DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments, filed 6/10/2026, with respect to the Claim Interpretation of “heat flux density” have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Claim Interpretation of “heat flux density” has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, and 9-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,606,201 to Lutz in view of US 2023/0243606 to Minamitani et al (hereafter Mina) and US 2021/0136956 to Paavola et al (hereafter Paav).
As to claim 1, Lutz discloses a device (Fig. 4) comprising at least one electronic component (1c), and comprising at least one cooling element (7c, 9c, 13c) for the cooling of the electronic component, wherein the cooling element has at least one fluid channel (13c) for a cooling medium (15), wherein the fluid channel extends from a coolant inlet to a coolant outlet (Fig. 1, 15) of the cooling element, and wherein the cooling element has an insulating plate (9c) which forms at least part of the fluid channel, has regions with different heat flux densities (higher under the component 1c, or lower outside the component 1c), is thinner in a region (27) with a higher heat flux density than in a region with a lower heat flux density in comparison, and is in contact with the electronic component or the electronic assembly. Lutsz fails to disclose at least one multi-layer film, and at least part of the fluid channel is formed with this film, and wherein the thinner region is formed by a material removal. Mina teaches a fluid channel (22, FIG. 3) produced with a multi-layer film (L1, FIG. 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the fluid channel of Lutz with a multi-layer film in order to preserve the copper heat conducting components from corrosion as taught by Mina ([0011]). Lutz also fails to disclose the thinner region being formed by a material removal. Paav teaches a heat pipe cavity (301, Figure 2) formed by etching (material removal, [0055]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the thinner region of Lutz to be formed by means of etching as taught by Paav as a use of a known technique in the art, the outcome yielding predictable results.
As to claim 9, Lutz discloses a method for producing a device (Fig. 4) comprising at least one electronic component (1c), and at least one cooling element (7c, 9c, 13c) for the cooling of the electronic component, wherein at least one fluid channel (13c) for a cooling medium (15) is formed in the cooling element, wherein the fluid channel extends from a coolant inlet to a coolant outlet (Fig. 1, 15) of the cooling element, and wherein the cooling element is produced with an insulating plate (9c) and wherein the plate has regions with different heat flux densities (higher under the component 1c, or lower outside the component 1c), is thinner in a region (27) with a higher heat flux density than in a region with a lower heat flux density in comparison, and is arranged to be in contact with the electronic component or the electronic assembly. Lutsz fails to disclose at least one multi-layer film, and at least part of the fluid channel is formed with this film, and wherein the thinner region is formed by a material removal. Mina teaches a fluid channel (22, FIG. 3) produced with a multi-layer film (L1, FIG. 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the fluid channel of Lutz with a multi-layer film in order to preserve the copper heat conducting components from corrosion as taught by Mina ([0011]). Lutz also fails to disclose the thinner region being formed by a material removal. Paav teaches a heat pipe cavity (301, Figure 2) formed by etching (material removal, [0055]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the thinner region of Lutz to be formed by means of etching as taught by Paav as a use of a known technique in the art, the outcome yielding predictable results.
As to claim 2, modified Lutz discloses the device according to claim 1. Lutz fails to disclose wherein the film is in direct contact with the electronic component or the electronic assembly. Mina teaches a film (L1) designed to be used in direct contact with an electronic component ([0169]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the fluid channel of Lutz with a multi-layer film in order to preserve the copper heat conducting components from corrosion as taught by Mina ([0011]).
As to claim 3, modified Lutz discloses the device according to claim 1. Lutz fails to disclose wherein the film is connected to a layer of a metal or a further multi- layer film thus forming the fluid channel. Mina teaches a film for heat transfer (L1) connected to a layer of metal (51). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the fluid channel of Lutz with a multi-layer film in order to preserve the copper heat conducting components from corrosion as taught by Mina ([0011]).
As to claim 8, modified Lutz discloses the device according to claim 1. Lutz further to discloses wherein at least one sensor element (53, Fig. 9) is arranged on the element (13g).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 8,061,412 to Ippoushi et al disclosing a foil membrane.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMIL ALEXANDER DECKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841