Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (US 2022/0113409 A1) in view of Valouch et al. (US 2019/0277703 A1), Kamata (US 2009/0122346 A1) and HP Support (HP Support. (2016, October 6). Scanning from an HP Printer in Windows with HP Scan | HP Printers | HP Support [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o5hzgGX_G2I).
Regarding Claim 1, Yamamoto teaches a laser scanner ([0019] A lidar device 1 illustrated in FIG. 1 emits light as transmission waves and detects reflected waves of the emitted light to measure a distance to an object. The lidar device 1 is mounted to a vehicle and is used for detecting various objects present in front of the vehicle. The lidar is also represented as LIDAR. LIDAR is an abbreviation for Light Detection and Ranging) comprising:
a housing ([0020] the lidar device 1 includes a housing 100);
a window coupled to a top surface of the housing ([0020] a transmission window 200 Examiner Note: for purposes of this example the Z direction is chosen as the “top” of the housing);
a motor mounted ([0023] As illustrated in FIG. 3, the scanning part 20 includes a mirror module 21, a pair of partition boards 22, 23, a motor 24, and a motor board 25. The motor 24 is mounted on the motor board 25. The mirror module 21 stands on the motor 24. The mirror module 21 and the pair of partition boards 22, 23 fixed to the mirror module 21 rotate around a rotation axis in accordance with drive of the motor 24) on an inner upper end of the window ([0027] One side of the motor board 25 is disposed in the vicinity of the transmission window 200 Examiner Note: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to relocate the motor to an inner upper end of the window/housing assembly, as a mere design choice in the rearrangement of structural components, to optimize lower housing space without altering the fundamental principle of operation of the scanner);
a mirror inclinedly connected to a rotary shaft to reflect light ([0025] The pair of partition boards 22, 23 is fixed in the vicinity of the center of the mirror module 21 in the vertical direction so as to be orthogonal to an axis of rotation in a state where the mirror module 21 is interposed between the partition boards 22, 23);
a light source disposed below the mirror to irradiate laser beam toward the mirror ([0032] The light emitting module 12 is disposed so that the traveling direction of the light output from the light emitting module 12 is bent at substantially 90° by the irradiation side reflecting mirror 15, and the light enters the irradiation deflection part 20a Examiner Note: Even if Yamamoto’s light source is not positioned directly below the mirror, relocating it to that location would be another design choice/routine arrangement of parts);
a light-transmissive lens disposed between the light source and the mirror to guide the laser beam emitted from the light source to the mirror ([0029] The light emitting lens 112 is disposed to face a light emitting surface of the light source 111. A semiconductor laser is used for the light source 111. The light emitting lens 112 narrows a width of a beam emitted from the light source 111. [0032] The light emitting module 12 is disposed so that the traveling direction of the light output from the light emitting module 12 is bent at substantially 90° by the irradiation side reflecting mirror 15, and the light enters the irradiation deflection part 20a.).
Yamamoto is not relied upon as teaching a PCB which is erected in a lateral direction of the mirror and has an opening through which the laser beam reflected from the mirror passes and a reference sheet which is erected inside the window and erected at a point that is spaced apart from the PCB in a horizontal direction to diffuse and reflect the laser beam passing through the opening; a light-receiving element configured to receive the laser beam that is diffused and reflected from at least the reference sheet to pass through the opening; and a light-receiving lens configured to concentrate the laser beam, which is diffused and reflected from the reference sheet to pass through the opening, into the light-receiving element.
However, Valouch teaches a PCB which is erected in a lateral direction of the mirror and has an opening through which the laser beam reflected from the mirror passes ([0226] Furthermore, the bondability of the electrical contacts even through the cover layer and the non-bulky hermetic package of the sensor layer may allow easy integration on a circuit carrier device, such as a printed circuit board (PCB), such as by providing an opening in the circuit carrier device being designed for receiving the incident light beam and guiding it to the optical filter, thereby minimizing an amount of stray light which may, otherwise, enter the optical filter, such as through an expoxy or glass layer a being present on the PCB Examiner Note: relocating or reorienting a circuit board to be erected in a lateral direction relative to an optical component is a design choice in the spatial arrangement of known structural elements. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to orient the PCB laterally relative to the mirror of Yamamoto to accommodate internal housing layout constraints and align the opening with the reflected laser beam path).
Yamamoto and Valouch are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of optical sensors and distance measuring devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the printed circuit board assembly of Yamamoto to include an opening in the PCB for receiving and guiding an incident light beam through the board of Valouch with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to allow a reflected light beam to traverse a circuit board without optical obstruction while minimizing stray light. By integrating Valouch’s teaching of a PCB opening for beam transmission into Yamamoto’s optical receiver and housing layout, the system can guide the laser beam through the plane of the PCB to an optical component while shielding against stray light interference. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that incorporating a light pass-through opening in a circuit board would yield the predictable result of enabling unobstructed optical beam transmission through the PCB structure.
