Detailed Action
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7-11, 14, and 16-26 of U.S. Application 18/706,742 filed on December 18, 2024 are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 24-26 are objected to because of the following informalities: Please amend the claim phrases “each is limb” to “each limb is”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 ,11, 14, and 16-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, the phrase “wherein: each limb comprises a first group of strips, a second group of strips, and a third group of strips, wherein the first group of strips is arranged between the second group of strips and the third group of strips;” is indefinite for the reason below. The Examiner cannot interpret if the term includes the forming the three sets of strips are the same as the group of strips or another group of strips. The Examiner will interpret the phrase being the same set of strips. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 11, 14, and 16-26 are also rejected as they depend on claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7-9, and 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being unpatentable over Wallumrod et al (EP2814045).
Prior Art: Wallumrod
Regarding claim 1, Wallumrod discloses a magnetic core (10) suitable for an electromagnetic device (shown in figs 1-25), the core comprising; three arc-shaped (par 11 discloses C shaped) limbs (50, 51, and 52) wherein the each limbs are arranged around a central axis (A), and each limb has a first end (31) and a second end (30), wherein the first ends of the limbs are mutually connected at a first position (41) along the central axis, and the second end of the limbs are mutually connected at a second position (40) along the central axis, and wherein each limb comprises a plurality of bent electrical steel strips (par 11 discloses laminated sheets of ferromagnetic material and par 41 discloses steel) ; wherein each one of the plurality of bent electrical steel strips comprises a first group of strips (35), a second group of strips (21), and a third group of strips (31), (shown in fig 14) wherein the first group of strips is arranged between the second group of strips and the third group of strips (shown in fig 14); wherein the first group of strips has a first thickness, the second group of strips has a second thickness, the third group of strips has a third thickness (shown in fig 14 where the sections have different thickness), and the first thickness is greater than both the second thickness and the third thickness (as shown in fig 14 as being thicker as shown); and wherein the first group of strips has a first width, the second group of strips has a second width, the third group of strips has a third width, and the first width is greater than both the second width and the third width (shown in figs 11-14 as the first group is greater than both the second and third group).
Regarding claim 2, Wallumrod discloses wherein each the limbs are arranged equally- spaced around the central axis (as shown in figs 1-15 as equally spaced).
Regarding claim 5, Wallumrod discloses wherein the second thickness is equal to the third thickness (shown in figs 1-15 as being the same thickness as shown).
Regarding claim 7, Wallumrod discloses wherein the second width is equal to the third width (shown in figs 1-15 as being the same width as shown).
Regarding claim 8, Wallumrod discloses wherein each is limb arranged to receive a respective primary winding and a respective secondary winding (par 52 discloses having LV and HV windings).
Regarding claim 9, Wallumrod discloses an electromagnetic device comprising: the core of any of claim 1; a respective primary winding arranged around each limb; and a respective secondary winding arranged around each limb (par 51 discloses LV and HV 60-62 are arranged on each limb).
Regarding claim 22, Wallumrod discloses wherein the second thickness is equal to the third thickness (shown in figs 1-15 as being the same thickness as shown).
Regarding claim 23, Wallumrod discloses wherein the second width is equal to the third width (shown in figs 1-15 as being the same width as shown).
Regarding claim 24, Wallumrod discloses wherein each is limb arranged to receive a respective primary winding and a respective secondary winding (par 52 discloses having LV and HV windings).
Regarding claim 25, Wallumrod discloses wherein each is limb arranged to receive a respective primary winding and a respective secondary winding (par 52 discloses having LV and HV windings).
Regarding claim 26, Wallumrod discloses wherein each is limb arranged to receive a respective primary winding and a respective secondary winding (par 52 discloses having LV and HV windings).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 11, 14, 16-18, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wallumrod et al (EP2814045) in view of Vollrath et al (USPGPub 20110109412).
