DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant arguments regarding claim 14 have been fully considered and are found to be persuasive. The Applicant arguments are directed towards newly added claim language which changed the scope of the claim and necessitated new grounds of rejection as set forth in the 35 USC 103 section below. Therefore, the Applicant arguments are now moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-15 and 18-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oppel (US 20110286860 A1.) in view of Stark et. al. (US 20200284252 A1.), and further in view of Wallace et al. (US 20170089598 A1.).
As per claim 14, Oppel teaches
A computer-implemented method (abstract, para 7, 77, Fig.1 & 2) for remotely managing a compressed air distribution system by means of a control system (para 71, central control means communicating with compressor distribution system through wireless communication), wherein the compressed air distribution system is provided with one or more compressors (Fig. 1 and 2, para 7, 70, 77; the central control means #4 controlling the compressor system having six compressors #2), the method iteratively repeating (para 31, “The periodic time interval is in this case based on the observation of so-called switching cycles. Such (virtual) switching cycles are time-pressure-profiles which similarly (periodically) repeat within the time interval (switching cycle duration) rising form a minimum to a maximum and falling again to a minimum pressure value which would arise at a temporarily essentially constant withdrawal of pressurized fluid, i.e. at least for the switching cycle duration.”), comprising the steps of:
sharing respective statuses by the one or more compressors with the control system via a shared communication bus (para 74, compressor operating data and operating state is shared with central control means via communication bus 5, also see Fig. 2, “communication bus” #5, para 77, “The control means 4 can optionally transmit switching commands to single compressors 2 via the communications bus 5”);
controlling the one or more compressors in parallel by the control system via the shared communication bus based on the statuses and on a required pressure and/or flow rate (para 74, the compressor operating state is used to control the compressors. Para 9, control system maintained predefined overpressure. Also see Fig. 1, six compressors #2 are parallel to the communication bus #5, they are parallelly controlled by the control system #4. Fig. 2 #5 a communication bus, Fig. 4, “pressure profile”, para 69); and
Oppel does not teach
when a first device is connected to the compressed air distribution system,
detecting the first device by the control system via the shared communication bus when the first device is connected to the compressed air distribution system, such that the device is capable of exchanging data with the control system via the shared communication bus;
integrating the first device into the control system for exchanging the data, wherein the integration is carried out simultaneously with the parallel control of the one or more compressors;
configuring the first device via the control system after the integration, wherein the configuration is carried out simultaneously with the parallel control of one or more compressors.
In the same field of endeavor Stark et al. teach
when a first device is connected to the compressed air distribution system, detecting the first device by a monitoring device when the first device is connected to the compressed air distribution system, such that the device is capable of exchanging data with the monitoring device (Stark et al., Paras 26, 59, 65, and Fig. 1, Stark et al. teach detecting a new compressor and integrating and configuring it into a remote app. Stark et al. also mentions a mobile communication device 24 to add compressors in an app. Stark et al. describe managing compressors though a manager page 102. Also in Fig. 1, para 26, Stark et al. mentions mobile communication device 24 for monitoring compressors. Stark et al., paras 65-66 teaches when a new compressor is detected it is added and is able to exchange data with the mobile communication device).
integrating the first device into the monitoring device for exchanging the data, wherein the integration is carried out simultaneously with the parallel control of the one or more compressors (Stark et al., para 66, the new compressor is added while other compressors are still being used, i.e. not stopped. For each stored compressor, the compressor name, model number and a picture of the compressor is displayed. This is interpreted as integrating the compressor);
configuring the first device via the monitoring device after the integration, wherein the configuration is carried out simultaneously with the parallel control of one or more compressors (Stark et al., para 66 the new compressor is added while other compressors are still being used, i.e. not stopped. The compressor settings screen allows a user to input data for each stored compressor. This is interpreted as configuring the compressor).
