DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect Claims 3, 10, 13, 15, 22-23, and 25 in regards to indefiniteness regarding the use of the term “about” have been considered and are persuasive.
In regards to the arguments concerning claims 1-4, and 6 as being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 9,190,342 to Paolella et al., Applicant's arguments filed 6/09/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The crux of Applicant’s arguments assert that the TIM layer of Paolella cannot be considered a heat spreader as, to quote Applicant (see ¶¶5 of Arguments) “One skilled in the art would know that a heat spreader is a solid thermally conductive material to be bonded to a heat-producing component.” However, examiner would point out that the only limitations in the claim are to a “thermally conductive body configured to contact a heat source and a heat sink, in which at least a portion of the thermally conductive body comprises a copper composite that comprises copper nanoparticles and a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) modifier,” all of which are adequately mapped as being disclosed by Paolella in the first office action. Any other limitations, i.e. the density of the material, or any other such features should be claimed if the limitations are desired to be deemed patentable.
In regards to the arguments concerning claims 23 and 25 as being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 7,786,486 to Casey et al., the arguments are moot as the amendments to the claims require a new grounds of rejection.
In regards to the arguments concerning claims 6 and 7 as being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 and/or 103 as being anticipated and/or obvious over Paolella, Examiner would point to the arguments above as regards claim 1.
In regards to the arguments concerning claims 1, 10-11, 14-18, 20, and 22 as being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Casey in view of Paolella, the rejection of claims 1 and 10 stand for the reasons explained above, further the arguments as applied to claims 11, 12-18, 20, and 22 are moot as the amendments to the claims require a new grounds of rejection.
Further in regards to claims 2, the amendment to the claim does not seem to change the scope of the claim.
The arguments with regards to claim 5 has been considered, but are not persuasive for the reasons set forth regarding the rejection of claim 1 above as being obvious over Casey in view of Paolella.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 9,190,342 to Paolella et al.
Paolella discloses;
As to claim 1, a heat spreader comprising: a thermally conductive body (fig. 5A, 14) configured to contact a heat source (12) and a heat sink (16), in which at least a portion of the thermally conductive body (14) comprises a copper composite that comprises copper nanoparticles (col.7,ln 19 body (14) comprises copper nanoparticles) and a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) modifier (col. 12, ln. 12-28 disclose the copper nanoparticles of the thermal interface layer containing various “conductive additives” for the purposes of matching the CTE between the heat spreader and the heat producing element).
As to claim 2, the heat spreader of claim 1, wherein the copper composite is formed through consolidation of copper nanoparticles with micron-size copper particles and the CTE modifier (col. 20, ln.31-44 discus using micron-size copper flakes in the formation of the nanoparticle composition).
As to claim 3, the heat spreader of claim 1, wherein the copper composite has a uniform nanoporosity of about 2% to about 30% (Col. 9, ln.23 list multiple ranges of nanoporosity between about 1% and 40% including ranges of nanoporosity between about 2% and 30%, such as between 10% and 20%).
As to claim 4, the heat spreader of claim 1, wherein the CTE modifier comprises carbon fibers (col.5 ln. 46).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 7,786,486 to Casey et al. in view of US 9,190,342 to Paolella et al.
As to claim 1, Casey discloses a heat spreader (Fig.4) (55b) comprising: a thermally conductive body (col.7, ln.45-49, (55b) being a high thermally-conductive copper-graphite material) configured to contact a heat source (42a/b) and a heat sink (58a/b), in which at least a portion of the thermally conductive body comprises a copper composite (copper-graphite material) that comprises a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) modifier (graphite being the modifier). Casey fails to disclose the copper composite comprising copper nanoparticles. Paolella teaches a heat spreader made of a copper composite comprising copper nanoparticles (col.7,ln 19 body (14) comprises copper nanoparticles). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the copper heat spreader of Casey to be composed of copper nanoparticles as taught by Paolella as copper nanoparticles have advantages over bulk metals in processing on smaller scale electronics as taught by Paolella (col.4, ln. 12-14).
