CTNF 18/707,124 CTNF 90933 DETAILED ACTION Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 44 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 44 states “a recessed portion defined as an area coupled to the protective cover is recessed”. This limitation cannot be understood, as it is unclear what is recessed. Claim 45 is rejected due to its dependency on rejected claim 44. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 36 and 46-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2021184613A1 by Ren et al. in view of WO2020108243A1 by Yan et al . As to claim 36, Ren teaches a laundry treating apparatus comprising a cabinet 1 including a first inlet in a front surface (fig. 1); a first chamber 11 inside the cabinet to accommodate laundry via the first inlet; a second chamber at a lower side of the cabinet defining an installation space separated from the first chamber (figs. 1 and 3); and a door assembly 3 coupled to the cabinet, the door assembly including an accommodating body including a second inlet in a front surface (fig. 7); and an accommodating housing inside the accommodating body, in communication with the outside via the second inlet, and defining an accommodating space 31 separated from the first chamber and the second chamber (fig. 7). Ren does not teach lighting devices within its apparatus, and thus does not teach a line lighting in the accommodating housing in parallel with the second inlet and configured to illuminate the accommodating space. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to modify the apparatus taught by Ren to have the claimed line lighting. Yan teaches a laundry treating apparatus that includes includes line lighting around the side and/or top walls of its chamber and parallel to an inlet (figs. 1-3, para. 8). Yan teaches that the line lighting increases the illumination range of the lamp assembly to illuminate all of the inside of the apparatus; this allows a user to see clearly wrinkles on clothing for ironing and improve the user's visual effect and experience (para. 18). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the apparatus taught by Lee to have line lighting on top and/or side surfaces of the chamber in order to illuminate all of the chamber to improve a user's visual effect and experience, as taught by Yan. Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious at its effective filing date. As to claim 46, Ren teaches that the door assembly includes top, bottom, left side, right side, and rear accommodating space surfaces (fig. 7). Upon the obvious modification discussed above, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to have front and rear line lighting in order to provide illumination to all of the inside, as suggested by Yan. As to claim 47, the claim recites line lighting disposed along top and side surfaces of front and rear surfaces of the accommodating space. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to provide line lighting in the claimed locations in order to further realize the benefit of illuminating all of the inside of the space, as suggested by Yan. Notably, Yan teaches that line lighting may be disposed around a circumference of an inner wall (abstract) which would include lighting along top and side surfaces. The particular locations of the lighting would have produced expected results and would have required mere routine skill of one of ordinary skill in the art. As to claim 48, Yes teaches upper lighting in a top surface to emit light downward along with circumferential lighting (para. 8); one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to locate the lighting as claimed with expected results. As to claim 49, the claim recites line lighting disposed along top and side surfaces of a rear surface of the accommodating space. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to provide line lighting in the claimed locations in order to further realize the benefit of illuminating all of the inside of the space, as suggested by Yan. Notably, Yan teaches that line lighting may be disposed around a circumference of an inner wall (abstract) which would include lighting along top and side surfaces. The particular locations of the lighting would have produced expected results and would have required mere routine skill of one of ordinary skill in the art. As to claim 50, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that front and rear line lighting would be capable of illuminating different areas since the light would originate from different locations. As to claim 51, Yan teaches lower lighting 213 that emits light upward (para. 49); one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to have lower lighting in the door assembly of Ren in order to provide further lighting to illuminate the chamber . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 37-45, 53, and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2021184613A1 by Ren et al. in view of WO2020108243A1 by Yan et al . as applied to claim 36 above, and further in view of KR101820859B1 by Bang . As to claim 37, Yan does not teach that its line lighting includes a linear heat dissipating body with an insertion hole in a surface, an LED assembly inside the heat dissipating body, and a protective cover coupled to the insertion hole. However, the claimed lighting structure was known as evidenced by Bang. Bang teaches line lighting with a heat dissipating body 10 including an insertion hole (to receive 22), an LED assembly 30, and a protective cover 40 (fig. 2). Bang teaches that its structure allows for heat dissipation (para. 32) and protection and diffusion of light (para. 27). