Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 1, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that prior art Quach fails to teach decoding a number of samples, N and dynamically sampling said pre-defined 2D area. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Quach does teach these features by the nature of the lossy point cloud. Thus, even though the 2D grids are fixed with n’ = w x h points (Quach Section “3.2 Folding Refinement”), it is irregularly sampled representation of 3D space requires attribute compression via dynamic sampling or dynamic attribute coding, as Quach discloses. Thus, Quach is still an effective prior art for rejecting all amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 17, 22-23, 26, 30-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Quach, Maurice et al. “Folding-Based Compression Of Point Cloud Attributes.” 2020 IEEE International Conference on Image Processing (ICIP) (2020): 3309-3313.
Regarding claim 1, Quach et. al. discloses a method for decoding point cloud data (Quach et. al., method implemented by the decoder in figure 2, bottom), comprising: decoding a codeword that provides a representation of a point cloud (Quach et. al. image decompression); obtaining a pre-defined 2D area; decoding a number of samples, N (Quach et. al. grid folding, figure 1); generating an adaptive point set having N samples by dynamically sampling said pre-defined 2D area (Quach et. al. folding grid refinement is an adaptive adjustment of the N samples, section 3.2); and reconstructing said point cloud responsive to said codeword and said adaptive point set, using a neural network-based module (Quach et. al. the decoder reconstructing the point cloud attributes using the inverse mapping and the decompression of the compressed codeword to obtain the decompressed attributes).
Regarding claim 21, Quach et. al. discloses a method for encoding point cloud data (Quach et. al., method implemented by the encoder in figure 2, top), comprising: generating a codeword, by a neural network-based module, which provides a representation of an input point cloud associated with said point cloud data (Quach et. al. codeword with original attributes obtained through optimized mapping, figure 2); compressing said codeword (Quach et. al. image compression); encoding a number of samples, N (Quach et. al. grid folding); obtaining a pre-defined 2D area; generating an adaptive point set having N samples by dynamically sampling said pre-defined 2D area (Quach et. al. folding grid refinement is an adaptive adjustment of the N samples, section 3.2); and reconstructing a first point cloud, by another neural network-based module, based on said codeword and said adaptive point set (Quach et. al., see 3.1, first sentence “We propose a grid folding composed of two steps, namely, an initial folding step to get a rough reconstruction of X and a folding refinement step to improve the reconstruction”).
Regarding claim 26, Quach et. al. discloses an apparatus for decoding point cloud data (Quach et. al., method implemented by the decoder in figure 2, bottom), comprising one or more processors and at least one memory coupled to said one or more processors, wherein said one or more processors are configured to: decode a codeword that provides a representation of a point cloud (Quach et. al. image decompression); obtain a pre-defined 2D area; decode a number of samples, N (Quach et. al. grid folding, figure 1); generate an adaptive point set having N samples by dynamically sampling said pre-defined 2D area (Quach et. al. folding grid refinement is an adaptive adjustment of the N samples, section 3.2); and reconstruct said point cloud responsive to said codeword and said adaptive point set, using a neural network-based module (Quach et. al. the decoder reconstructing the point cloud attributes using the inverse mapping and the decompression of the compressed codeword to obtain the decompressed attributes).
Regarding claim 31, Quach et. al. discloses an apparatus for encoding point cloud data (Quach et. al., method implemented by the encoder in figure 2, top), comprising one or more processors and at least one memory coupled to said one or more processors, wherein said one or more processors are configured to: generate a codeword, by a neural network-based module, which provides a representation of an input point cloud associated with said point cloud data (Quach et. al. codeword with original attributes obtained through optimized mapping, figure 2); compress said codeword (Quach et. al. image compression); encode a number of samples, N (Quach et. al. grid folding); obtain a pre-defined 2D area; generate an adaptive point set having N samples by dynamically sampling said pre-defined 2D area (Quach et. al. folding grid refinement is an adaptive adjustment of the N samples, section 3.2); and reconstruct a first point cloud, by another neural network-based module, based on said codeword and said adaptive point set (Quach et. al., see 3.1, first sentence “We propose a grid folding composed of two steps, namely, an initial folding step to get a rough reconstruction of X and a folding refinement step to improve the reconstruction”).
