DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s remarks have been given full consideration, as such this Office Action has been modified in view of Amendments filed on 07/30/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed "REMARKS" on 07/30/2026, with respect to the rejections of newly amended independent claims 23, 30, and 43 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EDGE (US 2021/0144669 A1, hereinafter Edge) in view of TAO et al. (US 2023/0254801 A1, hereinafter Tao) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Rune (US 2011/0171979 A1, hereinafter Rune). As such, this Office Action has been made non-final. The finality of the previous office action is moot based on applicant arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23-28, 30-39 and 43-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EDGE (US 2021/0144669 A1, hereinafter Edge) in view of Rune (US 2011/0171979 A1, hereinafter Rune).
Regarding claim 23, Edge teaches one or more processors configured to cause a non-terrestrial access node to perform operations ([Figure 43, 4304] and [0444] the satellite 4300 includes one or more processors 4304, coupled with NTN access node(s) 104 as shown in FIG. 1) comprising: receiving a request message from a user equipment (UE) served by the non-terrestrial access node (processors 4304 receive information from processors 4104 located within the CN, and [0439] describes the one or more processors 4104 may be configured to receive an NAS Registration Request message, e.g., in an RRC Setup Complete messaged from the UE), wherein the non-terrestrial access node is broadcasting a plurality of tracking area codes (TACs) ([0147] as illustrated in FIG. 6, an SV 102/202/302 may broadcast for cell 1 a SIB that includes TACs), and wherein a first TAC is associated with a first tracking area- ([0147] the given example describes "The Cell 1 may be assigned to sNB1 (which has coverage of TA4, TA5, TA8, and TA9) and Cell 2 may be assigned to sNB2 (which has coverage of TA12, TA13, TA14, and TA15)." That is, the first TAC may be associated with a plurality of TAs, including a first TA) and sending, to a core network node ([0101] referring to FIG. 1, the communication system 100 is illustrated as further including components of a number of Fifth Generation (5G) networks including 5G Core Networks (5GCNs) 110-1 to 110-3 (collectively referred to herein as 5GCNs 110), and as illustrated in FIG. 1, information may be sent via a plurality of SVs to the core network nodes 110), the plurality of TACs in at least one information element ([0326] depicted in FIG. 37A, the AMF 122 may send a request for the fixed cell and/or fixed TA (Cell ID and/or TAC) for the selected PLMN to the LMF 124 if the sNB 106/202/307 did not determine the Cell ID and TAC in stage 13, and the response to this request will be sent from the UE 105 through the SV 102/202/302, SV read as non-terrestrial access node, i.e. a plurality of TACs may be sent to LMF 124 located within the core network 101 as shown in FIG. 1).
Edge is not relied on for the claim language and receiving a response message comprising one or more TACs of the plurality of TACs, wherein at least one of the one or more TACs is associated with one or more tracking areas (TAs) that are forbidden for the UE. However, Rune teaches [abstract] a method for handling area identifier replacements in a network node in association with a user equipment. Rune also teaches and receiving a response message comprising one or more TACs of the plurality of TACs, wherein at least one of the one or more TACs is associated with one or more tracking areas (TAs) that are forbidden for the UE ([0061] describes Step 215 of FIG. 2, wherein a management system (the OSS (Operation Support System) or an MME, see [0014]) sends a neighboring BS/AP a TAC update. The TAC specifically includes a “list of forbidden TAs of the UE,” see [0050], i.e. receiving a response message from a core network (the OSS or MME) including an updated TAC associated with tracking areas (TAs) that are forbidden for the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Edge to include the TACs to be associated with one or more tracking areas (TAs) that are forbidden for the UE, as taught by Rune, in order to ([0081] – [0082] and [0257]) allow and optimize the ability for the UE and the serving node to receive the forbidden TAs of the UE, and therefore [0234] aid in facilitating TA configuration updates.
Regarding claim 24, Edge teaches the request message is one of: a registration request message or a service request message ([0323] referring to FIG. 37A, at stage 12, UE 105 sends an RRC Setup Complete to the sNB 106/202/307 and includes an indication (e.g. MCC and MNC) of the selected PLMN and a Non-Access Stratum (NAS) Registration Request message).
Regarding claim 25, Edge teaches determining that the UE is located in a first tracking area associated with a first TAC; and including the first TAC in a first information element and a list of the remaining TACs of the plurality in a second information element ([0324] referring to FIG. 37A, at stage 13, the sNB 106/202/307, or an embedded or attached LMC, may determine a fixed serving cell and/or a fixed serving TA for UE 105, e.g., by mapping a UE 105 location that was received at stage 7 or stage 12 or verified or determined at stage 8, to a Cell ID and/or TAC, for the selected PLMN indicated at stage 12, i.e. determining that the UE is located in a plurality of TACs, which may be a from a plurality of TACs).
