DETAILED ACTION
Objection to Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show details as described in the specification. Figs. 2-3 (flow charts methods), wherein the blocks need to be labeled. Blocks S1, S1’, S11’, S12’ and S13’ are not clear as to what it is? (see specification, pages 8-11) and needs to be labeled. Counter details not shown (see spec., page 10, lines 12-18). Figs.4-5, time t1, t2, t3 is shown from right to left is not clear as time starts from left to right such as t1, t2, t3 on a period T.
As to claim 12, dynamically adjusting the at least one threshold through a regulator circuit of the power converter such that an average switching frequency of the at least one switching cell over the period of the output signal, is kept substantially constant is not shown in figs.1-7.
Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
2.
Objection to Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Figs. 2-3 (flow charts methods), wherein the Blocks S1, S1’, S11’, S12’ and S13’ are not clear as to what it is? (see specification, pages 8-11) and needs to be explained. What does each block S1, S1’ and blocks S11, S12, S11’, S12’ and S13’ (figs.2-3) represents and perform what function? The phrase “adjusting S1” or Keeping S1’ (see specification, pages 8-11), adjusting S11’, adjusting S12’, adjusting S13’ (spec., page 11, fig.3) is not clear. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, the phrase, “A method for controlling a power converter having at least one switching cell and a control unit configured to control the at least one switching cell at a switching frequency such that to deliver an output signal” is not clear as where the output signal is connecting to” (motor M needs to be stated in the claim, see fig.1). There is no mention of PWM generator 3 (fig.1) and PWM control signal that controls the at least one switching cell at the switching frequency fs (see spec., page 6, lines 20-25).
Claims 1-20 does not state what is the purpose of “a method for controlling a power converter having at least one switching cell and a control unit configured to control the at least one switching cell at a switching frequency such that to deliver an output signal, wherein the method comprises regularly adjusting the switching frequency through the control unit such that the switching frequency varies within a period of the output signal, the switching frequency being selected among a set of at least two switching frequencies” for proper understanding of the invention? Claims 1-20 did not state the practical application relative to the invention. There is no mention of electric or hybrid vehicle (fig.7) that uses the power converter 1 that reduces switching losses and the current ripple, which is the main objective of the invention (see spec., page 1, lines 11-31).
As to claim 12, dynamically adjusting the at least one threshold through a regulator circuit of the power converter such that an average switching frequency of the at least one switching cell over the period of the output signal, is kept substantially constant is not clear and is not shown in figs.1-7.
Appropriate clarifications and corrections are required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (Pub.No.: US 2006/0267542 A1 and Wei hereinafter) in view of Bryant et al. (Pub.No.: US 2017/0257022 A1).
As to claim 1, (Currently Amended) A method for controlling a power converter having at least one switching cell and a control unit configured to control the at least one switching cell at a switching frequency such that to deliver an output signal,
wherein the method comprises
regularly adjusting the switching frequency through the control unit such that the switching frequency varies within a period of the output signal, the switching frequency being selected among a set of at least two switching frequencies.
(As to claim 1, Wei teaches (figs.1-7, para’s [0003], [0006], [0012], [0025]-[0026]) A method for controlling a power converter [rectifier 14, inverter 16] (figs.1-2) having at least one switching transistors [42-48] (3 switching pair transistors [42-48, 44-50, 46-52] of converter (rectifier) section 14, see fig.2, para. [0030]) and a control unit 62 configured to control the at least one switching section 42-48 (of 3 switching pair transistors, see fig.2) at a switching frequency fs/2fs (see fig.5) such that to deliver an output signal Va (AC voltages, see para’s [0026]-[0027], and figs.2,3, 4 & 5),
wherein the method (par. [0012], figs.1-7) comprises
regularly adjusting the switching frequency fs/2fs (see figs.4-5, para’s [0013], [0020], [0031], [0045]) through the control unit 62 (fig.2, para. [0031], [0044], [0045], [0046], [0057]) such that the switching frequency fs/2fs (figs.5,7) varies within a period (switching period, see para. [0049]) of the output signal Va (figs.2, 3, 4 & 5), the switching frequency being selected fs/2fs (see fig.5, para’s [0046], [0047], [0048], [0049], [0050]) among a set of at least two switching frequencies fs, 2fs (see fig.5, varied switching frequencies at 4kHZ, 8kHZ/ 16kHZ, see fig.7, para’s [0059]-[0060], [0062]).
Wei shows a power converter [rectifier 14, inverter 16] (figs.1-2), wherein converter section [rectifier14] having at least 3 switching pair transistors [42-48, 44-50, 46-52], but does not mention a switching cell.
Bryant teaches a power converter having at least one switching cell (see para’s [0001], [0025], [0028]-[0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have at least one switching cell of Bryant in the system of Wei because greater energy efficiency, improved reliability, low cost and low switching loss operation (see, Bryant, par. [0007]).