Valouch is not relied upon as teaching a reference sheet which is erected inside the window and erected at a point that is spaced apart from the PCB in a horizontal direction to diffuse and reflect the laser beam passing through the opening; a light-receiving element configured to receive the laser beam that is diffused and reflected from at least the reference sheet to pass through the opening; and a light-receiving lens configured to concentrate the laser beam, which is diffused and reflected from the reference sheet to pass through the opening, into the light-receiving element.
However, Kamata teaches a light-receiving element configured to receive the laser beam that is diffused and reflected from at least the reference sheet to pass through the opening; and
a light-receiving lens configured to concentrate the laser beam, which is diffused and reflected from the reference sheet to pass through the opening, into the light-receiving element ([0052] Scanner section 11 is configured with a light source to radiate light onto the document, a line image sensor to read the document in a width direction of the document thereof in one line and an optical pass configured with lenses and mirrors to lead a reflected light from the document to the line image sensor 11a and to form an image).
Yamamoto (as previously modified by Valouch) and Kamata are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of optical scanning and light-detecting systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical receiving system of Yamamoto (as previously modified by Valouch) to include a light-receiving element and light-receiving lens configured to collect and concentrate light reflected from an internal surface through an opening as taught by Kamata with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to accurately focus and direct diffuse reflected light onto an image sensor while maintaining a compact optical path. By integrating Kamata’s teaching of a light-receiving lens and sensor configuration for guiding reflected light into Yamamoto’s combined optical setup, the system can effectively concentrate diffused laser light passing through the PCB opening onto the light-receiving element for reliable signal detection. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that configuring a light-receiving lens and element to receive light reflected from an internal target would yield the predictable result of optimizing optical signal collection and image formation at the detector.
Kamata is not relied upon as teaching a reference sheet which is erected inside the window and erected at a point that is spaced apart from the PCB in a horizontal direction to diffuse and reflect the laser beam passing through the opening.
However, HP Support teaches a reference sheet which is erected inside the window and erected at a point that is spaced apart from the PCB in a horizontal direction to diffuse and reflect the laser beam passing through the opening (Examiner Note: A screenshot from the HP Support video, reproduced below, shows a reference sheet (the document) erected (placed) inside the window (within the borders of the window) spaced apart from the PCB (on the other side of the glass) to diffuse and reflect the laser beam passing through the opening (this is how the document is read by the scanner).
Yamamoto (as previously modified by Valouch and Kamata) and HP Support are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of optical scanning systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical scanning system of Yamamoto (as previously modified by Valouch and Kamata) to include a target sheet erected inside the window and spaced apart from the PCB in a horizontal direction to diffuse and reflect the light beam passing through the opening as taught by HP Support with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to provide a target surface on the scanner window to diffusely reflect incident light back through an optical opening to a receiving element for optical scanning and detection. By integrating HP Suport’s teaching of positioning a reflective target surface across a transparent window spaced from the optical electronics into Yamamoto’s combined optical layout, the system can diffusely reflect the laser beam back through the PCB opening to the light-receiving assembly A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that placing a light-diffusing target sheet over a window in the path of a light-beam would yield the predictable result of diffusing and reflecting the incident beam back toward the internal receiving sensors.
Regarding Claim 2, Yamamoto is not relied upon as teaching that the reference sheet is disposed to be inclined from a vertical surface at a predetermined angle.
However, HP Support teaches that the reference sheet is disposed to be inclined from a vertical surface at a predetermined angle (Examiner Note: As shown in the video screenshot, reproduced above, the document glass/window is oriented horizontal, such that a document placed thereon lies flat at a 90 degree angle relative to vertical walls, which constitutes an inclination at a predetermined angle).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined system of Yamamoto, Valouch, Kamata, and HP Support to orient the reference sheet at an inclined angle relative to a vertical surface as taught by HP Support with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to optimize optical signal capture and reflection efficiency back toward the light-receiving element by establishing a fixed geometric relationship between the light source, target surface, and sensor path. By incorporating HP Support’s teaching of positioning the target sheet at a predetermined angular orientation relative to adjacent housing surfaces, the system can predictably direct light reflected off the reference sheet back through the optical opening while minimizing unwanted internal glare or misalignment. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that disposing a target sheet at a predetermined angle relative to a structural reference plane would yield the predictable result of standardizing the incident beam angle to ensure consistent signal return at the detector assembly.
