DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 5/1/24.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Agirman (US20190173410).
Regarding Claim 1, Agirman discloses (fig. 2) an inverter system (10) comprising a multiphase inverter (20) which comprises at least three half-bridge circuits (R, S, T) which are connected in parallel to a positive potential connection (high side) and to a negative potential (low side) connections wherein all half-bridge circuits each comprise a high-side switch (48) arranged between the positive potential connection and an output of the half-bridge circuit and a low-side switch (49) arranged between the negative potential connection and the output of the half-bridge circuit; at least two of the half-bridge circuits comprise a resistive shunt (46) for current measurement which is arranged between the negative potential connection and the output of the half-bridge circuit; and a control device (60) for actuating the half-bridge circuits, which is configured to actuate the half-bridge circuits for generating voltage space vectors in successive switching periods such that the voltage space vectors are generated by a discontinuous pulse width modulation (¶50), in which at least one of the low-side switches of at least of the two half- bridge circuits, which comprise the resistive shunt, is switched to be conductive at least once within a switching period (fig. 3B, ¶41).
Regarding Claim 2, Agirman discloses (fig. 2) all of the half-bridge circuits of the inverter comprise one of the resistive shunts for current measurement which is arranged between the negative potential connection and the output of the half-bridge circuit (46r, 46s, 46t).
Regarding Claim 4, Agirman discloses (fig. 2) the high-side switches and the low-side switches are designed as MOSFETs or IGBTs (fig. 2, 48, 49).
Regarding Claim 7, Agirman discloses (fig. 2) A method for operating an inverter system (10) having a multiphasearranged between the positive potential connection and an output of the half-bridge circuit and a low-side switch (49) arranged between the negative potential connection and the output of the half-bridge circuit, wherein at least two of the half-bridge circuits comprise a resistive shunt (46) for current measurement which is arranged between the negative potential connection and the output of the half-bridge circuit, wherein the method comprising: actuating the half-bridge circuits
Regarding Claim 8, Agirman discloses (fig. 2) currents using the resistive shunts and generating the voltage space vectors based on the measured currents (¶41, 50)
Regarding Claim 9, Agirman discloses (fig. 2) An inverter system, comprising: a three-phase inverter which comprises three half-bridge circuits which are connected in parallel to a positive potential connection and to a negative potential connection; the three half-bridge circuits each comprise a high-side switch arranged between the positive potential connection and an output of the half-bridge circuit and a low-side switch arranged between the negative potential connection and the output of the half-bridge circuit; at least two of the half-bridge circuits comprise a resistive shunt for current measurement which is arranged between the negative potential connection and the output of the half-bridge circuit; and a controller for actuating the three half-bridge circuits, and is configured to actuate the three half-bridge circuits for generating voltage space vectors in successive switching periods such that the voltage space vectors are generated by a discontinuous pulse width modulation, in which at least one of the low-side switches of at least two of the half-bridge circuits, which comprise the resistive shunt, is switched to be conductive at least once within a switching period (fig. 3B, ¶41).
Regarding Claim 10, Agirman discloses (fig. 2) all of the half-bridge circuits of the inverter comprise one of the resistive shunts for current measurement which is arranged between the negative potential connection and the output of the half-bridge circuit
Regarding Claim 12, Agirman discloses (fig. 2) the high-side switches and the low-side switches are designed as MOSFETs or IGBTs (fig. 2, 48, 49).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Agirman.
Regarding Claims 3 and 11, Agirman discloses the control device for actuating the half-bridge circuits is configured so that the switching periods have a period length (fig. 3, ¶41).
Agirman does not disclose a period length in a range of 50 ps to 100 ps
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Agirman to include the range of 50 ps to 100 ps since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding Claims 5 and 13, Agirman discloses the high-side switches and the low-side switches have a forward resistance (fig. 2, switches 48 and 49 have a forward resistance).
Agirman does not disclose the range of 3 mQ to 30 mQ.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Agirman to include the range of 3 mQ to 30 mQ since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Agirman in view of Mori et al. (US20230001979, hereinafter Mori).
Regarding Claims 6 and 14, Agirman discloses (fig. 2) the inverter system according to claim 1.
Agirman does not disclose an actuator for a steer-by-wire system or for a roll stabilizer having an electric machine.
Mori discloses an actuator (10) for a steer-by-wire system or for a roll stabilizer having an electric machine (fig. 20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Agirman to include system as disclosed in Mori to utilize multiphase inversion to meet requirements of an AC rotary machine for operating at a required specification.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 10381968, Agirman; Ismail discloses converter pulse width modulation strategies for three phase regenerative drives.
US 11482920, Agirman; Ismail discloses a single stage, two level pulse width modulation strategies for active harmonic filters.
US 20090284194, FORTE; Gianlugi discloses phase current measurements in a three phase inverter using a single common dc-link current sensor.
/KYLE J MOODY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838