiod, wherein the first length of time, the second length of time, and the third length of time are one of a known length of time or a length of time
received from the base station, and wherein the configuration further comprises an indication of at least one reference time, the at least one reference time comprising at least one of a beginning of the first, previous time subperiod, an end of the first, previous time subperiod, a beginning of the second, subsequent time subperiod, or an end of the second, subsequent time subperiod.
In an analogous art, Oh discloses that the second, subsequent time subperiod, wherein the first length of time, the second length of time, and the third length of time are one of a known length of time or a length of time received from the base station (para 0055; terminal receives transmission time information form base station in the uplink transmission configuration information), and wherein the configuration further comprises an indication of at least one reference time, the at least one reference time comprising at least one of a beginning of the first, previous time subperiod, an end of the first, previous time subperiod, a beginning of the second, subsequent time subperiod, or an end of the second, subsequent time subperiod (para 0031-0032; 0034; and 0136; start and end of transmission slot). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Saito/Yang’s method/system by having Oh’s disclosure in order to coordinate and synchronize commination among different devices to avoid discrepancies.
Regarding claim 6, Saito/Yang does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one reference time is indicated based on one of a symbol, slot, subframe, a frame, or a reference time.
In an analogous art, Ho discloses wherein the at least one reference time is indicated based on one of a symbol, slot, subframe, a frame, or a reference time (para 0028; 0040; 0053; symbol, slot, subframe). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Saito/Yang’s method/system by having Oh’s disclosure in order to coordinate and synchronize commination among different devices to avoid discrepancies.
Regarding claim 7, Saito/Yang does not explicitly disclose wherein the configuration of the first time period is one of known by the UE, received from the base station, or determined by the UE.
In an analogous art, Ho discloses wherein the configuration of the first time period is one of known by the UE, received from the base station, or determined by the UE (para 0055; terminal receives transmission time information form base station in the uplink transmission configuration information). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Saito/Yang’s method/system by having Oh’s disclosure in order to coordinate and synchronize commination among different devices to avoid discrepancies.
5. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito/Yang in view of Roji et al. (US 2017/0181107, hereinafter Roji).
Regarding claim 10, Saito/Yang does not explicitly disclose that the at least one processor further configured to: transmit at least one additional report relating to at least one of (1) a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) associated with at least one of the one or more future transmissions within the first time period or (2) at least one of a minimum power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) value, a maximum P-MPR value, or an average P-MPR value associated with at least one of the one or more future transmissions within the first time period.
In an analogous art, Roji discloses the at least one processor further configured to: transmit at least one additional report relating to at least one of (1) a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) associated with at least one of the one or more future transmissions within the first time period or (2) at least one of a minimum power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) value, a maximum P-MPR value, or an average P-MPR value associated with at least one of the one or more future transmissions within the first time period (para 0029; 0043; and 0082; min AMPR, maximum power reduction value , Power Management Maximum Power Reduction Value PMPR). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Saito/Yang’s method/system by having Roji’s disclosure in order to reduce energy consumption in a communication system.
6. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito/Yang in view of Zhang Feng (JP 2019/130289, hereinafter Feng).
Regarding claim 12, Saito/Yang does not explicitly disclose that wherein the set of two or more-time subperiods comprise time subperiods of different lengths.
In an analogous art, Feng discloses wherein the set of two or more-time subperiods comprise time subperiods of different lengths (page 147; first para; different durations of different transmission time windows). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Saito/Yang’s method/system by having Feng’s disclosure in order to dynamically adjust the resources according to system requirement to address different needs.
7. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito/Yang in view of Han et al. (US 2020/0021421, hereinafter Han).
Regarding claim 13, Saito/Yang does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to calculate the predicted transmission energy by calculating the predicted transmission energy based on a duty cycle of uplink transmissions.
In an analogous art, Han discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to calculate the predicted transmission energy by calculating the predicted transmission energy based on a duty cycle of uplink transmissions (para 0009; 0069 and 0089; 0107; The transmit power determination component may be configured to determine a maximum transmit power P_max for the UL transmission based on the maximum UL duty cycle received from the maximum UL duty cycle determination component). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Saito/Yang’s method/system by having Han’s disclosure in order to reduce poor uplink range by dynamically adjusting transmission power.
