Detailed Action
Status of Claims
Claims 1- 15 are pending in the current application and under consideration on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/01/2024, 06/05/2025 and 07/20/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement filed 07/09/2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. The IDS submitted on 07/09/2025 cited Extended European Search Report for European Application No. 22893087.1, dated June 18, 2025, under Non patent literature documents. No such document was found in the application contents, as such the Extended European Search Report for European Application No. 22893087.1, dated June 18, 2025, has not been considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement filed 08/26/2026 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. The IDS submitted on 08/26/2026 cited Indian Office Action and Search Report for Indian Application No. 202417038825, dated May 27, 2026, with English translation under Non patent literature documents. No such document was found in the application contents, as such the Indian Office Action and Search Report for Indian Application No. 202417038825, dated May 27, 2026, with English translation has not been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 7 and 13 - 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (US 12,658,543 B2), herein referred to as Xu.
Regarding claim 1, Xu discloses a cylindrical electrode assembly, the cylindrical electrode assembly acts as a jelly-roll [col. 8 ln. 46 - 49, Fig. 2]. The electrode assembly includes a first and second electrode plate with opposing polarities [col. 9 ln. 54 - 56]. The first and second electrode plate include regions uncoated in active material, the uncoated regions acting as tabs [col. 11 ln. 25 - 31]. The electrode assembly further includes a separator between the two electrode plates [col. 8 ln. 20 - 23, Fig. 4]. The first electrode plate, second electrode plate, and separator are wound around an axis [col. 9 ln. 56 - 59]. The resulting cylindrical electrode assembly has a cavity at the center and outer circumference as illustrated in figure 20 [col. 9 ln. 59 - 62]. The first second electrode plate and/or second electrode plate can have a plurality of holes [col. 12 ln. 31 - 36]. The holes are arranged in a first direction, wherein the first direction is perpendicular to the winding axis [col. 12 ln. 45 - 46, Fig. 4]. Namely, the holes extend in a direction from outside to inside the cylindrical electrode assembly and thus extend along the winding direction [col. 16 ln. 6 - 11]. Xu further discloses the holes can overlap when wound into the cylindrical electrode assembly to create a guide path throughout the cylindrical electrode assembly in the first direction [col. 12 ln. 47 - 49]. To create the overlapping holes, the holes are deviated from each other [col. 12 ln. 49 - 55]. Xu illustrates in figures 13 and 14 that the distance between adjacent holes increases as more electrode plate is wound. Notably, as the electrode plate is wound around an axis, the circumference of each pass along the axis increases. Therefore, to allow the holes to align as Xu discloses, the distance between adjacent holes must increase to accommodate the increasing circumference as illustrated by Xu.
Regarding claim 2, Xu discloses the electrode assembly as described above in the rejection of claim 1. Xu further discloses embodiments wherein the holes are a circle, an ellipse, or a polygon [col. 16 ln. 12 - 13]. Circles, ellipses, and polygons all extend in 2 directions. Therefore, if these shapes were cut into a plate which extends in the winding direction, they would also extend in the winding direction. This is illustrated in figures 10, 13, and 14 of Xu.
Regarding claim 3, Xu discloses the electrode assembly as described above in the rejection of claim 1. Xu further discloses the center of the holes are exactly aligned [col. 12 ln. 49 - 50]. This is further illustrated in figures 13 and 14.
Regarding claim 4, Xu discloses the electrode assembly as described above in the rejection of claim 1. Xu illustrates multiple embodiments wherein the holes are aligned parallel to the winding direction. Figures 4, 13, and 14 illustrate such embodiments. Furthermore, the guide path of Xu is along a first direction perpendicular to the winding axis [col. 12 ln. 34 - 36]. A potential embodiment for the guide path in the first direction is the exact alignment of the holes as illustrated in figure 2. To produce a guide path in the first direction the alignment of the holes on the plate must be parallel to the winding direction because if they were perpendicular to the winding direction, the holes would not align when wound and therefore, the guide path would not be created.
Regarding claim 5, Xu discloses the electrode assembly as described above in the rejection of claim 1. Xu further discloses the size of the holes decrease progressively from the outside to the inside of the electrode assembly [col. 16 ln. 32 - 35].
