DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to amendment filed on 6/19/2026, claims 1- 2, 5, 15, 24- 25 and 28- 30 are amended. Claims 1- 30 are pending for examinations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) in the remarks filed on 6/19/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant has amended independent claim; hence examiner believes that the scope has been changed, hence examiner has considered new reference Marcus et al. (EP 4443754 A1). Marcus teaches the limitations about wherein the channel state report includes an indication to the base station to reinterpret a payload of the channel state report according to updated settings of the channel state report setting; see Abstract… determining (i.e. by UE), for each CSI report configuration, a precoding matrix based on an estimated channel matrix and two codebooks, the two codebooks including a spatial codebook comprising one or more spatial domain (SD) basis components of the precoder, and a delay codebook comprising one or more delay domain (DD) basis components of the precoder, and one or more non-zero combining coefficients for complex combining of the one or more SD and DD basis vectors, and reporting, to the network node, the one or more CSI reports for the one or more CSI report configurations, wherein each CSI report contains the selected precoding matrix in the form of a precoding matrix identifier, PMI, and a rank identifier, RI, indicating the transmission rank for the RI layers of the precoding matrix, and wherein each CSI report comprises two parts: CSI part 1 and CSI part 2, wherein CSI part 1 has a fixed payload size and comprises information indicating the size of the payload of CSI part 2 (i.e. an indication here), wherein CSI part 2 comprises at least the amplitude and phase information of the selected non-zero combining coefficients of the CSI report, and wherein a portion, or the entirety, of CSI part 2 is available for omission from the CSI report; further see [0015]… Moreover, the CSI payload is portioned into two parts: CSI part 1 and CSI part 2. The CSI part 1 contains the RI and an indicator that indicates the size of CSI part 2. The size of CSI part 1 is fixed, whereas the size of CSI part 2 varies depending on the determined RI by the UE and some other factors. Since the gNB needs to know CSI part 1 in order to decode CSI part 2, UCI omission is only performed on CSI part 2 (i.e. part 1 functions as an in-payload instruction governing interpretation of the rest of the report); further see [0101] When the UE drops a CSI subgroup, the CSI content of the remaining CSI subgroup(s) with higher priority should allow the gNB to partly reconstruct the CSI matrix for the RI layers indicated in the CSI report. To do this, the gNB requires the knowledge of the SD and DD basis indices associated with the strongest combining coefficient per layer. This information can be obtained from the bitmaps and the SCIs for the RI layers. In order to interpret the SCI(s) (i.e. strongest coefficient indicator) in a correct way, the first joint CSI subgroup or the first CSI subgroup associated with a single CSI report shall contain at least the fraction of the bitmaps and the information of the combining coefficients associated with the DD basis vector index of the SCI for the RI layers; further see [0121] When the UE is enforced to perform a cyclic shift operation on the selected combining coefficients and the selected DD basis vectors per layer with respect to the DD basis vector index that is associated with the SCI, after the cyclic shift operation only the part of the bitmap which is associated with all SD basis vectors and the first DD basis vector, DD basis vector index 0, is required for each of the RI layers to identify the SD and DD basis indices associated with the strongest combining coefficient. In order to interpret the SCI(s) in a correct way, the first CSI subgroup should contain the fraction of the bitmap and the information of the combining coefficients associated with the DD basis vector index 0 (i.e. the SCI (part of part 1/early payload) must be read correctly to know which bits of part 2mean what) (i.e. also discussed above regarding since omission (dropping) changes which part 2 bits are present/what they represent , but part 1 size- indicator field stays fixed, the gNB must reinterpret part 2’scontent region based on that indicator each time).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 15- 17, 20- 21, 23- 24, 29- 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moulsley et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0148611 A1), hereafter Tim in view of Marcus et al. (EP 4443754 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tim teaches a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 9 UE as a user equipment and network represent base station here), comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a configuration for a channel state report setting (see [0085] …where the user equipment-initiated channel state message is a CSI report, this can be in addition to any CSI report requested of the user equipment by the network. In other words the user equipment-initiated report can augment existing network-commanded CSI reports already provided for in the system; further see [0123] and Fig. 9.. The process begins, as shown, with the network making available some resource for the novel UE-initiated CSI report. This need not be an explicit provision of resource, as explained below……),
wherein the configuration for the channel state report setting is associated with a number of bits (in context with [0161] (Periodic PUCCH allocation, with the conventional periodic CSI report either replaced by, or in addition to, the UE-triggered CSI report of the invention) please refer to [0167- 169] (a) existing CSI message structure on PUCCH or PUSCH [0167] using reserved values [0168] replacing existing bits [0169] extending with additional bit(s));
transmitting, to the base station, a request for an additional reporting quantity for the channel state report setting or to change one or more parameters of the channel state report setting (see [0054] The user equipment-initiated channel state message may comprise one or more of: [0055] a CSI report; [0056] a request to send a CSI report; [0057] a request for a change in a rate of CSI reports; [0058] a request for a change in a mode of CSI reporting; [0059] a request for a change in transmission mode between the user equipment and the network; further see [0123] in above context .. As part of its conventional operation, the UE may send a periodic CSI report as shown. In addition, or alternatively, though not illustrated, the network may command the UE to send an aperiodic CSI report at any time…..); and
transmitting, to the base station, a channel state report using the number of bits based at least in part on the configuration and the request (as stated above in context with [0161] (Periodic PUCCH allocation, with the conventional periodic CSI report either replaced by, or in addition to, the UE-triggered CSI report of the invention) please refer to [0167- 169] (a) existing CSI message structure on PUCCH or PUSCH [0167] using reserved values [0168] replacing existing bits [0169] extending with additional bit(s); now refer to [0085]…where the user equipment-initiated channel state message is a CSI report, this can be in addition to any CSI report requested of the user equipment by the network. In other words the user equipment-initiated report can augment existing network-commanded CSI reports already provided for in the system; further refer to [0086] Alternatively, the CSI report is instead of a CSI report requested of the user equipment by the network. This allows uplink resources to be freed since possibly unnecessary CSI reports (in instances where the channel state etc. has not changed significantly) can be dispensed with; further refer to [0183]… in consideration of defined criteria, the UE determines the need to transmit at least one CSI report. This would be additional to or instead of one of any reports already configured by the network. Further, the UE signals to its serving eNodeB a request to transmit a CSI report. On receiving a positive response, the UE transmits the CSI report using the desired resources).
But Tim is silent about wherein the channel state report includes an indication to the base station to reinterpret a payload of the channel state report according to updated settings of the channel state report setting.
However Marcus teaches the limitations about wherein the channel state report includes an indication to the base station to reinterpret a payload of the channel state report according to updated settings of the channel state report setting; see Abstract… determining (i.e. by UE), for each CSI report configuration, a precoding matrix based on an estimated channel matrix and two codebooks, the two codebooks including a spatial codebook comprising one or more spatial domain (SD) basis components of the precoder, and a delay codebook comprising one or more delay domain (DD) basis components of the precoder, and one or more non-zero combining coefficients for complex combining of the one or more SD and DD basis vectors, and reporting, to the network node, the one or more CSI reports for the one or more CSI report configurations, wherein each CSI report contains the selected precoding matrix in the form of a precoding matrix identifier, PMI, and a rank identifier, RI, indicating the transmission rank for the RI layers of the precoding matrix, and wherein each CSI report comprises two parts: CSI part 1 and CSI part 2, wherein CSI part 1 has a fixed payload size and comprises information indicating the size of the payload of CSI part 2 (i.e. an indication here), wherein CSI part 2 comprises at least the amplitude and phase information of the selected non-zero combining coefficients of the CSI report, and wherein a portion, or the entirety, of CSI part 2 is available for omission from the CSI report; further see [0015]… Moreover, the CSI payload is portioned into two parts: CSI part 1 and CSI part 2. The CSI part 1 contains the RI and an indicator that indicates the size of CSI part 2. The size of CSI part 1 is fixed, whereas the size of CSI part 2 varies depending on the determined RI by the UE and some other factors. Since the gNB needs to know CSI part 1 in order to decode CSI part 2, UCI omission is only performed on CSI part 2 (i.e. part 1 functions as an in-payload instruction governing interpretation of the rest of the report); further see [0101] When the UE drops a CSI subgroup, the CSI content of the remaining CSI subgroup(s) with higher priority should allow the gNB to partly reconstruct the CSI matrix for the RI layers indicated in the CSI report. To do this, the gNB requires the knowledge of the SD and DD basis indices associated with the strongest combining coefficient per layer. This information can be obtained from the bitmaps and the SCIs for the RI layers. In order to interpret the SCI(s) (i.e. strongest coefficient indicator) in a correct way, the first joint CSI subgroup or the first CSI subgroup associated with a single CSI report shall contain at least the fraction of the bitmaps and the information of the combining coefficients associated with the DD basis vector index of the SCI for the RI layers; further see [0121] When the UE is enforced to perform a cyclic shift operation on the selected combining coefficients and the selected DD basis vectors per layer with respect to the DD basis vector index that is associated with the SCI, after the cyclic shift operation only the part of the bitmap which is associated with all SD basis vectors and the first DD basis vector, DD basis vector index 0, is required for each of the RI layers to identify the SD and DD basis indices associated with the strongest combining coefficient. In order to interpret the SCI(s) in a correct way, the first CSI subgroup should contain the fraction of the bitmap and the information of the combining coefficients associated with the DD basis vector index 0 (i.e. the SCI (part of part 1/early payload) must be read correctly to know which bits of part 2mean what) (i.e. also discussed above regarding since omission (dropping) changes which part 2 bits are present/what they represent , but part 1 size- indicator field stays fixed, the gNB must reinterpret part 2’scontent region based on that indicator each time).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Marcus with the teachings of Tim to make system more reliable and effective. Having a mechanism wherein the channel state report includes an indication to the base station to reinterpret a payload of the channel state report according to updated settings of the channel state report setting; more reliable way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 15, Tim in view of Marcus teaches as per claim 1, wherein indication comprise a bit in the channel state report, wherein transmitting the request comprises:
transmitting, with the channel state report, a bit in addition to a payload of the channel state report, the bit indicating the request; Tim see [0194]… network may configure the UE to send particular CSI information in the form of periodic reports and more detailed reports are sent following a request from the UE. The UE request to send CSI is signalled using the PUCCH channel by means of an additional bit field (e.g. 1 bit); further see Marcus [0015, 0101, 0121].
