DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are pending, and claims 1-14 are currently under review.
Claims 15-19 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-14, in the reply filed on 7/28/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/28/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites that “the unavoidable impurities P, S, and N are limited to…”, wherein “the unavoidable impurities” refers to the previous recitation of a “balance of Fe and unavoidable impurities”. This is indefinite because it is unclear whether the claim requires: 1) the unavoidable impurities are only limited to P, S, and N in amounts as recited, or 2) the unavoidable impurities comprise P, S, and N, wherein P, S, and N are limited to the amounts as claimed. The examiner considers the claim to be met by the latter interpretation.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 14 recites that the steel is subjected to a constant load test “as described in the detailed description”. However, the instant specification discloses broadly that the constant load test is merely performed under a constant load that is 40 to 80 percent of tensile strength, and the specification also sets forth specific parameters on [p.14 ln.15-33 instant specification]. Therefore, it is unclear as to what particular parameters, if any, are required by the claimed constant load test. The examiner interprets the claim to be met by any constant load test under 40 to 80 percent tensile strength.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsson et al. (WO2020201437).
Regarding claim 1, Larsson et al. discloses a hot rolled steel strip having a composition as seen in table 1 below [abstract, p.3]. Larsson et al. further teaches a microstructure of at 90 percent martensite and a tensile strength of 1511 to 1609 MPa [p.13, 16]. The examiner notes that the overlap between the steel parameters of Larsson et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Table 1.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 1 (wt.%)
Larsson et al. (wt.%)
C
0.2 – 0.26
0.14 – 0.35
Si
0.05 – 0.5
0 – 0.5
Mn
0.2 – 0.8
0.05 – 0.4
Cr
0.2 – 0.6
0.2 – 0.9
Ni
0.2 – 0.5
0.2 – 0.9
Al
0.015 – 0.065
0 – 0.1
Ti
0.005 – 0.02
0 – 0.035
B
0.001 – 0.005
0.0005 – 0.005
Mo (optional)
0 – 0.1
0 – 0.2
Nb (optional)
0 – 0.01
0 – 0.005
V (optional)
0 – 0.04
0 – 0.05
Fe and impurities
Balance
Balance
P
0 – 0.02
0 – 0.025
S
0 – 0.005
0 – 0.008
N
0 – 0.0055
0 – 0.01
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Larsson et al. discloses the steel of claim 1 (see previous). Larsson et al. further teaches at least 95 percent martensite which can be tempered [p.13].
Regarding claim 3, Larsson et al. discloses the steel of claim 1 (see previous). Larsson et al. further teaches a steel thickness of 10 mm or less, which overlaps with the claimed range [p.13]. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claims 4-10, Larsson et al. discloses the steel of claim 1 (see previous). The examiner notes that the aforementioned composition of Larsson et al. further overlaps with the claimed ranges. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 11, Larsson et al. discloses the steel of claim 1 (see previous). Larsson et al. further teaches limiting Cu to an amount of 0.1 to 0.4 weight percent, which overlaps with the claimed range [p.3]. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 13, Larsson et al. discloses the steel of claim 1 (see previous). Larsson et al. already teaches an overlapping tensile strength range as explained above. Larsson et al. further teaches a yield strength range of 1310 to 1413 MPa and an elongation range of up to 7.7 percent, which also overlaps with the claimed ranges [p.15-16]. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 14, Larsson et al. discloses the steel of claim 1 (see previous). Larsson et al. does not expressly teach a time to fracture based on a constant load test as claimed. However, the examiner submits that overlapping values of the claimed features would have naturally flowed from the steel of Larsson et al. Specifically, one of ordinary skill would readily understand that steel properties such as fracture toughness as claimed are directly influenced by steel composition and microstructure. Larsson et al. already discloses an overlapping steel composition and an identical steel microstructure as explained above. Therefore, substantially similar, overlapping values of time to fracture properties would have naturally flowed from the disclosure of Larsson et al. See MPEP 2144.05(I) & MPEP 2112. The examiner’s position is further bolstered by the fact that Larsson et al. already discloses overlapping, substantially mechanical properties of yield strength, tensile strength, and elongation as explained above, which are also directly affected by steel composition and microstructure and therefore suggest that overlapping fracture toughness values would be present. In other words, the steel of the prior art having a substantially similar steel composition, microstructure, and mechanical properties would be expected to also have substantially similar toughness properties relative to those as claimed.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734