DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 120. The PCT Application Number PCT/CN2022/135927, being filed on December 1, 2022.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in present Application No. 18/706,378, filed on December 1, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed May 16, 2024 has been submitted for consideration by the Office. It has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 1-2 lack the proper cross-hatching which indicates the type of materials, which may be in an invention. Specifically, the cross hatching to indicate the conductive and insulative materials is improper. The applicant should refer to MPEP Section 608.02 for the proper cross-hatching of materials. Correction is required.
In addition to Replacement Sheets containing the corrected drawing figure(s), applicant is required to submit a marked-up copy of each Replacement Sheet including annotations indicating the changes made to the previous version. The marked-up copy must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheets” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings. See 37 CFR 1.121(d)(1). Failure to timely submit the proposed drawing and marked-up copy will result in the abandonment of the application.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. It is important that the abstract not exceed 150 words in length since the space provided for the abstract on the computer tape used by the printer is limited. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc.
Extensive mechanical and design details of apparatus should not be given.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because in line 1, the abstract recites the terms “Disclosed are a……with the same”, which is improper language for the abstract. The applicant should delete the terms, to provide the abstract with proper language. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The abstract of the disclosure is also objected to because in lines 1-6, the abstract contains run on sentences, which is improper language for the abstract. The applicant should correct all instances of run on sentences to provide the abstract with proper language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al (Pub Num 2016/0284438, herein referred to as Huang). Huang discloses a wire harness (Figs 1-2) having a compact structure, while transmitting multiple signals (Paragraph 15). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Huang discloses a wiring harness (100) comprising a signal line (10) comprising a plurality of signal conductors (1 & 2), a grounding wire (50) comprising a plurality of grounding conductors (left and right 50), and a power cable (40) comprising a plurality of power conductors (left and right 40), wherein the signal line (10), the grounding wire (50) and the power cable (40) are disposed in a same outer sheath (60), and being sequentially arranged in a first direction (left to right, Fig 1). With respect to claim 2, Huang discloses that the signal line (10) further comprises a shielding layer (101) wrapping outer sides of the plurality of signal conductors (102). With respect to claims 3-4, Huang discloses that the at least two of the signal conductor (1 & 2), the grounding conductor (50) and the power conductor (40) have different cross-sectional areas (Fig 1), wherein the cross-sectional area of the signal conductor (10) is smaller than the cross-sectional area of the grounding conductor (40), and the cross-sectional area of the signal conductor (10) is smaller than the cross-sectional area of the power conductor (50, Fig 1). With respect to claim 7, Huang discloses that a plurality of signal lines (1 & 2) is provided, and the signal lines (1 & 2) in a same network are disposed side by side (Fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (Pub Num 2016/0284438) in view of Chung et al (Pat Num 10,861,622, herein referred to as Chung). Huang discloses a wire harness (Figs 1-2) having a compact structure, while transmitting multiple signals (Paragraph 15), as disclosed with respect to claim 1 above. Specifically, with respect to claims 5-6, Huang discloses that the wiring harness (100) comprises a plurality of power cables (left and right 40) and a plurality of ground conductors (left and right 50). With respect to claim 8, Huang discloses that the wiring harness (100) comprises a plurality of conductor groups (1 & 2) disposed in the outer sheath (106) in a spaced manner (Fig 1), wherein the conductor group (1 & 2) has a plurality of signal lines (102) disposed side by side (Fig 1).
However, Huang doesn’t necessarily disclose the plurality of power cables being disposed side by side (claim 5), nor the plurality of grounding wires being disposed side by side (claim 6), nor the plurality of power cables disposed side by side and the plurality of grounding wires disposed side by side (claim 8).
Chung teaches a wiring harness (Figs 1-3) for usage in a vehicle to transmit high speed data and power, thereby leading to decreased cost (Col 2, lines 59-62), while optimizing signal integrity and controlling impedance (Col 4, lines 15-18). Specifically, with respect to claims 5-6 and 8, Chung teaches a wiring harness (200, Fig 2A) comprising a signal line (218) comprising a plurality of signal conductors (left two conductors), a grounding wire (216) comprising a plurality of grounding conductors (four middle conductors) and a power cable (214) comprising a plurality of power conductors (left two conductors), wherein the signal line (218), the grounding wire (216) and the power cable (214) are disposed in a same outer sheath (222), and being sequentially arranged in a first direction (left to right), wherein the plurality of power cables (left two 214) are disposed side by side (Fig 2A), the plurality of grounding wires (middle 216) being disposed side by side (Fig 2A, four conductors side by side).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the wiring harness of Huang to comprise the power cables and grounding conductors configuration as taught by Chung because Chung teaches that such a configuration provides a wiring harness (Figs 1-3) for usage in a vehicle to transmit high speed data and power, thereby leading to decreased cost (Col 2, lines 59-62), while optimizing signal integrity and controlling impedance (Col 4, lines 15-18), since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (Pub Num 2016/0284438) in view of Sackett (Pat Num 6,140,587). Huang discloses a wire harness (Figs 1-2) having a compact structure, while transmitting multiple signals (Paragraph 15), as disclosed with respect to claim 1 above.
