DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application filed 05/02/2024 is a National Stage entry of PCT/KR2022/016032 , International Filing Date: 10/20/2022, claims foreign priority to 10-2021-0149854, filed 11/03/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/02/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Takuya Uematsu et al., hereinafter Uematsu (Takuya Uematsu et al., European Journal of Pharmacology 668 (2011) 163–168) evidenced by Ewan St. John Smith (J Neurol (2018) 265:231–238).
Regarding claim 1, Uematsu teaches GR82334 (see Abstract) that is identical to the claimed composition. Examiner interprets “for preventing….pain’ as intended use. As the teachings in Uematsu of the compound, is 100 % identical to the claimed composition, it would be capable of the same intended use. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention's limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children's Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (see MPEP § 2111. 02 (II)). As previously noted, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). (See MPEP § 2112.01 (I)).
Regarding claim 2, Uematsu teaches intra-articular administration (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 3, Uematsu teaches persistent pain (i.e. chronic) (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 4, Uematsu teaches sensitization of nociceptors in join inflammation (see introduction, 2nd paragraph) (i.e. neuropathic pain) as evidenced by Ewan St. John Smith.
Regarding claim 5, Uematsu teaches nociceptors are peripherally sensitized (see introduction, 2nd paragraph) (i.e. peripheral nerve damage).
Regarding claim 6, Uematsu teaches joint pain (see Introduction, 2nd paragraph).
Regarding claim 7, the claim limitation ‘wherein the....pathway’ is interpreted by the Examiner as unappreciated property. Applicant is reminded that “[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art' s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus, the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). It is noted that In re Best (195 USPQ 430) and In re Fitzgerald (205 USPQ 594) discuss the support of rejections wherein the prior art discloses subject matter which there is reason to believe inherently includes functions that are newly cited or is identical to a product instantly claimed. In such a situation the burden is shifted to the applicants to "prove that subject matter shown to be in the prior art does not possess characteristic relied on" (205 USPQ 594, second column, first full paragraph).
Regarding claim 8, the claim limitation ‘wherein the....cytokine’ is interpreted by the Examiner as unappreciated property. The reasoning is set forth above.
Regarding claim 9, the claim limitation ‘wherein the....IL-6’ is interpreted by the Examiner as unappreciated property. The reasoning is set forth above in the rejection under claim 7.
Regarding claim 10, embodiments of the specification disclose treatment to encompass alleviating pain (see page 29, [129]). Uematsu teaches intra-articular administration (see Abstract) and effect of GR82334 on hyperalgesia (see section 3.3, page 165).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Correspondence
/ARCHANA VARADARAJ/Examiner, Art Unit 1658
/Melissa L Fisher/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1658