DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 35 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 35 recites “the flexible arm is orientated in axial direction or circumferential direction”. This should likely be amended to “the flexible arm is orientated in an axial direction or a circumferential direction” for grammar/proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a control unit for operating the actuator” in claim 32.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 26-27, 32-33, 36, and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 26, which depends from claim 25, recites limitations (e.g. “the first conductor path”, etc…) that are optional in claim 25. This creates confusion as to whether elements of claim 26 remain optional or are required.
Claim 27, which depends from claim 25, recites limitations (e.g. “the first conductor path”, etc…) that are optional in claim 25. This creates confusion as to whether elements of claim 27 remain optional or are required.
Claim 32 is unclear as to how “a control unit for operating the actuator and/or the actuator element” is to be read – i.e. if the control unit can operate one or both of the actuator and the actuator element or if “a control unit for operating the actuator” is an alternative option to “the actuator element” in the context of the claim.
Claim 33 requires “a second conductor path” without mention of a first conductor path, thus making it unclear if the claim requires more than one conductor path.
Claim 36 is contradictory in that it requires both “an actuator element in form of an elliptical disc or spindle” and “the actuator element is a spindle nut which is moved by the spindle”. The claim is additionally unclear because it introduces “an actuator element” in line 2 when claim 22 already introduced an actuator element and thus it is not apparent which actuator element “the actuator element” in line 3 refers to.
Regarding claim 38, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 38, the phrase “in particular” is unclear in that it is similar to "for example" and/or “such as” and therefore renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed recitation of a use, without setting forth any steps involved in the process, results in an improper definition of a process, i.e., results in a claim which is not a proper process claim under 35 U.S.C. 101. See for example Ex parte Dunki, 153 USPQ 678 (Bd.App. 1967) and Clinical Products, Ltd. v. Brenner, 255 F. Supp. 131, 149 USPQ 475 (D.D.C. 1966). Claim 41 is drawn to a method for dispensing a drug with a drug delivery device, but then only recites features of the drug delivery device and does not actually set forth any steps required in the method. Claim 41 is therefore an improper process claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 22, 23, 25, 29, 30, 32, 34, 35, 37-39, and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Butler et al. (US 2013/0218095 A1, hereafter “Butler”).
As to claim 22, Butler discloses a drug delivery device (100), comprising:
a mechanism unit with:
a housing element (not numbered, however see para 0122 discussing an outer body not shown; the examiner notes however that the housing element can alternatively be interpreted as any outer housing element shown in Fig. 1A, such as outer cylindrical shell of 102),
a first movable element (rotatable dose setter 117, 217, 317, 417, etc… see embodiments in Figs. 2-12) arranged movable with respect to the housing element (para 0116, 0122, 0135, etc…), and an electromechanical actuator that, when operated, moves an actuator element (202a, 304, etc…) between a first position and a second position (see para 0125, 0135, etc… discussing movement of respective actuator elements and para 0127 teaching that an electro-mechanical mechanism such as a solenoid could physically prevent manual movement of the dose setter 117, 217), wherein the mechanism unit is configured:
to be operatively coupled with a drug reservoir unit (120) and to enable a dispense process for dispensing a drug dose (para 0047-0049, 0114-0115),
to enable setting a drug dose to be dispensed, wherein setting a drug dose is associated with a movement of the first movable element in a first direction (para 0125, 0135, etc… i.e. all paragraphs that discuss respective unlocked positions of each embodiment),
to block movement of the first movable element in the first direction when the actuator element is in the first position in order to prevent setting a drug dose (para 0124, 0134, etc… i.e. all paragraphs that discuss respective locked positions of each embodiment), and
to allow movement of the first movable element in the first direction when the actuator element is in the second position as a precondition for setting a drug dose (para 0125, 0135, etc… i.e. all paragraphs that discuss respective unlocked positions of each embodiment).
As to claim 23, Butler discloses the drug delivery device according to claim 22, wherein the mechanism unit is configured to prevent dispensing a drug dose when the actuator element is in the first position (locking mechanism ensures correct cartridge 120 is used with the correct cartridge holder 104 – in other words, device cannot function/inject when actuator element is in the first position – see para 0008, 0125, 0129, 0135).
As to claim 25, Butler discloses the drug delivery device according to claim 22, wherein:
the mechanism unit is configured such that, unless a selected drug reservoir unit is coupled with the mechanism unit, operation of the actuator is prevented, and a coupling of the mechanism unit with a selected drug reservoir unit is a precondition for an operation of the actuator (see para 0117-0120, 0127-0128),
and/or the mechanism unit comprises a first conductor path, the first conductor path comprises at least one contact point for electrically contacting at least one contact element of a drug reservoir unit such that when a selected drug reservoir unit with a contact element at a correct position is coupled with the mechanism unit, the at least one contact point electrically contacts the contact element which changes an electrical property of the first conductor path, and the mechanism unit is configured such that operation of the actuator is prevented unless the electrical property of the first conductor path is changed (these limitations follow “an/or” and thus are not required).