Regarding Claims 3 and 13, Yamamoto is not relied upon as teaching that a reference sheet seating part on which the reference sheet is disposed is provided on a side surface of the window.
However, HP Support teaches that a reference sheet seating part on which the reference sheet is disposed is provided on a side surface of the window (Examiner Note: As shown in the video screenshot, reproduced above, the plastic bezel/frame surrounding the glass plate acts as a seating part/ledge that defines the position of the document on the side surface of the window).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined system of Yamamoto, Valouch, Kamata, and HP Support to include a reference sheet seating part provided on a side surface of the window as taught by HP Support with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to ensure precise mechanical alignment and physical stability of the reference target relative to the transparent window and optical path. By incorporating HP Support’s teaching of a surrounding bezel or frame ledge along the window edge to seat and position the target, the system can prevent unwanted lateral movement or displacement of the reference sheet during scanner operation. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing a structural seating surface on a side of an optical window would yield the predictable result of repeatably registering the reference sheet in a fixed, aligned position over the optical detection zone.
Regarding Claims 4 and 14, Yamamoto is not relied upon as teaching that the reference sheet seating part radially protrudes from the side surface of the window with a predetermined width and extends in an axial direction of the window.
However, HP Support teaches that the reference sheet seating part radially protrudes from the side surface of the window with a predetermined width and extends in an axial direction of the window (Examiner Note: As shown in the video screenshot, reproduced above, the raised plastic border around the scanner glass extends along the edge/axis of the glass to form a lip of predetermined width for aligning the sheet).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined system of Yamamoto, Valouch, Kamata, and HP Support to configure the reference sheet seating part to radially protrude from the side surface of the window with a predetermined width and extend in an axial direction of the window as taught by HP Support with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to provide a continuous physical alignment lip and mechanical stop to seat the reference target flush against the optical window. By incorporating HP Support’s teaching of a raised border extending axially along the window edge with a defined width to form an alignment lip, the system can consistently locate and seat the reference sheet along the full length of the scan region. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that extending a protruding seating ledge axially along a window border with a predetermined width would yield the predictable result of securing uniform edge alignment and mechanical support along the perimeter of the target sheet.
Claims 5-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (US 2022/0113409 A1), Valouch et al. (US 2019/0277703 A1), Kamata (US 2009/0122346 A1) and HP Support (HP Support. (2016, October 6). Scanning from an HP Printer in Windows with HP Scan | HP Printers | HP Support [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o5hzgGX_G2I) in view of Park et al. (US 2023/0097670 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Yamamoto is not relied upon as teaching a barrel part mounted at a center of a reflective surface of the mirror to rotate as one body with the mirror, wherein the barrel part comprises: an incident barrel part configured to guide the laser beam emitted from the light source to the reflective surface of the mirror; and a reflective barrel part configured to guide the laser beam reflected from the mirror in the horizontal direction, wherein the reflective barrel part is disposed between an upper end and a lower end of the opening.
However, Park teaches a barrel part mounted at a center of a reflective surface of the mirror ([0200]-[0201] The first body tube 110 and the second body tube 120 may be provided in a horizontally corresponding location and lenses are assembled on front surfaces and circuit boards 130 may be assembled on rear surfaces. For example, the first body tube 110 and the second body tube 120 are screwed to be assembled and fixed with the circuit boards 130 by means of a screw 102 and the lenses are assembled in grooves formed on the front surfaces and then bonded to be fixed. The circuit board 130 may include a light source in a location corresponding to the first body tube 110. The light source transmits transmission light to pass through the first body tube 110 and transmit light toward the object by means of the reflector assembly 200) to rotate as one body with the mirror ([0049] Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, the LIDAR sensor 1 includes a light transceiver 10, a rotary module assembly 20, and a fixing module 30 Examiner Note: Due to the location of the motor, the mirror and barrel rotate together within the whole top part of this apparatus),
wherein the barrel part comprises:
an incident barrel part configured to guide the laser beam emitted from the light source to the reflective surface of the mirror ([0201] The circuit board 130 may include a light source in a location corresponding to the first body tube 110. The light source transmits transmission light to pass through the first body tube 110 and transmit the light toward the object by means of the reflector assembly 200); and
a reflective barrel part configured to guide the laser beam reflected from the mirror in the horizontal direction, wherein the reflective barrel part is disposed between an upper end and a lower end of the opening ([0202] The circuit board 130 receives reception light in a position corresponding to the second body tube 120 to acquire distance information of the object Examiner Note: This reception light has been reflected from the mirror).
