DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi (US PG-Pub No.: 2024/0389434 A1, hereinafter, “Choi”).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses a display panel (see Choi, FIGs. 1, 5, and 8), comprising:
a substrate (10, FIG. 5);
a light-emitting device layer (220, FIG. 5) disposed on a side (top) of the substrate (10);
a thin film encapsulation layer (320+330, FIG. 8) disposed on a side (top) of the light-emitting device layer (220) facing away from the substrate (10); and
a capping layer (240+311+312, FIG. 8) disposed between the light-emitting device layer (220) and the thin film encapsulation layer (320+330), wherein the capping layer (240+311+312) comprises a first capping layer (240), a second capping layer (311), and a third capping layer (312), the second capping layer (311) is disposed between the first capping layer (240) and the third capping layer (312), the first capping layer (240) is disposed on a side (bottom) of the second capping layer (311) adjacent to the light-emitting device layer (220), the third capping layer (312) is disposed on a side (top) of the second capping layer (311) adjacent to the thin film encapsulation layer (320+330), a refractive index (1.85-1.95, ¶ [0131]) of the second capping layer (311) is greater than a refractive index (1.25-1.45) of the first capping layer (240, ¶ [0110]) and a refractive index (1.7-1.8) of the third capping layer (312, ¶ [0138]).
Regarding claim 2, Choi discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein a ratio of the refractive index (1.25-1.45) of the first capping layer (240) to the refractive index (1.7-1.8) of the third capping layer (312) is greater than or equal to 0.75 and less than or equal to 1.3.
Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the refractive index (1.25-1.45) of the first capping layer (240) and the refractive index (to meet the limitation, the third capping layer is 315 with the refraction index of 1.5-1.6, ¶ [0157]) of the third capping layer (315) are greater than or equal to 1.2 and less than or equal to 1.6, and the refractive index (1.85-1.95) of the second capping layer (311) is greater than or equal to 1.7 and less than or equal to 2.5.
Regarding claim 4, Choi discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the second capping layer (in order to meet the limitation, the second capping layer is 313 with the refraction index of 1.85-1.95, and the third capping layer is 315 with the refraction index of 1.5-1.6) is greater than a thickness of the first capping layer (240) and a thickness of the third capping layer (315, FIG. 8).
Regarding claim 5, Choi discloses the display panel according to claim 1, further comprising: a light-transmitting protective layer (316, FIG. 8) disposed between the third capping layer (315) and the thin film encapsulation layer (320+330), and a ratio of a refractive index (1.5-1.6, ¶ [0168]) of the light-transmitting protective layer (316) to the refractive index (1.5-1.6) of the third capping layer (315) is greater than or equal to 0.75 and less than or equal to 1.3.
Regarding claim 6, Choi discloses the display panel according to claim 5, wherein a sum of a thickness of the third capping layer (315) and a thickness of the light-transmitting protective layer (316) is greater than a thickness of the first capping layer (240, FIG. 8).
Regarding claim 13, Choi discloses a display device (see Choi, FIGs. 1, 5, and 8), comprising a display panel, the display panel comprising:
a substrate (10, FIG. 5);
a light-emitting device layer (220, FIG. 5) disposed on a side (top) of the substrate (10);
a thin film encapsulation layer (320+330) disposed on a side (top) of the light-emitting device layer (220) facing away from the substrate (10); and
a capping layer (240+311+312, FIG. 8) disposed between the light-emitting device layer (220) and the thin film encapsulation layer 320+330), wherein the capping layer (240+311+312) comprises a first capping layer (240), a second capping layer (311), and a third capping layer (312), the second capping layer (311) is disposed between the first capping layer (240) and the third capping layer (312), the first capping layer (240) is disposed on a side (bottom) of the second capping layer (311) adjacent to the light-emitting device layer (220), the third capping layer (312) is disposed on a side (top) of the second capping layer (311) adjacent to the thin film encapsulation layer (320+330), a refractive index (1.85-1.95, ¶ [0131]) of the second capping layer (311) is greater than a refractive index (1.25-1.45, ¶ [0110]) of the first capping layer (240) and a refractive index (1.7-1.8, ¶ [0138]) of the third capping layer (312).
Regarding claim 14, Choi discloses the display panel according to claim 13, wherein a ratio of the refractive index (1.25-1.45) of the first capping layer (240) to the refractive index (1.7-1.8) of the third capping layer (312) is greater than or equal to 0.75 and less than or equal to 1.3.
