DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments to the claims, filed on 9/11/26, have been entered in the above-identified application.
Any rejections made in the previous action, and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright (WO 90/07199) in view of Milne (GB 2121612 A) and Ngyuen et al (US 2010/0066639 A1) et al.
Wright teaches a system (e.g., focusing device for a microwave antenna) comprising a dielectric substrate (e.g., window pane (i.e., glazing panel)), and a coating system disposed on the dielectric substrate, wherein the coating system (e.g., low emissivity coating) comprises a Fresnel zone plate lens comprising N coaxial elliptical zones (i.e., circular or elliptical rings), n being a positive integer and numbered from 1 to N, wherein N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2, wherein the coaxial elliptical zones include at least one odd coaxial elliptical zone and at least one even coaxial elliptical zone; wherein the coaxial elliptical zones are concentric circular zones and used to absorb, reflect or transmit radiation (abstract, page 4-7; fig 1, 2a, 6).
Wright fails to suggest the odd and even coaxial zones comprises the coated and decoated patterns and ratios of the instant claims.
Milne teaches a microwave lens comprising a glass substrate and a coating (e.g., copper); wherein the coating is arranged in a one-dimensional pattern (e.g., coated and uncoated pattern or dipole array) to cause both positive (i.e., transmission) and negative (i.e., reflection) or radiation (page 1, lines 35-128; page 2, lines 62-65, 110-114; figs 3, 4, 6).
Ngyuen teaches a system (e.g., gradient index lens for electromagnetic radiation for use with antenna systems) used to modify the properties of received and/or transmitted radiation that includes a dielectric substrate (e.g., lens) and a plurality of conducting patches (e.g., metal patches or particles so a coating) arranged in a square array (i.e., two-dimensional pattern) supported by the dielectric substrate (abstract, para 5-8, 11, 16, 19, 53; figs 1a-1b).
Therefore, per the teachings of Milne and Ngyuen, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to adjust the coated and decoated patterns and/or shapes and ratios of the decoated and coated patterns of the elliptical zones of the focusing device of Wright to optimize the ability of the focusing device to absorb, reflect or transmit radiation.
Furthermore, It is noted that a change in size, scale, proportionality and shape is not patently distinct over the prior art absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed invention is significant. See In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966); In Gardner V. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). MPEP 2144.04[R-1].
A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device, Gardner V. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the focusing device of Wright with the dimensions and shapes (i.e. the coated and decoated patterns and/or shapes and ratios of the decoated and coated patterns of the elliptical zones) based on the prior art's intended application as in the present invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/11/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that Wright fails to teach "a coating system disposed on the dielectric substrate" as recited in Claim 1, since Wright teaches a focusing device for a microwave antenna "comprising a substrate which is transparent to visible light and to microwave signals to be received, the substrate carrying an arrangement of rings of a material which either absorbs or reflects the microwave signals to be received" (pages 1-2).
This is not persuasive since Wright teaches a dielectric substrate (e.g., glass window pane or glazing panel) window pane (i.e., glazing panel) and a coating system disposed on the dielectric substrate (abstract, page 4-7; fig 1, 2a, 6). The Applicant has failed to demonstrate any structural difference between the teachings of Wright at that of the system of the instant claim.
Applicant further contends that Milne presents a different structural and functional concept from that of Claim 1: individual conductive dipole radiating elements, not a continuous conductive coating selectively decoated in a periodic sub-pattern within concentric or elliptical zones; and the Office Action fails to articulate specific reasons why one of ordinary skill in the art would combine Wright with Milne and Ngyuen.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Wright teaches it substrates carry an arrangement of rings of a material which either absorbs or reflects the microwave signals to be received, the rings being arranged to focus received microwave signals, and comprise any of a variety of other materials which absorb or reflect microwave radiation (page 2-3, 6). Milne teaches a microwave lens comprising a glass substrate and a coating (e.g., copper); wherein the coating is arranged in a one-dimensional pattern (e.g., coated and uncoated pattern or dipole array) to cause both positive (i.e., transmission) and negative (i.e., reflection) or radiation (page 1, lines 35-128; page 2, lines 62-65, 110-114; figs 3, 4, 6). Ngyuen teaches a system (e.g., gradient index lens for electromagnetic radiation for use with antenna systems) used to modify the properties of received and/or transmitted radiation that includes a dielectric substrate (e.g., lens) and a plurality of conducting patches (e.g., metal patches or particles so a coating) arranged in a square array (i.e., two-dimensional pattern) supported by the dielectric substrate (abstract, para 5-8, 11, 16, 19, 53; figs 1a-1b). Therefore, all three references are focused on the handling (e.g., transmission, absorption, conducting, and/or reflection) of radiation, therein making it a result-effective variable.
Hence, per the teachings of Milne and Ngyuen, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to adjust the coated and decoated patterns and/or shapes and ratios of the decoated and coated patterns of the elliptical zones of the focusing device of Wright to optimize the ability of the focusing device to absorb, reflect or transmit radiation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NATHAN VAN SELL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1783
/NATHAN L VAN SELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783