8. Claims 15-19, 21, 24-25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (WO 2012/000177, hereinafter Zhang) in view of Patil et al. (US 2018/0255589, hereinafter Patil) and further in view of Saito.
Regarding claim 15, Zhang discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE) (Abstract; UE) comprising:
a memory (page 20; last para; a memory); and
report at least one quantity to a base station (page 10; first para, and page 11; last para; the UE reporting the BSR to the evolved base station (eNB) according to the selected buffer data amount level table.UE selecting a buffer data amount level table according to the configuration condition of the UL CC and/or the wireless condition, the buffer data quantity level table selected by the UE is the first data quantity level table or the first a data volume ranking table), the at least one quantity indicating for the UE to adjust an uplink (UL) transmission characteristic (page 18; para 02; The UE configures 2 UL CCs. The UE configures a radio condition threshold; the threshold is based on a PHR value, and the CC on which the UE is based is a UL PCC or all UL CCs or a designated UL CC or UE; PHR or UL CC of the UL PCC The maximum PHR or the minimum PHR or the UE PHR is higher than the corresponding threshold. The BSR triggers that there is an uplink resource for the new transmission on the at least one UL CC, and the UE generates the BSR by using the BT1 to report the BSR. The UE radio condition changes, the PHR of the UL PCC or the maximum PHR or the minimum PHR or the UE PHR of the all UL CCs is less than a corresponding threshold; The BSR triggers, and has an uplink on at least one UL CC. The resource is used for new transmission, and the UE generates a BSR using to report the BSR), wherein the at least one quantity indicates for the UE to adjust the UL transmission characteristic based
on at least one of an increase of a reported quantity that is greater than a first threshold
increase value (page 18; para 02; The UE configures 2 UL CCs. The UE configures a radio condition threshold; the threshold is based on a PHR value, and the CC on which the UE is based is a UL PCC or all UL CCs or a designated UL CC or UE; PHR or UL CC of the UL PCC The maximum PHR or the minimum PHR or the UE PHR is higher than the corresponding threshold), a decrease of the reported quantity that is greater than a second threshold decrease value, the reported quantity being greater than a third threshold value, the reported quantity being less than a fourth threshold value (page 19; para 01; lower than the threshold), or the reported quantity being related to a maximum permissible exposure event; and
adjust, based on the at least one quantity reported to the base station that indicates for the UE to adjust the UL transmission characteristic (page 13; last para; page 18; first para; UE to dynamically adjust the BSR table used in accordance with its radio conditions and/or traffic requirements to facilitate efficient scheduling of the eNB, the UE can select which BSR table report to use according to the above-mentioned wireless conditions of the currently configured or activated UL CC; page 12 last para; when the PHR value is lower than the preset PHR threshold, the first data amount level table is selected, and when the PHR value is higher than the preset PHR threshold, the second data amount level table is selected) and a based on a set of rules associated with Buffer Status Report (page 03; para 01; transmission rules of the BSR), at least one parameter associated with the UL transmission (page 02; last para & page 03; first para; UE capability parameters, allocate resources and provide services to each UE according to its own needs, to achieve better multiplexing performance in uplink transmission).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose that the UE comprises of at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to perform above method steps; and the BSR is an UL transmission.
In an analogous art, Patil discloses that the UE comprises of at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to perform above method steps (para 0028; processor and memory); and the BSR is an UL transmission (para 0202-0203; buffer status report is an uplink transmission). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang’s method/system by having Patil’s disclosure in order to dynamically allocate resources according to different priority levels to address different needs of the users.
Zhang/Patil does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one quantity comprises at least one of a reported energy associated with a time period or an average transmission power associated with the time period.
In an analogous art, Saito discloses wherein the at least one quantity comprises at least one of a reported energy associated with a time period or an average transmission power associated with the time period (page 06; para 01; average transmission power for the transmission period). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang/Patil’s method/system by having Saito’s disclosure in order to improve the accuracy of the measurement to improve the quality of service.
