DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-27, 30, 31, and 36-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Foreign Patent Document No.: CN 207082974 U) in view of Liu et al. (Foreign Patent Document No.: CN 204304712 U) and Zhang (Foreign Patent Document No.: CN 210608838 U).
For claim 21, Wang et al. disclose the claimed invention comprising: a rim (reference numeral 2) that has a cylindrical shape (see figures 1, 2), the rim having a first opening (i.e. a first opening on which one of the covers is coupled, see annotated figure below of Wang et al.) and a second opening (i.e. a second opening on which one of the covers is coupled, see annotated figure below of Wang et al.) that face each other; a cover (see annotated figure below of Wang et al.) that is coupled to the rim (reference numeral 2) and covers the first opening and the second opening (i.e. openings on which covers are disposed, see annotated figure below of Wang et al.) to thereby define a sealed space inside the rim (see figures 1, 2); a shaft (reference numeral 1) that is disposed at a center of the rim (reference numeral 2) and extends in an axial direction of the rim (see figures 1, 2); a shielding portion (reference numeral 6) detachably coupled to the cover (see figures 1, 2); a magnet (reference numeral 5) disposed in the shielding portion and configured to rotate together with the cover (see figures 1, 2), the magnet being replaceable (i.e. magnet 5 can be replaced by removing shielding portion 6, see figures 1, 2); the magnetic encoder (reference numeral 4) being connected and fixed to the shaft (reference numeral 1) in the axial direction (see figure 2), wherein the magnetic encoder (reference numeral 4) comprises an encoder sensor (reference numeral 4, figures 1, 2) configured to sense a change of magnetic flux of the magnet (reference numeral 5, see figures 1, 2). Wang et al. however do not specifically disclose a motor assembly disposed inside the rim and configured to provide rotational force to the rim, the motor assembly comprising (i) a stator that surrounds the shaft and is coupled to the shaft and (ii) a rotor that surrounds the stator and is configured to rotate about the shaft; the magnet being a ring-shaped magnet; and the magnetic encoder being located axially between the shaft and the cover.
Liu et al. disclose a motor assembly (reference numerals 3, 5) disposed inside the rim (i.e. motor can be considered to be inside rim 5 in figure 1) and configured to provide rotational force to the rim (see figure 1), the motor assembly comprising (i) a stator (reference numeral 3) that surrounds the shaft (reference numeral 1) and is coupled to the shaft and (ii) a rotor (reference numeral 5) that surrounds the stator and is configured to rotate about the shaft (see figure 1); the magnet being a ring-shaped magnet (reference numeral 9, see figure 1). Zhang discloses the magnetic encoder (reference numeral 420) being located axially between the shaft (reference numeral 300) and the cover (reference numeral 700, see figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motor assembly as disclosed by Liu et al. and the magnetic encoder between the shaft and the cover as disclosed by Zhang for the rim, magnetic encoder and magnet of Wang et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating proper controlling of the motor device.
For claim 22, Wang et al. in view of Liu et al. and Zhang disclose the claimed invention except for the encoder sensor being located inside a hollow of the ring-shaped magnet. Liu et al. further disclose the encoder sensor (reference numeral 8) being located inside a hollow of the ring-shaped magnet (reference numeral 9, see figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the sensor located inside a hollow of the ring-shaped magnet as disclosed by Liu et al. for the encoder sensor of Wang et al. in view of Liu et al. and Zhang for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating proper controlling of the motor device.
For claim 23, Wang et al. in view of Liu et al. and Zhang disclose the claimed invention except for the magnetic encoder further comprising an encoder board that supports the encoder sensor, and wherein the encoder board and the encoder sensor are located inside a hollow of the ring-shaped magnet. Liu et al. further disclose an encoder board (reference numeral 8, see figure 1) supporting the encoder sensor (see figure 1), and when applied to the encoder sensor of Wang et al. this would disclose the encoder board and the encoder sensor being located inside a hollow of the ring-shaped magnet. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an encoder board as disclosed by Liu et al. for the encoder sensor of Wang et al. in view of Liu et al. and Zhang for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating proper controlling of the motor device.
