Detailed Action
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II of Figs. 9-10 encompassing claims 1-2, 5-12, and 15-20, in the reply filed on 06/01/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 3-4 and 13-14 are withdrawn from consideration by applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over TAO (WO 2019178811 A1) in view of XIN (CN 107146804 A).
Regarding claim 1, TAO (Figs. 1-3 and 6; Fig. 1(a) is reproduced for reference) discloses a display device, wherein the display device comprises:
a display panel comprising a plurality of pixel units arranged in sequence in a first direction and a second direction, the first direction intersecting the second direction, each of the pixel units comprising three sub-pixels of different colors, the three sub-pixels being a first sub-pixel, a second sub-pixel and a third sub-pixel, respectively, wherein the first sub-pixel in one of the pixel units is disposed on one side of the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel facing toward the second direction, the first sub-pixel in an adjacent one of the pixel units is disposed on one side of the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel facing opposite to the second direction (e.g., Fig. 1(a); display device including pixel units U arranged in X-direction and Y-direction, each pixel unit comprising a first sub-pixel P1, a second sub-pixel P2, and a third sub-pixel P3, the first sub-pixel P1 in one of the pixel units U disposed on one side of the second sub-pixel P2 and the third sub-pixel P3 facing toward the X direction, the first sub-pixel P1 in an adjacent one of the pixel units U is disposed on one side of the second sub-pixel P2 and the third sub-pixel P3 facing opposite to the X direction );
a driving chip electrically connected to the display panel, the driving chip comprising a first brightness module and a sub-pixel rendering module (Fig. 4 and p. 16, lines 4-24; driving chip including include an input image receiving unit 110, a sub-pixel rendering unit 120), wherein the first brightness module outputs a first brightness of a specific one of the sub-pixels in a target pixel unit of the pixel units and a first brightness of a specific one of the sub-pixels in each of the pixel units around the target pixel unit to the sub-pixel rendering module, the specific sub-pixel in the target pixel and the specific sub-pixel in each of the pixel units around the target pixel unit comprises the second sub-pixel in the target pixel and the second sub-pixel in each of the pixel units around the target pixel unit and the third sub-pixel in the target pixel and the third sub-pixel in each of the pixel units around the target pixel unit (e.g., Fig. 1(a); pixel unit U0 corresponds to a target pixel unit, pixel unit U1-U8 corresponds to pixel units around the target pixel unit U0, target pixel unit U0 comprises a first sub-pixel P1, a second sub-pixel P2, and a third sub-pixel P3, and each of surrounding pixel units U1-U8 comprises a first sub-pixel P1, a second sub-pixel P2, and a third sub-pixel P3, corresponding to the specific sub-pixels as claimed);
the sub-pixel rendering module recalculates brightness of the specific sub-pixel in the target pixel unit to output a second brightness of the specific sub-pixel in the target pixel unit (Fig. 6 and p. 17, line 18-p. 18, line 6; sub-pixel rendering unit 120 recalculates sub-pixel brightness and output the sub-pixel brightness to the display panel 140); and the first sub-pixel is a green sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel is one of a red sub-pixel and a blue sub-pixel, the third sub-pixel is the other of a red sub-pixel and a blue sub-pixel, the first sub-pixel in each of the pixel units shares a pixel definition opening with the first sub-pixel in an adjacent one of the pixel units, the second sub-pixel in each of the pixel units shares a pixel definition opening with the second sub-pixel in an adjacent one of the pixel units, and the third sub-pixel in each of the pixel units shares a pixel definition opening with the third sub-pixel in an adjacent one of the pixel units (e.g., Fig. 1(a) and p. 12, lines 3-18; a first sub-pixel P1 is a green sub-pixel, a second sub-pixel P2 is a red sub-pixel, and a third sub-pixel P3 is a blue sub-pixel, the green sub-pixel P1, the red sub-pixel P2, and the blue sub-pixel P3 in each of the pixel units shares a pixel definition opening with the corresponding sub-pixel in an adjacent one of the pixel units).