However, Huang doesn’t necessarily disclose the signal line further comprises a first filling member, the plurality of signal conductors is arranged into a circular ring surrounding the first filling member, and/or the power cable comprises a second filling member, the plurality of power conductors is arranged into a circular ring surrounding the second filling member, and/or the grounding wire comprises a third filling member, the plurality of grounding conductors is arranged into a circular ring surrounding the third filling member (claim 9).
Sackett teaches various configurations of a transmission cable (Figs 4-5) comprising a solid core to support and maintain the conductors in relatively fixed lateral positions to reduce the likelihood of interstitial spaces and voids forming between the cable elements (Col 4, lines 53-63), while improving the distribution of the tensile and compressive stresses that are created in the conductors when the cable is flexed (Col 5, lines 39-42). Specifically, with respect to claim 9, Sackett teaches a cable (Fig 5) comprising the signal line (B) further comprises a first filling member (32, as shown in Fig 4), wherein the plurality of signal conductors (30a & 30b) is arranged into a circular ring surrounding the first filling member (32, Fig 4), and the power cable (C, Col 9, lines 25-32) comprises a second filling member (not numbered), wherein the plurality of power conductors (located at C) is arranged into a circular ring surrounding the second filling member (not numbered).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the wiring harness of Huang to comprise the filler member configurations as taught by Sackett because Sackett teaches that such a configuration provides various configurations of a transmission cable (Figs 4-5) comprising a solid core to support and maintain the conductors in relatively fixed lateral positions to reduce the likelihood of interstitial spaces and voids forming between the cable elements (Col 4, lines 53-63), while improving the distribution of the tensile and compressive stresses that are created in the conductors when the cable is flexed (Col 5, lines 39-42).
Claim(s) 10-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Yee et al (Pat Num 10,571,691, herein referred to as Yee) over in view of Huang (Pub Num 2016/0284438). Yee discloses a head mounted device (Figs 1-4B) that manages cables and facilitates safe and efficient transport and storage of the system (Col 1, lines 30-33). Specifically, with respect to claim 10, Yee discloses a head-mounted device (100) comprising a host (102) provided with an electrical control apparatus therein (i.e. computer, 104), and a battery portion (204, Fig 2, Col 2, lines 54-57) connected to the electrical control apparatus (104) through a wiring harness (114), wherein the wiring harness (114) comprises a signal line and a power cable (Col 3, lines 30-40).
However, Yee doesn’t necessarily disclose the wiring harness comprises a signal line comprising a plurality of signal conductors a grounding wire comprising a plurality of grounding conductors: and a power cable comprising a plurality of power conductors, the signal line, the grounding wire and the power cable being disposed in a same outer sheath, and being sequentially arranged in a first direction (claim 10), nor the signal line further comprises a shielding layer wrapping outer sides of the plurality of signal conductors (claim 11), nor the at least two of the signal conductor, the grounding conductor and the power conductor have different cross-sectional areas (claim 12), nor the cross-sectional area of the signal conductor is smaller than the cross-sectional area of the grounding conductor, and/or the cross-sectional area of the signal conductor is smaller than the cross-sectional area of the power conductor (claim 13), nor the plurality of signal lines is provided, and the signal lines in a same network are disposed side by side (claim 16).
Huang teaches a wire harness (Figs 1-2) having a compact structure, while transmitting multiple signals (Paragraph 15). Specifically, with respect to claim 10, Huang teaches a wiring harness (100) comprising a signal line (10) comprising a plurality of signal conductors (1 & 2), a grounding wire (50) comprising a plurality of grounding conductors (left and right 50), and a power cable (40) comprising a plurality of power conductors (left and right 40), wherein the signal line (10), the grounding wire (50) and the power cable (40) are disposed in a same outer sheath (60), and being sequentially arranged in a first direction (left to right, Fig 1). With respect to claim 11, Huang discloses that the signal line (10) further comprises a shielding layer (101) wrapping outer sides of the plurality of signal conductors (102). With respect to claims 12-13, Huang teaches that the at least two of the signal conductor (1 & 2), the grounding conductor (50) and the power conductor (40) have different cross-sectional areas (Fig 1), wherein the cross-sectional area of the signal conductor (10) is smaller than the cross-sectional area of the grounding conductor (40), and the cross-sectional area of the signal conductor (10) is smaller than the cross-sectional area of the power conductor (50, Fig 1). With respect to claim 16, Huang teaches that a plurality of signal lines (1 & 2) is provided, and the signal lines (1 & 2) in a same network are disposed side by side (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the head mounted device of Yee to comprise the wiring harness configuration as taught by Huang because Huang teaches that such a configuration provides wire harness (Figs 1-2) having a compact structure, while transmitting multiple signals (Paragraph 15).