It would have been obvious to a person ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method for controlling a compressor installation taught by Oppel and to include the method for detecting, integrating and configuring a new device taught by Stark et al. into Oppel's system. This would have been obvious because both Oppel and Stark et al. teach a system/method for controlling and/or monitoring a compressed air distributed system. By adding Stark et al.'s device detection and configuration method into Oppel's air distribution controlling system, the overall system will communicate parallelly between the devices, and it provides an enhanced system for identifying compressor needs (Stark et al., para 4).
However, Stark et al.’s. mobile communication device is not a control system that communicates with and controls the compressors via a shared communication bus as described in Oppel.
In the same field of endeavor, Wallace et al. teach a HVAC system where plurality of compressors can be monitored and controlled via a remote controller (Figs. 1, 15B, paras 29, 111, 122, 127, 193, 197).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the mobile communication device of Stark to further include control functions to control a plurality of compressors, as taught by Wallace. This would have been obvious because both Stark and Wallace teach of systems to monitor and control a plurality of compressors, and by being able to control the compressors from a remote device would allow a technician to shut down and restart a compressor whitout having to physically be with the compressor (paras 193, 197).
As per claim 15, the combination of Oppel, Stark et al. and Wallace et al. teach
The computer-implemented method according to claim 14, wherein the detection is initiated by the first device (Stark et al., paras 65-66, new device added, and para 51, new sensed compressor data; shared communication bus known from Oppel. Also see pairing new sensor or new compressor in para 67. Also see, Oppel, para 70, Fig. 1, para 70, “a compressor system 1 which comprises six compressors 2 in total each connected to a communications bus 5. Via appropriate pressure lines, each of the compressors 1 is connected to processing elements 21.”, Wallace et al. para 7, Fig. 1, compressor 12).
As per claim 18, the combination of Oppel, Stark et al. and Wallace et al. teach
The computer-implemented method according to claim 14, wherein the first device comprises a compressor (Oppel, Fig. 1, para 70, six compressors #2, Wallace et al, Para 7, Fig. 1, para 12, compressor rack, compressor 12).
As per claim 19, the combination of Oppel, Stark et al. and Wallace et al. teach
The computer-implemented method according to claim 14, the first device comprising a device selected from the group consisting of: a sensor (Oppel, para 74, “compressor-internal pressure sensors for assessing after-running times”, Stark et al. ,abstract, para 5, sensor,), a valve (Oppel, para 71, a control valve, Wallace et al., para 118, expansion valve 58), a dryer (Oppel, para 70, Fig. 1, processing element 21 which can be realized as dryers or filters) an energy recovery device (Oppel, para 3,“A control or regulation of the compressor system, for instance, enables various compressors to be suitably divided up and consequently reduces the risk of failure respectively facilitates maintenance of the compressor system.”), a pressure gauge (Oppel, para 20-para 21, maintaining a pressure profile using a compressor and switch -on- pressure method as a virtual pressure value, here the algorithm for calculating virtual pressure value is working as a pressure gauge, a flow meter (Oppel, para 68, Fig. 3 flow chart representation refers to measurement of flow), and a temperature meter .
As per claim 20, Oppel does not teach
The computer-implemented method according to claim 14, further comprising the step of, when a second device is disconnected from the compressed air distribution system, wherein the second device is capable of exchanging data:
detecting the disconnection of the second device; removing the second device from the control system,
wherein the removal is carried out simultaneously with the parallel control of the one or more compressors
In the same field of endeavor, Stark et al. teach
The computer-implemented method according to claim 14, further comprising the step of, when a second device is disconnected from the compressed air distribution system, wherein the second device is capable of exchanging data:
detecting the disconnection of the second device; removing the second device from the control system,
wherein the removal is carried out simultaneously with the parallel control of the one or more compressors (Stark et al., paras 65-66, the new compressor is added while other compressors are still being used, i.e. not stopped. Also see para 65, “FIG. 11 shows an example compressor manager page 102 including a list 250 with two stored compressors (more or fewer are possible). This allows a user to quickly review the list 250 of compressors for monitoring, and to add, edit, or remove compressors. Each compressor added is shown, though this is not required.” These show a method where a compressor can be added or removed.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method for controlling a compressor installation taught by Oppel and to include the method for compressor monitoring, installing and uninstalling compressors taught by Stark et al. into Oppel’s system. This would have been obvious because the combination of Oppel, and Stark et al. teach a control system/method for controlling compressed air distributed system. By adding Stark et al.’s compressor add/remove method into Oppel’s system, it provides an enhanced system for identifying compressor needs (Stark et al., para 4).