As to claim 29, Butler discloses the drug delivery device according to claim 22, wherein: the first movable element (117, 217, 317, 417, etc… ) is rotated and/or moved axially when being moved in the first direction during setting a drug dose (see at least para 0012, 0116, 0122 which mention rotation).
As to claim 30, Butler discloses the drug delivery device according to claim 22, wherein:
the mechanism unit further comprises an intermediate element (206, 304, 402, etc…) displaceable between a lock position and a release position (Figs. 2-8), and
movement of the actuator element from the first position into the second position enables a movement of the intermediate element from the lock position into the release position and/or vice versa (Figs. 2-8, para 0123-0125, 0133-0136, 0138-0140)
the intermediate element in the lock position is configured to block movement of the first moveable element in the first direction (para 0123-0125, 0133-0136, 0138-0140), and/or
a path along which the actuator element moves between the first and the second position is different from a path along which the intermediate element moves between the lock position and the release position (Figs. 2-8, para 0123-0125, 0133-0136, 0138-0140).
As to claim 32, Butler discloses the drug delivery device according to claim 22, wherein: an energy source (see para 0122 & 0138 mentioning a spring) and/or the actuator element (202a, 304, etc…) are moved during setting a drug dose (spring as mentioned in para 0122 & 0138 is necessarily moved as insertion of cartridge unlocks locking mechanism; additionally the claim is silent as to when “setting a drug dose” begins/ends, therefore the unlocking of the dose setting mechanism and movement of 202a, 304, etc… can be considered part of “setting a drug dose”).
As to claim 34, Butler discloses the drug delivery device according to claim 22, wherein:
the actuator comprises a magnet and an electromagnet a magnetization of which is changed when the actuator is operated (see para 0127, 0142),
magnetic interaction between the magnet and the electromagnet results in movement of the actuator element between the first position and the second position when the actuator is operated (see para 0127, 0142).
As to claim 35, Butler discloses the drug delivery device according to claim 22, wherein:
the actuator element is a displaceable or movable element in form of a flexible arm (see para 0136, arms 314, 316 can be flexible), and
the flexible arm comprises an electromagnet at a free longitudinal end thereof (this is part of “and/or” clause and therefore not required), and/or
the flexible arm is orientated in axial direction or circumferential direction (axial direction, see Fig. 6).
As to claim 37, Butler discloses the drug delivery device according to claim 22, wherein the mechanism unit comprises a first conductor path which is interrupted, unless a selected drug reservoir unit is coupled with the mechanism unit (see para 0127 discussing microswitches).
As to claim 38, Butler discloses the drug delivery device according to claim 22, wherein the drug delivery device is an injection device such as an autoinjector and/or a variable dose device or a fixed dose device and/or a pen type device, in particular a dial extension pen (see para 0019, 0034-0041, 0047).
As to claim 39, Butler discloses the drug delivery device according to claim 22, wherein: the drug delivery device comprises the drug reservoir unit (120), and the drug reservoir unit (i) comprises a drug container with a drug (para 0049-0051), or (ii) is configured to retain a drug container with a drug (para 0049-0051).
As to claim 41, Butler discloses a method for dispensing a drug with a drug delivery device (100), wherein the drug delivery device comprises:
a drug reservoir unit (120), wherein the drug reservoir unit (i) comprises a drug container with the drug (see para 0049-0051), or (ii) is configured to retain a drug container with the drug (para 0049-0051), and
a mechanism unit with:
a housing element (not numbered, however see para 0122 discussing an outer body not shown; the examiner notes however that the housing element can alternatively be interpreted as any outer housing element shown in Fig. 1A, such as outer cylindrical shell of 102),
a first movable element (rotatable dose setter 117, 217, 317, 417, etc… see embodiments in Figs. 2-12) arranged movable with respect to the housing element (para 0116, 0122, 0135, etc…),
an electromechanical actuator that, when operated, moves an actuator element (202a, 304, etc…) between a first position and a second position (see para 0125, 0135, etc… discussing movement of respective actuator elements and para 0127 teaching that an electro-mechanical mechanism such as a solenoid could physically prevent manual movement of the dose setter 117, 217), wherein the mechanism unit is configured:
to be operatively coupled with the drug reservoir unit and to enable a dispense process for dispensing a drug dose (para 0047-0049, 0114-0115),
to enable setting a drug dose to be dispensed, wherein setting a drug dose is associated with a movement of the first movable element in a first direction (para 0125, 0135, etc… i.e. all paragraphs that discuss respective unlocked positions of each embodiment),
to block movement of the first movable element in the first direction when the actuator element is in the first position in order to prevent setting a drug dose (para 0124, 0134, etc… i.e. all paragraphs that discuss respective locked positions of each embodiment), and
to allow movement of the first movable element in the first direction when the actuator element is in the second position as a precondition for setting a drug dose (para 0125, 0135, etc… i.e. all paragraphs that discuss respective unlocked positions of each embodiment).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Butler in view of Hammen et al. (US 2021/0069421 A1, hereafter “Hammen”).
