DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant's communication filed on 05/02/2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11 have been amended. Claims 1 – 12 are currently pending in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won (Pub # US 2021/0250890 A1) in view of Kim et al. (hereinafter “Kim”) (Pub # US 2020/0275331 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 5, and 9, Won discloses a method for managing protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment, by a user equipment (UE) (see apparatus 300 in FIG. 5, [0127] - [0130] including a transceiver (see [0134] for communication interface include a transceiver and/or supporting hardware or software for enabling communications with one or more remote computing devices); a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions (see 310/306 in FIG. 5), and a controller (see 304 in FIG. 5) coupled to the transceiver) connected to a network for disaster roaming (see [0123] for the apparatus handling emergency services in a private network or other wireless communication system, such as a 5G system, and see [0467] for mapped S-NSSAI available in roaming scenarios), the method comprising:
receiving a non-access stratum (NAS) session management message from the network (see block 11 in FIG. 8, [0683], [0694], [0703] – [0706] for the UE receiving a configuration update command message from a network entity (i.e., AMF) of a current PLMN, and the AMF can include the PDU session ID in the PDU session ID IE of the DL NAS TRANSPORT message);
determining whether the NAS session management message includes an evolved packet system (EPS) related quality of service (QoS) (see [0317], [0318] for the EPS bearer context status information is generated for the UE during the inter-system change and the AMF can include an EPS bearer context status IE in the REGISTRATION ACCEPT message to indicate the UE which mapped EPS bearer contexts are active in the network, see [0333] for EPS associated QoS rules), and whether a session related to the NAS session management message is an emergency PDU session (see [0142], [0167], [0168], [0693] for considering whether the UE has an emergency PDU session); and
deleting an associated EPS bearer context, based on determining that the NAS session management message includes the EPS related QoS, and that the session is not the emergency PDU session (see block 12 in FIG. 8, [0142], [0144], [0147], [0690], [0693], [0694] for the UE can perform a local release of all PDU sessions except for an emergency PDU session, see [0333] for if the EPS bearer context status IE is included in the REGISTRATION ACCEPT message, the UE can locally delete all those QoS flow descriptions and all associated QoS rules, if any, which are associated with inactive EPS bearer contexts as indicated by the AMF in the EPS bearer context status IE).
Won does not disclose specifically that the EPS related QoS parameter.
In an analogous art, Kim discloses that the EPS related QoS parameter (see Kim, [0086] for EPS bearer ID and EPS bearer has QoS characteristics of a maximum bit rate (MBR) and/or a guaranteed bit rate (GBR)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, to modify the invention of Won which including the EPS bearer context status information is generated for the UE during the inter-system change for the apparatus handling emergency services, and have the EPS related QoS parameter thereby provides the UE correlates the ongoing QoS flow with an indicated EPS bearer ID set up by the Handover Command such that the UE locally deletes QoS flows with no assigned EPS bearer IDs, as discussed by Kim (see Kim, [0122]). The motivation would providing efficient interworking between 5G system and an evolved packet system (EPS), as suggested by Kim (see Kim, [0003]).
Regarding claims 2, 6, and 10, Won in view of Kim disclose wherein the NAS session management message is one of a PDU session establishment accept message and a PDU session modification command message (see Won, [0683], [0694]).
Regarding claims 3, 7, and 11, Won in view of Kim disclose wherein the QoS parameter includes at least one of an EPS bearer identifier (ID) or mapped EPS bearer context (see Won, [0318], or see Kim, [0086] for EPS bearer ID which has QoS characteristic).
Regarding claims 4, 8, and 12, Won in view of Kim disclose maintaining the associated EPS bearer context based on determining that the NAS session management message does not include the EPS related QoS parameter, or that the session is the emergency PDU session (see Won, [0142], [0144], [0690], [0693], [0694] for the UE can keep an emergency PDU session, and see [0318] for include an EPS bearer context status IE in the REGISTRATION ACCEPT message to indicate the UE which mapped EPS bearer contexts are active in the network).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are:
2022/0217522 (Kim et al.) which discloses the process determining whether to accept the access for providing the disaster roaming service of the UE requesting access and the range of the disaster roaming service that can be provided (e.g., a basic voice call and a specific service, etc.).
2020/0267780 (Huang-Fu et al.) discloses EPS/5GS network supporting Quality of Service (QoS) flow and Evolved Packet System (EPS) bearer management, and the UE receives a mapped EPS bearer context IE during a PDU session establishment or modification procedure.
/MONG-THUY T TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645