DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information disclosure statement of 05/02/2024 has been received and reviewed.
Specification
The specification is objected to because of the following informalities:
The specification is replete with images that are blank when describing the shape of the members as seen in the image produced below. Please amend and describe the shape (for example, a V shape).
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3, line 5, “to be device frame” should be “to the device frame”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3, and 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-3 and 5-6 recite limitations of a shape using an image that cannot be rendered. See image below. It is unclear what is intended with these limitations. The specification has the same error and does not clarify. Is the intention to describe the entire shape of the element, or to describe a portion of the element that has a certain shape? Examiner will interpret these limitations as having a full shape (unbroken).
Claims 7-11 are rejected due to their dependency on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20190048618 to McKibben.
Regarding claim 1, McKibben discloses:
An exit device (fig 1), comprising: a device frame (130) inserted into a door panel (80, via fasteners that mount 101 into 82); a damper part (166) inserted into the device frame (fig 2) and provided to absorb and mitigate impulsive power generated according to the operation of pushing parts (paragraph 0075, mitigates the impulsive power during the deactuation); the pushing parts (136) provided at both sides of the damper part to be pressable by pressure applied by a user (see fig 2 and paragraph 0061); a slider (122) provided to slidingly reciprocate along the device frame by the pushing parts at another side (bottom side, see fig 2); and a slide bar (144) coupled to the slider at one side (left side, see fig 2) and provided to have its other side thereof coupled to a deadbolt (152) of a door (82) locking/unlocking the door.
Regarding claim 2, McKibben discloses:
The exit device of claim 1, wherein the device frame has frame reinforcing members (fasteners seen in 117, fig 1) each having a shape (see 112 rejection above) being coupled to both inner sides of a frame member (117) having a shape (see 112 rejection above).
Regarding claim 5, McKibben discloses:
The exit device of claim 1, wherein the slider comprises: a slider body (body of 141) having a shape (see rejection above); and a rod joining piece (118) having a vertical rod joining hole (top hole of 118 that curves along the front and top portion seen in fig 3) provided at an end of the slider body (top end of 141), the vertical rod joining hole being perpendicularly bent along a forward direction (fig 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190048618 to McKibben in view of EP 2439363 to El.
Regarding claim 3, McKibben does not explicitly disclose:
The exit device of claim 1, wherein the damper part comprises: a damper plate provided with a slide long hole having a rack gear at a mid-portion; a decelerator having a pinion gear interlocking with the rack gear and provided to decelerate rotation of the pinion gear; a fixed buffer part separated from the damper plate and fixed to the device frame, the fixed buffer part being provided with a buffer member at each corner having a shape; and a movable buffer part facing into and contacting the fixed buffer part of the buffer member and having a buffer member corresponding to both sides of the damper plate, respectively.
However, El teaches that it is well known in the art for: the damper part comprises: a damper plate (6) provided with a slide long hole (31) having a rack gear (34) at a mid-portion (fig 1); a decelerator (21) having a pinion gear (35) interlocking with the rack gear and provided to decelerate rotation of the pinion gear (fig 1); a fixed buffer part (41) separated from the damper plate (fig 2) and fixed to the device frame (2), the fixed buffer part being provided with a buffer member (39, 40) at each corner having a shape (see 112 rejection above); and a movable buffer part (3) facing into and contacting the fixed buffer part of the buffer member and having a buffer member corresponding to both sides of the damper plate, respectively (figs 2-4). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of El into McKibben at least because doing so would provide a compact damping system to fit in different desirable situations, as taught by McKibben in figures 29-32 of having a rack and pinion gear damping system as an alternative.
Claim(s) 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190048618 to McKibben in view of US 6820905 to Haeck.
Regarding claim 12, McKibben discloses:
A door lock (100) of an exit device (101), wherein the exit device comprises a slider (122) being installed on a door panel (via 111) to be pressable by pressure applied by a user (via 132 and 136) and being provided to slidingly reciprocate along the device frame by pushing parts (136); a slide bar (141) coupled to the slider at one side (fig 2); and another side of the slide bar being coupled to a deadbolt (152) of a door (82) locking/unlocking the door.
McKibben does not explicitly disclose: The door lock comprising: a brake piece installed on one side of the door lock, so as to restrict or allow movements of the deadbolt.
However, Haeck teaches that it is well known in the art for a door lock to comprise a brake piece (318) installed on one side of the door lock, so as to restrict or allow movements of the deadbolt (210, see figs 17a-c). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Haeck into McKibben at least because doing so would provide additional safety and control over the position of the deadbolt.
Regarding claim 13, McKibben in view of Haeck discloses:
The door lock of an exit device of claim 12, wherein the brake piece is rotatably fixed by a rotating part (344, Haeck), the rotating part being formed to be adjacent to the slide bar (204), wherein the brake piece contacts a protrusion (328) in a region adjacent to the rotating part (fig 17c), the protrusion being provided on the slide bar at an end portion of the slide bar body along a direction of the deadbolt (fig 17c), and wherein the brake piece makes vertical rotating movements along the rotating part according to back-and-forth movements of the slide bar, and wherein, when the slide bar does not move back and forth, and end or part of the brake piece supports the deadbolt, so as to restrict the movement of the deadbolt (see movement between figs 17a-c).
Regarding claim 14, McKibben in view of Haeck discloses:
The door lock of an exit device of claim 12, wherein a thickness of the brake piece increases along a direction of the rotating part (see fig 17a, thickness increases from the bottom to the center).
Regarding claim 15, McKibben in view of Haeck discloses:
The door lock of an exit device of claim 13, wherein a thickness of the brake piece increases along a direction of the rotating part (see fig 17a, thickness increases from the bottom to the center)..
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to.
Claims 6-11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Y.S./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675