Regarding claim 16, Tim in view of Marcus teaches as per claim 15, Tim teaches wherein transmitting the channel state report comprises:
indicating, via one or more bits associated with the payload of the channel state report, the additional reporting quantity for the channel state report or the one or more parameters of the channel state report; Tim see [0194]… network may configure the UE to send particular CSI information in the form of periodic reports and more detailed reports are sent following a request from the UE. The UE request to send CSI is signalled using the PUCCH channel by means of an additional bit field (e.g. 1 bit); further see [0166] In terms of the specific signalling to be used in LTE, there are various options for explicit signalling of a UE-initiated CSI report request: (a) existing CSI message structure on PUCCH or PUSCH [0167] using reserved values [0168] replacing existing bits [0169] extending with additional bit(s)..; further see [0179].. the network is likely to want to control resources for CSI feedback (and downlink resources for data transmission), an additional useful feature is for the network to configure the UE with some limits on the changes it is allowed to request; now refer to [0180].. The contents of a UE triggered CSI report may depend on factors triggering the request for a CSI report. For example, if a CSI report is triggered by a change in the channel for one cell, the resulting CSI report could contain only the CSI information for that cell. If the CSI report is changed for some other reason, such as UE status or power supply, then CSI may be reported for all the cells for which CSI measurements are available. In general, recent CSI measurements may not be available for some cells (e.g. if CSI-RS symbols have not been transmitted recently on those cells). The information on which cells the CSI report covers can be included in the CSI report itself (e.g. as a bitmap); further see Marcus [0015, 0101, 0121].
Regarding claim 17, Tim in view of Marcus teaches as per claim 15, wherein transmitting the channel state report comprises:
indicating, via one or more bits in addition to the payload of the channel state report, the additional reporting quantity for the channel state report or the one or more parameters of the channel state report;Tim see [0194]… network may configure the UE to send particular CSI information in the form of periodic reports and more detailed reports are sent following a request from the UE. The UE request to send CSI is signalled using the PUCCH channel by means of an additional bit field (e.g. 1 bit); further see [0166] In terms of the specific signalling to be used in LTE, there are various options for explicit signalling of a UE-initiated CSI report request: (a) existing CSI message structure on PUCCH or PUSCH [0167] using reserved values [0168] replacing existing bits [0169] extending with additional bit(s)..; further see [0179].. the network is likely to want to control resources for CSI feedback (and downlink resources for data transmission), an additional useful feature is for the network to configure the UE with some limits on the changes it is allowed to request; now refer to [0180].. The contents of a UE triggered CSI report may depend on factors triggering the request for a CSI report. For example, if a CSI report is triggered by a change in the channel for one cell, the resulting CSI report could contain only the CSI information for that cell. If the CSI report is changed for some other reason, such as UE status or power supply, then CSI may be reported for all the cells for which CSI measurements are available. In general, recent CSI measurements may not be available for some cells (e.g. if CSI-RS symbols have not been transmitted recently on those cells). The information on which cells the CSI report covers can be included in the CSI report itself (e.g. as a bitmap).
Regarding claim 20, Tim in view of Marcus teaches as per claim 1, wherein Tim teaches about the configuration for the channel state report setting comprises a set of scheduled channel state reports, and wherein transmitting the request comprises: transmitting a message requesting a second channel state report in addition to the set of scheduled channel state reports; see [0054] The user equipment-initiated channel state message may comprise one or more of: [0055] a CSI report; [0056] a request to send a CSI report; [0057] a request for a change in a rate of CSI reports; [0058] a request for a change in a mode of CSI reporting; [0059] a request for a change in transmission mode between the user equipment and the network; further see [0123] in above context .. As part of its conventional operation, the UE may send a periodic CSI report as shown. In addition, or alternatively, though not illustrated, the network may command the UE to send an aperiodic CSI report at any time…..; further see [0186] a preferred version of the first embodiment the network may respond to the UE CSI request by commanding an aperiodic CSI report (i.e. second channel state report) using the PDCCH. In other versions of this embodiment the transmission resources for the CSI report could be defined according to any of the other methods described above (e.g. in sections 3.2 and 3.3). Again, use of a particular mechanism may be configured by the network (e.g. by RRC signalling). In some variations of this embodiment there may be no explicit response from the network.
Regarding claim 21, Tim in view of Marcus teaches as per claim 1, wherein teaches about:
transmitting the request comprises transmitting a message requesting to change the one or more parameters; see [0054] The user equipment-initiated channel state message may comprise one or more of: [0055] a CSI report; [0056] a request to send a CSI report; [0057] a request for a change in a rate of CSI reports; [0058] a request for a change in a mode of CSI reporting; [0059] a request for a change in transmission mode between the user equipment and the network; further see [0123] in above context .. As part of its conventional operation, the UE may send a periodic CSI report as shown. In addition, or alternatively, though not illustrated, the network may command the UE to send an aperiodic CSI report at any time…..; further see [0186] a preferred version of the first embodiment the network may respond to the UE CSI request by commanding an aperiodic CSI report (i.e. second channel state report) using the PDCCH. In other versions of this embodiment the transmission resources for the CSI report could be defined according to any of the other methods described above (e.g. in sections 3.2 and 3.3)., and
the one or more parameters comprise a number of channel state information reference signal resources associated with the channel state report setting or a number of synchronization signal block resources associated with the channel state report setting; see [0080] the method may involve the step of the user equipment requesting resources from the network for sending the user equipment-initiated channel state message, the network making resources available in response to such a request; further see [0158, 0159, 0163- 0165].
Regarding claim 23, Tim in view of Marcus teaches as per claim 1, wherein the additional reporting quantity comprises a synchronization signal block index reference signal received power, a synchronization signal block index signal to interference and noise ratio, a channel state information resource indicator reference signal received power, or a channel state information resource indicator signal to interference and noise ratio; Tim see [0042] SINR; further see [0051] the user equipment judging a need for a user equipment-initiated channel state message based at least partly on information not available to the network; now see [0060 -0063]. The judging step may be based on a change in channel state of the downlink observed by the user equipment. In that case the judging step preferably employs one or more of the following criteria as determined by the user equipment: [0061] channel matrix; [0062] channel spatial structure [0063] signal to interference ratio, SIR, signal to noise ratio, SNR, or signal to interference plus noise, SINR.