Regarding claim 27, Zhang discloses an apparatus for wireless communication (page 10; para 01; eNB) comprising:
a memory (page 20; last para - memory); and
receive at least one quantity reported by a user equipment (UE) (page 10; first para, and page 11; last para; the UE reporting the BSR to the evolved base station (eNB) according to the selected buffer data amount level table.UE selecting a buffer data amount level table according to the configuration condition of the UL CC and/or the wireless condition, the buffer data quantity level table selected by the UE is the first data quantity level table or the first a data volume ranking table) to adjust an uplink (UL) transmission characteristic (page 18; para 02; The UE configures 2 UL CCs. The UE configures a radio condition threshold; the threshold is based on a PHR value, and the CC on which the UE is based is a UL PCC or all UL CCs or a designated UL CC or UE; PHR or UL CC of the UL PCC The maximum PHR or the minimum PHR or the UE PHR is higher than the corresponding threshold. The BSR triggers that there is an uplink resource for the new transmission on the at least one UL CC, and the UE generates the BSR by using the BT1 to report the BSR. The UE radio condition changes, the PHR of the UL PCC or the maximum PHR or the minimum PHR or the UE PHR of the all UL CCs is less than a corresponding threshold; The BSR triggers, and has an uplink on at least one UL CC. The resource is used for new transmission, and the UE generates a BSR using to report the BSR. The UE radio condition changes, the PHR of the UL PCC or the maximum PHR or the minimum PHR or the UE PHR of the all UL CCs is less than a corresponding threshold; The BSR triggers, and has an uplink on at least one UL CC. The resource is used for new transmission, and the UE generates a BSR using to report the BSR), wherein the at least one quantity indicates to adjust the UL transmission characteristic based on at least one of an increase of a reported quantity that is greater than a first threshold increase value (page 18; para 02; The UE configures 2 UL CCs. The UE configures a radio condition threshold; the threshold is based on a PHR value, and the CC on which the UE is based is a UL PCC or all UL CCs or a designated UL CC or UE - PHR or UL CC of the UL PCC The maximum PHR or the minimum PHR or the UE PHR is higher than the corresponding threshold), a decrease of the reported quantity that is greater than a second threshold decrease value, the reported quantity being larger than a third threshold value, the reported quantity being lower than a fourth threshold value (page 19; para 01; lower than the threshold), or the reported quantity being related to a maximum permissible exposure event; and
adjust at least one parameter associated with an UL transmission based on
the at least one quantity reported by the UE that indicates for the UE to adjust the UL
transmission characteristic (page 13; last para; page 18; first para; UE to dynamically adjust the BSR table used in accordance with its radio conditions and/or traffic requirements to facilitate efficient scheduling of the eNB, the UE can select which BSR table report to use according to the above-mentioned wireless conditions of the currently configured or activated UL CC; page 12 last para; when the PHR value is lower than the preset PHR threshold, the first data amount level table is selected, and when the PHR value is higher than the preset PHR threshold, the second data amount level table is selected) and based on a set of rules associated with Buffer Status Report (page 03; para 01; transmission rules of the BSR).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to perform above method steps; and the BSR is an UL transmission.
In an analogous art, Patil discloses at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to perform above method steps (para 0010; processor and memory); and the BSR is an UL transmission (para 0202-0203; buffer status report is an uplink transmission). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang’s method/system by having Patil’s disclosure in order to dynamically allocate resources according to different priority levels to address different needs of the users.
Zhang/Patil does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one quantity comprises at least one of a reported energy associated with a time period or an average transmission power associated with the time period.
In an analogous art, Saito discloses wherein the at least one quantity comprises at least one of a reported energy associated with a time period or an average transmission power associated with the time period (page 06; para 01; average transmission power - the transmission power is associated with the time of transmission). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang/Patil’s method/system by having Saito’s disclosure in order to improve the accuracy of the measurement to improve the quality of service.
Regarding claim 16, Zhang discloses wherein the UL transmission comprises one of a periodic UL transmission or a semi-persistent scheduling UL transmission (page 03, last para; periodic BSR).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to adjust the at least one parameter associated with the UL transmission at one of a first configured time after an acknowledgement (ACK) is received at the UE regarding the at least one reported quantity or a second configured time after a transmission time of a report including the at least one reported quantity.