Regarding claim 26, Edge teaches the at least one information element is included in one of an INITIAL UE MESSAGE or UL NAS TRANSPORT message (messages including configuration information as described in [0197] and in claims 23 and 25, may be sent via UL NAS TRANSPORT messages, as further described in [0250] "UL signaling data refers to signaling that is sent by one or more UEs 105 to 5GCN 110 (e.g. AMF 122 or UPF 130) via SV/sNB 202," i.e. UL messages including configuration information, configuration information read as information element, may be sent via NAS (SV/sNB 202), i.e. UL NAS TRANSPORT messages).
Regarding claim 27, Edge teaches the core network node is an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) (FIG. 1/37A depicts AMF 122, included in CN 101).
Regarding claim 28, Edge teaches the plurality of TACs corresponds to one of a plurality of public land mobile networks (PLMNs) ([0324] referring to FIG. 37A, "at stage 13, the sNB 106/202/307, or an embedded or attached LMC, may determine a fixed serving cell and/or a fixed serving TA for UE 105, e.g., by mapping a UE 105 location that was received at stage 7 or stage 12 or verified or determined at stage 8, to a Cell ID and/or TAC, for the selected PLMN indicated at stage 12," i.e. the plurality of TACs may correspond to one PLMN from a plurality of PLMNs).
Regarding claim 30, Edge teaches one or more processors configured to cause a core network node to perform operations ([Figure 41, 4104] and [0412] one or more processors associated with NTN satellite node B (sNB), which may be associated with the CN(s) 101 as depicted in FIG. 1) comprising: receiving a request message associated with a user equipment (UE) located in a tracking area in which a non-terrestrial access node is configured to broadcast a plurality of tracking area codes (TACs) ([0439] describes the one or more processors 4104 may be configured to receive an NAS Registration Request message, e.g., in an RRC Setup Complete messaged from the UE, said request message includes a plurality of TACs as described in [0147], and claim 23); determining whether registration of the UE is successful; and in response to the determination, generating a response message comprising one or more TACs of the plurality of TACs ([0313-0315] FIG. 37A stages 2-4 describe responses wherein registration of the UE may be successful or unsuccessful based on location information relating to the UE, further based on if said UE may operate in a designated PLMN(s), TAC(s), or TA(s)), wherein at least one of the one or more TACs is indicated to be associated with one or more tracking areas- ([0147] the given example describes "The Cell 1 may be assigned to sNB1 (which has coverage of TA4, TA5, TA8, and TA9) and Cell 2 may be assigned to sNB2 (which has coverage of TA12, TA13, TA14, and TA15)." That is, the first TAC may be associated with a plurality of TAs).
Edge is not relied on for the claim language -(TAs) that are forbidden for the UE. However, Rune teaches as such (the TAC specifically includes a “list of forbidden TAs of the UE,” see [0050], as described in claim 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Edge to include the TACs to be associated with one or more tracking areas (TAs) that are forbidden for the UE, as taught by Rune, in order to ([0081] – [0082] and [0257]) allow and optimize the ability for the UE and the serving node to receive the forbidden TAs of the UE, and therefore [0234] aid in facilitating TA configuration updates.
Regarding claim 31, Edge teaches the operations further comprising receiving a message including at least one User Location Information (ULI) associated with the UE ([0316] referring to FIG. 37A, at stage 5, the UE 105 may optionally determine the location of the UE 105 from the location related measurements from stage 3 if stage 3 occurs. UE 105 may optionally determine the UE 105 country in which the UE 105 is located using the determined location and the location related information received at stage 4 if stage 4 occurs, i.e. user location information).
Regarding claim 32, Edge teaches the received request message is one of an INITIAL UE MESSAGE or UL NAS TRANSPORT message (messages including configuration information, such as the request message, as described in [0197], may be sent via UL NAS TRANSPORT messages, as further described in [0250] "UL signaling data refers to signaling that is sent by one or more UEs 105 to 5GCN 110 (e.g. AMF 122 or UPF 130) via SV/sNB 202," i.e. UL messages including configuration information, configuration information read as information element, may be sent via NAS (SV/sNB 202), i.e. UL NAS TRANSPORT messages).
Regarding claim 33, Edge teaches the at least one User Location Information (ULI) includes a first TAC associated with the tracking area where the UE is located and the plurality of TACs broadcasted by the non-terrestrial access node ([0147] as illustrated in FIG. 6, an SV 102/202/302 may broadcast for cell 1 a SIB that includes TACs, wherein the UE may be located, and [0197] further describes UE 105 may send a NAS Registration Request message to AMF 122, and AMF 122 may return a NAS Registration Accept message to UE 105 which includes the configuration data. The configuration data includes, for example, configuration information related to fixed cells and/or fixed TAs in the wireless coverage of the SV 102/202/302 and that is associated with a serving PLMN for UE 105).
Regarding claim 34, Edge teaches determining whether registration of the UE is successful is based on the at least one ULI ([0329] referring to FIG. 37A, at stage 18, the AMF 122 returns a NAS Registration Accept message to UE 105 via sNB 106/202/307 that includes the allowed fixed TAs (referred to here as TAs) (TACs) and location information such as geographic definitions of the allowed TAs and constituent fixed cells for the allowed Tas, i.e. whether registration of the UE is successful based on location information).