Regarding claim 6, Xu discloses the electrode assembly as described above in the rejection of claim 1. Xu further discloses projection of holes disposed opposite to each other along the first direction overlap partly, so as to form the guide path [col. 12 ln. 45 - 49]. Namely, Xu discloses that adjacent holes overlap to form the guide path. The guide path is configured to guide the electrolytic solution out of the accommodation cavity in the radial direction [col. 12 ln. 18 - 22].
Regarding claim 7, Xu discloses the electrode assembly as described above in the rejection of claim 6. Xu further discloses the guide path extends along the radial direction of the cylindrical structure to guide the electrolytic solution in the accommodation cavity [col. 12 ln. 18 - 22]. A potential embodiment of the accommodation cavity is at the center of the electrode assembly [col. 11 ln. 4 - 6]. Furthermore, Xu disclose an embodiment wherein the guide path runs through all the electrode plates [col. 10 ln. 36 - 37]. Therefore, Xu discloses that the guide path, formed by the holes, runs from the center to the outside of the cylindrical electrode assembly.
Regarding claim 13, Xu discloses the electrode assembly as described above in the rejection of claim 1. Xu further discloses a battery cell containing the electrode assembly as described [col. 18 ln. 4 -7].
Regarding claim 14, Xu discloses the battery cell as described above in the rejection of claim 13. Xu further discloses a battery pack made of a plurality of cells as described [col. 19 ln. 43 - 45, Fig. 22].
Regarding claim 15, Xu discloses the battery pack as described above in the rejection of claim 15. Xu further discloses a vehicle with the battery pack as described [col. 19 ln. 27 - 29, Fig. 23].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Xu et al. (US 12,658,543 B2), in further view of Cheon et al (US 7,955,736 B2), herein referred to as “Cheon”.
Regarding claim 8, Xu discloses the electrode assembly as described above in the rejection of claim 1. Xu discloses the first and second electrode plate include regions uncoated in active material, the uncoated regions acting as tabs [col. 11 ln. 25 - 31]. Xu does not disclose wherein at least any one electrode tab of the first electrode tab and the second electrode tab has a plurality of bent portions spaced apart from each other along the winding direction of the jelly-roll and partitioned by a plurality of cutting lines having a predetermined depth from an end of the at least any one electrode tab.
In the same field of endeavor of wound electrode assemblies for secondary batteries, Cheon discloses an electrode assembly with two electrodes with opposing polarity [col. 3 ln. 42 - 44]. Both the positive and negative electrodes contain an uncoated region wherein active material is not coated on the electrode [col. 3 ln. 54 - 57]. The positive and negative electrodes uncoated region behave as tabs. The positive and negative electrodes uncoated region are bent towards the center of the electrode assembly [col. 4 ln. 39 - 40]. The bent portion of the uncoated region has a plurality of sections separated by slits [col. 5 ln. 1 - 5]. The slits separating the bent portion have a spacing between them in the winding direction [col. 5 ln. 13 - 21]. Furthermore, the slits have a length, the length is a depth the slits are cut into the electrode [col. 4 ln. 49 – 53, Fig. 3]. Cheon discloses that an electrode assembly with the bent portions has improved electrical and mechanical contact with the current collector [col. 5 ln. 25 - 28].
Therefore, as Cheon clearly teaches uncoated electrode regions having bent portions provides the advantage of improved electrical and mechanical contact with the current collector, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to include the bent portions to the uncoated region of Xu. Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the combined teachings of the prior art.
Regarding claim 9, Xu in further view of Cheon disclose the electrode assembly as described above in the rejection of claim 8. Cheon further discloses the bent portions throughout the un-coated region of the positive and negative electrode are bent towards the center of the electrode assembly [col. 5 ln. 1 - 5]. Figure 5 illustrates an embodiment of the bent portions when bent perpendicular to the winding, when bent at this angle, the slits cover the top surface of the coated electrode plates. Furthermore, the bent portions create a widen surface for contacting the current collecting plate, thereby increasing current collecting efficiency [col. 5 ln. 29 -37].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to bend the bent portions added to the electrode assembly of Xu perpendicular to the winding axis to cover the coated surface of the electrode plates to increase current collecting efficiency as disclosed by Cheon. Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the combined teachings of the prior art.
