DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The corrected Abstract was received on 7/21/2026 and is accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-8, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wiegers et al. in US Publication 2013/0256060 in view of Pedersen in US Patent 6817447.
Regarding Claim 1, Wiegers teaches a floor part (10) for a scaffold, comprising two spaced apart sidewalls (14/16) which extend in a length direction of the floor part, and a floor section (12) which mutually connects the sidewalls, wherein on each of the sidewalls, at a distance from the floor section, a respective tubular structure (30/32) is provided having a tube axis (along the tube length) which extends in the length direction characterized in that at least one of the tubular structures in at least one position along the length direction has a profile which is connected continuously in the circumferential direction (see Fig. 4), so as to promote torsional stiffness of that tubular structure around the tube axis. Wiegers further teaches that the tubular structure is formed as a circularly running part which extends continuously from a lower end of the respective sidewall (14 or 16) along a circumferential shape up to an end (the inner end of 32) which contacts the same sidewall. Wiegers is silent on the attachment between the sidewall and the tubular structure. Pederson teaches an attachment (welded “seams” between a tubular structure (11) and an adjacent structure (9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the contact between the sidewall and tubular structure of Wiegers by using an attachment therebetween as taught by Pedersen in order to, as Pedersen teaches, reinforce the connections.
Regarding Claim 2, Wiegers, as modified, teaches that the sidewalls, the floor section and the tubular structures are formed substantially from a same continuous piece of steel plate (see Paragraph 0017).
Regarding Claim 17, Wiegers, as modified, teaches that in the at least one position a connection (the “closed surfaces 32 physically contact sides 14, 16” – see Paragraph 0020) is arranged between the sidewall and the end of the circularly running part so as to form a profile continuous in circumferential direction.
Regarding Claim 18, Wiegers, as modified, teaches that the connection between the sidewall and the end comprises at least one of: a welded connection, a clamped connection, and a form closure (the device is formed into the shape that closes the connection).
Regarding Claim 4, Wiegers, as modified, teaches that in the at least one position a connection (the “closed surfaces 32 physically contact sides 14, 16” – see Paragraph 0020) is arranged between the sidewall and the end of the circularly running part so as to form a profile continuous in circumferential direction.
Regarding Claim 5, Wiegers, as modified, teaches that the connection between the sidewall and the end comprises at least one of: a welded connection, a clamped connection, and a form closure (the device is formed into the shape that closes the connection).
Regarding Claim 6, Wiegers, as modified, teaches that each of the tubular structures in at least one respective position along the length direction has a profile which is connected continuously in the circumferential direction (the “closed surfaces 32 physically contact sides 14, 16” along the entire length– see Paragraph 0020), so as to promote torsional stiffness of the respective tubular structure around the respective tube axis.
Regarding Claim 7 Wiegers, as modified, teaches that each of the tubular structures in a plurality of respective positions along the length direction has a profile which is connected continuously in the circumferential direction (see Fig. 4 – the tubular structures are continuous along the entire length).
Regarding Claim 8, Wiegers, as modified, teaches that the plurality of positions along the length direction defines a range which is at least half as great as a length of the tubular structure defined along that length direction (the range is the entire length).
Claims 1, 2, 7, 9, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wiegers et al. in US Publication 2013/0256060 in view of Pedersen in US Patent 6817447.
Regarding Claim 1, Wiegers teaches a floor part (10) for a scaffold, comprising two spaced apart sidewalls (14/16) which extend in a length direction of the floor part, and a floor section (12) which mutually connects the sidewalls, wherein on each of the sidewalls, at a distance from the floor section, a respective tubular structure (30/32) is provided having a tube axis (along the tube length) which extends in the length direction characterized in that at least one of the tubular structures in at least one position along the length direction has a profile which is connected continuously in the circumferential direction (see Fig. 4), so as to promote torsional stiffness of that tubular structure around the tube axis. Wiegers further teaches that the tubular structure is formed as a circularly running part which extends continuously from a lower end of the respective sidewall (14 or 16) along a circumferential shape up to an end (the inner end of 32) which contacts the same sidewall. Wiegers is silent on the attachment between the sidewall and the tubular structure. Pederson teaches an attachment (“spot welds” between a tubular structure (11) and an adjacent structure (9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the contact between the sidewall and tubular structure of Wiegers by using an attachment therebetween as taught by Pedersen in order to, as Pedersen teaches, reinforce the connections.