Regarding claim 35, Edge teaches the one or more TACs indicated to be associated with one or more tracking areas (TAs)- ([0147] the given example describes "the Cell 1 may be assigned to sNB1 (which has coverage of TA4, TA5, TA8, and TA9) and Cell 2 may be assigned to sNB2 (which has coverage of TA12, TA13, TA14, and TA15)." That is, the one or more TACs may be associated with a plurality of TAs).
Edge is not relied on for the claim language -that are forbidden for the UE are determined based on the at least one ULI. However, Rune teaches as such (the TAC specifically includes a “list of forbidden TAs of the UE,” see [0050], as described in claim 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Edge to include the TACs to be associated with one or more tracking areas (TAs) that are forbidden for the UE, as taught by Rune, in order to ([0081] – [0082] and [0257]) allow and optimize the ability for the UE and the serving node to receive the forbidden TAs of the UE, and therefore [0234] aid in facilitating TA configuration updates.
Regarding claim 36, Edge teaches determining whether registration of the UE is successful comprises determining that the registration is unsuccessful ([0313-0315] and FIG. 37A stages 2-4 describe responses wherein registration of the UE may be successful or unsuccessful based on location information relating to the UE, further based on if said UE may operate in a designated PLMN(s), TAC(s), or TA(s)), and wherein the response message is a reject message ([0320] referring to FIG. 37A, at stage 9, the sNB 106/202/307 may return an RRC Reject to UE 105 if the location of UE 105 is not supported).
Regarding claim 37, Edge teaches the reject message further comprises a reject cause ([0320] the RRC Reject may indicate the country (e.g. using an MCC) that the UE 105 is located in, i.e. a reject cause).
Regarding claim 38, Edge teaches determining whether registration of the UE is successful comprises determining that the registration is successful, and wherein the response message is a registration accept message ([0329] referring to FIG. 37A, at stage 18, the AMF 122 returns a NAS Registration Accept message to UE 105 via sNB 106/202/307 that includes the allowed fixed TAs (referred to here as TAs) (TACs) and location information such as geographic definitions of the allowed TAs and constituent fixed cells for the allowed TAs).
Regarding claim 39, Edge teaches the request message comprises a first TAC of the plurality of TACs ([0318] referring to FIG. 37A, at stage 7, UE 105 may send to the sNB 106/202/307 via the SV 102/202/302 and using the selected radio cell an RRC Setup Request message (e.g. after having performed a random access procedure to obtain initial access to the selected radio cell). If the location and/or country of the UE 105 is obtained at stage 5, the UE may include the location and/or country in the RRC Setup Request message, i.e. including a first TAC), and wherein determining whether registration of the UE is successful comprises: determining whether the first TAC- -and determining whether the registration is successful in part based on whether the first TAC- ([0313-0315] and FIG. 37A stages 2-4 describe responses wherein registration of the UE may be successful or unsuccessful based on location information relating to the UE, further based on if said UE may operate in a designated PLMN(s), TAC(s), or TA(s)).
Edge is not relied on for the claim language -is associated with the one or more TAs that are forbidden for the UE; However, Rune teaches as such (the TAC specifically includes a “list of forbidden TAs of the UE,” see [0050], as described in claim 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Edge to include the TACs to be associated with one or more tracking areas (TAs) that are forbidden for the UE, as taught by Rune, in order to ([0081] – [0082] and [0257]) allow and optimize the ability for the UE and the serving node to receive the forbidden TAs of the UE, and therefore [0234] aid in facilitating TA configuration updates.
Regarding claim 43, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 23.
Regarding claim 44, Edge teaches the response message is a registration accept message ([0329] describes FIG. 37A stage 18, a returned registration accept message).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EDGE (US 2021/0144669 A1, hereinafter Edge) and Rune (US 2011/0171979 A1, hereinafter Rune) as applied in the claims above, further in view of TAO et al. (US 2023/0254801 A1, hereinafter Tao).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Edge and Rune is not relied on for the claim language receiving the request message from the UE further comprises determining that the UE is not registered with any of the plurality of TACs. However, Tao teaches as such ([0157] The UE may acquire the TAC by reading the SIB1 broadcasted by gNB, and may compare the received TAC with the TAC of the registered TA to know whether it has left the registered TA or not. In a case where the UE has left the registered TA, a TAU procedure may be performed in order to receive a new registered TA from AMF, i.e. if the UE is not registered in a TA located in a TAC, the AMF will be notified via request messages, as depicted in FIG. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Edge and Rune to include the ability for TACs to be not registered by a UE, as taught by Tao, in order to provide a solution for [0143] increasing the performance of a mobile network, higher spectral efficiency, improved link performance and extended coverage, and therefore [0156] allow for the UE to receive paging messages from the network as long as the UE stays in the registered TA.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW JAMES DWYER/Examiner, Art Unit 2649
/GEORGE ENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2699