Regarding claim 10, Xu in further view of Cheon disclose the electrode assembly as described above in the rejection of claim 8. Cheon further discloses the bent portions throughout the un-coated region of the positive and negative electrode are bent towards the center of the electrode assembly [col. 5 ln. 1 - 5]. Figure 5 illustrates an embodiment of a slit which entirely covers a surface of the coated electrode plate. Furthermore, the bent portions create a widen surface for contacting the current collecting plate, thereby increasing current collecting efficiency [col. 5 ln. 29 -37].
Figure 1: Annotated Fig. 5 of Cheon et al (US 7,955,736 B2)
In the alternative, Cheon disclose the bent slits are welded to the current collector face-to-face [col. 4 ln. 65 - 66]. Welding the bent slits to the current collector face-to-face minimizes contact resistance [col. 4 ln. 37 - 42]. The current collector is illustrated as entirely covering the electrode assembly in figure 4. Accordingly, Cheon implicitly discloses an embodiment wherein the bent slits creates a face which entirely covers the electrode assembly to be able to weld the uncoated bent slits to the current collector face-to-face.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention for the bending portions to entirely cover a surface of the electrode assembly to increase current collecting efficiency and minimizes contact resistance as disclosed by Cheon. Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the combined teachings of the prior art.
Regarding claim 11, Xu in further view of Cheon disclose the electrode assembly as described above in the rejection of claim 9.
Xu further discloses projection of holes disposed opposite to each other along the first direction overlap partly, so as to form the guide path [col. 12 ln. 45 - 49]. Namely, Xu discloses that adjacent holes overlap to form the guide path. The guide path is configured to guide the electrolytic solution out of the accommodation cavity in the radial direction [col. 12 ln. 18 - 22]. The guide path extends from the outer circumference of the electrode assembly to the accommodation cavity at the center of the electrode assembly [col. 12 ln. 7 - 16, Fig. 11]. When the guide path is along the radial direction a relatively fast path is provided for transmitting the electrolytic solution, and the infiltration efficiency of the electrolytic solution in the electrode assembly is improved [col. 12 ln. 22 - 25].
Cheon further discloses an embodiment wherein each bent portion on each electrode of the wound electrode assembly is bent towards the center [col. 5 ln. 1 – 5, Fig. 5]. Each bent portion when bent does not interfere with the adjacent bent portion [col. 5 ln. 12 – 23, Fig. 5]. Namely, independent bent portions cover independent sections of the electrode assembly. Bending the bent portions increases electrical and mechanical connection between the electrode and current collecting plate [col. 5 ln. 25 - 28].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the guide path throughout the entirety of an electrode assembly as disclosed by Xu with the bent bending portions covering a portion of the entirety of the electrode assembly as disclosed by Cheon, so that the resulting electrode assembly has improved infiltration efficiency of the electrolytic solution and improved electrical and mechanical connection between the electrode and current collecting plate. Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the combined teachings of the prior art.
Regarding claim 12, Xu in further view of Cheon disclose the electrode assembly as described above in the rejection of claim 8.
Xu does not explicitly disclose the location of the holes on the tab however, the location of the holes is illustrated in figure 1. Figure 1 illustrates the hole and guide path below the top of the tap portions. Expressly, there is some distance between the top of the holes and the top of the tab. This is further illustrated in figures 4, 8, 9, 10, 12, 13, 14, 16, and 18 where the top of the holes are provided with a gap from the top of the tab. The purpose of the holes is to create a guide path wherein the guide path increases the infiltration efficiency of the electrolytic solution [col. 12 ln. 18 - 25].
Figure 2: Annotated Fig. 4 of Xu et al. (US 12,658,543 B2)
Cheon further discloses the slits, which separate bending portions, have a length into the uncoated region they are cut, this length represents a depth [col. 4 ln. 49 - 53]. The length of the cut creates two independent regions within the uncoated region [col. 4 ln. 53 - 57]. Namely, the uncoated region has a cut and uncut region separated from each other. Furthermore, Cheon incorporates by reference earlier filed Korean application serial number 10-2004-0047012 [col. 1 ln. 5 - 10]. Korean application serial number 10-2004-0047012 discloses an electrolyte is impregnated within the electrode assembly of Cheon [Paragraph 54].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to provide the independent region without the slits of Cheon with the holes forming a guide path for the purposes of increasing the infiltration efficiency of the electrolytic solution as disclosed by Xu. Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the combined teachings of the prior art.
Conclusion
/J.R.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 1782
/AARON AUSTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1782