As to claim 28, Butler discloses the drug delivery device according to claim 22 as described above, but is silent to wherein: the mechanism unit further comprises a communication module for communicating with an external device, and the mechanism unit is configured such that operation of the actuator is prevented unless an enabling signal from the external device is received via the communication module.
Hammen discloses a drug delivery device (602; see Fig. 6) comprising a communication module (NFC sensor 604) for communicating with an external device (610), and operation of an actuator is prevented unless an enabling signal from the external device is received via the communication module (see para 0056-0057).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Butler in view of Hammen such that the mechanism unit further comprises a communication module for communicating with an external device, and the mechanism unit is configured such that operation of the actuator is prevented unless an enabling signal from the external device is received via the communication module. One would have been motivated to do so as a way to prevent use of the drug delivery device unless it is within range of a mobile device (see para 0056-0057 of Hammen).
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Butler in view of Keitel et al. (US 2020/0023136 A1, hereafter “Keitel”).
As to claim 31, Butler discloses the drug delivery device according to claim 22 as described above. Butler appears to additionally disclose wherein: the drug delivery device comprises a dose setting member (proximal finger-grip portion of 117 as seen in Fig. 1A) configured to be operated by a user in order to set a drug dose, and during dose setting, the dose setting member is moved relative to the housing element (see at least para 0012, 0116, 0122 which mention rotation).
Butler however, does not fully make it clear whether the proximal-finger grip portion of 117 is the same thing as 217, 317, etc… shown in Figs. 2-12, and thus it is not fully clear if the proximal-finger grip portion of 117 is a separate component from the annotated 117, 217, 317, (and thus not clear if Butler discloses the dose setting member and the first movable element as separate elements as required by the claim).
Keitel however discloses an injection device (10) having a dose setting member (31b) that rotates relative to a housing element (see para 0059, 0070, 0071)
. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified 117, 217, etc… to include a rib (thus interpreting the rib as a dose setting member as claimed), configured to be operated by a user in order to set a drug dose, and during dose setting, the dose setting member is moved relative to the housing element. One would have been motivated to do so as an anti-roll feature, as well as a leverage feature to assist the user in setting or cancelling a dose (see para 0071 of Keitel).
Claim(s) 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Butler in view of Yin et al. (US 2022/0362484 A1, hereafter “Yin”).
As to claim 40, Butler discloses the drug delivery device according to claim 22 as described above, but is silent to wherein: the mechanism unit comprises a dispense mechanism for dispensing a drug dose, the dispense mechanism comprises a plunger rod and an energy member, the energy member is configured to provide energy for moving the plunger rod in distal direction, and/or the energy member is a drive spring, a gas cartridge or an electric motor.
Yin discloses a dispense mechanism (“biasing member”) for dispensing a drug dose, the dispense mechanism comprises a plunger rod and an energy member, the energy member is configured to provide energy for moving the plunger rod in distal direction, and/or the energy member is a drive spring, a gas cartridge or an electric motor (para 0025).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Butler such that the mechanism unit comprises a dispense mechanism for dispensing a drug dose, the dispense mechanism comprises a plunger rod and an energy member, the energy member is configured to provide energy for moving the plunger rod in distal direction, and/or the energy member is a drive spring, a gas cartridge or an electric motor. One would have been motivated to do so as a way of providing a non-manual/power-assisted means of delivering force to a drug/medicament in order to deliver to a patient (see para 0025 of Yin).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 26-27 (assuming corresponding limitations from claim 25 are required) and 33 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 24, while Butler discloses the drug delivery device according to claim 23, and further wherein: dispensing a drug dose is associated with a movement of the first movable element in a second direction (para 0118; a user pushes on the dose setter). Butler however is silent to wherein the mechanism unit is configured to block movement of the first movable element in the second direction when the actuator element is in the first position.
As to claim 26, while Butler discloses the drug delivery device according to claim 25 as described above, Butler is silent to wherein: when a selected drug reservoir unit is coupled with the mechanism unit, the first conductor path is closed, and the closed first conductor path electrically connects at least one of: the actuator with a control unit for the actuator, the control unit with an energy source, the actuator with the energy source, or an output interface of the control unit with an input interface of the control unit in combination with the limitations of claim 25.
As to claim 27, while Butler discloses the drug delivery device according to claim 25 as described above, wherein: the first conductor path comprises at least two sections which are (i) movable with respect to each other, and (ii) electrically connected by a sliding contact in combination with the limitations of claim 25.
As to claim 33, while Butler discloses the drug delivery device according to claim 22, Butler is silent to wherein: the mechanism unit further comprises a second conductor path for guiding an electrical signal to the actuator, and the second conductor path comprises at least two sections which are (i) movable with respect to each other, and (ii) electrically connected by a sliding contact in combination with the limitations of claim 22.
Conclusion
/James D Ponton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783