Election/Restrictions
Claims 6, 7, 11 & 12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/20/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 9 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear how the printer which can only print provides in the gap or fills the gap with a material having a dielectric strength greater than a dielectric strength of air. There are no devices or elements claimed that would provide the printer functions to provide a material layer in the gap. Also, examiner is unsure how an electrode provides the function of a first electrical potential to charge the printing fluid. The electrode is a device or element and does not know when to charge the ink or even if the ink is within the nozzle for it to charge, it does not know when to operate, it’s just a device.
Regarding claim 2, examiner is unsure how the printing fluid forms at least one layer of material, when the printing fluid is introduced and flows in our out of the nozzle.
Regarding claim 9, examiner is unsure how a layer includes a jet of gas.
Regarding claim 17, examiner is unsure how the printing fluid is a part of a material layer when the printing fluid is a liquid that flows.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "non-conductive printing fluid" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The rejection of the claims are made below as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-10, 13, 17-18 & 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Darty (US 6312110).
Darty disclose the following claimed limitations:
* Re clms 1, 20 & 21, an electrohydrodynamic printer & a method of increasing the jetting frequency of an electrohydrodynamic printer (Abst., col 1, lines 8-10, figs 1-7);
* a nozzle/bottom of nozzle channel 14/ having an extraction opening/tip of nozzle channel 14 opening, fig 1), the printer being configured to provide printing fluid/ink/ in the nozzle/ bottom of nozzle channel 14/ and at the extraction opening/tip of nozzle channel 14/ opening/ (col 2, lines 52-58, fig 1);
* an electrode/electrode rings 10, 12, 32/ configured to operate at a first electrical potential to charge the printing fluid/ink flow direction 34/ in the nozzle/nozzle channel 14/ and to form an extraction field between the electrode/10, 12, 32/ and an extraction surface/bottom surface of 30/ at a second electrical potential/electrode ring 32/ with the extraction opening/tip portion of 14/ in the extraction field, whereby charged printing fluid/ink/ is extracted/ejected out or flows out/ from the nozzle by the extraction field/32/ through the extraction opening for deposition on a printing surface (col 2, lines 47-58, col 3, lines 1-18, fig 1),
* wherein a gap/between the upper electrode layer 6 or passivation layer 4 and bottom layer lower electrode layer 30 of fig 1/ is defined at a smallest distance between the electrode/10, 12/ and the extraction surface/bottom surface of electrode 32/ (col 2, lines 47-58, col 3, lines 1-18, fig 1);
* wherein the printer is configured to provide in said gap/ between the upper electrode layer 6 or passivation layer 4 and bottom layer lower electrode layer 30 of fig 1/ at least one layer of material/silicon nitride/ having a dielectric strength greater than a dielectric strength of air/silicon nitride property has a dielectric strength (10kV/mm) and greater than air (3kV/mm)). (col 2, lines 47-58, col 3, lines 1-18, fig 1).
* Re clm 2, wherein the electrode/10, 12, 32/ is inside the nozzle/14/ and at least partially surrounded by the printing fluid/ink/ in the nozzle such that the at least one layer of material comprises a layer of the printing fluid/the ink flowing within the nozzle would be a layer of ink/ (see fig 1).
* Re clm 3, wherein the electrode/10, 12, 32/ is inside the nozzle and the nozzle/opening of the nozzle, top portion/ is formed from a non-conductive material/passivation layer/ such that the at least one layer of material includes a portion of the nozzle/the passivation layer is a non-conductive layer at the opening of the nozzle and adjacent to the electrode 12/ (see fig 1).
* Re clm 4, wherein the at least one layer of material includes a layer of dielectric gas flowing through the gap/ink has a dielectric gas/ (see fig 1).
* Re clm 8, a gas/ink/ nozzle configured to discharge a jet of gas/ink/ that directs extracted printing fluid/charged ink/ toward the printing surface (see fig 1).
* Re clm 9, wherein the at least one layer of material includes the jet of gas/ink/ (the jet of gas/ink/ touches at least one of side layers of the nozzle inside surfaces) (see fig 1).
* Re clm 10, wherein the gas/ink/ is heated (the ink has been charged by the electrode which heat is provided a charge, when charged heat is generated/ (col 3, lines 1-18, 31-64, fig 1).