TAO does not disclose one side of each first sub-pixel facing toward the first direction is adjacent to the second sub-pixel in one of the pixel units, and one side of each first sub-pixel facing opposite to the first direction is adjacent to the third sub-pixel in one of the pixel units. However, XIN (e.g., Fig. 2) discloses a display device, comprises:
a display panel comprising a plurality of pixel units arranged in sequence in a first direction and a second direction, the first direction intersecting the second direction, each of the pixel units comprising three sub-pixels of different colors, the three sub-pixels being a first sub-pixel, a second sub-pixel and a third sub-pixel, respectively, wherein the first sub-pixel in one of the pixel units is disposed on one side of the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel facing toward the second direction, the first sub-pixel in an adjacent one of the pixel units is disposed on one side of the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel facing opposite to the second direction, one side of each first sub-pixel facing toward the first direction is adjacent to the second sub-pixel in one of the pixel units, and one side of each first sub-pixel facing opposite to the first direction is adjacent to the third sub-pixel in one of the pixel units (e.g., Fig. 1(a); display device including pixel units U arranged in X-direction and Y-direction, each pixel unit comprising a first sub-pixel P1, a second sub-pixel P2, and a third sub-pixel P3, the first sub-pixel P1 in one of the pixel units U disposed on one side of the second sub-pixel P2 and the third sub-pixel P3 facing toward the X direction, the first sub-pixel P1 in an adjacent one of the pixel units U is disposed on one side of the second sub-pixel P2 and the third sub-pixel P3 facing opposite to the X direction, , one side of each first sub-pixel P1 facing toward the first direction is adjacent to the second sub-pixel P2 in one of the pixel units, and one side of each first sub-pixel P1 facing opposite to the first direction is adjacent to the third sub-pixel P3 in one of the pixel units). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from XIN to the display device of TAO. The combination/motivation would be to provide a display device with an alternative sub-pixel arrangement for sub-pixel rendering.
Regarding claim 10, TAO (Figs. 1-3 and 6; Fig. 1(a) is reproduced for reference) discloses a display device, wherein the display device comprises:
a display panel comprising a plurality of pixel units arranged in sequence in a first direction and a second direction, the first direction intersecting the second direction, each of the pixel units comprising three sub-pixels of different colors, the three sub-pixels being a first sub-pixel, a second sub-pixel and a third sub-pixel, respectively, wherein the first sub-pixel in one of the pixel units is disposed on one side of the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel facing toward the second direction, the first sub-pixel in an adjacent one of the pixel units is disposed on one side of the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel facing opposite to the second direction (e.g., Fig. 1(a); display device including pixel units U arranged in X-direction and Y-direction, each pixel unit comprising a first sub-pixel P1, a second sub-pixel P2, and a third sub-pixel P3, the first sub-pixel P1 in one of the pixel units U disposed on one side of the second sub-pixel P2 and the third sub-pixel P3 facing toward the X direction, the first sub-pixel P1 in an adjacent one of the pixel units U is disposed on one side of the second sub-pixel P2 and the third sub-pixel P3 facing opposite to the X direction );
a driving chip electrically connected to the display panel, the driving chip comprising a first brightness module and a sub-pixel rendering module (Fig. 4 and p. 16, lines 4-24; driving chip including include an input image receiving unit 110, a sub-pixel rendering unit 120), wherein the first brightness module outputs a first brightness of a specific one of the sub-pixels in a target pixel unit of the pixel units and a first brightness of a specific one of the sub-pixels in each of the pixel units around the target pixel unit to the sub-pixel rendering module, the specific sub-pixel in the target pixel and the specific sub-pixel in each of the pixel units around the target pixel unit comprises the second sub-pixel in the target pixel and the second sub-pixel in each of the pixel units around the target pixel unit and the third sub-pixel in the target pixel and the third sub-pixel in each of the pixel units around the target pixel unit (e.g., Fig. 1(a); pixel unit U0 corresponds to a target pixel unit, pixel unit U1-U8 corresponds to pixel units around the target pixel unit U0, target pixel unit U0 comprises a first sub-pixel P1, a second sub-pixel P2, and a third sub-pixel P3, and each of surrounding pixel units U1-U8 comprises a first sub-pixel P1, a second sub-pixel P2, and a third sub-pixel P3, corresponding to the specific sub-pixels as claimed); the sub-pixel rendering module recalculates brightness of the specific sub-pixel in the target pixel unit to output a second brightness of the specific sub-pixel in the target pixel unit (Fig. 6 and p. 17, line 18-p. 18, line 6; sub-pixel rendering unit 120 recalculates sub-pixel brightness and output the sub-pixel brightness to the display panel 140).
