DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/EP2022/078669 filed on October 14, 2022.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 30, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 36-42 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method claims, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on November 18, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding claim 23-35, the phrase "and/or" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by " and/or "), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
The applicant must elect clearly either "and" or "or," or otherwise recite the precise combination intended.- "at least in part and/or at least for a bandwidth of wavelengths" (regarding the transparency of the second substrate) is vague. It is unclear what minimum degree of transparency, what portion of the substrate, or what bandwidth is required.
For examination purposes, the examine will interpret the terms “and/or” to be “or”.
“at least a first substrate and a second substrate, wherein the second substrate is transparent at least in part and/or at least for a bandwidth of wavelengths” is interpreted as “at least a first substrate and a second substrate, wherein the second substrate is transparent “.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 23-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Perraud et al. (US 2015/0314129).
In regards to claim 23, Perraud et al. teaches a hermetically sealed enclosure (4C), comprising: at least a first substrate (15) and a second substrate (The lower sheet 11 can also be a part made of glass, paragraph [0058]), wherein the second substrate (11) is transparent (the glass in comparison with the metal is its better transparency to electromagnetic or light radiation, paragraph 0058]); a function zone (area within the internal part (64)) that is circumferentially enclosed in the enclosure (see figure 6B); at least one laser weld line to hermetically weld the substrates of the enclosure with each other (A first hermetic seal is formed between the lower sheet 61 and the internal part 64 of the lower metal surround 62. Advantageously, this hermetic seal is formed by soldering. Alternatively, this hermetic seal can be formed by solid state diffusion welding, paragraph [0103]; the process of welding is not germane to the product claim) and at least one reduction zone (pre-encapsulation layer 42) capable of reducing an amount of molecules in the function zone (area within the internal part (64)) since it further confines the function zone.
In regards to claim 24, Perraud et al. teaches the hermetically sealed enclosure of claim 23, further comprising: an inner surface of the first substrate (15), each facing towards the function zone (see figure 4C)); wherein the at least one reduction zone (42) is arranged on said inner surface of the first substrate (15).
In regards to claim 25, Perraud et al. teaches the hermetically sealed enclosure of claim 23, wherein the at least one reduction zone (42) is comprised as a coating on an inner side of the first substrate (11).
In regards to claim 26, Perraud et al. teaches the hermetically sealed enclosure of claim 25, wherein the at least one reduction zone (42) comprises at least one of nanostructures (a pre-encapsulation polymer charged with silica particles (in particular nanoparticles, paragraph [011]).
In regards to claim 27, Perraud et al. teaches the hermetically sealed enclosure of claim 23, wherein the at least one reduction zone (42) is capable to absorb water vapor from the function zone (this function is not germane to the structure of the claim).
In regards to claim 28, Perraud et al. teaches the hermetically sealed enclosure of claim 23, wherein the at least one reduction zone (42) capable to continuously reduce the amount of molecules in the function zone (this function is not germane to the structure of the claim).
In regards to claim 29, Perraud et al. teaches the hermetically sealed enclosure of claim 23, wherein the enclosure (figure 4c) is designed such that the at least one reduction zone (42) is capable to be regenerated or reactivated or activated by means of heating up the at least one reduction zone (42).
In regards to claim 30, Perraud et al. teaches the hermetically sealed enclosure (figure 4c) of claim 23, wherein the at least one reduction zone (42) is capable of being is regenerated or reactivated or activated by means of fire polishing, dry or wet etching, dry or wet cleaning, or plasma cleaning.
In regards to claim 31, Perraud et al. teaches the hermetically sealed enclosure (figure 4c) of claim 23, wherein the at least one laser weld line (see figure 6B); at least one laser weld line to hermetically weld the substrates of the enclosure with each other (A first hermetic seal is formed between the lower sheet 61 and the internal part 64 of the lower metal surround 62. Advantageously, this hermetic seal is formed by soldering. Alternatively, this hermetic seal can be formed by solid state diffusion welding, paragraph [01032]) wherein the at least one laser weld line directly binds the first substrate and the second substrate to each other by means of a direct laser-induced welding process (the process of the welding is not germane to the product claim).
In regards to claim 32, Perraud et al. teaches the hermetically sealed enclosure of the hermetically sealed enclosure of wherein the at least one laser weld line reaches both into the first substrate and the second substrate (A first hermetic seal is formed between the lower sheet 61 and the internal part 64 of the lower metal surround 62. Advantageously, this hermetic seal is formed by soldering. Alternatively, this hermetic seal can be formed by solid state diffusion welding, paragraph [01032]) wherein the at least one laser weld line directly binds the first substrate and the second substrate to each other by means of a direct laser-induced welding process (the process of the welding is not ger mane to the product claim).
In regards to claim 33, Perraud et al. teaches the hermetically sealed enclosure of claim 23, wherein the function zone comprises at least one cavity (cavity is within the substrate (15; figure 4B).
In regards to claim 34, Perraud et al. teaches the hermetically sealed enclosure of claim 23, wherein the first substrate is, at least in a contact area, in direct contact with the second substrate (figure 4C).
In regards to claim 35, Perraud et al. teaches the hermetically sealed enclosure of claim 23, wherein the at least one reduction zone (42) is capable to reduce a molecule content to 700 ppm or less (the process is not germane of the product claim).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the attachment of the USPRO-892 form.
Communication
/KRYSTAL ROBINSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2848