Regarding Claim 2, Wiegers, as modified, teaches that the sidewalls, the floor section and the tubular structures are formed substantially from a same continuous piece of steel plate (see Paragraph 0017).
Regarding Claim 7, Wiegers, as modified, teaches that each of the tubular structures in a plurality of respective positions along the length direction has a profile which is connected continuously in the circumferential direction (see Fig. 4 – the tubular structures are continuous along the entire length).
Regarding Claim 19, Wiegers, as modified, teaches that the plurality of positions defines a discontinuous series (such as at the spot welds) so that between at least two successive positions along the length direction a finite distance is provided (the distance between spot welds).
Regarding Claim 9, Wiegers, as modified, teaches that the plurality of positions defines a discontinuous series (such as at spot welds) so that between at least two successive positions along the length direction a finite distance is provided.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiegers, as modified, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of DE 10254033. Wiegers, as modified is silent on the use of openings in the sidewalls. DE 10254033 teaches a floor part for a scaffold including a sidewall (14), wherein at at least one position of the at least one position an opening (20/22) is formed in the sidewall. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sidewall of Wiegers, as modified, by adding openings as taught by DE 10254033 in order to provide ventilation and drainage for the device.
Claims 11-13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiegers, as applied to Claim 1 above in view of D’Alessio in US Patent 6105723.
Regarding Claim 11, Wiegers is silent on the inclusion of a lip on the profile. D’Alessio teaches a floor part (10) for a scaffold, comprising two spaced apart sidewalls (14) which extend in a length direction of the floor part, and a floor section (12) which mutually connects the sidewalls, wherein on each of the sidewalls, at a distance from the floor section, a respective tubular structure (14/16/18) is provided characterized in that at least one of the tubular structures in at least one position along the length direction has a profile which is connected continuously in the circumferential direction (see Fig. 1) and that at at least one position of the at least one position a lip (13 on 14) is provided which is part of a circumferential connection in the profile. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wiegers by adding a lip as taught by D’Alessio in order to better strengthen the sidewall.
Regarding Claim 12, Wiegers, as modified, teaches that the tubular structure is formed as a circularly running part which extends continuously from a lower end of the respective sidewall (14 or 16) along a circumferential shape up to an end (the inner end of 32) which approaches that same sidewall to be able to be connected with that sidewall and that the and wherein the lip, as modified, extends from the sidewall along the end of the circularly running part.
Regarding Claim 13, Wiegers, as modified, teaches that the tubular structure is formed as a circularly running part which extends continuously from a lower end of the respective sidewall (14 or 16) along a circumferential shape up to an end (the inner end of 32) which approaches that same sidewall to be able to be connected with that sidewall and that the and wherein the lip, as modified, extends from the circular running part along the sidewall.
Regarding Claim 20, Wiegers, as modified, is silent on the use of an opening in the sidewall. D’Alessio further teaches that at at least one position of the at least one position an opening (through which 30 penetrates) is formed in the sidewall, and wherein the lip extends through the opening. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wiegers, as modified, by adding an opening in the sidewall as taught by D’Alessio in order to allow a user to insert a fastener therethrough.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 and the amendments made thereto have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The remainder of the Applicant’s arguments relies on the alleged shortcomings of the rejection of Claim 1 addressed above, presents no further arguments advancing the patentability of the dependent claims and as such, is not deemed persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NOAH C. HAWK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3636
/Noah C. Hawk/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636