As to claim 10, modified Casey further discloses the heat spreader of claim 1, wherein the copper composite has a CTE of about 3 ppm to about 7 ppm (Fig. 4, CTE of the composite being 4.75 ppm).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 7,786,486 to Casey et al. in view of US 9,190,342 to Paolella et al. and further in view of WO 0167019 to Thermal Corp.
As to claim 5, Casey in view of Paolella discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Casey in view of Paolella fails to disclose a plurality of thermally conductive fibers extending from at least a portion of the thermally conductive body or the coating thereon, if present. Thermal Corp teach a plurality of thermally conductive fibers (fig. 1, 12) extending from at least a portion of thermally conductive body (10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the thermally conductive body (55b) of Casey with the heat conductive fibers of Thermal Corp in order to increase the heat conductive surface area of the thermally conductive body as taught by Thermal Corp (see Abstract).
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over 9,190,342 to Paolella et al.
As to claim 6, the heat spreader of claim 1, wherein the thermally conductive body (14) is wholly formed from the copper composite comprising the CTE modifier (Fig.4). Alternatively, as there is no negative teaching in Paolella that the thermally conductive body is wholly formed from the copper composite comprising the CTE modifier, the examiner takes official notice that to construct the thermally conductive body containing the CTE modifier to be wholly formed from the copper composite would require only routine skill in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the thermally conductive body of Paolella to be wholly formed from the copper composite comprising the CTE modifier to ensure a consistent heat transfer across the material.
As to claim 7, Paolella discloses the heat spreader of claim 6, wherein the CTE modifier is distributed throughout the thermally conductive body (Fig. 5A (14)). Alternatively, as there is no negative teaching in Paolella that the CTE modifier is distributed throughout the thermally conductive body, the examiner takes official notice that to distribute the CTE modifier throughout the thermally conductive body would have taken only routine skill in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to distribute the CTE modifier throughout the thermally conductive body in order to provide a consistent and efficient heat transfer throughout the thermally conductive body.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9,190,342 to Paolella et al in view of US 10,424,527 to Sikka.
As to claim 8, Paolella discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Paolella fails to disclose wherein the thermally conductive body is tapered. Sikka teaches a thermally conductive body (102) having a tapered configuration (Fig.1A/B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the thermal conductive body (14) of Paolella to have a tapered shape as taught by Sikka in order to allow heat to dissipate in both a vertical and horizontal plane as taught by Sikka (col.4, ln.58-64).
Claim(s) 9, and 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 7,786,486 to Casey et al. in view US 9,190,342 to Paolella et al. and further in view of US 2005/0189647 to Sung.
As to claim 9, Casey in view of Paolella discloses all of the limitations of claims 1. Casey in view of Paolella fails to disclose wherein the CTE modifier is present in the copper composite in a stepwise or gradient concentration distribution. Sung teaches in (e.g. Fig.6) a CTE modifier (14) present in a metal matrix (16) in a gradient concentration distribution (layer (32) being closer to the heat source (11) and having more modifiers than layer (30)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the CTE modifier concentration of Casey to have a gradient distribution as taught by Sung in order to save costs by only having CTE modifiers in areas that require a high degree of thermal conductivity as taught by Sung ([0068] ln.10-17).
As to claim 26, modified Casey teach the heat spreader of claim 9. Modified Casey fails to disclose wherein the heat spreader comprises a multi-layered interface and the CTE modifier in the copper composite is adjusted between each layer to provide a stepwise or gradient concentration distribution. Sung teaches a heat spreader (30) comprising a multi-layered interface (see e.g. Fig. 2) and a CTE modifier (diamond) in a copper composite is adjusted between each layer to provide a gradient concentration distribution (clearly seen from Fig. 2 and Abstract, “A diamond-containing region of the heat spreader can contain diamond particles such that the diamond concentration and/or the diamond particle size a varied to produce a desired thermal conductivity gradient.”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the thermally conductive body of modified Casey with a gradient configuration in order to produce a desired thermal conductivity gradient as taught by Sung.