As to claim 4, (Currently Amended) The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the set of at least two switching frequencies comprises a first switching frequency and a second switching frequency, the first switching frequency being lower than the second switching frequency.
(As to claim 4, Wei teaches (figs.1-7, para’s [0003], [0006], [0012], [0025]-[0026]) A method, wherein the set of at least two switching frequencies fs, 2fs (see figs4-5) comprises a first switching frequency 2fs (fig.5) and a second switching frequency fs (fig.5), the first switching frequency fs being lower than the second switching frequency 2fs (higher switching frequency when voltage approaches zero, see fig.5, para. [0044]-[0050] or fig.4, par. [0045]).
As to claim 6, (Currently Amended) The method as claimed in claim 4, wherein the set of at least two switching frequencies further comprises a third switching frequency, the second switching frequency being lower than the third switching frequency.
(As to claim 6, Wei teaches (figs.1-7, para’s [0003], [0006], [0012], [0025]-[0026]) A method, wherein the set of at least two switching frequencies (4kHz, 8kHZ) further comprises a third switching frequency [16kHZ), the second switching frequency [8kHZ] being lower than the third switching frequency [16kHZ] (see fig.7, para. [0058]-[0059], [0060]).
As to claim 8, (Currently Amended) The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein each of the set of at least two switching frequencies is a multiple of a base switching frequency.
(As to claim 8, Wei teaches (figs.1-7, para’s [0003], [0006], [0012], [0025]-[0026]) A method, wherein each of the set of at least two switching frequencies fs, 2fs (fig.5) is a multiple of a base switching frequency (N=2 to 6 times the switching frequency, see para. [0044]-[0045], [0047] & [0049]).
As to claim 9, (Currently Amended) The method as claimed in the claim 8, wherein the first switching frequency is equal to the base switching frequency, the second switching frequency is equal to twice the base switching frequency, and the third switching frequency is equal to four times the base switching frequency.
(As to claim 9, Wei teaches (figs.1-7, para’s [0003], [0006], [0012], [0025]-[0026]) A method, wherein the first switching frequency is equal to the base switching frequency fs (fig.5, para’s [0045], [0046], [0048], [0049]-[0050]) or 4kHZ, fig.7), the second switching frequency is equal to twice the base switching frequency 2fs (fig.5 or 8 khZ, N=2, see fig.7), and the third switching frequency is equal to four times the base switching frequency (16kHz, N=4, see fig.7).
As to claim 10, (Currently Amended) The method as claimed according to claim 8, wherein adjusting or keeping the switching frequency through the control unit is performed periodically, preferably at an intermediary switching frequency of the set of at least two switching frequencies.
(As to claim 10, Wei teaches (figs.1-7, para’s [0003], [0006], [0012], [0025]-[0026]) the method, wherein adjusting or keeping the switching frequency fs (figs.4-5, para’s [0031], [0045], [0046], [0048]) through the control unit 62 (fig.2) is performed periodically (switching period, see para. [0049]-[0050]), preferably at an intermediary switching frequency (e.g. 8kHz, fig.7 or different frequency intervals may be defined, see para. [0050])) of the set of at least two switching frequencies (4 kHz, 16kHz, fig.7).
As to claim 11, (Currently Amended) The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the output signal is an output current of the power converter.
(As to claim 11, Wei teaches (figs.1-7, para’s [0003], [0006], [0012], [0025]-[0026]) A method, wherein the output signal is an output current (motor current, see para. [0027], fig.1 or current ia, see figs.6A-6B, para’s [0055]-[0057]) of the power converter [rectifier 14, inverter 16], fig.1-2).
As to claim 13, (Currently Amended) A power converter comprising the at least one switching cell and a control unit configured to control the at least one switching cell according to the method as claimed in claim 1.
(As to claim 13, Wei teaches (figs.1-7, para’s [0003], [0006], [0012], [0025]-[0026])
A power converter ([rectifier 14, inverter 16] (fig.1-2) comprising the at least one switching transistors [42-48] (3 switching pair transsitors [42-48, 44-50, 46-52] of converter (rectifier) section 14, see fig.2, para. [0030]) and a control unit 62 configured to control the at least one switching transistors [42-48] according to the method (see para. [0012].
Wei shows a power converter [rectifier 14, inverter 16] (figs.1-2), wherein converter section [rectifier14] having at least 3 switching pair transsitors [42-48, 44-50, 46-52], but does not mention a switching cell.
Bryant teaches a power converter having at least one switching cell (see para’s [0001], [0025], [0028]-[0029]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have at least one switching cell of Bryant in the system of Wei because greater energy efficiency, improved reliability, low cost and low switching loss operation (see, Bryant, par. [0007])).