Claim(s) 14-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Yee (Pat Num 10,571,691) over in view of Huang (Pub Num 2016/0284438), as applied to claim 10 above (herein referred to as modified Yee), further in view of Chung (Pat Num 10,861,622). Modified Yee discloses a head mounted device (Figs 1-4B) that manages cables and facilitates safe and efficient transport and storage of the system (Col 1, lines 30-33).
Modified Yee doesn’t necessarily disclose the plurality of power cables being disposed side by side (claim 14), nor the plurality of grounding wires being disposed side by side (claim 15), nor the plurality of power cables disposed side by side and the plurality of grounding wires disposed side by side (claim 17).
Chung teaches a wiring harness (Figs 1-3) for usage in a vehicle to transmit high speed data and power, thereby leading to decreased cost (Col 2, lines 59-62), while optimizing signal integrity and controlling impedance (Col 4, lines 15-18). Specifically, with respect to claims 14-15 and 17, Chung teaches a wiring harness (200, Fig 2A) comprising a signal line (218) comprising a plurality of signal conductors (left two conductors), a grounding wire (216) comprising a plurality of grounding conductors (four middle conductors) and a power cable (214) comprising a plurality of power conductors (left two conductors), wherein the signal line (218), the grounding wire (216) and the power cable (214) are disposed in a same outer sheath (222), and being sequentially arranged in a first direction (left to right), wherein the plurality of power cables (left two 214) are disposed side by side (Fig 2A), the plurality of grounding wires (middle 216) being disposed side by side (Fig 2A, four conductors side by side).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the wiring harness of Huang to comprise the power cables and grounding conductors configuration as taught by Chung because Chung teaches that such a configuration provides a wiring harness (Figs 1-3) for usage in a vehicle to transmit high speed data and power, thereby leading to decreased cost (Col 2, lines 59-62), while optimizing signal integrity and controlling impedance (Col 4, lines 15-18), since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70
Claim(s) 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Yee (Pat Num 10,571,691) over in view of Huang (Pub Num 2016/0284438), as applied to claim 10 above (herein referred to as modified Yee), further in view of Sackett (Pat Num 6,140,587). Modified Yee discloses a head mounted device (Figs 1-4B) that manages cables and facilitates safe and efficient transport and storage of the system (Col 1, lines 30-33).
However, Huang doesn’t necessarily disclose the signal line further comprises a first filling member, the plurality of signal conductors is arranged into a circular ring surrounding the first filling member (claim 18), nor the power cable comprises a second filling member, the plurality of power conductors is arranged into a circular ring surrounding the second filling member (claim 19), nor the grounding wire comprises a third filling member, the plurality of grounding conductors is arranged into a circular ring surrounding the third filling member (claim 20).
Sackett teaches various configurations of a transmission cable (Figs 4-5) comprising a solid core to support and maintain the conductors in relatively fixed lateral positions to reduce the likelihood of interstitial spaces and voids forming between the cable elements (Col 4, lines 53-63), while improving the distribution of the tensile and compressive stresses that are created in the conductors when the cable is flexed (Col 5, lines 39-42). Specifically, with respect to claim 18-20, Sackett teaches a cable (Fig 5) comprising the signal line (B) further comprises a first filling member (32, as shown in Fig 4), wherein the plurality of signal conductors (30a & 30b) is arranged into a circular ring surrounding the first filling member (32, Fig 4), and the power cable (C, Col 9, lines 25-32) comprises a second filling member (not numbered), wherein the plurality of power conductors (located at C) is arranged into a circular ring surrounding the second filling member (not numbered).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the wiring harness of modified Yee to comprise the filler member configurations as taught by Sackett because Sackett teaches that such a configuration provides various configurations of a transmission cable (Figs 4-5) comprising a solid core to support and maintain the conductors in relatively fixed lateral positions to reduce the likelihood of interstitial spaces and voids forming between the cable elements (Col 4, lines 53-63), while improving the distribution of the tensile and compressive stresses that are created in the conductors when the cable is flexed (Col 5, lines 39-42).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent art in the present case, all of which disclose various wiring harnesses for usage with head mounted devices.
Communication
/William H. Mayo III/
William H. Mayo III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
WHM III
January 19, 2026