Regarding claim 10, Wallumrod discloses a method of manufacturing a magnetic core (10) suitable for an electromagnetic device (shown in figs 1-25), the method comprising: forming three sets of strips (35, 21, and 31) from one or more sheets of electrical steel(par 11 discloses laminated sheets of ferromagnetic material and par 41 discloses steel), wherein each set of strips comprises a plurality of strips, and arranging each of the three sets of strips into a respective stack (shown in figs 10-14) ;bending each stack into an arc-shaped limb (par 11 discloses C shaped), each limb having a first end (31) and a second end (30), wherein: each limb comprises a first group of strips (35), a second group of strips (21), and a third group of strips (31), wherein the first group of strips is arranged between the second group of strips and the third group of strips (shown in fig 14);the first group of strips has a first thickness, the second group of strips has a second thickness, the third group of strips has a third thickness (shown in fig 14 where the sections have different thickness), and the first thickness is greater than both the second thickness and the third thickness (as shown in fig 14 as being thicker as shown); and the first group of strips has a first width, the second group of strips has a second width, the third group of strips has a third width, and the first width is greater than both the second width and the third width (shown in figs 11-14 as the first group is greater than both the second and third group).;positioning each limb around a central axis (A);mutually connecting the first ends of the limbs at a first position (41) along the central axis; and mutually connecting the second ends (30) of the limbs at a second position along the central axis (shown in figs 1-15 as connecting at multiple points).Wallumrod does not fully disclose the one or more sheets of electrical steel comprise an insulating surface layer.
However, Vollrath discloses the one or more sheets of electrical steel comprise an insulating surface layer (par 43 discloses the core is coated with a resin). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wallumrod in view of Vollrath in order to properly hold the core together without electrical interference.
Regarding claim 11, Wallumrod discloses between the steps of bending each stack into an arc-shaped limb and mutually connecting the second ends of the limbs at the second position along the central axis (par 11 discloses producing C-shaped frame section), for each limb: applying a primary winding around the limb; and applying a secondary winding around the limb (par 51 discloses LV and HV 60-62 are arranged on each limb).
Regarding claim 14, Wallumrod discloses wherein the second thickness is equal to the third thickness (as shown in figs 10-15 as the thickness are even).
Regarding claim 16, Wallumrod discloses wherein the second width is equal to the third width (as shown in figs 10-15 as the widths are even).
Regarding claim 17, Wallumrod discloses between the steps of bending each stack into an arc-shaped limb and mutually connecting the first ends of the limbs at a first position along the central axis, for each limb: machining the first end to form a first edge for alignment with the central axis at the first position, the first edge having an inclusive angle of 120 degrees; and machining the second end to form a second edge for alignment with the central axis at the second position, the second edge having an inclusive angle of 120 degrees (claim 10 discloses having 120 degree orientation to each other).
Regarding claim 18, Wallumrod discloses wherein positioning each limb around the central axis comprises positioning each limbs equally-spaced around the central axis (shown in figs 10-15 as equally spaced apart).
Regarding claim 20, Wallumrod does not fully disclose wherein mutually connecting the first ends of the limbs and mutually connecting the second ends of the limbs comprises using an adhesive.
However, Vollrath discloses wherein mutually connecting the first ends of the limbs and mutually connecting the second ends of the limbs comprises using an adhesive (claims 6 and 7 discloses an adhesive material to secure leg sections). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wallumrod in view of Vollrath in order to properly hold the core together without electrical interference.
Regarding claim 21, Wallumrod discloses prior to positioning each limb around a central axis, annealing each limb (par 41 discloses using cold rolled and hot rolled in the frame. Therefore, there is annealing in each limb).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wallumrod et al (EP2814045) in view of Vollrath et al (USPGPub 20110109412) in further view of Ishii et al (USPGPub 20200294702).
Regarding claim 19, Wallumrod in view of Vollrath discloses wherein the insulating surface layer comprises a curable varnish, the method comprising, prior to positioning each limb around a central axis, curing the varnish in each limb.
However, Ishii discloses wherein the insulating surface layer comprises a curable varnish, the method comprising, prior to positioning each limb around a central axis, curing the varnish in each limb (abstract and par 34 discloses a curable resin). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wallumrod in view of Vollrath in further view of Ishii in order to have an excellent magnetic characteristic without press forming (Ishii par 34).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kobayashi et al (USPGPub 20190295768): discloses a magnetic core with 3 sections.
Conclusion
/DOMINIC E HAWKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858