Yamamoto (as previously modified by Valouch, Kamata, and HP Support) and Park are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of optical scanning devices and optical sensor assemblies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the rotary optical system of Yamamoto to include the dual body tube barrel assembly mounted to rotate as one body with the mirror of Park with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to prevent optical crosstalk between the emitted laser beam and the received reflected light signal. By integrating Park’s teaching of dual body tubes into Yamamoto (as previously modified by Valouch, Kamata, and HP Support)’s rotary optical assembly, the system can physically isolate the transmission and reception beam paths during scanning. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that enclosing the respective optical channels with dedicated rotating body tubes would yield the predictable result of reducing internal stray light interference and improving detector signal accuracy.
Regarding Claim 6, Yamamoto is not relied upon as teaching that a center of the reflective barrel part is disposed above a center of the opening.
However, Park teaches the general arrangement of a reflective barrel part position relative to an opening/board assembly. Positioning the central axis of the reflective barrel part slightly above the center of the PCB opening represents a routine mechanical design choice. Where the general structure and function of an optical barrel and circuit board opening are taught in the prior art, the precise relative vertical alignment or offset between their respective geometric centers is a matter of routine design optimization and arrangement of parts.
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that shifting the center of the barrel relative to the opening yields the predictable result of accommodating spatial clearances, beam elevation angles, or physical housing constraints without producing any unexpected optical result or altering the underlying function of the scanner.
Regarding Claim 8, Yamamoto is not relied upon as teaching an aperture having a space, in which a lower end of the incident barrel part is accommodated; and a barrel having an upper side, into which the light-transmissive lens is inserted, and a lower side, into which the light source is inserted, the barrel having a light path configured to connect the light source to the light-transmissive lens therein, wherein the lower end of the incident barrel part is inserted into an upper portion of the aperture, and a lower portion of the aperture is in contact with an edge of a top surface of the light-transmissive lens.
However, Park teaches an aperture having a space, in which a lower end of the incident barrel part is accommodated ([0205] The emitter 132 transmits transmission light and is assembled with the first body tube 110 to transmit the transmission light along a path formed by the first body tube 110 Examiner Note: The aperture surrounds the first and second body tubes); and
a barrel having an upper side, into which the light-transmissive lens is inserted, and a lower side, into which the light source is inserted, the barrel having a light path configured to connect the light source to the light-transmissive lens therein ([0200] The first body tube 110 and the second body tube 120 may be provided in a horizontally corresponding location and lenses are assembled on front surfaces and circuit boards 130 may be assembled on rear surfaces),
wherein the lower end of the incident barrel part is inserted into an upper portion of the aperture, and a lower portion of the aperture is in contact with an edge of a top surface of the light-transmissive lens (Examiner Note: Configuring the aperture shoulder to contact the top perimeter/rim of the lens while the lower end of the incident barrel receives the upper aperture portion constitutes a routine design choice and mechanical rearrangement of parts. Such positioning serves merely to retain the lens mechanically against an internal seat or should without modifying the function of the optical path).
Yamamoto (as previously modified by Valouch, Kamata, HP Support, and Park) and Park are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of optical scanning devices and optical sensor assemblies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical housing assembly of Yamamoto (as previously modified by Valouch, Kamata, HP Support, and Park) to include the nested aperture, lens seat arrangement, and incident barrel alignment of Park with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to securely seat and align the light-transmissive lens within the optical path while providing structural interface for the incident barrel. By integrating Park’s teaching of a tubular body housing a light source and lens with an accommodating aperture interface into Yamamoto (as previously modified by Valouch, Kamata, HP Support, and Park)’s optical transmitter assembly, the system can maintain precise axial optical alignment between the emitter, lens, and incident barrel. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that positioning the lower portion of the aperture in contact with the top edge of the lens would yield the predictable result of mechanically retaining the lens against an internal seat to prevent axial shifting during mirror rotation without obstructing the active optical path.
Regarding Claim 9, Yamamoto is not relied upon as teaching a recess in which a lower portion of the aperture is accommodated and an insertion hole into which the barrel is inserted are defined at a center of the light-receiving lens.
However, Park teaches the general arrangement of a barrel and aperture mated with an optical lens element (Fig. 5, Fig. 10). Defining a recess to accommodate the lower portion of the aperture and an insertion hole at the center of the light-receiving lens to receive the barrel represents a routing mechanical design choice and rearrangement of parts. Where the general structure of mating optical barrels, apertures, and lenses is taught in the prior art, forming concentric mounting recesses or central insertion holes to seat and guide components is a well-known mechanical joining technique.
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that locating the recess and insertion hole at the center of the lens yields a predictable result of providing concentric mechanical alignment and secure axial positioning of the barrel relative to the lens without altering the underlying function of the optical path.
