DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10 February 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, a connector having first and second attachment parts and a resilient part, corresponding to claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10-13, 17-18, 22-23, 25, 28, and 30 in the reply filed on 20 February 2026 is acknowledged.
The requirement is made FINAL.
Status of Claims
The following status reflects the 7/5/2024 preliminary amendment and the 2/10/2025 election.
Amended
1, 4, 6, 8, 10-14, 16-18, 22-23, 25, 28, 30
Withdrawn
14-16
Canceled
5, 7, 9, 19-21, 24, 26-27, 29
Pending
1-4, 6, 8, 10-18, 22-23, 25, 28, 30
Presented for Examination
1-4, 6, 8, 10-13, 17-18, 22-23, 25, 28, 30
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3-4, 6, 8, 18, 22, 25, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 is indefinite because it is not clear if “a first direction” is the same as or different from “a first direction” in claim 1 from which claim 3 depends.
Claim 3 is indefinite because it is not clear to which of the two recitations of “a first direction” “the first direction” is referring.
Claim 3 is indefinite because two lines are either parallel or they are not parallel, and it is not clear what is meant by “substantially parallel.”
Claims 4, 6, 8, 18, 25, 28 are rendered indefinite by the recitation “optionally” because it is not clear what structure is required by the claim and what is not. For example, claim 28 line 3 has the term “optionally” but it is not clear if everything after “optionally” is optional or if only the remainder of that clause is optional. For example, in claim 28, is the second resilient part included in the optional recitation or is the second resilient part required? For the purpose of examination, Examiner understands “optionally” to mean the following structure/ function are not required claim limitations, and the prior art need not have the “optional” structure/ function in order to read on the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8, 10-13, 17-18, 22-23, 25, 28, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wikner (WO 2021165154 A1).
As to claim 1, Wikner discloses a connector for connecting first and second parts of an apparatus (20), the first and second parts being arranged adjacent each other in a first plane and configured to move relative to each other at least in [[a]]the first plane (capable of connecting first and second parts that are arranged adjacent each other in a first plane and configured to move relative to each other at least in [[a]]the first plane), the connector comprising:
a first attachment part for connecting to the first part of the apparatus (21, capable of connecting);
a second attachment part for connecting to the second part of the apparatus (22, capable of connecting);
a resilient part extending between the first and second attachment parts and configured to deform to allow relative movement between the first and second attachment parts in the first plane (23; page 15 line 15-20 discloses 23 is resilient, capable of deforming and allowing relative movement), wherein:
the first attachment part and the second attachment part are displaced relative to each other in a first direction (FIG 13), the first direction being parallel to the first plane when in use (capable of being parallel), and the resilient part is narrower, in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, than the first attachment part and the second attachment part (FIG 13).
As to claim 2, Wikner discloses the connector of claim 1, wherein: at least one of the first attachment part and the second attachment part is configured to press fit into a corresponding recess in the respective first or second part of the apparatus (capable of press fitting and intended to press fit, as shown in FIG 14).
As to claim 3, as best understood, Wikner discloses the connector of claim 2, wherein:the first attachment part and the second attachment part are displaced relative to each other in a first direction (FIG 13), and the connector is configured to connect the first and second parts of the apparatus such that, in use, the first direction is substantially parallel to the first plane (capable of connecting), and the at least one of the first attachment part and the second attachment part is configured to be inserted into the corresponding recess in the respective first or second part of the apparatus in a direction substantially perpendicular to the first plane (capable of being inserted).
As to claim 4, Wikner discloses the connector of claim 2, wherein the at least one of the first attachment part and the second attachment part comprises one or more protrusions configured to engage with the corresponding recess (211 and/ or 224 and/ or 225 in FIG 13), optionally wherein the one or more protrusions comprises a sloped portion and a shelf, the sloped portion being configured to ease insertion of the attachment part into the recess and the shelf configured to resist removal of the attachment part from the recess.
As to claim 6, Wikner discloses the connector of claim1,wherein the first attachment part and/or the second attachment part are formed from a resilient material (page 18 line 33-34 discloses 21 formed from the same material as 23, and 23 is resilient), optionally wherein the resilient part is formed from the same resilient material.
As to claim 8, Wikner discloses the connector of claim1,wherein at least one of the first and second attachment parts comprises an anchor point configured to connect the connector to a third part of the apparatus or a further connector (any “point” on or around 21 or 22 is capable of connecting the connector to a third part or further connector), optionally wherein the anchor point comprise a hole configured to receive a snap-pin.
As to claim 10, Wikner discloses the connector of claim 1 wherein the first and/or second attachment part is substantially circular (FIG 13).
As to claim 11, Wikner discloses the connector of claim1,wherein the resilient part is elongate (FIG 13).
As to claim 12, Wikner discloses the connector of claim1,comprising multiple second attachment parts, and multiple respective resilient parts (FIG 7), for connecting to one or more second parts of the apparatus (capable of connecting).
