DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3 May 2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 20 November 2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12 December 2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 28 February 2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 15 July 2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 18 September 2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1 December 2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 13 May 2026 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsubara et al. (US 2002/0035848, hereinafter referred to as “Komastubara”) in view of Fukushima et al. (US 2016/0347982, hereinafter referred to as “Fukushima”).
As to Claim 1: Komatsubara teaches a refrigerating device comprising a refrigerant circuit comprising a compressor (Fig. 1). Komatsubara further teaches that the main component of the refrigerant is a hydrocarbon having 1 to 4 carbon atoms such as propane [0026] and a sulfur containing odorant such as tetrahydrothiophene [0029]. Komatusbara further teaches that the refrigeration oil can be an ether oil such as polyalkylene glycol [0037].
Komatsubara does not teach that the ratio of the oxygen to carbon atoms in the polyalkylene glycol is 0.5 or less.
However, Fukushima teaches that ether refrigerant oils with carbon to oxygen ratios of 2-7.5 (i.e., an oxygen to carbon ratio of 0.5 or less) have better compatibility with the working fluid and low moisture absorbance [0134-0138]. Komatsubara and Fukushima are analogous art in that they are from the same field of endeavor, namely refrigerant devices and compositions. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use the carbon to oxygen ratio of Fukushima for the polyalkylene glycol in the composition of Komatusbara because Fukushima teaches that this ratio improves compatibility with the working fluid and has low moisture absorbance [0138].
Komatsubara and Fukushima do not expressly teach the difference between the HSP distance between the PAG and the odorant and the PAG and the refrigerant is -2.0 or more. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by Komatsubara and Fukushima. However, Komatsubara and Fukushima teaches a product prepared with all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. According to the original specification, HSP difference is related to the O/C ratio which is taught by Fukushima with Komatsubara having the same refrigerant and odorant. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. the difference between the HSP distance between the PAG and the odorant and the PAG and the refrigerant is -2.0 or more, would naturally flow from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts prepared by a similar process. See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar process.
As to Claim 3: Komatsubara and Fukushima render obvious the device of Claim 1 (supra). Komatsubara and Fukushima do not expressly teach the difference between the HSP distance between the PAG and the odorant and the PAG and the refrigerant is -0.5 or more. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by Komatsubara and Fukushima. However, Komatsubara and Fukushima teaches a product prepared with all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. According to the original specification, HSP difference is related to the O/C ratio which is taught by Fukushima with Komatsubara having the same refrigerant and odorant. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. the difference between the HSP distance between the PAG and the odorant and the PAG and the refrigerant is -0.5 or more, would naturally flow from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts prepared by a similar process. See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar process.
As to Claim 4: Komatsubara and Fukushima render obvious the device of Claim 1 (supra). Kombatsura further teaches that the odorant can be tetrahydrothiophene [0028].
As to Claim 5: Komatsubara and Fukushima render obvious the device of Claim 1 (supra). Kombatusra further teaches that the refrigerant can be propane [0026].
As to Claim 6: Komatsubara and Fukushima render obvious the device of Claim 1 (supra). Kombatsura further teaches that the odorant can be tetrahydrothiophene [0028] and the refrigerant can be propane [0026].
As to Claim 7: Komatsubara and Fukushima render obvious the device of Claim 1 (supra).
Komatsubara does not teach an example wherein the amount of the odorant is 50-1100 ppm by weight.
However, Komatsubara teaches that the odorant should be present in an amount of 10 ppm to 5000 ppm [0029]. At the time of filing it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to select from within the range of Komatusbara including a range of 50-1100 ppm because Komatsubara teaches that this range is preferable and when it is above the range the odor is to strong and below this range the odor is difficult to detect [0029].
As to Claim 8: Komatsubara and Fukushima render obvious the device of Claim 3 (supra). Kombatsura further teaches that the odorant can be tetrahydrothiophene [0028].
As to Claim 9: Komatsubara and Fukushima render obvious the device of Claim 3 (supra). Kombatusra further teaches that the refrigerant can be propane [0026].
As to Claim 10: Komatsubara and Fukushima render obvious the device of Claim 4 (supra). Kombatusra further teaches that the refrigerant can be propane [0026].
As to Claim 11: Komatsubara and Fukushima render obvious the device of Claim 3 (supra). Kombatsura further teaches that the odorant can be tetrahydrothiophene [0028] and the refrigerant can be propane [0026].
As to Claim 12: Komatsubara and Fukushima render obvious the device of Claim 4 (supra). Kombatsura further teaches that the odorant can be tetrahydrothiophene [0028] and the refrigerant can be propane [0026].
As to Claim 13: Komatsubara and Fukushima render obvious the device of Claim 5 (supra). Kombatsura further teaches that the odorant can be tetrahydrothiophene [0028] and the refrigerant can be propane [0026].
As to Claim 14: Komatsubara and Fukushima render obvious the device of Claim 3 (supra).
Komatsubara does not teach an example wherein the amount of the odorant is 50-1100 ppm by weight.
However, Komatsubara teaches that the odorant should be present in an amount of 10 ppm to 5000 ppm [0029]. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to select from within the range of Komatusbara including a range of 50-1100 ppm because Komatsubara teaches that this range is preferable and when it is above the range the odor is to strong and below this range the odor is difficult to detect [0029].
As to Claim 15: Komatsubara and Fukushima render obvious the device of Claim 4 (supra).
Komatsubara does not teach an example wherein the amount of the odorant is 50-1100 ppm by weight.
However, Komatsubara teaches that the odorant should be present in an amount of 10 ppm to 5000 ppm [0029]. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to select from within the range of Komatusbara including a range of 50-1100 ppm because Komatsubara teaches that this range is preferable and when it is above the range the odor is to strong and below this range the odor is difficult to detect [0029].
As to Claim 16: Komatsubara and Fukushima render obvious the device of Claim 5 (supra).
Komatsubara does not teach an example wherein the amount of the odorant is 50-1100 ppm by weight.
However, Komatsubara teaches that the odorant should be present in an amount of 10 ppm to 5000 ppm [0029]. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to select from within the range of Komatusbara including a range of 50-1100 ppm because Komatsubara teaches that this range is preferable and when it is above the range the odor is to strong and below this range the odor is difficult to detect [0029].
As to Claim 17: Komatsubara and Fukushima render obvious the device of Claim 6 (supra).
Komatsubara does not teach an example wherein the amount of the odorant is 50-1100 ppm by weight.
However, Komatsubara teaches that the odorant should be present in an amount of 10 ppm to 5000 ppm [0029]. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to select from within the range of Komatusbara including a range of 50-1100 ppm because Komatsubara teaches that this range is preferable and when it is above the range the odor is to strong and below this range the odor is difficult to detect [0029].
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 3-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,662,644. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to refrigeration cycle devices having the same refrigerant and refrigerant oil which contains polyalkylene glycol with the same structure.
Correspondence
/Andrew J. Oyer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767