As to claim 27, modified Casey teach the heat spreader of claim 27. Modified Casey fails to disclose wherein the CTE change between each layer is between about 1 ppm/°C to about 2.5 ppm/°C. Sung teaches varying the thermal conductivity gradient in a composite alters thermal conductivity, as the thermal conductivity is a result effective variable of the percent composition of the CTE modifier ([0016]). Sung fails to explicitly teach varying the gradient by about 1 ppm/°C to about 2.5 ppm/°C per layer. Notwithstanding, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modifying the gradient layers of modified Casey in view of Sung by about 1 ppm/°C to about 2.5 ppm/°C per layer as a choice in design, depending on the desired thermal conductivity of the system.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 7,786,486 to Casey et al. in view of US 9,190,342 to Paolella et al. further in view of US 2005/0189647 to Sung.
As to claim 28, Casey in view of Paolella teach the heat spreader of claim 1. Casey fails to explicitly disclose wherein the copper composite further comprises diamond particles, wherein the diamond particles have a size between about 0.5 to about 1000 microns. Sung teaches a copper composite heat spreader using diamond particles in the range of 0.5 to 1000 microns ([0074] “heat spreaders in accordance with the present invention can utilize diamond particles having a relatively coarse grain, for example grains of 50 microns and larger, e.g., 300 microns.”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the diamond particles of Casey to be between 50 and 300 microns to reduce grain boundaries present to slow down heat flow as taught by Sung ([0074] “In addition, the diamond particles used in heat spreaders in accordance with the present invention can utilize diamond particles having a relatively coarse grain, for example grains of 50 microns and larger, e.g., 300 microns. This can result in fewer grain boundaries present to slow down heat flow.”)
Claim(s) 11-12, 16-18, 20, 22-23, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0049008 to Pascall et al in view of US 7,786,486 to Casey et al.
As to claim 11, Pascall discloses a thermally conductive body ([0014] “The inventor's apparatus, systems, and methods have use producing a complex product. In one embodiment the inventor's apparatus, systems, and methods have use producing a complex heat sink.”), in which at least a portion of the thermally conductive body comprises a copper composite ([0055] “In one embodiment, the nanoparticle suspensions include copper metal 508 and diamond particles 510.”) that comprises copper nanoparticles (508) and a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) modifier (diamond particles 510), wherein the copper composite is formed through consolidation of the copper nanoparticles and the CTE modifier ([0055] “In one operation of the system electrophoretic deposition is used to deposit the copper metal 508 and diamond particles 510 on the preform 512.) Pascall fails to disclose a printed circuit board (PCB) comprising: a heat-producing component located upon or recessed within an electrically insulating substrate; and at least one heat spreader in thermal communication with the heat-producing component. Casey teaches a printed circuit board (PCB) (fig. 4, 47/49) comprising: a heat-producing component (42a/b) located upon an electrically insulating substrate (col.7,ln.56-57 (47/49) being electrically-insulating); and at least one heat spreader (55b) in thermal communication with the heat- producing component. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to utilize the thermally conductive body of Pascall an electrical system as taught by Casey in order to provide cooling to electronic components on a PCB.
As to claim 23, Pascall discloses a thermally conductive body ([0014] “The inventor's apparatus, systems, and methods have use producing a complex product. In one embodiment the inventor's apparatus, systems, and methods have use producing a complex heat sink.”), in which at least a portion of the thermally conductive body comprises a copper composite ([0055] “In one embodiment, the nanoparticle suspensions include copper metal 508 and diamond particles 510.”) that comprises copper nanoparticles (508) and a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) modifier (diamond particles 510), wherein the copper composite is formed through consolidation of the copper nanoparticles and the CTE modifier ([0055] “In one operation of the system electrophoretic deposition is used to deposit the copper metal 508 and diamond particles 510 on the preform 512). Pascall fails to disclose a heat dissipation system comprising: a heat spreader having such that the thermally conductive body has a CTE of about 3 ppm/°C to about 7 ppm/C; a heat-producing component in contact with a first surface of the thermally conductive body, the heat-producing component having a CTE of about 3 ppm/°C to about 7 ppm/ C; and a heat sink or a heat pipe in contact with a second surface of the thermally conductive body; wherein the heat sink or the heat pipe is also formed from the copper composite comprising the copper nanoparticles and the CTE coefficient of thermal