Regarding claim 24, Tim teaches a method for wireless communications at a base station, comprising (see Fig. 9 UE as a user equipment and network represent base station here):
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration for a channel state report setting (see [0085] …where the user equipment-initiated channel state message is a CSI report, this can be in addition to any CSI report requested of the user equipment by the network. In other words the user equipment-initiated report can augment existing network-commanded CSI reports already provided for in the system; further see [0123] and Fig. 9.. The process begins, as shown, with the network making available some resource for the novel UE-initiated CSI report. This need not be an explicit provision of resource, as explained below……),
wherein the configuration for the channel state report setting is associated with a number of bits (in context with [0161] (Periodic PUCCH allocation, with the conventional periodic CSI report either replaced by, or in addition to, the UE-triggered CSI report of the invention) please refer to [0167- 169] (a) existing CSI message structure on PUCCH or PUSCH [0167] using reserved values [0168] replacing existing bits [0169] extending with additional bit(s));
receiving, from the UE, a request for an additional reporting quantity for the channel state report setting or to change one or more parameters of the channel state report setting (see [0054] The user equipment-initiated channel state message may comprise one or more of: [0055] a CSI report; [0056] a request to send a CSI report; [0057] a request for a change in a rate of CSI reports; [0058] a request for a change in a mode of CSI reporting; [0059] a request for a change in transmission mode between the user equipment and the network; further see [0123] in above context .. As part of its conventional operation, the UE may send a periodic CSI report as shown. In addition, or alternatively, though not illustrated, the network may command the UE to send an aperiodic CSI report at any time…..); and
receiving, from the UE, a channel state report using the number of bits based at least in part on the configuration and the request (as stated above in context with [0161] (Periodic PUCCH allocation, with the conventional periodic CSI report either replaced by, or in addition to, the UE-triggered CSI report of the invention) please refer to [0167- 169] (a) existing CSI message structure on PUCCH or PUSCH [0167] using reserved values [0168] replacing existing bits [0169] extending with additional bit(s); now refer to [0085]…where the user equipment-initiated channel state message is a CSI report, this can be in addition to any CSI report requested of the user equipment by the network. In other words the user equipment-initiated report can augment existing network-commanded CSI reports already provided for in the system; further refer to [0086] Alternatively, the CSI report is instead of a CSI report requested of the user equipment by the network. This allows uplink resources to be freed since possibly unnecessary CSI reports (in instances where the channel state etc. has not changed significantly) can be dispensed with; further refer to [0183]… in consideration of defined criteria, the UE determines the need to transmit at least one CSI report. This would be additional to or instead of one of any reports already configured by the network. Further, the UE signals to its serving eNodeB a request to transmit a CSI report. On receiving a positive response, the UE transmits the CSI report using the desired resources).
But Tim is silent about wherein the channel state report includes an indication to the base station to reinterpret a payload of the channel state report according to updated settings of the channel state report setting.
However Marcus teaches the limitations about wherein the channel state report includes an indication to the base station to reinterpret a payload of the channel state report according to updated settings of the channel state report setting; see Abstract… determining (i.e. by UE), for each CSI report configuration, a precoding matrix based on an estimated channel matrix and two codebooks, the two codebooks including a spatial codebook comprising one or more spatial domain (SD) basis components of the precoder, and a delay codebook comprising one or more delay domain (DD) basis components of the precoder, and one or more non-zero combining coefficients for complex combining of the one or more SD and DD basis vectors, and reporting, to the network node, the one or more CSI reports for the one or more CSI report configurations, wherein each CSI report contains the selected precoding matrix in the form of a precoding matrix identifier, PMI, and a rank identifier, RI, indicating the transmission rank for the RI layers of the precoding matrix, and wherein each CSI report comprises two parts: CSI part 1 and CSI part 2, wherein CSI part 1 has a fixed payload size and comprises information indicating the size of the payload of CSI part 2 (i.e. an indication here), wherein CSI part 2 comprises at least the amplitude and phase information of the selected non-zero combining coefficients of the CSI report, and wherein a portion, or the entirety, of CSI part 2 is available for omission from the CSI report; further see [0015]… Moreover, the CSI payload is portioned into two parts: CSI part 1 and CSI part 2. The CSI part 1 contains the RI and an indicator that indicates the size of CSI part 2. The size of CSI part 1 is fixed, whereas the size of CSI part 2 varies depending on the determined RI by the UE and some other factors. Since the gNB needs to know CSI part 1 in order to decode CSI part 2, UCI omission is only performed on CSI part 2 (i.e. part 1 functions as an in-payload instruction governing interpretation of the rest of the report); further see [0101] When the UE drops a CSI subgroup, the CSI content of the remaining CSI subgroup(s) with higher priority should allow the gNB to partly reconstruct the CSI matrix for the RI layers indicated in the CSI report. To do this, the gNB requires the knowledge of the SD and DD basis indices associated with the strongest combining coefficient per layer. This information can be obtained from the bitmaps and the SCIs for the RI layers. In order to interpret the SCI(s) (i.e. strongest coefficient indicator) in a correct way, the first joint CSI subgroup or the first CSI subgroup associated with a single CSI report shall contain at least the fraction of the bitmaps and the information of the combining coefficients associated with the DD basis vector index of the SCI for the RI layers; further see [0121] When the UE is enforced to perform a cyclic shift operation on the selected combining coefficients and the selected DD basis vectors per layer with respect to the DD basis vector index that is associated with the SCI, after the cyclic shift operation only the part of the bitmap which is associated with all SD basis vectors and the first DD basis vector, DD basis vector index 0, is required for each of the RI layers to identify the SD and DD basis indices associated with the strongest combining coefficient. In order to interpret the SCI(s) in a correct way, the first CSI subgroup should contain the fraction of the bitmap and the information of the combining coefficients associated with the DD basis vector index 0 (i.e. the SCI (part of part 1/early payload) must be read correctly to know which bits of part 2mean what) (i.e. also discussed above regarding since omission (dropping) changes which part 2 bits are present/what they represent , but part 1 size- indicator field stays fixed, the gNB must reinterpret part 2’scontent region based on that indicator each time).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Marcus with the teachings of Tim to make system more reliable and effective. Having a mechanism wherein the channel state report includes an indication to the base station to reinterpret a payload of the channel state report according to updated settings of the channel state report setting; more reliable way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 29, Tim teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to (UE) (see Fig. 9 UE as a user equipment and network represent base station here):
receive, from a base station, a configuration for a channel state report setting (see [0085] …where the user equipment-initiated channel state message is a CSI report, this can be in addition to any CSI report requested of the user equipment by the network. In other words the user equipment-initiated report can augment existing network-commanded CSI reports already provided for in the system; further see [0123] and Fig. 9.. The process begins, as shown, with the network making available some resource for the novel UE-initiated CSI report. This need not be an explicit provision of resource, as explained below……),
wherein the configuration for the channel state report setting is associated with a number of bits (in context with [0161] (Periodic PUCCH allocation, with the conventional periodic CSI report either replaced by, or in addition to, the UE-triggered CSI report of the invention) please refer to [0167- 169] (a) existing CSI message structure on PUCCH or PUSCH [0167] using reserved values [0168] replacing existing bits [0169] extending with additional bit(s));
transmit, to the base station, a request for an additional reporting quantity for the channel state report setting or to change one or more parameters of the channel state report setting (see [0054] The user equipment-initiated channel state message may comprise one or more of: [0055] a CSI report; [0056] a request to send a CSI report; [0057] a request for a change in a rate of CSI reports; [0058] a request for a change in a mode of CSI reporting; [0059] a request for a change in transmission mode between the user equipment and the network; further see [0123] in above context .. As part of its conventional operation, the UE may send a periodic CSI report as shown. In addition, or alternatively, though not illustrated, the network may command the UE to send an aperiodic CSI report at any time…..); and
transmit, to the base station, a channel state report using the number of bits based at least in part on the configuration and the request (as stated above in context with [0161] (Periodic PUCCH allocation, with the conventional periodic CSI report either replaced by, or in addition to, the UE-triggered CSI report of the invention) please refer to [0167- 169] (a) existing CSI message structure on PUCCH or PUSCH [0167] using reserved values [0168] replacing existing bits [0169] extending with additional bit(s); now refer to [0085]…where the user equipment-initiated channel state message is a CSI report, this can be in addition to any CSI report requested of the user equipment by the network. In other words the user equipment-initiated report can augment existing network-commanded CSI reports already provided for in the system; further refer to [0086] Alternatively, the CSI report is instead of a CSI report requested of the user equipment by the network. This allows uplink resources to be freed since possibly unnecessary CSI reports (in instances where the channel state etc. has not changed significantly) can be dispensed with; further refer to [0183]… in consideration of defined criteria, the UE determines the need to transmit at least one CSI report. This would be additional to or instead of one of any reports already configured by the network. Further, the UE signals to its serving eNodeB a request to transmit a CSI report. On receiving a positive response, the UE transmits the CSI report using the desired resources).
