DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Such claim limitations are: “control unit” in claim 12 and “guiding means” in claim 14.
In light of the specification, Applicant fails to provide any corresponding structure to define the limitation “control unit”.
In light of the specification, the claim limitation “guiding means” has been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure “a bell supported by a beam or a hollow casing” as described in paragraphs 0075 and 0076.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means of the fluid connection” in claim 15.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 6, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 2-14 are also rejected duo to dependency on claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim limitation “control unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid to disclose any corresponding structure to define the limitation. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steen (US 2013/0309088 A1) in view of Liu et al. (CN 203694484 U) and Guo et al. (CN 112555099.
With regard to claim 1, Steen discloses a wind turbine (2) comprising a generator (20), a base (Fig. 1), a nacelle (16), a tower (6) having a first end mounted to the base (Fig. 1) and a second end supporting the nacelle (16), a fluid supply assembly for supplying the input fluid from a fluid inlet (Par. [0029] and Fig. 2), a fire extinguishing system (60) connected to the fluid supply assembly by a fluid connection for supplying input fluid to said fire extinguishing system (Par. [0029]).
Steen does not disclose that an electrolytic unit electrically powered by the generator to produce hydrogen from an input fluid, in particular water, the fluid supply assembly for supplying the input fluid from a fluid inlet arranged below a water level to the electrolytic unit arranged above the water level, wherein the hydrogen produced can be taken out of the wind turbine by the hydrogen output.
Liu teaches an outdoor water fire extinguishing system comprising an electrolytic unit electrically (Par. [0023, 0024] and Fig. 1).
Guo teaches a wind light system comprising an electrolytic unit electrically powered by the generator to produce hydrogen from an input fluid, in particular water, the fluid supply assembly for supplying the input fluid from a fluid inlet arranged below a water level to the electrolytic unit arranged above the water level, wherein the hydrogen produced can be taken out of the hydrogen output (Par. [0102]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wind turbine of Steen, by incorporating the electrolytic unit as taught by Liu and Guo fluidly connected to the fluid supply assembly of and powered by the generator of Steen, doing it would allow sea water as a fire source, large water capacity, can be natural fire hose cell of one seat infinite capacity (Par. [0023] in Liu).
With regard to claim 2, the device of Steen as modified by Liu and Guo discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Guo and Liu teaches that the fire extinguishing system is a deluge fire extinguishing system comprising a horizontal spray nozzle arrangement (5) having a plurality of nozzles (outlets 6).
With regard to claim 3, the device of Steen as modified by Liu and Guo discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 2 above. Liu further teaches that the nozzles (outlets 6) are arranged at a frame (5 shown in Fig. 1) for support and for guiding the input fluid to the nozzles (Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 4, the device of Steen as modified by Liu and Guo discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Guo further teaches that said wind turbine further comprises an electrolytic unit platform (205 Fig. 8) supporting at least a part of the electrolytic unit (7) above the water level (Fig. 9).
With regard to claim 5, the device of Steen as modified by Liu and Guo discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 4 above. Steen further teaches that the electrolytic unit platform (the support platform for PDP 22 and PMT 24 shown in Fig. 1) supports a plurality of containers (PDP 22 and PMT 24) for storing equipment, such as the electrolytic unit (electrolytic unit taught by Guo and Liu).
With regard to claim 6, the device of Steen as modified by Liu and Guo discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Steen further teaches that the fire extinguishing system (60) is arranged at or close to the electrolytic unit platform, in particular close to the containers (Steen teaches the fire extinguishing system is arranged at any location within turbine 2).
With regard to claim 7, the device of Steen as modified by Liu and Guo discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Steen further teaches that the fire extinguishing system (60) is arranged at or close to the nacelle (Steen teaches the fire extinguishing system is arranged at any location within turbine 2).
With regard to claim 8, the device of Steen as modified by Liu and Guo discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Guo further teaches that the electrolytic unit (7) comprises a desalination unit, wherein the input fluid supplied to the fire extinguishing system is conducted through the desalination unit prior to reaching the fire extinguishing system for avoiding salt and other impurities to block the fire extinguishing system (Par. [0063, 0078]).
With regard to claim 9, the device of Steen as modified by Liu and Guo discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Liu further teaches that the fluid supply assembly comprises a filter for filtering the input fluid (3).
With regard to claim 10, the device of Steen as modified by Liu and Guo discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Liu further teaches that the fluid supply assembly (Fig. 1) comprises a pump (4) for conducting pressurized input fluid to the fire extinguishing system (Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 11, the device of Steen as modified by Liu and Guo discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Steen further teaches that the fire extinguishing system (60) comprises fire detector (62) arranged to detect the characteristics of a fire and to generate an output signal indicating a fire detected by the sensor (Fig. 2 and Par. [0030]).
With regard to claim 12, the device of Steen as modified by Liu and Guo discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 11 above. Steen further teaches that the fire extinguishing system (62) is controlled by a control unit, wherein the control unit activates the fire extinguishing system when the fire detector detects the presence of fire (Fig. 2 and Par. [0030]).
With regard to claim 15, the device of Steen as modified by Liu and Guo discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Since the device of Steen as modified by Liu and Guo discloses all structure of the claimed invention, in its use, the device of Steen as modified by Liu and Guo will inherently perform all the method steps of claim 15.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steen in view of Liu and Guo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wesson et al. (US 3,965,988).
With regard to claim 13, the device of Steen as modified by Liu and Guo discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. They do not disclose that the fluid supply assembly comprises a flexible hose and a hose reel configured to be rotated for winding the hose thereon, wherein the fluid inlet is arranged at an end of the flexible hose, the fluid supply assembly further comprises a guiding means for guiding and supporting the hose.
Wesson teaches a fluid supply assembly comprises a flexible hose (80) and a hose reel (76/78) configured to be rotated for winding the hose thereon, wherein the fluid inlet is arranged at an end of the flexible hose, the fluid supply assembly further comprises a guiding means for guiding and supporting the hose (Fig. 2 and 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire extinguishing system of Steen, by incorporating the flexible hose, hose reel, and the guiding means as taught by Wesson, for the purpose of delivering the extinguishing fluid to the point of use in extinguishing a fire (Col. 3 lines 14-19).
Conclusion
JOEL . ZHOU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/QINGZHANG ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752