DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because of the informal nature of the drawings. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a selective catalytic reduction (SCR), a lean burn engine, an exhaust gas treatment system, a diesel oxidation catalyst (DOC), a soot filter, and an ammonia oxidation catalyst (AMOX) ” in claims 15-20, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gounder et al. (Gounder) (Patent/Publication Number US 2017/0107114).
Regarding claim 1, Gounder discloses a zeolite catalyst with paired aluminum atoms (e.g. See Paragraphs [0030-0031]), wherein the paired aluminum atoms are third-nearest neighbors (3NN) in a zeolite structure (as such, Si(2Al) groups, suggesting that Al—O—Si—O—Al linkages are preferentially avoided in favor of Al—(O—Si)2—O—Al groups) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0030] In experiments leading to this disclosure, SSZ-13 zeolites (Si/Al=15, 25) crystallized from gels comprising equimolar amounts of Na+ and TMAda+ contained a detectable fraction of “paired” Al atoms, defined here in function as two Al atoms separated by either one or two Si atoms in a 6-MR since both atomic configurations stabilize exchanged Co2+ and Cu2+ cations with similar energetic preferences according to density functional theory. The maximum concentration of Al atoms beyond which incorporation of additional Al causes unavoidable formation of next-nearest-neighbor Al arrangements (Al—O—Si—O—Al) can be calculated from the topological density of zeolite frameworks, and suggest that SSZ-13 zeolites with Si/Al>7 can be prepared (in theory) to contain exclusively isolated Al atoms. ....) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0029-0031]) and wherein the zeolite catalyst has an aging durability, an improved catalytic activity, or a combination thereof (e.g. See Paragraphs [0027] In this disclosure, we focus on the synthesis of CHA zeolites (SSZ-13), which are used commercially as catalysts in their H-form for methanol-to-olefins (MTO) and after Cu- or Fe-exchange for the selective catalytic reduction of mobile-source NOx pollutants with ammonia. CHA zeolites contain one unique T-site and double 6-membered ring (D6R) building units that interconnect to form 8-MR windows (0.38 nm diameter) that limit transport into larger cages (0.82 nm diameter, 18 T-atoms per cage), and are typically synthesized in the presence of N,N,N-trimethyl-1-adamantylammonium cations (TMAda+) as organic SDAs that become occluded within CHA cages during crystallization. ..... ) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0027, 0036]).
Regarding claim 2, Chen further discloses wherein the zeolite catalyst is a CHA zeolite catalyst (e.g. See Paragraphs [0027-0028]).
Regarding claim 3, Chen further discloses wherein the CHA zeolite catalyst is a copper-CHA catalyst (e.g. See Paragraphs [0027] In this disclosure, we focus on the synthesis of CHA zeolites (SSZ-13), which are used commercially as catalysts in their H-form for methanol-to-olefins (MTO) and after Cu- or Fe-exchange for the selective catalytic reduction of mobile-source NOx pollutants with ammonia. ..... ) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0027-0030]).
Regarding claim 4, Chen further discloses wherein the zeolite is a small pore zeolite (e.g. See Paragraphs [0027] In this disclosure, we focus on the synthesis of CHA zeolites (SSZ-13), which are used commercially as catalysts in their H-form for methanol-to-olefins (MTO) and after Cu- or Fe-exchange for the selective catalytic reduction of mobile-source NOx pollutants with ammonia. CHA zeolites contain one unique T-site and double 6-membered ring (D6R) building units that interconnect to form 8-MR windows (0.38 nm diameter) that limit transport into larger cages (0.82 nm diameter, 18 T-atoms per cage), and are typically synthesized in the presence of N,N,N-trimethyl-1-adamantylammonium cations (TMAda+) as organic SDAs that become occluded within CHA cages during crystallization. ..... ) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0027-0030]).
Regarding claim 12, Gounder further discloses wherein the improved catalytic activity of the zeolite catalyst for methanol dimerization, with approximately 10% higher conversion relative to a zeolite that does not contain the 3NN sites (e.g. See Paragraphs [0006-0007, 0027-0028]).
Regarding claim 13, Gounder further discloses wherein the zeolite catalyst has a SiO2/Al2Os ratio (SAR) chosen from 8-40, 10-30, and 11-25 (e.g. See Paragraphs [0028, 0030-0031]).
Regarding claim 14, Gounder further discloses wherein the zeolite catalyst further comprises copper (Cu) with a Cu content corresponding to a Cu/AI ratio chosen from of 0.2 to 0.5, 0.25 to 0.45, and 0.3 to 0.4 (e.g. See Paragraphs [0028]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7, 10-11, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gounder et al. (Gounder) (Patent/Publication Number US 2017/0107114) in view of Yang et al. (Yang) (Patent/Publication Number US 2015/0367337).
Regarding claims 5-7, Gounder discloses all the claimed limitation as discussed above except that the small pore zeolite types are AEI, AFX, or AFT.
Yang teaches that it is conventional in the art, to use a SCR catalyst comprising the small pore zeolite types are AEI, AFX, or AFT (See Paragraphs [0143-0144]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to use the a SCR catalyst comprising the small pore zeolite is AEI, AFX, or AFT of Gounder, as taught by Yang for the purpose of absorbing the NOx when the air-fuel ratio of the exhaust gas flowing into the absorbent is lean, and releasing the NOx when the air-fuel ratio of the exhaust gas flowing into the absorbent is rich, so as to reduce the poisoned materials in the purifying catalyst and to reduce amount of nitrogen oxides in the exhaust gas of the lean-burn engine, and further improve the performance of the engine and the efficiency of the emission system, since the use thereof would have been routinely practiced by those with ordinary skill in the art to maintain high purification efficiency of a catalyst system.