Regarding claim 17 and 30, Quach et. al. discloses the method of claim 1 and 26, wherein samples for said adaptive point set are drawn from a grid of pre-defined size, further comprising: accessing a density distribution function to obtain scores for samples in said adaptive point set, wherein said generating for samples subsequent to the first sample is based on distances and scores (Quach et. al. the folding grid points are drawn from a continuous 2D area, section 3, Proposed Method, section 2, last paragraph “we employ the folding network as a parametric function that maps an input 2D grid to points in 3D space. The parameters of this function (i.e., the weights of the network) are obtained by overfitting the network to a specific point cloud”).
Regarding claims 22 and 32, Quach et. al. discloses the method of claim 21 and the apparatus of claim 31, wherein said one or more processors are further configured to, further comprising: adjusting said adaptive point set to generate another point set, by a third neural network- based module, based on said first reconstructed point cloud, said codeword, and said input point cloud (Quach et. al., see folding refinement, sections 3.1 and 3.2).
Regarding claims 23 and 33, Quach et. al. discloses the method of claim 22, and the apparatus of claim 32, wherein said one or more processors are further configured to, further comprising: compressing said another point set, wherein said another point set is for refining said representation of said input point cloud (Quach et. al., see folding refinement, sections 3.1 and 3.2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 10, 25, 27, 29, 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quach, Maurice et al. “Folding-Based Compression Of Point Cloud Attributes.” 2020 IEEE International Conference on Image Processing (ICIP) (2020): 3309-3313 in view of Zong, Daoming et al. “ASHF-Net: Adaptive Sampling and Hierarchical Folding Network for Robust Point Cloud Completion.” AAAI Conference on Artificial Intelligence (2021).
Regarding claim 2 and 27, Quach et. al. discloses the method of claim 1 and 26. However, Quach et. al. fails to disclose further comprising: obtaining another number of samples, N'; generating another adaptive point set having N' samples by dynamically sampling said pre-defined 2D area; and reconstructing another version of said point cloud responsive to said codeword and said another point set, using said neural network-based module.
Zong et. al. teaches further comprising: obtaining another number of samples, N'; generating another adaptive point set having N' samples; and reconstructing another version of said point cloud responsive to said codeword and said another point set, using said neural network-based module (Zong et. al. figure 2). Adaptively using different numbers of grid points for down or upsampling is well known in the art and important for varies sizes of point cloud data. Thus, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Quach et. al. and the teachings of Zong et. al. so that these features are included in the method.
Regarding claim 10, 25, 29, and 35 Quach et. al. discloses the method of claim 1, 21, 26, and 31. However, Quach et. al. fails to disclose wherein a Farthest Point Sampling (FPS) procedure is used to generate said adaptive point set.
Zong et. al. teaches wherein a Farthest Point Sampling (FPS) procedure is used to generate said adaptive point set (Zong et. al., page 3626, second paragraph, page 3627, Point Cloud Denoising Auto-Encoder section, first paragraph). FPS is a common general knowledge procedure for adaptive sampling in the context of the claimed invention. Thus, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date to have combined the features of Quach et. al. and Zong et. al. so that the method includes FPS.
Claim(s) 8, 24, 28, 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quach, Maurice et al. “Folding-Based Compression Of Point Cloud Attributes.” 2020 IEEE International Conference on Image Processing (ICIP) (2020): 3309-3313 in view of Yang, Yaoqing et al. “FoldingNet: Point Cloud Auto-Encoder via Deep Grid Deformation.” 2018 IEEE/CVF Conference on Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition (2017): 206-215.
Regarding claim 8, 24, 28, and 34, Quach et. al. discloses the method of claim 1, 21, 26, and 31. However, Quach et. al. fails to disclose wherein said neural network-based module corresponds to a FoldingNet.
Yang et. al. teaches wherein said neural network-based module corresponds to a FoldingNet (Yang et. al., see section 2. “The initial folding in our work is inspired by [6] where an autoencoder network is trained on a dataset to learn how to fold a 2D grid onto a 3D point cloud. In our work, we build on this folding idea;” wherein [6] corresponds to Yang et. al.). This is an important aspect of the claimed invention because the neural network carries out the folding of the point cloud from 2D to 3D. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date to have combined the teachings of Quach et. al. and the teachings of Yang et. al. so that the method includes the FoldingNet neural network architecture.
Conclusion
Response to Amendment
Examiner has carefully considered the amendments to the claims; however, the prior art Quach is still effective in maintaining the prior rejection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA YIFANG LIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2668 July 15, 2026
/VU LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2668