expansion modifier and has a CTE of about 3 ppm/°C to about 7 ppm/°C wherein the copper composite is formed through consolidation of the copper nanoparticles and the CTE modifier. Casey discloses a heat dissipation system (Fig.4) comprising: a heat spreader (55b) having a thermally conductive body (col.7, ln.45-49 55b being a high thermally-conductive copper-graphite material), in which at least a portion of the thermally conductive body comprises a copper composite (copper-graphite material) that comprises a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) modifier (graphite being the modifier), such that the thermally conductive body has a CTE of about 3 ppm to about 7 ppm (Fig.4, CTE of the copper-graphite composite being 4.75 ppm); a heat-producing component (42a/b) in contact with a first surface (inside surface of 55) of the thermally conductive body, the heat-producing component having a CTE of about 3 ppm to about 7 ppm (the heat producing component is a SiC diode, SiC having a CTE of about 4-5 ppm); and a heat sink (58a/b) in contact with a second surface (55a) of the thermally conductive body; wherein the heat sink is also formed from the copper composite comprising the coefficient of thermal expansion modifier and has a CTE of about 3 to about 7 ppm (col.7, ln.50-53, the fin structure 58a/b also being made of the copper-graphite composite and having a CTE of 4.75 ppm). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to utilize the thermally conductive body of Pascall an electrical system as taught by Casey in order to provide cooling to electronic components on a PCB.
As to claim 12, modified Pascall teaches the PCB of claim 11, wherein the copper composite further comprises micron-sized copper particles ([0055] “The nanoparticle suspensions generally contain micron and/or nanometer scale particles.) and is formed through consolidation of the copper nanoparticles with the micron-size copper particles and the CTE modifier ([0055] “In one operation of the system electrophoretic deposition is used to deposit the copper metal 508 and diamond particles 510 on the preform 512.)
As to claim 16, modified Pascall teaches the PCB of claim 11, wherein the CTE modifier comprises particles diamond (510).
As to claim 17, modified Pascall teaches the PCB of claim 11, wherein the thermally conductive body is wholly formed from the copper composite (No other material being present besides the diamond and copper, as the preform is removed after production [0035] “Removing the preform to complete the complex product is step 4.”)
As to claim 18, modified Pascall teaches the PCB of claim 17, wherein the CTE modifier is distributed throughout the thermally conductive body (see FIG. 5, and [0055]).
As to claim 20, modified Pascall teaches the PCB of claim 11. Pascall fails to disclose wherein the heat-producing component is located upon or recessed within a surface of the electrically insulating substrate, and: the at least one heat spreader is bonded to a top surface of the heat-producing component, the at least one heat spreader is bonded to a side surface of the heat-producing component, the at least one heat spreader is bonded to a bottom surface of the heat-producing component and the at least one heat spreader extends through the electrically insulating substrate, or any combination thereof. Casey teaches the heat-producing component (42a/b) is located upon a surface of the electrically insulating substrate (47/49), and: the at least one heat spreader (55b) is bonded to a top surface of the heat-producing component (via 44), and the at least one heat spreader is bonded to a bottom surface of the heat-producing component (via 49). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to utilize the thermally conductive body of Pascall an electrical system as taught by Casey in order to provide cooling to electronic components on a PCB.
As to claim 22, modified Pascall teaches the PCB of claim 11. Pascall fails to disclose wherein the copper composite has a CTE of about 3 ppm/°C to about 7 ppm/C. Casey teaches a copper composite having a CTE of about 3 ppm to about 7 ppm (Fig. 4, CTE of the composite being 4.75 ppm). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the thermally conductive body of Pascall to have a CTE of about 3 ppm/°C to about 7 ppm/C in order to provide for thermal matching between a copper composite heat spreader and an insulated substrate as taught by Casey (col. 2, ll. 23-34).
As to claim 25, modified Pascall teaches the heat dissipation system of claim 23. Pascall fails to disclose wherein the thermally conductive body or the coating thereon has a CTE within about +20% of the heat- producing component. Casey discloses wherein the thermally conductive body has a CTE within about +-20% of the heat- producing component (the CTE of the thermally conductive body being 4.75 ppm and the CTE of the heat producing component being about 4-5 ppm). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the thermally conductive body of Pascall to have a CTE of about 3 ppm/°C to about 7 ppm/C in order to provide for thermal matching between a copper composite heat spreader and an insulated substrate as taught by Casey (col. 2, ll. 23-34).
