DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng 20150094400 in view of Nikanol Xylene Resin (retrieved from: https://web.archive.org/web/20190717172640/https://fudow.co.jp/en/products/xylene, July 2019, retrieved on: 9/28/2026).
Regarding claims 1, Zheng teaches an epoxy composition used for coatings comprising an epoxy resin and a liquid curing agent (Paragraph [0117]). Zheng teaches the epoxy resin composition comprises an epoxy resin component (Paragraph [0108]). Zheng also teaches the composition comprises a curing agent (Paragraph [0108]). Zheng teaches the curing agent is a reaction product of an aromatic amine, a phenol and a formaldehyde (Paragraph [0075]). Zheng teaches the aromatic amine can be m-xylenediamine. It would have been obvious for the curing agent to be a reaction product of m-xylenediamine, phenol, and a formaldehyde because it is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. This reads on the limitations of the claim 2. Zheng also teaches the composition comprises a xylene formaldehyde condensate as a plasticizer (Paragraph [0123]). Zheng teaches the xylene formaldehyde plasticizer can be a Nikanol plasticizer (Paragraph [0123]).
Zheng is silent on the Nikanol plasticizer being an ethylene oxide modified Nikanol plasticizer.
However, Nikanol Xylene resins teaches the modified xylene formaldehyde resin L5 is a suitable modified resin for water-based compositions (Page 2). It would have been obvious to select L5 xylene formaldehyde resins as the modified resin of Zheng because modified Nikanol resins represent a short list of possible nikanol resins suitable in water-based compositions. Zheng teaches the commercially available modified nikanol resins are suitable in the composition (Paragraph [0123]). There are a limited number of modified nikanol resins, and it is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07.
This reads on the limitations of the claimed (C).
Zheng also teaches the composition comprises water (Paragraph [0128]). This reads on the claimed “water.”
Regarding claims 3 and 4, the modified aromatic hydrocarbon formaldehyde resin is an optional component of claim 1. Therefore, Zheng in view of Nikanol Xylene Resins reads on the limitations of claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, L5 is a xylene formaldehyde resin modified with ethylene oxide. This reads on the claimed “xylene.”
Regarding claim 6, Zheng teaches the composition comprises 4-30% by weight plasticizer (Paragraph [0123]). Zheng teaches the epoxy component comprises 30-80% by weight of the total composition (Paragraph [0119]). This corresponds to an amount of component (C) of 4-30 parts by weight of plasticizer. This overlaps with the claimed range of 1-20 parts by weight (C).
Regarding claim 7, Zheng does not expressly disclose the viscosity of the composition at 25C. Nevertheless, products of identical chemical compositions cannot have mutually exclusive properties. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01. Zheng’s composition as described above will therefore necessarily possess the claimed viscosity at 25C.
Regarding claim 8, Zheng teaches the composition can be used as a paint (Paragraph [0128]). This reads on the limitations of claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Zheng teaches the components are mixed together (Paragraph [0121]). This reads on the limitations of claim 9.
Conclusion
/LILY K SLOAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762