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to have the line lighting structure taught by Bang in the apparatus of Ren in order to provide lighting and to realize the benefits of heat dissipation and light diffusion. Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious at its effective filing date. As to claim 38, Bang teaches an end cover 22 coupled to an end of its line lighting (fig. 2). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to provide an end cover to both ends of line lighting in order to seal the side surfaces. As to claim 39, Bang teaches a body fastening hole 15 through the heat dissipating body in a direction opposite the insertion hole to couple the line lighting using a fastening member (fig. 4, para. 21). As to claim 40, Yan teaches a line lighting installation portion, and in particular teaches that it is beneficial to have a complete, sealed surface between the lighting and a cabinet surface in order to prevent dust and water vapor from entering a gap between the cabinet and lighting assembly which also avoid breeding bacteria (paras. 20-21). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to provide a recess in the accommodating body of Ren in which the line lighting, including its protective cover, is installed in order to provide a continuous, complete surface that is sealed. As to claim 41, Bang teaches a body sealing member between the protective cover and the heat dissipating body to prevent moisture or foreign substances from penetrating into the heat dissipating body (fig. 4). Also, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that providing a sealing member in a lighting assembly was well-known and common in the art for its obvious purpose of sealing the assembly against moisture or foreign substances. As to claim 42, Bang teaches a plate-shaped heat dissipating body 10, an LED assembly 30 on one surface of the heat dissipating body, and a protective cover 40 coupled to the heat dissipating body to cover the LED assembly (fig. 2). As to claim 43, Yan teaches a line lighting installation portion parallel to an inlet, and in particular teaches that it is beneficial to have a complete, sealed surface between the lighting and a cabinet surface in order to prevent dust and water vapor from entering a gap between the cabinet and lighting assembly which also avoid breeding bacteria (paras. 20-21). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to provide structure in the accommodating body of Ren in which the line lighting, including its protective cover, may be inserted thereinto in order to provide a continuous, complete surface that is sealed. As to claim 44, Bang teaches that the heat dissipating body includes a recessed portion where the protective cover 40 is coupled and a body fastening hole 15 through the heat dissipating body along a periphery of the recessed portion (fig. 4). Upon the obvious modification discussed above, a portion of the protective cover would be inserted into the accommodating space. As to claim 45, while Band does not explicitly teach a body sealing member along a perimeter of a top of the protective cover, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that providing a sealing member in a lighting assembly was well-known and common in the art for its obvious purpose of sealing the assembly against moisture or foreign substances, which Bang teaches would be undesirable (paras. 20-21). As to claim 53, Bang teaches that the protective cover is made of a light diffusion material (para. 27). As to claim 54, Bang teaches that the protective cover is made of a light diffusion material (para. 27) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 52 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2021184613A1 by Ren et al. in view of WO2020108243A1 by Yan et al . as applied to claim 36 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 20200208325 by Park et al . As to claim 52, Yan does not teach that its line light is able to change an intensity and color of light. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to configure lighting as such. Park teaches a laundry treating apparatus having lighting to allow a user to visually recognize laundry items within the apparatus (para. 131), the lighting in particular being an LED which has the advantage of easy control of color and dimming (para. 133) to provide a range of colors and intensities as desired (para. 137). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide line lighting that can change color and intensity in order to provide lighting desired by a user, as suggested by Park. Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious at its effective filing date. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Spencer Bell whose telephone number is (571)272-9888. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 9am - 6:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Michael Barr can be reached at 571.272.1414. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SPENCER E. BELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711 Application/Control Number: 18/707,124 Page 2 Art Unit: 1711 Application/Control Number: 18/707,124 Page 4 Art Unit: 1711 Application/Control Number: 18/707,124 Page 5 Art Unit: 1711 Application/Control Number: 18/707,124 Page 6 Art Unit: 1711 Application/Control Number: 18/707,124 Page 7 Art Unit: 1711 Application/Control Number: 18/707,124 Page 8 Art Unit: 1711 Application/Control Number: 18/707,124 Page 9 Art Unit: 1711