Regarding Claim 10, Yamamoto is not relied upon as teaching a band pass filter disposed below the light source to block light having an unnecessary wavelength band, wherein the band pass filter is disposed between the light-receiving element and the light source.
However, Park teaches a band pass filter disposed below the light source to block light having an unnecessary wavelength band, wherein the band pass filter is disposed between the light-receiving element and the light source ([0074] The light reception baffle 145 includes a light reception assembly unit 146 and a bandpass filter 148 Examiner Note: While the reception baffle is located along the optical path between the light source and light receiving element, specific disposition below the light source is a matter of routine design choice and rearrangement of parts).
Yamamoto (as previously modified by Valouch, Kamata, HP Support, and Park) and Park are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of optical scanning devices and optical sensor assemblies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified optical reception assembly of Yamamoto (as previously modified by Valouch, Kamata, HP Support, and Park) to include the bandpass filter of Park with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to block light having an unnecessary wavelength band and prevent noise interference at the light-receiving element. By integrating Park’s teaching of a bandpass filter 148 disposed along the optical reception path into Yamamoto (as previously modified by Valouch, Kamata, HP Support, and Park)’s sensor system, the system can filter out ambient stray light and isolate the operational signal wavelength. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that incorporating the bandpass filter along the optical path between the light source and light-receiving element would yield the predictable result of improving signal-to-noise ratio and optical detection accuracy.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (US 2022/0113409 A1), Valouch et al. (US 2019/0277703 A1), Kamata (US 2009/0122346 A1), HP Support (HP Support. (2016, October 6). Scanning from an HP Printer in Windows with HP Scan | HP Printers | HP Support [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o5hzgGX_G2I) and Park et al. (US 2023/0097670 A1) in view of Dongsheng et al. (CN 106855621 A).
Regarding Claim 7, Yamamoto is not relied upon as teaching an area of the opening corresponding to a lower side of the reflective barrel part is greater than that of the opening corresponding to an upper side of the reflective barrel part.
However, Dongsheng teaches an area of the opening corresponding to a lower side of the reflective barrel part is greater than that of the opening corresponding to an upper side of the reflective barrel part ([p. 2, para 9] the shading cover is in the shape of a truncated cone Examiner Note: Placing the truncated cone shaped a barrel/optical shield of Dongsheng in the correct position of the apparatus of Yamamoto as previously modified is a matter of design choice and rearrangement of parts).
Yamamoto (as previously modified by Valouch, Kamata, HP Support, and Park) and Dongsheng are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of optical sensor assembly. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical barrel/shielding structure of Yamamoto (as previously modified by Valouch, Kamata, HP Support, and Park) to include the truncated cone shape of the shading cover of Dongsheng with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to accommodate an expanding optical return path while preventing stray light interference. By integrating Dongsheng’s teaching of a truncated cone shaped cover into Yamamoto (as previously modified by Valouch, Kamata, HP Support, and Park)’s reflective barrel assembly, the system can match the geometric expansion of the reflected light path. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that configuring the shading cover in the shape of a truncated cone such that the lower opening area is greater than the upper opening area would yield the predictable result of preventing optical beam clipping and maximizing light collection efficiency without compromising structural stability.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (US 2022/0113409 A1), Valouch et al. (US 2019/0277703 A1), Kamata (US 2009/0122346 A1), HP Support (HP Support. (2016, October 6). Scanning from an HP Printer in Windows with HP Scan | HP Printers | HP Support [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o5hzgGX_G2I) and Park et al. (US 2023/0097670 A1) in view of Kamakura et al. (US 11,835,713 B2).
Regarding Claim 11, Yamamoto is not relied upon as teaching an encoder configured to detects a rotation angle of the motor and a driver IC configured to control driving of the motor.
However, Kamakura teaches an encoder configured to detects a rotation angle of the motor and a driver IC configured to control driving of the motor ([Col. 4, ll. 22-27] The first driving apparatus 251 to the sixth driving apparatus 256 each include, for example, a motor as a drive source, a controller that controls the operation of driving the motor, and an encoder that detects the amount of rotation produced by the motor.).