For claim 24, Wang et al. in view of Liu et al. and Zhang disclose the claimed invention except for the magnetic encoder further comprising: an encoder board that supports the encoder sensor; and an encoder housing that is coupled to the encoder board and connects the encoder board to the shaft in the axial direction, and wherein the encoder housing has (i) a first end inserted into a space of the shaft in the axial direction and (ii) a second end coupled to the encoder board. Liu et al. further disclose an encoder board (reference numeral 8, figure 1) supporting the encoder sensor (see figure 1); and Wang et al. already disclose an encoder housing (reference numeral 3, figures 1, 2) which when combined with the encoder board of Liu et al. would disclose the encoder housing being coupled to the encoder board and connecting the encoder board to the shaft in the axial direction (i.e. Wang et al. disclose encoder housing 3 connected to the shaft 1, see figures 1, 2). Having a first end of an encoder housing inserted into a space of the shaft would merely involve having a first end of a component inserted into a space of the shaft which is a known skill as exhibited by Zhang (i.e. component 500 having a first end inserted into a space of the shaft 300, see figure 2) which when combined with the encoder housing of Wang et al. in view of Liu et al. and Zhang would disclose the encoder housing having (i) a first end inserted into a space of the shaft in the axial direction and (ii) a second end coupled to the encoder board. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the encoder board as disclosed by Liu et al. and also have an end of the housing inserted into a space of the shaft as disclosed by Zhang for the encoder housing of Wang et al. in view of Liu et al. and Zhang for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating proper controlling of the motor device.
For claim 25, Wang et al. in view of Liu et al. and Zhang disclose the claimed invention except for the magnetic encoder further comprising: an encoder board that supports the encoder sensor; and an encoder housing that is coupled to the encoder board and connects the encoder board to the shaft in the axial direction, and wherein the encoder housing comprises: an insertion portion that has a circular tubular shape and is inserted into a space of the shaft in the axial direction, a connecting portion connected to the insertion portion, wherein an outer diameter of the connecting portion is greater than an outer diameter of the insertion portion, and a protrusion that protrudes from the connecting portion toward an outside of the shaft. Liu et al. further disclose an encoder board (reference numeral 8, figure 1) that supports the encoder sensor (see figure 1); and Wang et al. already disclose an encoder housing (reference numeral 3, figures 1, 2) which when combined with the encoder board of Liu et al. would disclose the encoder housing being coupled to the encoder board and connecting the encoder board to the shaft in the axial direction (i.e. Wang et al. disclose encoder housing 3 connected to the shaft 1, see figures 1, 2). Having an insertion portion for the encoder housing would merely involve having a first end of a component inserted into a space of the shaft which is a known skill as exhibited by Zhang (i.e. component 500 having a first end inserted into a space of the shaft 300, see figure 2) which when combined with the encoder housing of Wang et al. in view of Liu et al. and Zhang would disclose the encoder housing comprising: an insertion portion that has a circular tubular shape and is inserted into a space of the shaft in the axial direction. Zhang also discloses a connecting portion (see annotated figure below of Zhang) connected to the insertion portion (i.e. portion of component 500 extending axially from the portion inserted into shaft 300, see figure 2, also see annotated figure below of Zhang), wherein an outer diameter of the connecting portion is greater than an outer diameter of the insertion portion (i.e. connecting portion having an outer diameter greater than the portion inserted into shaft 300, see figure 2, also see annotated figure below of Zhang), and a protrusion that protrudes from the connecting portion toward an outside of the shaft (i.e. a protrusion comprised of the first and second protrusion as shown in annotated figure below of Zhang). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the encoder board of Liu et al. and also have the insertion portion and protrusion as disclosed by Zhang for the encoder housing of Wang et al. in view of Liu et al. and Zhang for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating proper controlling of the motor device.
