DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Notes
Claims 1-8, 11-18, and 21 are currently pending of which claims 11-18 are withdrawn. Claims 9-10 and 19-20 have been cancelled and claim 21 is newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2020/0292731) and further in view of Prest et al. (US 2011/0019354).
Regarding claims 1 and 21, Park discloses flexible cover window (0002) having a thickness (t2) in a range from 50 to 300 µm (0019) overlapping the claimed substrate thickness of from about 100 micrometers to about 2 millimeters; defined between a first major surface and a second major surface opposite the first major surface with a first and second portion (P) comprising the substate thickness therebetween (Fig. 1).
A central portion (F) having a thickness (t1) of 20 to 100 µm (0019), overlapping the claimed central thickness of from about 25 micrometers to about 200 micrometers; defined between first and second central surface areas and recessed from the first major surface by a first distance (Fig. 1).
Park does not disclose the cover window having a blunted edge extending around an entire periphery between the first and second major surfaces in both the first and second portions as well as between the first and second central surface areas in the central portion, the blunted edge comprising a first blunted surface area where the blunted edge meets the first major surface and the blunted edge comprising a second blunted surface area where the blunted edge meets the second major surface.
Prest, in the analogous field of display glass covers (0008), discloses a glass member where edges/sides (including top, bottom, left and right) are formed with a pre-determined geometry (Fig. 1A, 0042) e.g., the entire periphery. Prest teaches the pre-determined geometry including a beveled or rounded surface (Fig. 3, 4A).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious for the entire periphery of the cover window of Park to include a blunted edge/side as taught by Prest, to make the cover window stronger and less susceptible to damage (0050 ).
In the structure of Park in view of Prest, the blunted edge surface will extend between the first major surface and the second major surface in the first and second portions as well as between the first central surface area and the second central surface area in the central portion, and will comprise a first blunted surface area where the blunted edge meets the first major surface and a second blunted surface area where the blunted edge meets the second major surface.
As Park in view of Prest teaches the foldable substate as claimed the foldable substrate comprising a minimum parallel plate distance of about 2 to 10 millimeters and width from about 1.4 times to about 3 times the minimum parallel plate distance would be expected of the prior art cover window.
Once a reference teaching product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the examiner presents evidence or reasoning tending to show inherency, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference. "[T]he PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products." In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433-34 (CCPA 1977)), see MPEP 2112. Applicant has not clearly shown an unobvious difference between the instant invention and the prior art’s product.
Regarding claim 2, Prest does not expressly teach a first thickness of the first blunted surface area in a direction of the substrate thickness and a second thickness of the second blunted surface area in the direction of the substrate thickness is in a range of about 1 to 50 micrometers.
However, Prest teaches that different edge geometries affect the compressive stress and that the shape can serve to position the compressive stress away from the edges (0050, Fig. 12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to adjust the blunted surface thickness for the intended application, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 3, Prest teaches that the cover glass surface may be chemically treated for further strengthening providing a compressive layer at the surface of the glass (0051). Thus, the first portion and second portions will comprise compressive stress regions as claimed.
Regarding claim 4, Prest teaches that the compressive layer can be formed from a depth of about 10 to 90 micrometers (0051).
With a glass thickness of 50 to 300 micrometers (Park: 0019) the depth of compressive for the surface will range from about 3-30% (MPEP 2144.05).
Alternatively, Prest teaches that it is understood that the depth of the compressive layer can vary depending on the specific chemical treatment applied to the glass and thus it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill that the depth is a result effective variable, a particular parameter can be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, and the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05.II.B.).
Regarding claim 5, Prest teaches that the chemical strengthening is optional (e.g., can be chemically treated) (0051). Thus, the central portion of the window of Park in view of Prest will be substantially unstrengthened.
Regarding claim 6, Park teaches the cover window being substantially symmetric about a first plane extending in the direction of the central thickness and along a midline between the first and second portions (e.g., Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Park teaches wherein the cover window is substantially symmetric about a second plane extending in the direction of the central thickness and perpendicular to the first plane (e.g., Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Park teaches the cover window is glass-based (0002).
Response to Arguments
Applicants arguments filed 07/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the office has not provided any disclosure in Park or Prest or any technical analysis of the cited structures demonstrating that the prior art combination would inevitably achieve a minimum parallel plate distance within the claimed range.
The rejection sets forth that Park in view of Prest discloses a flexible cover window as claimed. This includes the claimed structural features of a central portion comprising a central thickness in a range from about 25 to about 200 micrometers and recessed from the first major surface (Park: 0019, Fig. 1). Because Park discloses the claimed foldable substrate structure, the claimed properties of minimum parallel plate distance/width relationship (of new claim 21) are expected from the prior art product. Indeed, applicants specification teaches that by providing a foldable substrate comprising a central potion comprising a central thickness less than the substrate thickness can enable a small parallel place distance (e.g., about 10 millimeters or less) based on the reduced thickness in the central portion (see specification paragraph 0005). It is unclear how the prior art would not necessarily comprise the an overlapping range of the claimed properties when the prior art teaches the claimed structure which is disclosed as being required for enabling the properties.
Applicant argues that absent any teaching or suggestion in the cited references regarding the claimed minimum parallel plate distance the rejection relies upon impermissible hindsight reconstruction using applicant’s disclosure as a roadmap.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Park teaches the same structure as claimed. The claimed structure appears to achieve/be the requirement for meeting the claimed properties. Thus, the properties are expected of the prior art product (MPEP 2112). Applicant has not clearly shown an unobvious difference between the instant invention and the prior art product, i.e., applicant has not clearly shown what structure the prior art product is missing that the properties would not necessarily be present in the product of the prior art.
Correspondence
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALICIA J WEYDEMEYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781