But Tim is silent about wherein the channel state report includes an indication to the base station to reinterpret a payload of the channel state report according to updated settings of the channel state report setting.
However Marcus teaches the limitations about wherein the channel state report includes an indication to the base station to reinterpret a payload of the channel state report according to updated settings of the channel state report setting; see Abstract… determining (i.e. by UE), for each CSI report configuration, a precoding matrix based on an estimated channel matrix and two codebooks, the two codebooks including a spatial codebook comprising one or more spatial domain (SD) basis components of the precoder, and a delay codebook comprising one or more delay domain (DD) basis components of the precoder, and one or more non-zero combining coefficients for complex combining of the one or more SD and DD basis vectors, and reporting, to the network node, the one or more CSI reports for the one or more CSI report configurations, wherein each CSI report contains the selected precoding matrix in the form of a precoding matrix identifier, PMI, and a rank identifier, RI, indicating the transmission rank for the RI layers of the precoding matrix, and wherein each CSI report comprises two parts: CSI part 1 and CSI part 2, wherein CSI part 1 has a fixed payload size and comprises information indicating the size of the payload of CSI part 2 (i.e. an indication here), wherein CSI part 2 comprises at least the amplitude and phase information of the selected non-zero combining coefficients of the CSI report, and wherein a portion, or the entirety, of CSI part 2 is available for omission from the CSI report; further see [0015]… Moreover, the CSI payload is portioned into two parts: CSI part 1 and CSI part 2. The CSI part 1 contains the RI and an indicator that indicates the size of CSI part 2. The size of CSI part 1 is fixed, whereas the size of CSI part 2 varies depending on the determined RI by the UE and some other factors. Since the gNB needs to know CSI part 1 in order to decode CSI part 2, UCI omission is only performed on CSI part 2 (i.e. part 1 functions as an in-payload instruction governing interpretation of the rest of the report); further see [0101] When the UE drops a CSI subgroup, the CSI content of the remaining CSI subgroup(s) with higher priority should allow the gNB to partly reconstruct the CSI matrix for the RI layers indicated in the CSI report. To do this, the gNB requires the knowledge of the SD and DD basis indices associated with the strongest combining coefficient per layer. This information can be obtained from the bitmaps and the SCIs for the RI layers. In order to interpret the SCI(s) (i.e. strongest coefficient indicator) in a correct way, the first joint CSI subgroup or the first CSI subgroup associated with a single CSI report shall contain at least the fraction of the bitmaps and the information of the combining coefficients associated with the DD basis vector index of the SCI for the RI layers; further see [0121] When the UE is enforced to perform a cyclic shift operation on the selected combining coefficients and the selected DD basis vectors per layer with respect to the DD basis vector index that is associated with the SCI, after the cyclic shift operation only the part of the bitmap which is associated with all SD basis vectors and the first DD basis vector, DD basis vector index 0, is required for each of the RI layers to identify the SD and DD basis indices associated with the strongest combining coefficient. In order to interpret the SCI(s) in a correct way, the first CSI subgroup should contain the fraction of the bitmap and the information of the combining coefficients associated with the DD basis vector index 0 (i.e. the SCI (part of part 1/early payload) must be read correctly to know which bits of part 2mean what) (i.e. also discussed above regarding since omission (dropping) changes which part 2 bits are present/what they represent , but part 1 size- indicator field stays fixed, the gNB must reinterpret part 2’scontent region based on that indicator each time).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Marcus with the teachings of Tim to make system more reliable and effective. Having a mechanism wherein the channel state report includes an indication to the base station to reinterpret a payload of the channel state report according to updated settings of the channel state report setting; more reliable way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 30, Tim teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a base station, comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to (see Fig. 9 UE as a user equipment and network represent base station here):
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration for a channel state report setting (see [0085] …where the user equipment-initiated channel state message is a CSI report, this can be in addition to any CSI report requested of the user equipment by the network. In other words the user equipment-initiated report can augment existing network-commanded CSI reports already provided for in the system; further see [0123] and Fig. 9.. The process begins, as shown, with the network making available some resource for the novel UE-initiated CSI report. This need not be an explicit provision of resource, as explained below……),
wherein the configuration for the channel state report setting is associated with a number of bits (in context with [0161] (Periodic PUCCH allocation, with the conventional periodic CSI report either replaced by, or in addition to, the UE-triggered CSI report of the invention) please refer to [0167- 169] (a) existing CSI message structure on PUCCH or PUSCH [0167] using reserved values [0168] replacing existing bits [0169] extending with additional bit(s));
receive, from the UE, a request for an additional reporting quantity for the channel state report setting or to change one or more parameters of the channel state report setting (see [0054] The user equipment-initiated channel state message may comprise one or more of: [0055] a CSI report; [0056] a request to send a CSI report; [0057] a request for a change in a rate of CSI reports; [0058] a request for a change in a mode of CSI reporting; [0059] a request for a change in transmission mode between the user equipment and the network; further see [0123] in above context .. As part of its conventional operation, the UE may send a periodic CSI report as shown. In addition, or alternatively, though not illustrated, the network may command the UE to send an aperiodic CSI report at any time…..); and
receive, from the UE, a channel state report using the number of bits based at least in part on the configuration and the request (as stated above in context with [0161] (Periodic PUCCH allocation, with the conventional periodic CSI report either replaced by, or in addition to, the UE-triggered CSI report of the invention) please refer to [0167- 169] (a) existing CSI message structure on PUCCH or PUSCH [0167] using reserved values [0168] replacing existing bits [0169] extending with additional bit(s); now refer to [0085]…where the user equipment-initiated channel state message is a CSI report, this can be in addition to any CSI report requested of the user equipment by the network. In other words the user equipment-initiated report can augment existing network-commanded CSI reports already provided for in the system; further refer to [0086] Alternatively, the CSI report is instead of a CSI report requested of the user equipment by the network. This allows uplink resources to be freed since possibly unnecessary CSI reports (in instances where the channel state etc. has not changed significantly) can be dispensed with; further refer to [0183]… in consideration of defined criteria, the UE determines the need to transmit at least one CSI report. This would be additional to or instead of one of any reports already configured by the network. Further, the UE signals to its serving eNodeB a request to transmit a CSI report. On receiving a positive response, the UE transmits the CSI report using the desired resources).
But Tim is silent about wherein the channel state report includes an indication to the base station to reinterpret a payload of the channel state report according to updated settings of the channel state report setting.