* Re clm 13, wherein the electrode is inside the nozzle/10, 12, 32/ and does not extend through the extraction opening/bottom of nozzle opening/ (see fig 1).
* Re clm 17, wherein the at least one layer of material/silicon nitride layer 24/ comprises a non-conductive material/silicon-nitride is non-conductive layer/ of the nozzle and non-conductive printing fluid/ink is non-conductive printing fluid/ (col 2, lines 47-63, fig 1).
* Re clm 18, wherein the printing fluid/ink/ in the nozzle/14/ is heated/ink in the nozzle has been charged/heated by the electrode, heat is generated when charged/ (col 3, lines 1-18, 31-64, fig 1).
* Re clm 20, wherein at least one of the following is located in the gap when the extraction field is present: non-conductive printing fluid, non-conductive material/property of silicon nitride/ of the nozzle, a dielectric gas, and a layer of cleaning fluid flowing along the electrically conductive surface (see fig 1)
* Re clm 21, wherein the electrode/32/ is inside the nozzle/nozzle channel 14/ such that an end of the electrode/32/ closest to the extraction opening is immersed in the printing fluid in the nozzle/electrode 32 side is immersed in printing fluid/ (see fig 1).
* Re clm 22, wherein the nozzle/channel nozzle 14/ is electrically non-conductive/silicon nitride is a (non-conductive material of the nozzle opening that the ink flows out/ (see fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darty (US 6312110) in view of TSE et al. (2024/0059060).
Darty disclose the following:
* Re clm 5, wherein the extractor/2/ provides the extraction surface/bottom of 32/ at the second electrical potential/electrode 32/.
Darty does not disclose the following:
* Re clm 5, an extractor laterally spaced from the nozzle
TSE et al. disclose the following:
* Re clm 5, an extractor/extraction opening 18 of extractor/ laterally spaced from the nozzle/28 discharge opening/ (see fig 1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize an extractor laterally spaced from the nozzle. As taught by Darty into TSE et al. for the purpose of carrying the respective droplets of printing fluid to the printing surface, thereby improving the quality of print images.
10. Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darty (US 6312110) in view of TSE et al. (2024/0059060).
Darty disclose the following:
* Re clm 14, wherein an end of the electrode/10, 12/ is spaced from the extraction opening/tip, nozzle opening/
* Re clm 15, wherein the electrode/10, 12, 32/
* Re clm 16, wherein the electrode/32/ is tapered toward an end/the end or tip of the nozzle is tapered and the electrode/32/ is positioned at the tip of the nozzle14// (see fig 1)
Darty does not disclose the following:
* Re clm 14, the electrode is spaced from the extraction opening by an amount greater than zero and less than or equal to 100 microns
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the inventio was made to provide the electrode is spaced from the extraction opening by an amount greater than zero and less than or equal to 100 microns, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize wherein an end of the electrode is spaced from the extraction opening by an amount greater than zero and less than or equal to 100 microns into Darty for the purpose of improving high resolution printhead with consistent and reliable printing thereby providing high quality print images.
* Re clm 15, wherein the electrode has a cross-sectional dimension of less than 30 microns.
* Re clm 16, wherein the electrode has a cross-sectional dimension of less than 20 microns.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made wherein the electrode has a cross-sectional dimension of less than 30 microns; and the electrode has a cross-sectional dimension of less than 20 microns, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize wherein the electrode has a cross-sectional dimension of less than 30 microns; and the electrode has a cross-sectional dimension of less than 20 microns into Darty for the purpose of improving high resolution printheads with consistent and reliable printing thereby controlling small ink droplets to improve high quality printed images.
Allowable Subject Matter
11. The primary reason for indicating allowable subject matter of claim 19 is the inclusion of the limitations of a an electrohydrodynamic printer that includes the printer having a maximum jetting frequency that is at least 50% greater than a jetting frequency obtained with a conductive nozzle containing the same printing fluid, having the same size extraction opening, and spaced from the printing surface by the same distance. It is these limitations found in the claims, as they are claimed in the combination of that has not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes these claims allowable over the prior art.
Conclusion
/KRISTAL FEGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853