As to claim 14, (Currently Amended) The power converter as claimed in claim 13, being an inverter configured to convert a direct current voltage coming from a high-voltage power supply battery into an alternating current voltage so as to drive an electric motor.
(As to claim 14, Wei teaches (figs.1-7, para’s [0003], [0006], [0012], [0025]-[0026])
A power converter ([rectifier 14, inverter 16] (fig.1-2) being an inverter 16 configured to convert a direct current voltage coming from a high-voltage power supply battery [Vdc] (dc power via dc 15, 17, see figs.1-2, para. [0026]) into an alternating current voltage so as to drive an electric motor 18. Battery providing vdc supply is known in the art).
As to claim 15, (Currently Amended) The power converter as claimed in claim 14, wherein the at least one switching cell has three switching cells such that to supply the electric motor with a three-phase alternating current voltage, the power converter being configured such that adjusting the switching frequency of each one of the three switching cells is performed independently from the other ones of the three switching cells.
(As to claim 15, Wei teaches (figs.1-7, para’s [0003], [0006], [0012], [0025]-[0026])
A power converter ([rectifier 14, inverter 16] (fig.1-2) wherein the at least one switching transsitors (of converter section 14, fig.2) has three switching pair transistors [42-48, 44-50, 46-52] such that to supply the electric motor 18 (figs.1-2) with a three-phase alternating current voltage (via inverter section 16, para. [0026]), the power converter ([rectifier 14, inverter 16] (fig.1-2) being configured such that adjusting the switching frequency fs/2fs (figs.4-5, the frequency of switching function used to control transistors is varied for each phase, see para. [0031], [0044], [0045], [0046], [0049]-[0050]) of each one of the three switching transistors [42-48] is performed independently from the other ones ([44-50]/[46-52], fig.2) of the three switching pair transistors [42-48, 44-50, 46-52].
Wei shows a power converter [rectifier 14, inverter 16] (figs.1-2), wherein converter section [rectifier14] having at least 3 switching pair transistors [42-48, 44-50, 46-52], but does not mention as switching cells.
Bryant teaches a power converter having at least 3 switching cells [T1-T4, T3-T6, T5-T2] (see fig.1 or para’s [0001], [0025], [0028]-[0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have switching cells of Bryant in the system of Wei because greater energy efficiency, improved reliability, low cost and low switching loss operation (see, Bryant, par. [0007])).
Allowable Subject-Matter
Claims 2, 3, 5, 7, 16, 17, 18, 19, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 2, 3, 5, 7, 16, 17, 18, 19, and 20 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As to claim 2, Wei and Bryant fails to teach the control unit is configured to control the at least one switching cell successively at each switching frequency of the set of at least two switching frequencies for the associated preset time interval. Claims 16-20 depend on allowable claim 2.
As to claim 3, Wei and Bryant fails to teach receiving on a regular basis by the control unit the output signal; keeping the switching frequency through the control unit based on a comparison between a representative value of the output signal and at least one threshold.
As to claim 5, Wei and Bryant fails to teach the at least one threshold having a first threshold, wherein the method comprises: adjusting the switching frequency to the first switching frequency when the representative value becomes higher than or equal to the first threshold; adjusting the switching frequency to the second switching frequency when the representative value becomes lower than the first threshold.
As to claim 7, Wei and Bryant fails to teach the at least one threshold having the first threshold and a second threshold being higher than the first threshold, wherein the method comprises: adjusting the switching frequency to the first switching frequency when the representative value becomes higher than or equal to the second threshold;
Adjusting the switching frequency to the second switching frequency when the representative value becomes higher than or equal to the first threshold and lower than the second threshold;
Adjusting the switching frequency to the third switching frequency when the representative value becomes lower than the first threshold.
As to claim 12, Wei and Bryant fails to teach dynamically adjusting the at least one threshold through a regulator circuit of the power converter such that an average switching frequency of the at least one switching cell over the period of the output signal, is kept substantially constant.
However, formal requirements outstanding (Objection to drawings, Objection to specification and 35 USC 112 rejection) needs to be corrected and clarified.
Citation of pertinent Prior art(s)
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
a) Holmes et al. (US 9, 371,010 B2) -see abstract, figs.1-6.
b) Wolf et al., (US Pub.No.: US 2022/0255487 A1)- see abstract, figs. 1-10.
c) Saha et al. (US 2015/0365038 A1)-see abstract, figs.1-12.
d) Gritter (US patent no.: 4,825,132-see abstract, figs.1-11B.
e) Yamashita et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2017/0279371 A1)-see abstract, figs.1-24.
Conclusion
/ANTONY M PAUL/
Primary Examiner of Art Unit 2846