In an analogous art, Patil discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to adjust the at least one parameter associated with the UL transmission at one of a first configured time after an acknowledgement (ACK) is received at the UE regarding the at least one reported quantity (para 0178; 0188; and 0216; ACK). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang’s method/system by having Patil’s disclosure in order to improve the reliability of a communication system.
Regarding claim 18, Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the first configured time after the ACK or the second configured time after the transmission time of the report including the at least one reported quantity is indicated based on at least one of microseconds, milliseconds, seconds, minutes, symbols, slots, subframes, or frames.
In an analogous art, Patil discloses wherein the first configured time after the ACK or the second configured time after the transmission time of the report including the at least one reported quantity is indicated based on at least one of microseconds, milliseconds, seconds, minutes, symbols, slots, subframes, or frames (para 0107; 0188; 0193; frames). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang’s method/system by having Patil’s disclosure in order to improve the compatibility of different devices in a communication system.
Regarding claim 19, Zhang discloses wherein the at least one parameter comprises at least one of a bandwidth of a frequency domain resource allocation, a number of symbols in a time domain resource allocation, a modulation and coding scheme, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) density, a number of repetitions, a periodicity of a configured grant (CG), a transmission power (page 10, last para; PHR/transmission power), dropping transmissions associated with a CG-physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), or prioritizing resources associated with a CG-PUSCH.
Regarding claim 21, Zhang discloses wherein a first magnitude of an adjustment to the at least one parameter is based on at least one of an absolute value of the at least one reported quantity, a second magnitude of the increase of the at least one reported quantity, a third magnitude of the decrease of the at least one reported quantity, or a difference between the at least one reported quantity and an associated threshold (page 10, 12 ; last para; lower or greater than threshold is the difference between the measurement results and the corresponding threshold).
Regarding claim 24, Zhang discloses a transceiver coupled to the at least one
Processor (UE sends and receive communication, it implies that UE comprises of a transmitter and receiver/transceiver), wherein the at least one processor is configured to adjust the at least one parameter associated with the UL transmission based on a transmission from the base station (page 17, para 01; The eNB configures a UL CC for the UE. The BSR triggers, and the uplink resource is used for the new transmission on the configured UL CC, and the UE uses the configuration information to calculate and generate a BSR).
Regarding claim 25, Zhang discloses wherein the transmission from the base station comprises at least one of a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) (MAC-CE) (page 12, para 01; MAC CE) or a downlink control information (DCI) that indicates one configuration of a plurality of configurations received via a radio resource control (RRC) from the base station (page 15, para 01-02; RRC).
9. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang/Patil/Saito in view of Chin et al. (US 2022/0159668, hereinafter Chin).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang/Patil/Saito does not explicitly disclose wherein the set of rules associated with the UL transmission comprises a set of priority rules relating to a plurality of configured grant (CG) physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resources and a magnitude of an adjustment to the at least one parameter is based on a priority of at least one of the plurality of CG-PUSCH.
In an analogous art, Chin discloses wherein the set of rules associated with the UL transmission comprises a set of priority rules relating to a plurality of configured grant (CG) physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resources (para 0007-0008; 0056-0057; priorities for different configured PUSCH durations) and a magnitude of an adjustment to the at least one parameter is based on a priority of at least one of the plurality of CG-PUSCH (para 0098-0099; adjusting duration based on the priorities). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang/Patil/Saito’s method/system by having Chin’s disclosure in order to provide flexibility and configurability to optimize the network services.
10. Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang/Patil/Saito in view of Jeon et al. (US 2020/0351801, hereinafter Jeon).
Regarding claim 22, Zhang discloses wherein the at least one parameter comprises at least one of a reporting periodicity (page 03, last para; page 17, para 01; periodic BSR), a modulation coding scheme, or a beta-offset for CSI.
Zhang/Patil/Saito does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one parameter associated with the UL transmission comprises one or more parameter associated with transmission of a periodic channel state information (CSI).
In an analogous art, Jeon discloses wherein the at least one parameter associated with the UL transmission comprises one or more parameter associated with transmission of a periodic channel state information (CSI) (para 0247; 0561; periodic CSI). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang/Patil/Saito’s method/system by having Jeon’s disclosure in order to dynamically adjust resource allocation based on the periodic feedback to provide seamless service.
11. Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang/Patil/Saito in view of Dudda et al. (US 2016/0205703, hereinafter Dudda).
Regarding claim 23, Zhang discloses that the at least one parameter comprises at least one of a bandwidth of a frequency domain resource allocation, a number of repetitions, a time- domain periodicity of the SRS, a frequency-hopping offset, a density of the SRS in a frequency domain, a transmission power (page 10, last para; PHR/transmission power), or an activation of resources associated with a P-SRS configuration.
Zhang/Patil/Saito does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one parameter associated with the UL transmission comprises one or more parameter associated with transmission of at least one of a periodic (P) sounding reference signal (SRS) (P-SRS) or a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS)-SRS.
In an analogous art, Dudda discloses wherein the at least one parameter associated with the UL transmission comprises one or more parameter associated with transmission of at least one of a periodic (P) sounding reference signal (SRS) (P-SRS) or a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS)-SRS (para 0115; periodic SRS). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang/Patil/Saito’s method/system by having Dudda’s disclosure in order to estimate channel quality to improve link adaptation process.
12. Claims 26 & 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang/Patil/Saito in view of Roji.
Regarding claims 26 & 29, Zhang/Patil/Saito does not explicitly disclose wherein the reported at least one quantity comprises at least one of a transmission energy associated with a previous time period, a first average transmission power associated with the previous time period, an estimated maximum transmission energy associated with a subsequent time period, a second average transmission power associated with the subsequent time period, a preserved transmission power level, a duration of the maximum permissible exposure event, a power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) value, a time duration associated with the P-MPR value.
In an analogous art, Roji discloses wherein the reported at least one quantity comprises of a power management maximum power reduction (P-MPR) value (para 0053; PMPR). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang/Patil/Saito’s method/system by having Roji’s disclosure in order to reduce energy consumption in a communication system.
13. Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang/Patil/Saito in view of Oh.
Regarding claim 28, Zhang discloses a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor (UE sends and receive communication, it implies that UE comprises of a transmitter and receiver/transceiver).
Zhang/Patil/Saito does not explicitly disclose that the at least one processor further configured to: transmit, to the UE, a configuration associated with reporting the at least one quantity, wherein the configuration comprises at least one of a first length of a first,
previous time subperiod, a second length of a second, subsequent time subperiod, and a third length of time between the first, previous time subperiod and the second, subsequent time subperiod, the configuration further comprising an indication of at least one of the first threshold increase value, the second threshold decrease value, the third threshold value, the fourth threshold value, or the reported quantity being related to the maximum permissible exposure event.
In an analogous art, Oh discloses that the at least one processor further configured to: transmit, to the UE, a configuration associated with reporting the at least one quantity, wherein the configuration comprises at least one of a first length of a first,
previous time subperiod, a second length of a second, subsequent time subperiod, and a third length of time between the first (para 0055; the terminal receiving uplink transmission configuration information (or uplink DCI or UL grant) transmitted through the PDCCH from the base station in the subframe n may perform uplink data channel transmission (hereinafter, referred to as PUSCH transmission) according to a time defined in advance (e.g., n+4), a time configured through a higher layer signal (e.g., n+k), or uplink signal transmission time indicator information (e.g., n+k) included in the uplink transmission configuration information), previous time subperiod and the second, subsequent time subperiod, the configuration further comprising an indication of at least one of the first threshold increase value, the second threshold decrease value, the third threshold value, the fourth threshold value, or the reported quantity being related to the maximum permissible exposure event (para 0057; 0096; 108 and 112). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang/Patil/Saito’s method/system by having Oh’s disclosure in order to coordinate and synchronize communication among different devices to avoid discrepancies.
Conclusion
14. Applicant's arguments regarding amended claims are not persuasive. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SAMINA CHOUDHRY whose telephone number is (571)270-7102. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday to Thursday (7:30 a.m. to 5.00p.m.).If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached on (571)272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications
may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished
applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system,
see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system,
contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information
system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SAMINA F CHOUDHRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462