DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant' s election without traverse of Species I (Fig. 1 directed to Claims 1-6 and 8) in the reply filed on April 30, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 7 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koji (JPS59196799 U).
In re Claim 1, Koji discloses a flat-bottomed tank body (3) that stores low-temperature liquefied gas; a dike (1) that is erected with a separation space (4) with respect to an outer periphery of the tank body and surrounds the tank body (3); and a roof (8) that seals at least an upper side of the separation space (top of 4).
In re Claim 2, Koji discloses wherein the roof (8) has a dome shape (See Fig. 1: roof has a dome shape) covering an upper side of the separation space (top of 4) and an upper side of the tank body (top of 1).
In re Claim 3, Koji discloses a pump (6) that is arranged in the separation space (4) and discharges low-temperature liquefied gas in the tank body (3) to outside through a side plate of the tank body (the liquefied gas is discharged by 7 up through the side).
In re Claim 4, Koji discloses a housing chamber (9) that is arranged in the separation space (4) and houses the pump (6); and
a passage (7) that penetrates the roof (Page 1 ln 16-20: the roof (8) of the discharge pipe (7) To store object of this pump (6) is penetrated, and it allocates in the place made into the gist of that device to the exterior) and leads to the housing chamber (9),
wherein a space in the housing chamber (See Fig. 9 spacing from walls of 4) and a space in the passage (See Fig. 3) are isolated from a space in the roof (See Fig. 3 chamber is isolated penetration spot in the roof).
In re Claim 5, Koji discloses wherein the passage (7) includes
an upper end opening (opening leading to 9) serving as an entrance and an exit and
a vertical passage portion (5) extending vertically downward from the upper end opening (extending vertically downward from the opening of 7 that leads to 9), and
the vertical passage portion (5) has a size that allows passage of the pump (See Fig. 6 where passage is wider than the pump allowing passage).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koji (JPS59196799U)in view of Terlesky et al (US4041722 A).
In re Claim 6, Koji does not explicitly teach, an opening and closing door that opens and closes the upper end opening.
On the other hand, Terlesky (Fig. 1 and 7-8) teaches an opening and closing door (W) that opens and closes the upper end opening (107)|(Col 8:56-61: an opening 107 in the roof 11 at the apex thereof and supported in the opening by means of a weld W or the like at the upper outer surface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have taken the teachings of Koji and to have modified them by having an opening and closing door that opens and closes the upper end opening, in order to control the discharge of large volumes of liquefied gas (See Col 4:16-25), without yielding unpredictable results.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koji (JPS59196799U)in view of Nishizaki (US 20130200077 A1).
In re Claim 8, Koji does not explicitly teach, the tank body has a multiple shell structure.
On the other hand, Nishizaki teaches wherein the tank body (1) has a multiple shell structure (See Fig. 6: 8, 1b, and 2b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have taken the teachings of Koji and to have modified them by having the tank body of Koji have a multiple shell structure as taught by , in order to achieve a high load bearing capacity against cooling associated with the introduction of the low-temperature liquefaction fluid L into the cryogenic tank (See Nishizaki [0109]), without yielding unpredictable results.
Conclusion
/IBRAHIM A. MICHAEL ADENIJI/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763