Regarding claim 15, Choi discloses the display panel according to claim 13, wherein a thickness of the second capping layer (in order to meet the limitation, the second capping layer is 313 with the refraction index of 1.85-1.95, and the third capping layer is 315 with the refraction index of 1.5-1.6) is greater than a thickness of the first capping layer (240) and a thickness of the third capping layer (315, FIG. 8).
Regarding claim 16, Choi discloses the display panel according to claim 13, further comprising: a light-transmitting protective layer (316, FIG. 8) disposed between the third capping layer (315) and the thin film encapsulation layer (320+330), and a ratio of a refractive index (1.5-1.6, ¶ [0168]) of the light-transmitting protective layer (316) to the refractive index (1.5-1.6) of the third capping layer (315) is greater than or equal to 0.75 and less than or equal to 1.3.
Regarding claim 17, Choi discloses the display panel according to claim 16, wherein a sum of a thickness of the third capping layer (315) and a thickness of the light-transmitting protective layer (316) is greater than a thickness of the first capping layer (240, FIG. 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-12 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US PG-Pub No.: 2024/0389434 A1, hereinafter, “Choi”), as applied to claims 5 and 16 above.
Regarding claim 8, Choi discloses the display panel according to claim 5, wherein the thin film encapsulation layer (320+330) comprises: an organic encapsulation layer (320); and an inorganic encapsulation layer (330), wherein a refractive index (1.85-1.95) of the inorganic encapsulation layer (330) is greater than the refractive index (1.5-1.6) of the light-transmitting protective layer (316).
Choi is silent regarding that the inorganic encapsulation layer (330) disposed between the organic encapsulation layer (320) and the capping layer (240+311+315),
However, it is well-known that the encapsulation layer will be a repeating layer of organic layer and inorganic layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form another 320+330 over existing 320+330, in order to better protect the device. Accordingly, the inorganic encapsulation layer (lower 330) disposed between the organic encapsulation layer (top 320) and the capping layer (240+311+315).
Regarding claim 9, Choi discloses the display panel according to claim 8, wherein the refractive index (1.85-1.95) of the inorganic encapsulation layer (330) is greater than or equal to 1.75 and less than or equal to 2.5, and the refractive index (1.5-1.6) of the light-transmitting protective layer (316) is greater than or equal to 1.2 and less than or equal to 1.6.
Regarding claim 10, Choi discloses the display panel according to claim 8, wherein a thickness of the inorganic encapsulation layer (330) is greater than a sum of a thickness of the capping layer (240+311+315) and a thickness of the light-transmitting protective layer (316, FIG. 8).
Regarding claim 11, Choi discloses the display panel according to claim 8, wherein a mass proportion of oxygen element in the inorganic encapsulation layer (330) is less than or equal to 10% (¶ [0121]).
Regarding claim 12, Choi discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the light-emitting device layer (220) comprises a blue light-emitting unit (¶ [0104]).
Choi fails to explicitly disclose that a half-peak width of a blue light emission spectrum of the blue light-emitting unit is greater than or equal to 25 nanometers and less than or equal to 34 nanometers.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a half-peak width of a blue light emission spectrum of the blue light-emitting unit is greater than or equal to 25 nanometers and less than or equal to 34 nanometers, since when the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP § 2144.5(II)(A).
Regarding claim 19, Choi discloses the display panel according to claim 16, wherein the thin film encapsulation layer (320+330) comprises: an organic encapsulation layer (320); and an inorganic encapsulation layer (330), wherein a refractive index (1.85-1.95) of the inorganic encapsulation layer (330) is greater than the refractive index (1.5-1.6) of the light-transmitting protective layer (316).
Choi is silent regarding that the inorganic encapsulation layer (330) disposed between the organic encapsulation layer (320) and the capping layer (240+311+315),
However, it is well-known that the encapsulation layer will be a repeating layer of organic layer and inorganic layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form another 320+330 over existing 320+330, in order to better protect the device. Accordingly, the inorganic encapsulation layer (lower 330) disposed between the organic encapsulation layer (top 320) and the capping layer (240+311+315).
Regarding claim 20, Choi discloses the display panel according to claim 19, wherein a thickness of the inorganic encapsulation layer (330) is greater than a sum of a thickness of the capping layer (240+311+315) and a thickness of the light-transmitting protective layer (316, FIG. 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious all the claimed subject of base claims 5 and 18, in particular, the light-transmitting protective layer comprises an alkali metal element and a halogen element.
Conclusion
/XIA L CROSS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892