For claim 26, Wang et al. in view of Liu et al. and Zhang disclose the claimed invention except for the encoder board defining a coupling hole, and wherein the protrusion is inserted into and extends through the coupling hole and supports the encoder board. Zhang further discloses a board component (reference numeral 600, figure 2) defining a coupling hole (i.e. hole in which the protrusion of component 500 is inserted, see figure 2, also see annotated figure above of Zhang), and wherein the protrusion is inserted into and extends through the coupling hole and supports the board component (i.e. protrusion of component 500 being inserted into hole of component 600, see figure 2, also see annotated figure above of Zhang). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the coupling hole where the protrusion is inserted as disclosed by Zhang for the encoder board and protrusion of Wang et al. in view of Liu et al. and Zhang for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating proper controlling of the motor device.
For claim 27, Wang et al. in view of Liu et al. and Zhang disclose the claimed invention except for the protrusion comprising: a first protrusion that protrudes from the connecting portion and has a first width; and a second protrusion that protrudes from the first protrusion and is inserted into the coupling hole, the second protrusion having a second width less than the first width of the first protrusion, wherein the coupling hole is sized to allow insertion of the second protrusion into the coupling hole and to block insertion of the first protrusion into the coupling hole. Zhang further discloses the protrusion comprising: a first protrusion (see annotated figure above of Zhang) that protrudes from the connecting portion and has a first width (see annotated figure above of Zhang); and a second protrusion (see annotated figure above of Zhang) that protrudes from the first protrusion and is inserted into the coupling hole (see annotated figure above of Zhang), the second protrusion having a second width less than the first width of the first protrusion (see annotated figure above of Zhang), wherein the coupling hole is sized to allow insertion of the second protrusion (see annotated figure above of Zhang) into the coupling hole and to block insertion of the first protrusion into the coupling hole (see annotated figure above of Zhang). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first and second protrusion as disclosed by Zhang for the protrusion of Wang et al. in view of Liu et al. and Zhang for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating proper controlling of the motor device.
For claim 30, Wang et al. in view of Liu et al. and Zhang disclose the claimed invention except for the shielding portion being made of a magnetic material. Having a magnetic material for a shielding component is a known skill as exhibited by Zhang (i.e. Zhang discloses component 702 in figure 2 being an iron sheet, which can be considered magnetic material, see English translation of Zhang, last three lines on third page), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have magnetic material as disclosed by Zhang for the shielding portion of Wang et al. in view of Liu et al. and Zhang for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating proper controlling of the motor device.
For claim 31, Wang et al. disclose the cover comprising: an outer cover (i.e. one of the covers that has shielding portion 6, see figure 2 and also annotated figure shown above for claim 21 rejection) that is detachably coupled to the rim (reference numeral 2) and covers the first opening of the rim (see annotated figure shown above for claim 21 rejection); and an inner cover (i.e. other cover as shown in the annotated figure above for claim 21 rejection) that is detachably coupled to the rim and covers the second opening of the rim (see annotated figure shown above for claim 21 rejection), wherein the outer cover defines a screw hole (see annotated figure shown above for claim 21 rejection) extending through the outer cover in the axial direction (see annotated figure shown above for claim 21 rejection), and wherein the shielding portion (reference numeral 6) is detachable from the outer cover and configured to be fastened to or released from the screw hole (see annotated figure shown above for claim 21 rejection).