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0049008 to Pascall et al in view of US 7,786,486 to Casey et al further in view US 9,190,342 to Paolella et al.
As to claim 13, Pascall in view of Casey teach the PCB of claim 11. Pascal fails to disclose wherein the copper composite has a uniform nanoporosity of about 2% to about 30%. Paolella teaches a nanoparticle heat conducting body using a porosity of between 1% and 40% (col. 5, ll. 33-36 “In various embodiments, the porosity of the thermal interface layer can range between about 1% to about 40%, as measured based upon the volume of internal free space remaining therein.”) which is about the range as disclosed by applicant of about 2% to about 30%. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the copper composite of Pascall to have a porosity of about 2% to about 30% to minimize stress as well help with CTE mismatch as taught by Paolella (col. 5, ll. 23-36).
As to claim 14, modified Pascall teach the PCB of claim 11. Pascal fails to disclose wherein the at least one heat spreader is bonded to the heat-producing component via a bonding layer comprising a second copper composite that is CTE-matched to the heat-producing component. Paolella teaches (Fig.5A) a heat spreader (16) bonded to heat-producing component (12) via a bonding layer (14) comprising a copper composite that is CTE-matched to the heat-producing component (col. 12, ln. 12-28 - bonding layer (14) being a composite of copper and highly thermally conductive elements for the purpose of CTE matching heat spreader (16) and heat generating component (12)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to substitute the AuSn bonding layer of Casey with the copper composite of Paolella as a more cost-effective means of soldering as taught by Paolella (col.2, ln.17-20).
As to claim 15, modified Pascall teach the PCB of claim 14. Pascall fails to disclose wherein the second copper composite of the bonding layer has a uniform nanoporosity of about 2% to about 30%. Paolella further teaches wherein the copper composite has a uniform nanoporosity of about 2% to about 30% (Col. 9, ln.23 list multiple ranges of nanoporosity between about 1% and 40% including ranges of nanoporosity between about 2% and 30%, including between 10% - 20%). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to substitute the AuSn bonding layer of Casey with the copper composite of Paolella as a more cost-effective means of soldering as taught by Paolella (col.2, ln.17-20).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0049008 to Pascall et al in view of US 7,786,486 to Casey et al further in view US 10,424,527 to Sikka.
As to claim 19, Pascall in view of Casey disclose all of the limitations of claim 11. Pascall fails to disclose wherein the thermally conductive body is tapered. Sikka teaches a thermally conductive body (102) having a tapered configuration (Fig.1A/B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the thermal conductive body of Pascall to have a tapered shape as taught by Sikka in order to allow heat to dissipate in both a vertical and horizontal plane as taught by Sikka (col.4, ln.58-64).
Claim(s) 21, 29-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0049008 to Pascall et al in view of US 7,786,486 to Casey et al further in view US 2005/0250250 to Sung.
As to claim 21, Pascall in view of Casey teach the PCB of claim 11. Pascall fails to disclose wherein the CTE modifier is present in the copper composite in a stepwise or gradient concentration distribution. Sung discloses a CTE modifier (diamond, Fig. 2) present in a copper composite heat spreader (30) in a gradient concentration distribution (Abstract, “A diamond-containing region of the heat spreader can contain diamond particles such that the diamond concentration and/or the diamond particle size a varied to produce a desired thermal conductivity gradient.”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the thermally conductive body of Pascall with a gradient configuration in order to produce a desired thermal conductivity gradient as taught by Sung.
As to claim 29, modified Pascall teach the PCB of claim 21. Pascal fails to disclose wherein the heat spreader comprises a multi-layered interface and the CTE modifier in the copper composite is adjusted between each layer to provide a stepwise or gradient concentration distribution. Sung teaches a heat spreader (30) comprising a multi-layered interface (see e.g. Fig. 2) and a CTE modifier (diamond) in a copper composite is adjusted between each layer to provide a gradient concentration distribution (clearly seen from Fig. 2 and Abstract, “A diamond-containing region of the heat spreader can contain diamond particles such that the diamond concentration and/or the diamond particle size a varied to produce a desired thermal conductivity gradient.”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the thermally conductive body of Pascall with a gradient configuration in order to produce a desired thermal conductivity gradient as taught by Sung.