As per claim 21, the combination of Oppel, Stark et al. and Wallace et al. teach
The computer-implemented method according to claim 20, wherein the second device comprises a compressor of the one or more compressors (Stark et al. para 66, a new compressor is being added. The device also comprises list of stored compressors.).
As per claim 22, the combination of Oppel, Stark et al. and Wallace et al. teach
A data processing system comprising a processor adapted to execute the method according to claim 14 (Oppel, para 13, “a data record which is preferably configured for transmission in a data network or stored on a data carrier, for controlling a compressor system.” Also see Oppel, para 38, data transmission process, Wallace et al., para 9, monitoring power consumption data, para 11, operational data for refrigeration or HVAC system, para 135, database for manufacturer database queried by system controller 70).
As per claim 23, the combination of Oppel, Stark et al. and Wallace et al. teach
A compressor comprising the data processing system according to claim 22 (Oppel, para 74, “The compressors' operating data exchanged with the central control means via the communications bus 5 inter alia concern the current operating state of each compressor.” Also see para 13, “a data record which is preferably configured for transmission in a data network or stored on a data carrier, for controlling a compressor system.”).
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oppel (US 20110286860 A1.) in view of Stark et. al. (US 20200284252 A1), in view of Wallace et al. (US 20170089598 A1), and further in view of Kasuga et al. (US 20120036269 A1.).
As per claim 16, the combination of Oppel, Stark et al, and Wallace et al.. teach
The computer-implemented method according to claim 14, wherein the step of integration further comprises:
identifying a communication protocol of the first device (Oppel, paras 13, 70 teach of a data record for controlling a compressor system, and also that the compressors are communicatively coupled to a communication bus. Stark et al., para 66, new device added and para 51, new sensed compressor data. Also, see pairing new sensor or new compressor in para 67. This would imply that the communication protocol of the first device is known).
However, the combination of Oppel, Stark et al., and Wallace et al. do not teach
when different from a communication protocol of the control system: assigning a protocol conversion such that the control system can communicate with the first device.
In the same field of endeavor, Kasuga et al. teach
when different from the communication protocol of the control system (Kasuga et al., para 349-350, defining a mismatch of the network protocol, also Kasuga et al. claim 9 describes a method to identify protocol mismatch).
assigning a protocol conversion such that the control system can communicate with the first device (Kasuga et al., para 349-350, describes a protocol conversion system between the terminals by a warn code 300/301).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method for controlling a compressor installation taught by Oppel and to include the protocol conversion for mismatch with warn code taught by Kasuga et al. into Oppel’s system. This would have been obvious because the combination of Opper, Stark et al, Wallace et al. teach a control system/method for controlling compressed air distributed system. By adding Kasuga et al.’s protocol conversion method into Oppel’s system, the air distribution system can detect a mismatch by warning code and apply protocol conversion (Kasuga et al., para 349-350).
As per claim 17, the combination of Oppel, Stark et al. and Kasuga et al. teach
The computer-implemented method according to claim 16, wherein the communication protocol of the first device and/or the control system comprises one communication protocol selected from the group consisting of: UDP ( Oppel, para 74,“data read in and out” refers to data receive and send, It is well-known that data receive and send refers to User datagram process (UDP), TCP (Kasuga et al., para 195, The ID 5011 is identifying the connection in a Transmission Control Protocol(TCP) , CAN, Modbus TCP, Modbus RTU, LonWorks, Socket CAN, Mk5UDP, OPCUA, Profinet, Profibus, Ethernet/IP, EtherCAT, BACnet, MQTT, and AMQP).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Please refer to the form 892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROKEYA SHAWALI ALAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2118
/SCOTT T BADERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2118