However Marcus teaches the limitations about wherein the channel state report includes an indication to the base station to reinterpret a payload of the channel state report according to updated settings of the channel state report setting; see Abstract… determining (i.e. by UE), for each CSI report configuration, a precoding matrix based on an estimated channel matrix and two codebooks, the two codebooks including a spatial codebook comprising one or more spatial domain (SD) basis components of the precoder, and a delay codebook comprising one or more delay domain (DD) basis components of the precoder, and one or more non-zero combining coefficients for complex combining of the one or more SD and DD basis vectors, and reporting, to the network node, the one or more CSI reports for the one or more CSI report configurations, wherein each CSI report contains the selected precoding matrix in the form of a precoding matrix identifier, PMI, and a rank identifier, RI, indicating the transmission rank for the RI layers of the precoding matrix, and wherein each CSI report comprises two parts: CSI part 1 and CSI part 2, wherein CSI part 1 has a fixed payload size and comprises information indicating the size of the payload of CSI part 2 (i.e. an indication here), wherein CSI part 2 comprises at least the amplitude and phase information of the selected non-zero combining coefficients of the CSI report, and wherein a portion, or the entirety, of CSI part 2 is available for omission from the CSI report; further see [0015]… Moreover, the CSI payload is portioned into two parts: CSI part 1 and CSI part 2. The CSI part 1 contains the RI and an indicator that indicates the size of CSI part 2. The size of CSI part 1 is fixed, whereas the size of CSI part 2 varies depending on the determined RI by the UE and some other factors. Since the gNB needs to know CSI part 1 in order to decode CSI part 2, UCI omission is only performed on CSI part 2 (i.e. part 1 functions as an in-payload instruction governing interpretation of the rest of the report); further see [0101] When the UE drops a CSI subgroup, the CSI content of the remaining CSI subgroup(s) with higher priority should allow the gNB to partly reconstruct the CSI matrix for the RI layers indicated in the CSI report. To do this, the gNB requires the knowledge of the SD and DD basis indices associated with the strongest combining coefficient per layer. This information can be obtained from the bitmaps and the SCIs for the RI layers. In order to interpret the SCI(s) (i.e. strongest coefficient indicator) in a correct way, the first joint CSI subgroup or the first CSI subgroup associated with a single CSI report shall contain at least the fraction of the bitmaps and the information of the combining coefficients associated with the DD basis vector index of the SCI for the RI layers; further see [0121] When the UE is enforced to perform a cyclic shift operation on the selected combining coefficients and the selected DD basis vectors per layer with respect to the DD basis vector index that is associated with the SCI, after the cyclic shift operation only the part of the bitmap which is associated with all SD basis vectors and the first DD basis vector, DD basis vector index 0, is required for each of the RI layers to identify the SD and DD basis indices associated with the strongest combining coefficient. In order to interpret the SCI(s) in a correct way, the first CSI subgroup should contain the fraction of the bitmap and the information of the combining coefficients associated with the DD basis vector index 0 (i.e. the SCI (part of part 1/early payload) must be read correctly to know which bits of part 2mean what) (i.e. also discussed above regarding since omission (dropping) changes which part 2 bits are present/what they represent , but part 1 size- indicator field stays fixed, the gNB must reinterpret part 2’scontent region based on that indicator each time).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Marcus with the teachings of Tim to make system more reliable and effective. Having a mechanism wherein the channel state report includes an indication to the base station to reinterpret a payload of the channel state report according to updated settings of the channel state report setting; more reliable way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 2, 4, 25, 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moulsley et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0148611 A1), hereafter Tim in view of Marcus et al. (EP 4443754 A1) and in further view of Faxer et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0136682 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Tim in view of Marcus teaches as per claim 1, wherein transmitting the channel state report comprises:
transmitting, with the channel state report, a code point of a set of code points of a beam report, the code point indicating use of the additional reporting quantity for the channel state report setting or one or more changed parameters of the channel state report setting; see [0042]… The channel state information is often detailed, and often includes measurements of one or more of channel state/statistical information, narrow band Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (SINR), etc. The channel state information may also include measurements relating to channel spatial structure and other channel-related parameters including the UE's preferred transmission rank and precoding matrix.; now refer in context with [0051] to [0060- 0069] regarding judging criteria ( i.e. the user equipment judging a need for a user equipment-initiated channel state message based at least partly on information not available to the network) see [0060] The judging step may be based on a change in channel state of the downlink observed by the user equipment. In that case the judging step preferably employs one or more of the following criteria as determined by the user equipment: [0061] channel matrix; [0062] channel spatial structure [0063] signal to interference ratio, SIR, signal to noise ratio, SNR, or signal to interference plus noise, SINR [0064] transmission rank preferred by the user equipment [0065] transmission mode preferred by the user equipment; [0066] preferred precoding matrix of the user equipment; [0067] expected data rate; [0068] rate of change of channel state; and/or [0069] function of channel state at two or more points in time; further see [0147].. the significance of transmission rank in this context, the achievable data rate is typically a function of the channel conditions (i.e. numbers of transmit and receive antennas, channel matrix and SINR--signal to interference plus noise). A limited set of possible transmit precoder matrices (i.e. beamformers) include precoders with different transmission ranks. In a given set of channel conditions, each precoder will give a particular data rate, and will have a corresponding transmission rank. Therefore selecting the precoder estimated to give the highest data rate will also lead to a recommended transmission rank. In practice the transmission rank tends to be correlated with the SINR.
But Tim is silent about wherein the indication comprises a code point of a set of code points of a beam report; however Faxer teaches in Fig. 12 A regarding a procedure by which the second node 14 (i.e. UE here) reports a rank indicator and a beam count indicator in a first transmission (step 300A) and reports a cophasing indicator in a second transmission (step 302A). In some embodiments, both of these transmissions are sent on the same uplink control channel. In some embodiments, these transmissions are sent on a channel that is acting as a control channel. In some embodiments, the second node 14 determines a number of beams L used to construct the multi-beam CSI report (step 304A). The second node 14 then determines a beam indicator for an I.sup.th beam, the beam indicator identifying the index of a beam of the multi-beam CSI report if L is at least l, and otherwise identifying that L is less than l (step 306A); see [0156]; further see [0233] reporting (300A) a rank indicator and a beam count indicator in a first transmission on an uplink control channel; and further see [0234] reporting (302A) a cophasing indicator in a second transmission on the uplink control channel, the cophasing indicator identifying a selected entry of a codebook of cophasing coefficients wherein the number of bits in the cophasing indicator is identified by at least one of the beam count indicator and the rank indicator (i.e. these indicators are indices/entries in a codebook i.e. code points drawn from a set of possible beam indices and cophasing codebook entries that collectively form the beam report, thus the “indication” means here beam indicator/cophasing indicator which comprises a code point of the beam report). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Faxer with the teachings of Tim in view of Marcus to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the indication comprises a code point of a set of code points of a beam report; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 4, Tim in view of Marcus and Faxer teaches as per claim 2, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, a message indicating a request configuration, wherein the request configuration comprises an indication of the code point for indicating use of the additional reporting quantity for the channel state report setting or the one or more changed parameters of the channel state report setting; in context with [0161] (Periodic PUCCH allocation, with the conventional periodic CSI report either replaced by, or in addition to, the UE-triggered CSI report of the invention) please refer to [0167- 169] (a) existing CSI message structure on PUCCH or PUSCH [0167] using reserved values [0168] replacing existing bits [0169] extending with additional bit(s) (b) MAC message (c) RACH.
Regarding claim 25, Tim teaches as per claim 24, wherein receiving the request comprises: receiving, with the channel state report, a code point of a set of code points of a beam report, indicating use of the additional reporting quantity for the channel state report setting or one or more changed parameters of the channel state report setting; see [0042]… The channel state information is often detailed, and often includes measurements of one or more of channel state/statistical information, narrow band Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (SINR), etc. The channel state information may also include measurements relating to channel spatial structure and other channel-related parameters including the UE's preferred transmission rank and precoding matrix.; now refer in context with [0051] to [0060- 0069] regarding judging criteria ( i.e. the user equipment judging a need for a user equipment-initiated channel state message based at least partly on information not available to the network) see [0060] The judging step may be based on a change in channel state of the downlink observed by the user equipment. In that case the judging step preferably employs one or more of the following criteria as determined by the user equipment: [0061] channel matrix; [0062] channel spatial structure [0063] signal to interference ratio, SIR, signal to noise ratio, SNR, or signal to interference plus noise, SINR [0064] transmission rank preferred by the user equipment [0065] transmission mode preferred by the user equipment; [0066] preferred precoding matrix of the user equipment; [0067] expected data rate; [0068] rate of change of channel state; and/or [0069] function of channel state at two or more points in time; further see [0147].. the significance of transmission rank in this context, the achievable data rate is typically a function of the channel conditions (i.e. numbers of transmit and receive antennas, channel matrix and SINR--signal to interference plus noise). A limited set of possible transmit precoder matrices (i.e. beamformers) include precoders with different transmission ranks. In a given set of channel conditions, each precoder will give a particular data rate, and will have a corresponding transmission rank. Therefore selecting the precoder estimated to give the highest data rate will also lead to a recommended transmission rank. In practice the transmission rank tends to be correlated with the SINR.
But Tim is silent about wherein the indication comprises a code point of a set of code points of a beam report; however Faxer teaches in Fig. 12 A regarding a procedure by which the second node 14 (i.e. UE here) reports a rank indicator and a beam count indicator in a first transmission (step 300A) and reports a cophasing indicator in a second transmission (step 302A). In some embodiments, both of these transmissions are sent on the same uplink control channel. In some embodiments, these transmissions are sent on a channel that is acting as a control channel. In some embodiments, the second node 14 determines a number of beams L used to construct the multi-beam CSI report (step 304A). The second node 14 then determines a beam indicator for an I.sup.th beam, the beam indicator identifying the index of a beam of the multi-beam CSI report if L is at least l, and otherwise identifying that L is less than l (step 306A); see [0156]; further see [0233] reporting (300A) a rank indicator and a beam count indicator in a first transmission on an uplink control channel; and further see [0234] reporting (302A) a cophasing indicator in a second transmission on the uplink control channel, the cophasing indicator identifying a selected entry of a codebook of cophasing coefficients wherein the number of bits in the cophasing indicator is identified by at least one of the beam count indicator and the rank indicator (i.e. these indicators are indices/entries in a codebook i.e. code points drawn from a set of possible beam indices and cophasing codebook entries that collectively form the beam report, thus the “indication” means here beam indicator/cophasing indicator which comprises a code point of the beam report). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Faxer with the teachings of Tim in view of Marcus to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the indication comprises a code point of a set of code points of a beam report; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 27, Tim in view of Marcus and Faxer teaches as per claim 25, further comprising:
transmitting, to the UE, a message indicating a request configuration, wherein the request configuration comprises an indication of the code point for indicating use of the additional reporting quantity for the channel state report setting or the one or more changed parameters of the channel state report setting; Tim in context with [0161] (Periodic PUCCH allocation, with the conventional periodic CSI report either replaced by, or in addition to, the UE-triggered CSI report of the invention) please refer to [0167- 169] (a) existing CSI message structure on PUCCH or PUSCH [0167] using reserved values [0168] replacing existing bits [0169] extending with additional bit(s) (b) MAC message (c) RACH.