As to claim 13, Wikner discloses the connector of claim1, further comprising a third attachment part for connecting to a third part of the apparatus (224 in FIG 13 or 31 in FIG 14, capable of connecting), the third part of the apparatus being configured to move relative to the first and second parts in a second plane substantially parallel to the first plane (capable of moving); and
a second resilient part extending between the first attachment part and the third attachment part and configured to deform to allow relative movement between the third and first attachment parts (221, capable of deforming to allow relative movement between the third and first attachment parts).
As to claim 17, Wikner discloses an apparatus (helmet 1 comprising connector 20) comprising:
a first part and a second part (inner and outer helmet layers shown in FIG 14 and described throughout the disclosure), the first and second parts being arranged adjacent each other in a first plane and configured to move relative to each other at least in [[a]]the first plane (FIG 14, capable of moving relative to each other at least in [[a]]the first plane);
a connector connecting first and second parts of an apparatus (20), the connector comprising: a first attachment part for connecting to the first part of the apparatus (21 including 211, 212, 213, 214, capable of connecting to inner and outer layers); a second attachment part for connecting to the second part of the apparatus (22 including 223, 225, capable of connecting to inner and outer layers);
a resilient part extending between the first and second attachment parts and configured to deform to allow relative movement between the first and second attachment parts in the first plane (23; page 15 line 15-20 discloses 23 is resilient, capable of deforming to allow relative movement between the first and second attachment parts in the first plane), wherein: the first attachment part and the second attachment part are displaced relative to each other in a first direction (FIG 13), the first direction being parallel to the first plane when in use (capable of being parallel), and the resilient part is narrower, in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, than the first attachment part and the second attachment part (FIG 13), wherein the first attachment part of the connector is connected to the first part of the apparatus and the second attachment part of the connector is connected to the second part of the apparatus (FIG 14).
As to claim 18, Wikner discloses the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the first part comprises a first recess and the first attachment part is arranged in the first recess (FIG 14), and/or the second part comprises a second recess and the second attachment part of the connector is arranged in the second recess (FIG 14),optionally wherein the first part and/or the second part comprise a channel in communication with a respective recess, wherein the resilient part is arranged in the channel, optionally wherein the first and second recesses are substantially the same shape as the respective attachment parts, and/or wherein at least one of the first and second attachment parts is press fit into the respective recess.
As to claim 22, Wikner discloses the apparatus of claim 18,wherein the connector further comprises a third attachment part for connecting to a third part of the apparatus (224 in FIG 13 or 31 in FIG 14, capable of connecting), the third part of the apparatus being configured to move relative to the first and second parts in a second plane substantially parallel to the first plane (capable of moving), and
a second resilient part extending between the first attachment part and the third attachment part and configured to deform to allow relative movement between the third and first attachment parts (221, capable of deforming to allow relative movement between the third and first attachment parts), and
the third attachment part is also arranged in the first recess (FIG 14).
As to claim 23, Wikner discloses the apparatus of claim 17,wherein the apparatus has a layered structure and the first and second parts together form a first layer (FIG 14).
As to claim 25, Wikner discloses the apparatus of claim 17,wherein the apparatus further comprises a third part configured to move relative to the first and second parts in a second plane substantially parallel to the first plane (224 in FIG 13 or 31 in FIG 14, capable of connecting), optionally wherein:the connector further comprises a third attachment part for connecting to a third part of the apparatus, the third part of the apparatus being configured to move relative to the first and second parts in a second plane substantially parallel to the first plane, and a second resilient part extending between the first attachment part and the third attachment part and configured to deform to allow relative movement between the third and first attachment parts, and the third attachment part is connected to the third part of the apparatus; optionally wherein: the apparatus has a layered structure and the first and second parts together form a first layer and the third part forms a second layer adjacent the first layer.
As to claim 28, Wikner discloses the apparatus of claim 17,wherein the first and second parts are energy absorbing parts (capable of absorbing energy, the term “energy absorbing” has not lent any particular structure to the claimed “parts”), optionally forming a first energy absorbing layer, optionally wherein the connector further comprises a third attachment part for connecting to a third part of the apparatus, the third part of the apparatus being configured to move relative to the first and second parts in a second plane substantially parallel to the first plane, and
a second resilient part extending between the first attachment part and the third attachment part and configured to deform to allow relative movement between the third and first attachment parts (221, capable of deforming to allow relative movement between the third and first attachment parts), and the third part is an energy absorbing part (capable of absorbing energy, the term “energy absorbing” has not lent any particular structure to the claimed “parts”), optionally forming a second energy absorbing layer.
As to claim 30, Wikner discloses the apparatus of claim 17,wherein the apparatus is a helmet (page 16 line 10-15).
Conclusion
SALLY HADEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/SALLY HADEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732