For claim 36, Wang et al. disclose the claimed invention comprising: a rim (reference numeral 2) that has a cylindrical shape (see figures 1, 2), the rim having a first opening (i.e. a first opening on which one of the covers is coupled, see annotated figure above for claim 21) and a second opening (i.e. a second opening on which one of the covers is coupled, see annotated figure above for claim 21) that face each other; a cover (see annotated figure above for claim 21) that is coupled to the rim (reference numeral 2) and covers the first opening and the second opening (i.e. openings on which covers are disposed, see annotated figure above for claim 21) of the rim to thereby define a sealed space inside the rim (see figures 1, 2); a shaft (reference numeral 1) that is disposed at a center of the rim (reference numeral 2) and extends in an axial direction of the rim (see figures 1, 2); a magnet (reference numeral 5) configured to rotate together with the cover (see figures 1, 2); and a magnetic encoder (reference numeral 4) that is connected and fixed to the shaft (reference numeral 1) in the axial direction (see figure 2), the magnetic encoder (reference numeral 4) comprising an encoder sensor (reference numeral 4, figures 1, 2) configured to sense a change of magnetic flux of the magnet (reference numeral 5, see figures 1, 2). Wang et al. however do not specifically disclose a motor assembly disposed inside the rim and configured to provide rotational force to the rim, the motor assembly comprising (i) a stator that surrounds the shaft and is coupled to the shaft and (ii) a rotor that surrounds the stator and is configured to rotate about the shaft; the magnet being a ring-shaped magnet; the magnetic encoder being located axially between the shaft and the cover; and the encoder sensor being located inside a hollow of the ring-shaped magnet.
Liu et al. disclose a motor assembly (reference numerals 3, 5) disposed inside the rim (i.e. motor can be considered to be inside rim 5 in figure 1) and configured to provide rotational force to the rim (see figure 1), the motor assembly comprising (i) a stator (reference numeral 3) that surrounds the shaft (reference numeral 1) and is coupled to the shaft and (ii) a rotor (reference numeral 5) that surrounds the stator and is configured to rotate about the shaft (see figure 1); the magnet being a ring-shaped magnet (reference numeral 9, see figure 1); and Liu et al. also disclose the encoder sensor (reference numeral 8) being located inside a hollow of the ring-shaped magnet (reference numeral 9, see figure 1). Zhang discloses the magnetic encoder (reference numeral 420) being located axially between the shaft (reference numeral 300) and the cover (reference numeral 700, see figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motor assembly as disclosed by Liu et al. and the magnetic encoder between the shaft and the cover as disclosed by Zhang for the rim, magnetic encoder and magnet of Wang et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating proper controlling of the motor device.
For claim 37, Wang et al. disclose a shielding portion (reference numeral 6) detachably coupled to the cover (see figures 1, 2), wherein the magnet (reference numeral 5) is mounted in the shielding portion and replaceable (i.e. magnet 5 can be replaced by removing shielding portion 6, see figures 1, 2); but Wang et al. in view of Liu et al. and Zhang however do not specifically disclose the magnet being a ring-shaped magnet. Liu et al. further disclose the magnet being a ring-shaped magnet (reference numeral 9, see figure 1), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the ring-shaped magnet as disclosed by Liu et al. for the magnet of Wang et al. in view of Liu et al. and Zhang for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating proper controlling of the motor device.
For claim 38, Wang et al. disclose the cover comprising: an outer cover (i.e. one of the covers that has shielding portion 6, see figure 2 and also annotated figure shown above for claim 21 rejection) that is detachably coupled to the rim (reference numeral 2) and covers the first opening of the rim (see annotated figure shown above for claim 21 rejection); and an inner cover (i.e. other cover as shown in the annotated figure above for claim 21 rejection) that is detachably coupled to the rim and covers the second opening of the rim (see annotated figure shown above for claim 21 rejection), wherein the outer cover defines a screw hole (see annotated figure shown above for claim 21 rejection) extending through the outer cover in the axial direction (see annotated figure shown above for claim 21 rejection), and wherein the shielding portion (reference numeral 6) is detachable from the outer cover and configured to be inserted into and fastened to the screw hole and to be released from the screw hole (see annotated figure shown above for claim 21 rejection).
Claim(s) 28 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. in view of Liu et al. and Zhang as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Takahashi et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2012/0105055 A1).