Regarding claim 10, Yang further discloses wherein the aging durability is after 800 °C hydrothermal aging, the zeolite catalyst exhibits 10% higher NOx conversion relative to a zeolite that does not contain the 3NN sites (e.g. See Paragraphs [0303] The material of Example 10 (Cu-[Ti]CHA) was washcoated on a flow-through ceramic substrate at a loading of 2.1 g/in3 The typical SCR testing condition includes simulated diesel exhaust gas (500 ppm NO, 500 ppm NH3, 10% O2, 5% H2O, and balance N2) and temperature points from 200° C. to 600° C. Conversion of NO and NH.sub.3 at various temperatures are monitored by FTIR. An aging condition of 750° C. exposure to 10% H2O for 5 hrs. is adopted if desired to evaluate long term hydrothermal durability.) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0009, 0303, 0307, 0309]).
Regarding claim 11, Yang further discloses wherein the age durability is after 850 °C hydrothermal aging, the zeolite catalyst exhibits at least 50% NOx conversion (e.g. See Paragraphs [0308] As illustrated in FIG. 16, with the assistance of framework Ti (Example 10), the SCR performance at 200° C. is significantly improved compared to the analogous sample without Ti (Example 6) at comparable Cu %, and no sacrifice of the high temperature (600° C.) NOx conversion efficiency is observed.) (e.g. See Figures 7-9; Paragraphs [0009, 0288, 0307-0308]).
Regarding claim 15, Yang further discloses catalyst article effective to abate nitrogen oxides (NOx) from a lean burn engine exhaust gas, the catalyst article comprising a substrate carrier having a selective catalytic reduction (SCR) catalyst according to claim 1 (e.g. See Paragraphs [0186-0188, 0260-0261]).
Regarding claim 16, Yang further discloses wherein the substrate carrier is a honeycomb substrate, and optionally constructed of metal or ceramic (e.g. See Paragraphs [0186] By way of example, the powder or sprayed material is admixed with or coated by suitable modifiers well known in the art. By way of example, modifiers such as silica, alumina, zeolites or refractory binders (for example a zirconium precursor) may be used. The powder or the sprayed material, optionally after admixing or coating by suitable modifiers, may be formed into a slurry, for example with water, which is deposited upon a suitable refractory carrier, for example, a flow through honeycomb substrate carrier or a wall flow honeycomb substrate carrier.) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0186, 0196, 0201, 0233-0234]).
Regarding claim 17, Yang further discloses wherein the honeycomb substrate carrier is a flow-through substrate or a wall flow filter (e.g. See Paragraphs [0186, 0199-0204]).
Regarding claim 18, Yang further discloses a lean burn engine that produces an exhaust stream; and the catalyst article positioned downstream from the lean burn engine and in fluid communication with the exhaust gas stream (e.g. See Paragraphs [0193] .... As used herein, the terms “upstream” and “downstream” refer to relative directions according to the flow of an engine exhaust gas stream from an engine towards a tailpipe, with the engine in an upstream location and the tailpipe and any pollution abatement articles such as filters and catalysts being downstream from the engine. According to one or more embodiments, the laterally zoned ammonia storage material and SCR catalyst material can be arranged on the same or a common substrate or on different substrates separated from each other.) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0040, 0188, 0193, 0261]).
Regarding claim 19, Yang further discloses one or more of the following: a. a diesel oxidation catalyst (DOC) positioned upstream of the catalyst article; b. a soot filter positioned upstream of the catalyst article; and c. an ammonia oxidation catalyst (AMOX) positioned downstream of the catalyst article (e.g. See Paragraphs [0199, 0207-0208, 0264]).
Regarding claim 20, Yang further discloses a process for preparing a selective catalytic reduction (SCR) catalyst comprising: (a) preparing the catalyst based on any one of claims 1 ; (b) applying the catalyst as a coating onto a ceramic or metallic honeycomb substrate monolith (e.g. See Paragraphs [0189]); (d) drying the coated monolith; (e) calcining the coated monolith at a temperature ranging from 400 °C to 800 °C (e.g. See Paragraphs [0189-0191]). However, where a product by process claim is rejected over a prior art product that appears to be identical, although produced by a different process, the burden is upon the applicants to overcome forward with evidence establishing an obvious difference between the two. See In re Marosi, 218 USPQ 289 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims; and also to overcome the claim objections set forth in this Office action, such as to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101, and 112 2nd paragraph.
Since allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant is encouraged to submit Final Formal Drawings (If Needed) in response to this Office action. The early submission of formal drawings will permit the Office to review the drawings for acceptability and to resolve any informalities remaining therein before the application is passed to issue. This will avoid possible delays in the issue process.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and consists of six patents:
Chen et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 2018/0093259), Okubo et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 2016/0115039), Memo et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 2013/0243887), Frantz et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 2011/0229392), Rodriguez et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 2020/0016251), and Moini et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 2023/0348287), all discloses an exhaust gas purification for use with an internal combustion engine.
Conclusion
Binh Q. Tran
/BINH Q TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3748
March 04, 2026