Claim(s) 3, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moulsley et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0148611 A1), hereafter Tim in view of Marcus et al. (EP 4443754 A1) and in further view of Faxer et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0136682 A1) in view of Zhu et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0239429 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Tim in view of Marcus and Faxer teaches as per claim 2, but Tim fails to state about ,wherein a first subset of the set of code points are configured for reporting a layer one reference signal received power of a received beam and a second subset of the set of code points are remaining code points, wherein the remaining code points are invalid for reporting the layer one reference signal received power of the received beam, and wherein transmitting the code point comprises: transmitting the code point that is selected from the second subset of the set of code points; however Zhu states in [0378] reading the receive timing reporting is using reserved or unused code points of an existing CSI parameter (p) to indicate the receive timing reporting. At least one of the following examples can be used for the existing CSI parameter (p); see [0386] In one sub-example, the parameter (p) is a layer 1 RSRP (L1-RSRP); also see claim 6 regarding .. : the channel difference report is reported as a CSI parameter; the channel difference report is jointly reported with another CSI parameter; and the channel difference report is reported via a reserved or unused code point of the other CSI parameter, wherein the other CSI parameter corresponds to at least one of: a RI, a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), a LI, a PMI, a CQI, a layer 1 reference signal receive power (L1-RSRP) and a layer 1 signal to interference plus noise ratio (L1-SINR). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Zhu with the teachings of Tim in view of Marcus and Faxer to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein a first subset of the set of code points are configured for reporting a layer one reference signal received power of a received beam and a second subset of the set of code points are remaining code points, wherein the remaining code points are invalid for reporting the layer one reference signal received power of the received beam, and wherein transmitting the code point comprises: transmitting the code point that is selected from the second subset of the set of code points; greater way resources can be used/managed in the communication system.
Regarding claim 26, Tim in view of Marcus and Faxer teaches as per claim 25, but Tim fails to state about wherein a first subset of the set of code points are configured for reporting a layer one reference signal received power of a received beam and a second subset of the set of code points are remaining code points, wherein the remaining code points are invalid for reporting the layer one reference signal received power of the received beam, and wherein receiving the code point comprises: receiving the code point that is selected from the second subset of the set of code points; however Zhu states in [0378] reading the receive timing reporting is using reserved or unused code points of an existing CSI parameter (p) to indicate the receive timing reporting. At least one of the following examples can be used for the existing CSI parameter (p); see [0386] In one sub-example, the parameter (p) is a layer 1 RSRP (L1-RSRP); also see claim 6 regarding .. : the channel difference report is reported as a CSI parameter; the channel difference report is jointly reported with another CSI parameter; and the channel difference report is reported via a reserved or unused code point of the other CSI parameter, wherein the other CSI parameter corresponds to at least one of: a RI, a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), a LI, a PMI, a CQI, a layer 1 reference signal receive power (L1-RSRP) and a layer 1 signal to interference plus noise ratio (L1-SINR). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Zhu with the teachings of Tim in view of Marcus and Faxer to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein a first subset of the set of code points are configured for reporting a layer one reference signal received power of a received beam and a second subset of the set of code points are remaining code points, wherein the remaining code points are invalid for reporting the layer one reference signal received power of the received beam, and wherein receiving the code point comprises: receiving the code point that is selected from the second subset of the set of code points; greater way resources can be used/managed in the communication system.
Claim(s) 5, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moulsley et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0148611 A1), hereafter Tim in view of Marcus et al. (EP 4443754 A1) and in further view of Faxer et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0136682 A1) in view of Li et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0045729 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Tim in view of Marcus and Faxer teaches as per claim 2, wherein transmitting the request comprises:
transmitting an indication of the additional reporting quantity for the channel state report setting or the one or more changed parameters of the channel state report setting using either a first set of bits for reporting the set of code points or a second set of bits of a payload of the channel state report, where the second set of bits is different from the first set of bits; Tim states (in context with [0161] (Periodic PUCCH allocation, with the conventional periodic CSI report either replaced by, or in addition to, the UE-triggered CSI report of the invention) please refer to [0167- 169] (a) existing CSI message structure on PUCCH or PUSCH [0167] using reserved values [0168] replacing existing bits [0169] extending with additional bit(s) (b) MAC message (c) RACH) regarding sending a request having indication related to additional reporting quantity or changed parameters; but Tim is silent to teach about transmitting using setting using either a first set of bits for reporting the set of code points or a second set of bits of a payload of the channel state report, where the second set of bits is different from the first set of bits; however Li states in claim 1 regarding physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource determination method, comprising: determining a reference bit quantity of channel state information (CSI)-part 2 according to a preset rule; determining a sum of reference bit quantities of an HARQ-ACK/NACK (AN)/scheduling request (SR) and CSI according to the reference bit quantity, wherein the CSI at least comprises: CSI-part 1 and the CSI-part 2; determining a target PUCCH resource set according to the sum of reference bit quantities; further refer for preset rule having five different implementations; see [0051]; refer to fifth implementations see [0083- 0087] wherein .. the bit quantity of AN/SR is 10 bits, it may be determined that the sum of reference bit quantities of AN/SR and CSI=the bit quantity of AN/SR+the bit quantity of CSI-part 1+the reference bit quantity of CSI-part 2=10+10+0=20 bits; see [0087]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Li with the teachings of Tim in view of Marcus and Faxer to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the channel state report setting using either a first set of bits for reporting the set of code points or a second set of bits of a payload of the channel state report, where the second set of bits is different from the first set of bits; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 28, Tim in view of Marcus and Faxer teaches as per claim 25, wherein receiving the request comprises:
receiving an indication of the additional reporting quantity for the channel state report setting or the one or more changed parameters of the channel state report setting using either a first set of bits for reporting the set of code points or a second set of bits of a payload of the channel state report, where the second set of bits is different from the first set of bits; Tim states (in context with [0161] (Periodic PUCCH allocation, with the conventional periodic CSI report either replaced by, or in addition to, the UE-triggered CSI report of the invention) please refer to [0167- 169] (a) existing CSI message structure on PUCCH or PUSCH [0167] using reserved values [0168] replacing existing bits [0169] extending with additional bit(s) (b) MAC message (c) RACH) regarding sending a request having indication related to additional reporting quantity or changed parameters; but Tim is silent to teach about receiving using setting using either a first set of bits for reporting the set of code points or a second set of bits of a payload of the channel state report, where the second set of bits is different from the first set of bits; however Li states in claim 1 regarding physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource determination method, comprising: determining a reference bit quantity of channel state information (CSI)-part 2 according to a preset rule; determining a sum of reference bit quantities of an HARQ-ACK/NACK (AN)/scheduling request (SR) and CSI according to the reference bit quantity, wherein the CSI at least comprises: CSI-part 1 and the CSI-part 2; determining a target PUCCH resource set according to the sum of reference bit quantities; further refer for preset rule having five different implementations; see [0051]; refer to fifth implementations see [0083- 0087] wherein .. the bit quantity of AN/SR is 10 bits, it may be determined that the sum of reference bit quantities of AN/SR and CSI=the bit quantity of AN/SR+the bit quantity of CSI-part 1+the reference bit quantity of CSI-part 2=10+10+0=20 bits; see [0087]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Li with the teachings of Tim in view of Marcus and Faxer to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the channel state report setting using either a first set of bits for reporting the set of code points or a second set of bits of a payload of the channel state report, where the second set of bits is different from the first set of bits; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moulsley et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0148611 A1), hereafter Tim in view of Marcus et al. (EP 4443754 A1) and in further view of Faxer et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0136682 A1) in view of Gao et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0211176 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Tim in view of Marcus and Faxer teaches as per claim 2, but Tim fails to teach about wherein different respective code points in the set of code points of the beam report indicate use of different respective reporting quantities for the channel state report or different respective parameters for the channel state report; however Gao states in [0103] regarding in one interference-aware beam reporting instance, the UE generates a report by prioritizing the information for indicating TR-beam over the information for indicating IR-beam. For example, if a total number of bits for a generated report (e.g., total reporting information related to CMRs and IMRs) exceeds a maximum number of bits for the report, then the UE may drop or exclude at least some information related to IR-beam from the report prior to removing at least some (or any) information related to TR-beam from the report as part of a “dropping rule.” In another example, the information for indicating IR-beam (e.g., the resource index corresponding to IR-beam) is contained in one low-priority part included in the report generated by the UE (e.g., in CSI part-2), but, the information for indicating TR-beam (e.g., the resource index corresponding to TR-beam) is contain in one high-priority part included in the generated report (e.g., in CSI part-1). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Gao with the teachings of Tim in view of Marcus and Faxer to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein different respective code points in the set of code points of the beam report indicate use of different respective reporting quantities for the channel state report or different respective parameters for the channel state report; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Claim(s) 7, 9- 14, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moulsley et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0148611 A1), hereafter Tim in view of Marcus et al. (EP 4443754 A1) and in further view of Faxer et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0136682 A1) in view of Yuki et al. (EP 4380218 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Tim in view of Marcus and Faxer teaches as per claim 2, but Tim fails to teach about wherein the beam report comprises a first report for reporting a strongest beam in terms of either a layer one reference signal received power or a layer one signal to interference and noise ratio, and wherein transmitting the request to the base station comprises: transmitting the request indicating to the base station to interpret a second report for reporting a second strongest beam in terms of either the layer one reference signal received power or the layer one signal to interference and noise ratio as reporting the strongest beam in terms of either the layer one reference signal received power or the layer one signal to interference and noise ratio; however Yuki states in abstract regarding a control section that controls, based on an event related to at least one of a plurality of beams, at least one of first beam reporting (i.e. strongest here) not based on the event and second beam (i.e. second strongest) reporting based on the event; and a transmitting section that transmits, when the second beam reporting is performed, at least one of a random access channel related to first information related to a new candidate beam and a Medium Access Control (MAC) control element including second information related to a new candidate beam. According to one aspect of the present disclosure, it is possible to appropriately perform beam reporting based on an event; now refer to [0083] The UE may determine a beam corresponding to an RS satisfying a certain condition as the new candidate beam. The UE may determine a new candidate beam from among configured NBI-RSs, based on an RS with an L1-RSRP exceeding a threshold value, for example. Note that judgment standards (criteria) are not limited to the L1-RSRP. The L1-RSRP related to an SSB may be referred to as SS-RSRP. The L1-RSRP related to a CSI-RS may be referred to as CSI-RSRP; also refer to [0086] the UE that has identified the new candidate beam transmits a beam recovery request (Beam Failure Recovery reQuest (BFRQ)). The beam recovery request may be referred to as a beam recovery request signal, a beam failure recovery request signal, or the like; further reference please refer to [0156- 0158] under first embodiment. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Yuki with the teachings of Tim in view of Marcus and Faxer to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the beam report comprises a first report for reporting a strongest beam in terms of either a layer one reference signal received power or a layer one signal to interference and noise ratio, and wherein transmitting the request to the base station comprises: transmitting the request indicating to the base station to interpret a second report for reporting a second strongest beam in terms of either the layer one reference signal received power or the layer one signal to interference and noise ratio as reporting the strongest beam in terms of either the layer one reference signal received power or the layer one signal to interference and noise ratio; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 9, Tim in view of Marcus and Faxer and Yuki teaches as per claim 7, further comprising:
transmitting, with the channel state report, the second report, wherein the second report indicates, based at least in part on the request, to interpret a previous strongest beam indicated by a previous first beam report in a previous channel state report as the strongest beam; Yuki see [0068- 0069] Using the beam forming is susceptible to interference from an obstruction, and thus it is assumed that radio link quality deteriorates. Due to deterioration of the radio link quality, radio link failure (RLF) may occur frequently. Occurrence of the RLF requires reconnection of a cell, and thus frequent occurrence of the RLF causes deterioration of system throughput. In NR, in order to suppress occurrence of the RLF, a procedure for switching to another beam (which may be referred to as beam recovery (BR), beam failure recovery (BFR), L1/L2 (Layer 1/Layer 2) beam recovery, or the like) in a case where quality of a specific beam deteriorates. Note that the BFR procedure may be referred to simply as BFR; further see [0074] due to radio waves from the base station being interfered, the UE fails to detect a BFD-RS (or reception quality of an RS deteriorates). Such interference may occur due to an influence of an obstacle, fading, interference, or the like between the UE and the base station, for example…further see [0076].. Note that judgment standards (criteria) are not limited to the BLER, and may be reference signal received power in the physical layer (Layer 1 Reference Signal Received Power (L1-RSRP))….; now refer to [0082] step S103, for beam recovery, the UE starts a search for a new candidate beam for use in new communication. The UE may select, by measuring a certain RS, the new candidate beam corresponding to the RS. The RS measured at step S103 may be referred to as a new candidate RS, an RS for new candidate beam identification, an NCBI-RS (New Candidate Beam Identification RS), an RS for new beam identification, a new beam identification RS, an NBI-RS, a CBI-RS (Candidate Beam Identification RS), a CB-RS (Candidate Beam RS), and the like. The NBI-RS may be the same as the BFD-RS, or may be different from the BFD-RS. Note that the new candidate beam may be referred to simply as a candidate beam or a candidate RS; further see [0086] regarding transmitting new candidate beam (i.e. reporting strongest beam)…; now refer to [0157- 0158] event based reporting regarding a serving beam deteriorates (i.e. which was strongest previously) to be smaller than a specific threshold value (which may be referred to as event A2, for example)
Regarding claim 10, Tim in view of Marcus and Faxer and Yuki teaches as per claim 7, further comprising:
transmitting, with the channel state report, the second report, wherein the second report indicates, based at least in part on the request, to interpret the first report as reporting the strongest beam according to an updated reporting configuration; Yuki see [0068- 0069] Using the beam forming is susceptible to interference from an obstruction, and thus it is assumed that radio link quality deteriorates. Due to deterioration of the radio link quality, radio link failure (RLF) may occur frequently. Occurrence of the RLF requires reconnection of a cell, and thus frequent occurrence of the RLF causes deterioration of system throughput. In NR, in order to suppress occurrence of the RLF, a procedure for switching to another beam (which may be referred to as beam recovery (BR), beam failure recovery (BFR), L1/L2 (Layer 1/Layer 2) beam recovery, or the like) in a case where quality of a specific beam deteriorates. Note that the BFR procedure may be referred to simply as BFR; further see [0074] due to radio waves from the base station being interfered, the UE fails to detect a BFD-RS (or reception quality of an RS deteriorates). Such interference may occur due to an influence of an obstacle, fading, interference, or the like between the UE and the base station, for example…further see [0076].. Note that judgment standards (criteria) are not limited to the BLER, and may be reference signal received power in the physical layer (Layer 1 Reference Signal Received Power (L1-RSRP))….; now refer to [0082] step S103, for beam recovery, the UE starts a search for a new candidate beam for use in new communication. The UE may select, by measuring a certain RS, the new candidate beam corresponding to the RS. The RS measured at step S103 may be referred to as a new candidate RS, an RS for new candidate beam identification, an NCBI-RS (New Candidate Beam Identification RS), an RS for new beam identification, a new beam identification RS, an NBI-RS, a CBI-RS (Candidate Beam Identification RS), a CB-RS (Candidate Beam RS), and the like. The NBI-RS may be the same as the BFD-RS, or may be different from the BFD-RS. Note that the new candidate beam may be referred to simply as a candidate beam or a candidate RS; further see [0086] regarding transmitting new candidate beam (i.e. reporting strongest beam for first report)…; now refer to [0093].. the base station that has detected the BFRQ transmits a response signal (which may be referred to as gNB response or the like) in response to the BFRQ from the UE. The response signal may include reconfiguration information about one or a plurality of beams (for example, DL-RS resource configuration information).