For claim 28, Wang et al. in view of Liu et al. and Zhang disclose the claimed invention except for an axial length of the ring-shaped magnet being greater than a thickness of the encoder sensor in the axial direction. Having a particular axial length for the ring-shaped magnet would merely involve adjusting the size of the magnet which is a known skill as exhibited by Takahashi et al. (reference numerals 2, 2A, 2B, see figures 11, 13), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a particular axial length for the magnet as disclosed by Takahashi et al. so that the ring-shaped magnet would be greater than a thickness of the encoder sensor in the axial direction for Wang et al. in view of Liu et al. and Zhang for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating proper controlling of the motor device.
For claim 29, Wang et al. in view of Liu et al. and Zhang disclose the claimed invention except for the magnetic encoder further comprising an encoder board that supports the encoder sensor, and wherein an axial length of the ring-shaped magnet is greater than a sum of a thickness of the encoder board and a thickness of the encoder sensor in the axial direction. Liu et al. further disclose an encoder board (reference numeral 8, figure 1) that supports the encoder sensor (see figure 1), and having a particular axial length for the ring-shaped magnet would merely involve adjusting the size of the magnet which is a known skill as exhibited by Takahashi et al. (reference numerals 2, 2A, 2B, see figures 11, 13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the encoder board supporting the encoder sensor as disclosed by Liu et al. and also have a particular axial length for the magnet as disclosed by Takahashi et al. so that the ring-shaped magnet would be greater than a sum of a thickness of the encoder board and a thickness of the encoder sensor in the axial direction for Wang et al. in view of Liu et al. and Zhang for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating proper controlling of the motor device.
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. in view of Liu et al. and Zhang as applied to claim 31 above, and further in view of Morita et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2003/0093188 A1).
For claim 35, Wang et al. in view of Liu et al. and Zhang disclose the claimed invention except for an O-ring disposed at a contact area between an outer surface of the outer cover and the shielding portion, wherein the outer cover defines an O-ring receiving groove at the outer surface thereof, and wherein the O-ring is inserted into the O-ring receiving groove and is in contact with the shielding portion. Having an O-ring disposed on a cover component is a known skill as exhibited by Morita et al. which disclose an O-ring (reference numeral 26, figure 27) disposed between a cover (reference numeral 22, figure 27) and a shield component (reference numeral 5, figure 27) with a groove formed between the cover and shield component (see figure 27), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the O-ring component as disclosed by Morita et al. for the outer cover and shielding portion of Wang et al. in view of Liu et al. and Zhang for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating proper controlling of the motor device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 32 and 39 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 33, 34, and 40 are also objected to for their dependency upon aforementioned claims 32 and 39.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: While the prior art discloses some of the claimed invention as explained above in the present action, the prior art of record do not sufficiently disclose the combination of features including the shielding portion comprising: a head that has a planar shape and protrudes outward relative to an outer surface of the outer cover, the head being configured to be rotated to thereby fasten the shielding portion to the screw hole or to release the shielding portion from the screw hole; and a screw portion connected to the head and configured to be fastened to the screw hole as recited in claim 32 and similarly recited in claim 39.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references disclose embodiments of motor monitoring configurations: US 10536057 B2 (Kawanami; Yasunori et al.), US 8552675 B2 (Asahi; Kyohei et al.), US 8159096 B2 (Tezuka; Shunichi et al.), US RE38772 E (Elsasser; Dieter et al.), US 6909212 B2 (Uchiyama; Haruhiko), US RE38673 E (Elsasser; Dieter et al.), US 6830379 B2 (Morita; Kouichi et al.), US RE38179 E (Elsasser; Dieter et al.), US 20190248406 A1 (KANEKO; Noboru et al.), US 20170254711 A1 (PARK; Kon Ho), US 20110181221 A1 (Asahi; Kyohei et al.), US 20100176695 A1 (Tezuka; Shunichi et al.), US 20070281824 A1 (Tezuka; Shunichi et al.).
/ALEX W MOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834