As to claim 30, modified Pascall teach the PCB of claim 29. Pascall fails to disclose wherein the CTE change between each layer is between about 1 ppm/°C to about 2.5 ppm/°C. Sung teaches varying the thermal conductivity gradient in a composite ([0016]). Sung fails to explicitly teach varying the gradient by about 1 ppm/°C to about 2.5 ppm/°C per layer. Notwithstanding, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modifying the gradient layers of Pascall in view of Sung by about 1 ppm/°C to about 2.5 ppm/°C per layer as a choice in design, depending on the desired specifications of the system, applicant offering no criticality to this range.
As to claim 31, modified Pascall teach the PCB of claim 11. Pascall fails to disclose wherein the copper composite further comprises diamond particles, wherein the diamond particles have a size between about 0.5 to about 1000 microns. While Pascall discloses using diamond particles in the micron size range ([0055] “The nanoparticle suspensions generally contain micron and/or nanometer scale particles.), Pascall fails explicitly disclose wherein the copper composite further comprises diamond particles, wherein the diamond particles have a size between about 0.5 to about 1000 microns. Sung teaches a copper composite heat spreader using diamond particles in the range of 0.5 to 1000 microns ([0074] “heat spreaders in accordance with the present invention can utilize diamond particles having a relatively coarse grain, for example grains of 50 microns and larger, e.g., 300 microns.”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the diamond particles of Pascall to be between 50 and 300 microns to reduce grain boundaries present to slow down heat flow as taught by Sung ([0074] “In addition, the diamond particles used in heat spreaders in accordance with the present invention can utilize diamond particles having a relatively coarse grain, for example grains of 50 microns and larger, e.g., 300 microns. This can result in fewer grain boundaries present to slow down heat flow.”)
As to claim 32, modified Pascall teaches the heat dissipation device of claim 23. Pascal fails to disclose wherein the copper composite further comprises diamond particles, wherein the diamond particles have a size between about 0.5 to about 1000 microns. While Pascall discloses using diamond particles in the micron size range ([0055] “The nanoparticle suspensions generally contain micron and/or nanometer scale particles.), Pascall fails explicitly disclose wherein the copper composite further comprises diamond particles, wherein the diamond particles have a size between about 0.5 to about 1000 microns. Sung teaches a copper composite heat spreader using diamond particles in the range of 0.5 to 1000 microns ([0074] “heat spreaders in accordance with the present invention can utilize diamond particles having a relatively coarse grain, for example grains of 50 microns and larger, e.g., 300 microns.”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the diamond particles of Pascall to be between 50 and 300 microns to reduce grain boundaries present to slow down heat flow as taught by Sung ([0074] “In addition, the diamond particles used in heat spreaders in accordance with the present invention can utilize diamond particles having a relatively coarse grain, for example grains of 50 microns and larger, e.g., 300 microns. This can result in fewer grain boundaries present to slow down heat flow.”)
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0049008 to Pascall et al in view of US 7,786,486 to Casey et al further in view US 2016/0265858 to Zinn et al.
As to claim 24 Pascall in view of Casey teach all of the limitations of claim 23. Pascall fails to disclose wherein the thermally conductive body is metallurgically bonded to the heat sink or the heat pipe via a bonding layer. Zinn teaches (Fig.4) a bonding layer (12) for joining conductive bodies (14) containing CTE modifiers in the form of micron-scale diamond particles. Zinn further teaches laterally transferring heat in a planar manner using homogeneous bonding layers (12) ([0025] ln.5-9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to attach the heat sink fins (58) of Casey to the conductive body of Pascall by means of a homogeneous copper bonding layer as taught by Zinn, for the purpose of laterally transferring heat to the heat fins, as the homogeneous copper bonding layer slows the vertical heat transfer of the composite thermally conductive body, therefore allowing heat transfer in a lateral direction effectively using the entire surface area of the heat sink.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMIL ALEXANDER DECKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841