Regarding claim 11, Tim in view of Marcus and Faxer teaches as per claim 2, about wherein transmitting the channel state report based at least in part on the configuration and the request comprises: (see [0054] The user equipment-initiated channel state message may comprise one or more of: [0055] a CSI report; [0056] a request to send a CSI report; [0057] a request for a change in a rate of CSI reports; [0058] a request for a change in a mode of CSI reporting; [0059] a request for a change in transmission mode between the user equipment and the network; further see [0123] in above context .. As part of its conventional operation, the UE may send a periodic CSI report as shown. In addition, or alternatively, though not illustrated, the network may command the UE to send an aperiodic CSI report at any time…); but Tim fails to teach about transmitting a second set of beam reports using a second number of bits based at least in part on the request, wherein the second number of bits is less than a first number of bits configured for transmitting a first set of beam reports according to the configuration, wherein the second set of beam reports comprises the beam report; however Yuki states in [0014] at the CSI may include at least one of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), an SS/PBCH block resource indicator (SSBRI), a layer indicator (LI), a rank indicator (RI), Layer 1 (L1)-Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) (reference signal received power in Layer 1), L1-Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ), an L1-Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (SINR), an L1-Signal to Noise Ratio (SNR), and the like. [0015] The CSI may have a plurality of parts. A first part of the CSI (CSI part 1) may include information with a relatively small number of bits (for example, the RI) (i.e. a second number of bits here ) . A second part of the CSI (CSI part 2) may include information with a relatively large number of bits (for example, the CQI) (i.e. a first number of bits here ) such as information defined based on CSI part 1. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Yuki with the teachings of Tim in view of Marcus and Faxer to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein transmitting a second set of beam reports using a second number of bits based at least in part on the request, wherein the second number of bits is less than a first number of bits configured for transmitting a first set of beam reports according to the configuration; greater way mote standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 12, Tim in view of Marcus and Faxer and Yuki teaches as per claim 11, wherein the second set of beam reports comprises less beam reports than the first set of beam reports; Yuki see [0015]. The CSI may have a plurality of parts. A first part of the CSI (CSI part 1) may include information with a relatively small number of bits (for example, the RI). A second part of the CSI (CSI part 2) may include information with a relatively large number of bits (for example, the CQI) such as information defined based on CSI part 1 (i.e. second number of bits has small number of bits hence it needs less number of bits than first number of bits which has relatively large number of bits).
Regarding claim 13, Tim in view of Marcus and Faxer and Yuki teaches as per claim 11, wherein: each of the first set of beam reports and the second set of beam reports are associated with a respective range, and a second range of at least one beam report of the second set of beam reports is less than a first range of a corresponding beam report of the first set of beam reports; Yuki see [0015]. The CSI may have a plurality of parts. A first part of the CSI (CSI part 1) may include information with a relatively small number of bits (i.e. some range associated with) (for example, the RI). A second part of the CSI (CSI part 2) may include information with a relatively large number of bits (i.e. some range associated with) (for example, the CQI) such as information defined based on CSI part 1 (i.e. second number of bits has small number of bits hence it needs less number of bits than first number of bits which has relatively large number of bits).
Regarding claim 14, Tim in view of Marcus and Faxer and Yuki teaches as per claim 11, each of the first set of beam reports and the second set of beam reports are associated with a respective step size, and a second step size of at least one beam report of the second set of beam reports is less than a first step size of a corresponding beam report of the first set of beam reports; Yuki see [0015]. The CSI may have a plurality of parts. A first part of the CSI (CSI part 1) may include information with a relatively small number of bits (i.e. some step size associated with) (for example, the RI). A second part of the CSI (CSI part 2) may include information with a relatively large number of bits (i.e. some step size associated with) (for example, the CQI) such as information defined based on CSI part 1 (i.e. second number of bits has small number of bits hence it needs less number of bits than first number of bits which has relatively large number of bits).
Regarding claim 18, Tim in view of Marcus and Faxer teaches as per claim 18, about wherein transmitting the channel state report based at least in part on the configuration and the request comprises: (see [0054] The user equipment-initiated channel state message may comprise one or more of: [0055] a CSI report; [0056] a request to send a CSI report; [0057] a request for a change in a rate of CSI reports; [0058] a request for a change in a mode of CSI reporting; [0059] a request for a change in transmission mode between the user equipment and the network; further see [0123] in above context .. As part of its conventional operation, the UE may send a periodic CSI report as shown. In addition, or alternatively, though not illustrated, the network may command the UE to send an aperiodic CSI report at any time…); but Tim fails to teach about transmitting a second set of beam reports using a second number of bits based at least in part on the request, wherein the second number of bits is less than a first number of bits configured for transmitting a first set of beam reports according to the configuration; however Yuki states in [0014] at the CSI may include at least one of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), an SS/PBCH block resource indicator (SSBRI), a layer indicator (LI), a rank indicator (RI), Layer 1 (L1)-Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) (reference signal received power in Layer 1), L1-Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ), an L1-Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (SINR), an L1-Signal to Noise Ratio (SNR), and the like. [0015] The CSI may have a plurality of parts. A first part of the CSI (CSI part 1) may include information with a relatively small number of bits (for example, the RI) (i.e. a second number of bits here ) . A second part of the CSI (CSI part 2) may include information with a relatively large number of bits (for example, the CQI) (i.e. a first number of bits here ) such as information defined based on CSI part 1. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Yuki with the teachings of Tim in view of Marcus and Faxer to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein transmitting a second set of beam reports using a second number of bits based at least in part on the request, wherein the second number of bits is less than a first number of bits configured for transmitting a first set of beam reports according to the configuration; greater way mote standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moulsley et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0148611 A1), hereafter Tim in view of Marcus et al. (EP 4443754 A1) and further in view of Wang et al. (US Pat. No. 12581341 B2).
Regarding claim 19, Tim in view of Marcus teaches as per claim 15, but Tim fails to state about wherein transmitting the request comprises: transmitting an indication to change a periodicity associated with future channel state reports; however Wang states in lines 19- 29 of col. 5 regarding the UE 102 may transmit a scheduling request on a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) to the network node 101 to request an aperiodic CSI measurement or an aperiodic CSI reporting. In an example, the scheduling request for the aperiodic CSI measurement may comprise at least one of a duration and a gap for an aperiodic CSI-RS resource burst. In an embodiment, the UE 102 may further transmit the scheduling request to the network node 101 to request changing the periodicity for a CSI resource or reporting configuration for a short period of time (in prov application see claims section filed on 10/12/2021 and specification see section introduction and 2.1- 2.2). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Tim in view of Marcus to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein transmitting the request comprises: transmitting an indication to change a periodicity associated with future channel state reports; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moulsley et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0148611 A1), hereafter Tim in view of Marcus et al. (EP 4443754 A1) and further in view of Cha et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0376894 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Tim in view of Marcus teaches as per claim 1, but Tim fails to state about wherein transmitting the request comprises: transmitting a message reporting a predicted beam change incident; however Cha states.. wireless communication system comprises the steps of receiving configuration data from a base station (BS), the configuration data comprising data concerning the reporting period or reporting time of measurement data; receiving a reference signal (RS) from the BS on the basis of the configuration data; measuring on the basis of the RS; transmitting beam change request-related data to the BS on the basis of the measured and threshold values; and transmitting the measurement data to the BS, wherein the beam change request-related data can be transmitted before the reporting period or reporting time; see abstract. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Cha with the teachings of Tim in view of Marcus to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein transmitting the request comprises: transmitting a message reporting a predicted beam change incident; greater way resources can be managed/utilized to carry out more reliable communication in the communication system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 form for considered prior arts for record.
Reference Park et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0007205 A1) states reporting channel state information of a terminal comprises: a step of measuring CSI-RS transmitted from a base station; and a step of reporting CSI generated on the basis of the CSI-RS measurement to the base station, wherein the CSI comprises: a PMI for indicating a precoding matrix from a codebook and an RI for indicating a rank, wherein the PMI comprises a first PMI for a beam group selected by the terminal and a second PMI which comprises a beam sub-group selection information for beams included in the beam group and phase-matching information for each antenna port polarization for the selected beam sub-group, and wherein as the rank increases, the phase-matching information may be indicated with different granularity from each other depending on whether the beam sub-groups selected from the beam group are the same or different.; see abstract (i.e. specific to claim 2’s amended language).
Park et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0242914 A1) teaches performed by a user equipment (UE), for reporting channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system and an apparatus therefor. According to the present disclosure, the UE receives a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) from a base station through a multiple antenna port; and reports the CSI to the base station, wherein the CSI includes a precoding matrix indicator for a codebook generated by linear combination, wherein the codebook is generated based on a specific parameter set, and wherein the specific parameter set is differently set/applied based on at least one of a rank value or at least one layer index of a specific rank; see abstract; further see [0014] The CSI may consist of a first part and a second part, in which the first part may include a rank indicator (RI), a channel quality indicator (CQI), and an indicator indicating the number of combining coefficients having an amplitude of a positive real value, and the second part may include the PMI. [0015] The first part may have a fixed payload size and may be used to identify the number of information bits of the second part.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479