TAO does not disclose one side of each first sub-pixel facing toward the first direction is adjacent to the second sub-pixel in one of the pixel units, and one side of each first sub-pixel facing opposite to the first direction is adjacent to the third sub-pixel in one of the pixel units. However, XIN (e.g., Fig. 2) discloses a display device, comprises: a display panel comprising a plurality of pixel units arranged in sequence in a first direction and a second direction, the first direction intersecting the second direction, each of the pixel units comprising three sub-pixels of different colors, the three sub-pixels being a first sub-pixel, a second sub-pixel and a third sub-pixel, respectively, wherein the first sub-pixel in one of the pixel units is disposed on one side of the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel facing toward the second direction, the first sub-pixel in an adjacent one of the pixel units is disposed on one side of the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel facing opposite to the second direction, one side of each first sub-pixel facing toward the first direction is adjacent to the second sub-pixel in one of the pixel units, and one side of each first sub-pixel facing opposite to the first direction is adjacent to the third sub-pixel in one of the pixel units (e.g., Fig. 1(a); display device including pixel units U arranged in X-direction and Y-direction, each pixel unit comprising a first sub-pixel P1, a second sub-pixel P2, and a third sub-pixel P3, the first sub-pixel P1 in one of the pixel units U disposed on one side of the second sub-pixel P2 and the third sub-pixel P3 facing toward the X direction, the first sub-pixel P1 in an adjacent one of the pixel units U is disposed on one side of the second sub-pixel P2 and the third sub-pixel P3 facing opposite to the X direction, , one side of each first sub-pixel P1 facing toward the first direction is adjacent to the second sub-pixel P2 in one of the pixel units, and one side of each first sub-pixel P1 facing opposite to the first direction is adjacent to the third sub-pixel P3 in one of the pixel units). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from XIN to the display device of TAO. The combination/motivation would be to provide a display device with an alternative sub-pixel arrangement for sub-pixel rendering.
Regarding claim 12, TAO in view of XIN discloses the display device according to claim 10, TAO (Figs. 1-3 and 6; Fig. 1(a) is reproduced for reference) discloses wherein the first sub-pixel is a green sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel is one of a red sub-pixel and a blue sub-pixel, the third sub-pixel is the other of a red sub-pixel and a blue sub-pixel, the first sub-pixel in each of the pixel units shares a pixel definition opening with the first sub-pixel in an adjacent one of the pixel units, the second sub-pixel in each of the pixel units shares a pixel definition opening with the second sub-pixel in an adjacent one of the pixel units, and the third sub-pixel in each of the pixel units shares a pixel definition opening with the third sub-pixel in an adjacent one of the pixel units (e.g., Fig. 1(a) and p. 12, lines 3-18; a first sub-pixel P1 is a green sub-pixel, a second sub-pixel P2 is a red sub-pixel, and a third sub-pixel P3 is a blue sub-pixel, the green sub-pixel P1, the red sub-pixel P2, and the blue sub-pixel P3 in each of the pixel units shares a pixel definition opening with the corresponding sub-pixel in an adjacent one of the pixel units). In addition, XIN (Fig. 2) discloses the same features as claimed.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claim 20 is allowed. Claims 2-9, 11, and 13-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The present invention is directed to a display device and a sub-pixel rendering method. The closet prior arts, TAO (WO 2019178811 A1), TAO (US 20180047324 A1), XIN (CN 107146804 A), and KE (US 20160365044 A1), individually or in combination, discloses a display device and a sub-pixel rendering method similar to the claimed invention, but fails to teach wherein the sub-pixel rendering module recalculates the brightness of the specific sub-pixel in the target pixel unit according to a rendering calculation matrix table, wherein the rendering calculation matrix table comprises a plurality of calculation blocks, the second brightness of the specific sub-pixel in the target pixel unit is equal to a sum of values of the plurality of calculation blocks, and a value of each of the calculation blocks is obtained by multiplying the first brightness of the specific sub-pixel of one of the target pixel unit and the pixel units around the target pixel unit by a compensation coefficient, and the value of each of at least two of the plurality of calculation blocks is greater than 0.
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623