Yamamoto (as previously modified by Valouch, Kamata, HP Support, and Park) and Kamakura are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of electronic motor control Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the motor drive system of Yamamoto (as previously modified by Valouch, Kamata, HP Support, and Park) to include the encoder and driver IC control arrangement of Kamakura with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to provide precise closed-loop speed and positional control over the scanning motor. By integrating Kamakura’s teaching of an encoder that detects the amount of rotation produced by the motor and a controller/driver IC that controls the operation of driving the motor into Yamamoto’s rotary optical assembly, the system can dynamically monitor and adjust the rotational speed of the mirror assembly. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that utilizing a driver IC with encoder feedback in the motor driving apparatus would yield the predictable result of ensuring accurate angular positioning and consistent rotational speed for precise optical scanning.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (US 2022/0113409 A1) in view of Valouch et al. (US 2019/0277703 A1), Kamata (US 2009/0122346 A1) and HP Support (HP Support. (2016, October 6). Scanning from an HP Printer in Windows with HP Scan | HP Printers | HP Support [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o5hzgGX_G2I) Park et al. (US 2023/0097670 A1) and Buser et al. (US 2022/0404476 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Yamamoto teaches a laser scanner ([0019] A lidar device 1 illustrated in FIG. 1 emits light as transmission waves and detects reflected waves of the emitted light to measure a distance to an object. The lidar device 1 is mounted to a vehicle and is used for detecting various objects present in front of the vehicle. The lidar is also represented as LIDAR. LIDAR is an abbreviation for Light Detection and Ranging) comprising:
a housing ([0020] the lidar device 1 includes a housing 100);
a window coupled to a top surface of the housing ([0020] a transmission window 200 Examiner Note: for purposes of this example the Z direction is chosen as the “top” of the housing);
a motor mounted ([0023] As illustrated in FIG. 3, the scanning part 20 includes a mirror module 21, a pair of partition boards 22, 23, a motor 24, and a motor board 25. The motor 24 is mounted on the motor board 25. The mirror module 21 stands on the motor 24. The mirror module 21 and the pair of partition boards 22, 23 fixed to the mirror module 21 rotate around a rotation axis in accordance with drive of the motor 24) on an inner upper end of the window ([0027] One side of the motor board 25 is disposed in the vicinity of the transmission window 200 Examiner Note: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to relocate the motor to an inner upper end of the window/housing assembly, as a mere design choice in the rearrangement of structural components, to optimize lower housing space without altering the fundamental principle of operation of the scanner);
a mirror inclinedly connected to a rotary shaft to reflect light ([0025] The pair of partition boards 22, 23 is fixed in the vicinity of the center of the mirror module 21 in the vertical direction so as to be orthogonal to an axis of rotation in a state where the mirror module 21 is interposed between the partition boards 22, 23);
a light source disposed below the mirror to irradiate laser beam ([0032] The light emitting module 12 is disposed so that the traveling direction of the light output from the light emitting module 12 is bent at substantially 90° by the irradiation side reflecting mirror 15, and the light enters the irradiation deflection part 20a Examiner Note: Even if Yamamoto’s light source is not positioned directly below the mirror, relocating it to that location would be another design choice/routine arrangement of parts); and
a light-transmissive lens configured to guide laser beam emitted from the light source to the incident barrel part ([0029] The light emitting lens 112 is disposed to face a light emitting surface of the light source 111. A semiconductor laser is used for the light source 111. The light emitting lens 112 narrows a width of a beam emitted from the light source 111. [0032] The light emitting module 12 is disposed so that the traveling direction of the light output from the light emitting module 12 is bent at substantially 90° by the irradiation side reflecting mirror 15, and the light enters the irradiation deflection part 20a.).
Yamamoto is not relied upon as teaching a barrel part provided between the mirror and the light source and comprising an incident barrel part and a reflective barrel part; a reference sheet that is erected inside the window; a PCB which is erected between the mirror and the reference sheet and has an opening through which the laser beam passes; a light-receiving element configured to receive the laser beam diffused and reflected from at least the reference sheet; and a light-receiving lens configured to concentrate the laser beam, which is diffused and reflected from the reference sheet, into the light-receiving element, wherein the laser beam emitted from the light source passes through the light- transmissive lens and then is reflected from the mirror through the incident barrel part, the laser beam reflected from the mirror is emitted through the reflective barrel part, the laser beam emitted through the reflective barrel part is diffused and reflected from the reference sheet through the opening, and a portion of the light reflected from the reference sheet is received into the light-receiving lens after passing through the opening or is reflected from the mirror after the opening so as to be received into the light-receiving lens.
However, Valouch teaches a PCB which is erected between the mirror and the window and has an opening through which the laser beam passes ([0226] Furthermore, the bondability of the electrical contacts even through the cover layer and the non-bulky hermetic package of the sensor layer may allow easy integration on a circuit carrier device, such as a printed circuit board (PCB), such as by providing an opening in the circuit carrier device being designed for receiving the incident light beam and guiding it to the optical filter, thereby minimizing an amount of stray light which may, otherwise, enter the optical filter, such as through an expoxy or glass layer a being present on the PCB Examiner Note: relocating or reorienting a circuit board to be erected in a lateral direction relative to an optical component is a design choice in the spatial arrangement of known structural elements. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to orient the PCB laterally relative to the mirror of Yamamoto to accommodate internal housing layout constraints and align the opening with the reflected laser beam path).
