DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10-14 and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2016/0,239,148) in view of Park (US 9,483,120).
Referring to claims 1 and 12, Lee discloses an image processing system (fig. 4A, device 201) comprising
a display portion (fig. 4A, display 260, input device 250),
an arithmetic portion (fig. 4A, application processor 210),
and
an image processing portion (fig. 4A, application processor 210),
wherein the display portion comprises an input portion (fig. 4A, input device 250),
wherein the input portion comprises a touch sensor (fig. 4A, touch panel 252),
wherein the touch sensor comprises an organic photodiode (para.0050, organic LED),
wherein the input portion is to obtain positional information (fig. 8, shaping view window 20) of a pointing operation by a user (fig. 8, operation 500),
wherein the arithmetic portion is to define, on the display portion,
a first region (fig. 8, view window 20 outside area) [where the user performs a swipe operation to scroll character information displayed] on the display portion, and
a second region (fig. 8, view window 20 inside area) other than the first region, in accordance with the positional information,
wherein the image processing portion is to execute image processing (fig. 9, recognizing view window) for reducing a definition (fig. 11, TSP low resolution) of a first image (fig. 12, image 1200; paras.0118-0119) in the first region to generate a second image (fig. 11, heart-shaped view window 20 high resolution), and
wherein the display portion is to display the second image (fig. 9, view window 20; para.0115-0116).
Park discloses touch sensor comprises organic photodiode (6:35-37, organic light emitting diode OLED); and a region (fig. 1, touch screen 190) where the user performs a swipe operation (10:58-11:10, swipe) to scroll character information (figs. 12A/12B;3:23-26) displayed.
Lee and Park are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor in OLED display. Before the time of the filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, having the teaching of Lee and Park before him or her to modify the OLED of Lee to include the touch OLED of Park, thereafter the OLED is used as input and output. The suggestion and/or motivation for doing so would be obtaining the advantage of improved control on input/output quality as suggested by Lee and Park. For example, Lee’s area 20 has OLD swipe and scroll functions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Lee with Park to obtain the invention as specified in the instant application claims.
As to claims 2-3 and 13-14, Lee discloses the system of claim 1, comprising
a communication portion (fig. 6, communication module 140), wherein the communication portion is to communicate with a server (fig. 6, server 400), and
wherein the image processing portion and arithmetic portion are provided in the server (fig. 7, recognize view window with server 702).
As to claims 10 and 16, Lee discloses the system of claim 1, wherein pixel density of the display portion is higher than or equal to 50 ppi and lower than or equal to 1500 ppi (fig. 11, touch screen panel resolution; examiner’s official notice: the 50-1500 ppi is a typical touch screen panel display resolution range).
As to claims 11 and 17, Lee discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the image processing is not performed in the second region (fig. 7, activating view window area 703 only).
As to claims 18-19, Lee discloses the system of claim 1,
wherein the display portion comprises a light-emitting element (para.0050, organic light-emitting diode), and
wherein an active layer (para.0050, active-matrix OLED) of the organic photodiode is on a same surface as a light-emitting layer of the light-emitting element.
As to claims 20-21, Park discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the organic photodiode comprises an organic semiconductor (6:35-37, OLED, LED is semiconductor).
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, this action is made final. See MPEP §706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire in THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filled within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date of the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136 (a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than six months from the date of this final action.
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to examiner Cheng-Yuan Tseng whose telephone number is (571)272-9772, and fax number is (571)273-9772. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 09:00 to 17:30 Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Alicia Harrington can be reached on (571)272-2330. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at (866)217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call (800)786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or (571)272-1000.
/CHENG YUAN TSENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615