Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 12, 14-17, 19-20, 22, 25, and 27-28, and Species A1, B1, C1, D1, E1, F1, G2, and H1 n the reply filed on 08/04/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “The Restriction Requirement merely asserts that the system "can be used" for something else, but does not identify any actual materially different process.” This is not found persuasive because Applicant admits on the record “[t]he question under MPEP 806.0S(h) should be whether the claimed process can be practiced with a materially different product or whether the claimed product can be used in a materially different process.” Additionally, the MPEP does not require the enumeration of the materially different process.
Regarding the election of species, Applicant traverses the requirement based on restriction practice NOT election of species practice. Applicant also cites 74 species and the burden is on the Office to demonstrate the burden. This is unpersuasive since there are well over 6.5 Million distinct combinations of the recited species. And Applicant has apparently forgotten or ignored the indication of burden noted in MPEP 808.02(C).
Accordingly, the examiner will examine and search Group I, claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 12, 14-17, 19-20, 22, 25, and 27-28, and Species A1, B1, C1, D1, E1, F1, G2, and H1. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 12, 14-17, 19-20, 22, 25, and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to device/product without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) an abstract idea . This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because “the system configured to:” followed by steps encompass an abstract idea that use recited physical elements that are well known and/or conventional. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the recited physical elements that are well known and/or conventional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 4, 7-9, 12, 14-17, 19-20, 22, 25, and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tzvieli et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0038180).
Regarding claim 1, Tzvieli et al. disclose a system comprising:
at least one physiological monitoring device configured to detect at least one physiological parameter of the user (see [0142], [0158] for example); and
at least one breathing monitoring device configured to detect at least one breathing parameter of the user (see [0138], [0148], [0163]-[0164] for example);
wherein the system is configured to:
determine at least one target physiological index based at least on the detected physiological parameter (see figures 30-31, 44, 45b, 50 for example);
determine a target breathing exercise to be executed by the user based at least on the target physiological index (see [0146], [0162], [0164], [0172], [0177], [0222], [0251], [0263], [0277] for example);
determine a target breathing index to be achieved by the user during execution of the breathing exercise (see figure 22, 29 for example);
compare the target breathing index with the breathing parameter, which is detectable as the user is executing the breathing exercise, and determine a deviation therebetween (see [0100], [0180], [0200], [0216]-[0217], [0224], [0242]-[0243] for example); and
adapt the target breathing exercise based at least on the determined deviation (see [0331]).
Regarding claim 2, Tzvieli et al. disclose the claimed invention (see [0016], [0077], [0096], [0103], [0250] for example).
Regarding claim 3, Tzvieli et al. disclose the claimed invention (see [0016], and [0285] for example).
Regarding claim 5, Tzvieli et al. disclose the claimed invention (see figure 22 and 29).
Regarding claim 7, Tzvieli et al. disclose the claimed invention (see figures 1a-15b for example).
Regarding claims 8-9, Tzvieli et al. disclose the claimed invention (see [0138], [0145], and [0273] for example).
Regarding claims 12, 14-16, Tzvieli et al. disclose the claimed invention (see figure [0121], [0168], [0222], [0277] for example and figures 22, 29-31, 44, 45b, 50 ).
Regarding claim 17, Tzvieli et al. disclose the claimed invention (see [0100], [0180], [0200], [0216]-[0217], [0224], [0242]-[0243], and [0331] for example).
Regarding claims 19-20, Tzvieli et al. disclose the claimed invention (see figures 22, and 29).
Regarding claim 22, Tzvieli et al. disclose the claimed invention (see [0016] and [0285]).
Regarding claim 25, Tzvieli et al. disclose the claimed invention (see figure 22).
Regarding claim 27, Tzvieli et al. disclose the claimed invention (see figure 22 and 29).
Regarding claim 28, Tzvieli et al. disclose the claimed invention (see [0251]).
Conclusion
/AARON F ROANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792