Yamamoto and Valouch are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of optical sensors and distance measuring devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the printed circuit board assembly of Yamamoto to include an opening in the PCB for receiving and guiding an incident light beam through the board of Valouch with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to allow a reflected light beam to traverse a circuit board without optical obstruction while minimizing stray light. By integrating Valouch’s teaching of a PCB opening for beam transmission into Yamamoto’s optical receiver and housing layout, the system can guide the laser beam through the plane of the PCB to an optical component while shielding against stray light interference. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that incorporating a light pass-through opening in a circuit board would yield the predictable result of enabling unobstructed optical beam transmission through the PCB structure.
Valouch is not relied upon as teaching a barrel part provided between the mirror and the light source and comprising an incident barrel part and a reflective barrel part; a reference sheet that is erected inside the window; a light-receiving element configured to receive the laser beam diffused and reflected from at least the reference sheet; and a light-receiving lens configured to concentrate the laser beam, which is diffused and reflected from the reference sheet, into the light-receiving element, wherein the laser beam emitted from the light source passes through the light-transmissive lens and then is reflected from the mirror through the incident barrel part, the laser beam reflected from the mirror is emitted through the reflective barrel part, the laser beam emitted through the reflective barrel part is diffused and reflected from the reference sheet through the opening, and a portion of the light reflected from the reference sheet is received into the light-receiving lens after passing through the opening or is reflected from the mirror after the opening so as to be received into the light-receiving lens.
However, Kamata teaches a light-receiving element configured to receive the laser beam diffused and reflected from at least the reference sheet; and
a light-receiving lens configured to concentrate the laser beam, which is diffused and reflected from the reference sheet, into the light-receiving element ([0052] Scanner section 11 is configured with a light source to radiate light onto the document, a line image sensor to read the document in a width direction of the document thereof in one line and an optical pass configured with lenses and mirrors to lead a reflected light from the document to the line image sensor 11a and to form an image).
Yamamoto (as previously modified by Valouch) and Kamata are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of optical scanning and light-detecting systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical receiving system of Yamamoto (as previously modified by Valouch) to include a light-receiving element and light-receiving lens configured to collect and concentrate light reflected from an internal surface through an opening as taught by Kamata with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to accurately focus and direct diffuse reflected light onto an image sensor while maintaining a compact optical path. By integrating Kamata’s teaching of a light-receiving lens and sensor configuration for guiding reflected light into Yamamoto’s combined optical setup, the system can effectively concentrate diffused laser light passing through the PCB opening onto the light-receiving element for reliable signal detection. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that configuring a light-receiving lens and element to receive light reflected from an internal target would yield the predictable result of optimizing optical signal collection and image formation at the detector.
Kamata is not relied upon as teaching a barrel part provided between the mirror and the light source and comprising an incident barrel part and a reflective barrel part; a reference sheet that is erected inside the window; wherein the laser beam emitted from the light source passes through the light- transmissive lens and then is reflected from the mirror through the incident barrel part, the laser beam reflected from the mirror is emitted through the reflective barrel part, the laser beam emitted through the reflective barrel part is diffused and reflected from the reference sheet through the opening, and a portion of the light reflected from the reference sheet is received into the light-receiving lens after passing through the opening or is reflected from the mirror after the opening so as to be received into the light-receiving lens.
However, HP Support teaches a reference sheet which is erected inside the window and erected at a point that is spaced apart from the PCB in a horizontal direction to diffuse and reflect the laser beam passing through the opening (Examiner Note: A screenshot from the HP Support video, reproduced above, shows a reference sheet (the document) erected (placed) inside the window (within the borders of the window) spaced apart from the PCB (on the other side of the glass) to diffuse and reflect the laser beam passing through the opening (this is how the document is read by the scanner. Further, this location of the reference sheet would force the PCB location to be between the mirror and the reference sheet); and
a portion of the light reflected from the reference sheet is received into the light-receiving lens after passing through the opening or is reflected from the mirror after the opening so as to be received into the light-receiving lens (Examiner Note: Light reflected from the reference sheet being received into the light receiving lens after passing through the opening is literally the entire function of a document scanner and is obvious in view of one).
Yamamoto (as previously modified by Valouch and Kamata) and HP Support are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of optical scanning systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical scanning system of Yamamoto (as previously modified by Valouch and Kamata) to include a target sheet erected inside the window and spaced apart from the PCB in a horizontal direction to diffuse and reflect the light beam passing through the opening as taught by HP Support with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to provide a target surface on the scanner window to diffusely reflect incident light back through an optical opening to a receiving element for optical scanning and detection. By integrating HP Suport’s teaching of positioning a reflective target surface across a transparent window spaced from the optical electronics into Yamamoto’s combined optical layout, the system can diffusely reflect the laser beam back through the PCB opening to the light-receiving assembly A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that placing a light-diffusing target sheet over a window in the path of a light-beam would yield the predictable result of diffusing and reflecting the incident beam back toward the internal receiving sensors.
HP Support is not relied upon as teaching a barrel part provided between the mirror and the light source and comprising an incident barrel part and a reflective barrel part; wherein the laser beam emitted from the light source passes through the light- transmissive lens and then is reflected from the mirror through the incident barrel part, the laser beam reflected from the mirror is emitted through the reflective barrel part, and the laser beam emitted through the reflective barrel part is diffused and reflected from the reference sheet through the opening.
However, Park teaches a barrel part provided between the mirror and the light source and comprising an incident barrel part ([0201] The circuit board 130 may include a light source in a location corresponding to the first body tube 110. The light source transmits transmission light to pass through the first body tube 110 and transmit the light toward the object by means of the reflector assembly 200) and
wherein the laser beam emitted from the light source passes through the light-transmissive lens and then is reflected from the mirror through the incident barrel part ([0201] The light source transmits transmission light to pass through the first body tube 110 and transmit the light toward the object by means of the reflector assembly 200… [0054] The first body tube 110 provides a path through which the transmission light moves and includes a transmission lens 112 assembled on a front surface).
Yamamoto (as previously modified by Valouch, Kamata, and HP Support) and Park are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of optical scanning and LiDAR transceiver housing assemblies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical housing layout of Yamamoto (as previously modified by Valouch, Kamata, and HP Support) to include the incident barrel part provided between the light source and mirror to guide transmitted light through a transmissive lens as taught by Park with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to shield and direct the emitted laser beam along a defined path toward the scanner optics. By integrating Park’s teaching of a tubular incident barrel enclosing the optical transmission path into Yamamoto (as previously modified by Valouch, Kamata, and HP Support)’s scanning transceiver assembly, the system can prevent internal optical cross-talk and ensure focused beam projection toward the rotating mirror. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that enclosing the light path within an incident barrel between the source and mirror would yield the predictable result of guiding emitted laser light cleanly through the transmissive lens and mirror without stray light dissipation within the housing.
Park is not relied upon as teaching a reflective barrel part; the laser beam reflected from the mirror is emitted through the reflective barrel part, and the laser beam emitted through the reflective barrel part is diffused and reflected from the reference sheet through the opening.
However, Buser teaches a reflective barrel part;
the laser beam reflected from the mirror is emitted through the reflective barrel part, and
the laser beam emitted through the reflective barrel part is diffused and reflected from the reference sheet through the opening ([0039] The sensor preferably has a transmission tube, that is moved at least partially with the deflection unit, to screen the transmitted light. The transmission tube so-to-say surrounds the optical transmission path and prevent scattered light from the transmitted light being produced within the sensor before exiting into the monitored zone. A transmission optics of the light transmitter is preferably arranged in the transmission tube for beam shaping, in particular for collimating the transmitted light. [0057] The optical transmission path is screened in FIG. 2 by an optional one-part or two-part transmission tube 42a-b already addressed in FIG. 1. At least the second part 42b of the transmission tube is moved along with the deflection unit 18 into the monitored zone 20 by the deflection unit 18 Examiner Note: Fig. 2, reproduced below, depicts the transmission tube (reflective barrel part) comprising a first part 42a aligned with the light transmitter/emitter and a co-rotating second part 42b mounted to move with deflection unit 18. This structure completely encloses the optical path as light travels from the emitter, reflects off mirror 18, and exits through the aperture/monitored zone 20, thereby screening the beam and preventing internal scattered light).
Yamamoto (as previously modified by Valouch, Kamata, HP Support, and Park) and Buser are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of optical transceivers and beam screening structures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical transmission assembly of Yamamoto (as previously modified by Valouch, Kamata, HP Support, and Park) to include the reflective barrel part enclosing the post-mirror reflected optical path as taught by Buser with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to screen the deflected laser beam and eliminate internal scattered light before exiting the sensor. By integrating Buser’s teaching of a co-rotating transmission tube that surrounds the optical path after reflection off the mirror into Yamamoto’s optical housing assembly, the system can isolate the outgoing beam as it travels toward the reference sheet and target zone. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that extending a reflective barrel part along the post-mirror beam trajectory would yield the predictable result of preventing internal stray reflection from interfering with adjacent light-receiving optics.
Conclusion
/E.H.H./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645