DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are hereby under examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/03/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
The claims are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors. Numerous objections are noted below, however, applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any additional errors of which applicant may become aware of.
Claims 1, 3-8, 13, and 15-17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, line 6 recites “the duration”, however it appears it should read --a duration-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 1, line 7 recites “period;”, however it appears it should read --period; and-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 3, the space after “claim 1” in line 1 should be deleted.
Regarding claim 3, the space after “period” in line 3 should be deleted.
Regarding claim 4, line 2 recites “the pressure change”, however it appears it should read --a pressure change-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 4, line 6 recites “the contribution”, however it appears it should read --a contribution-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 5, line 4 recites “the threshold”, however it appears it should read -- a threshold-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 6, line 2 recites “the threshold”, however it appears it should read --a threshold-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 7, line 1 recites “claim claim 4”, however it appears it should read --claim 4--.
Regarding claim 8, line 4 recites “is defined the maximum”, however it appears it should read --is defined as the maximum-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 8, the space after “threshold” in line 10 should be deleted.
Regarding claim 13, the reference numbers in lines 5, 8, and 11 appear they should be deleted to maintain consistency with the rest of the claims.
Regarding claim 15, the space after “vessel” in line 11 should be deleted.
Regarding claim 15, line 15 recites “the patterns”, however it appears it should read “patterns”.
Regarding claim 16, line 2 recites “the threshold”, however it appears it should read --a threshold-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 16, line 5 recites “(associated”, however it appears it should read --associated--.
Regarding claim 17, line 4 recites “defined the the”, however it appears it should read --defined as the-- (emphasis added).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites the limitation "the moving time window pressure change" in 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In light of the specification, it is currently unclear if “the moving time window pressure change” is the same as, related to, or different from “a dataset” and/or “a time window” recited in claim 1. For the purposes of examination, “the moving time window pressure change” is being interpreted as any time window related to pressure change data.
The dependent claims of the above rejected claim are rejected due to their dependency.
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites the limitation "the set of relative pressure values" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In light of the specification, it is currently unclear if “the set of relative pressure values” is the same as, related to, or different from previously recited pressure values. For the purposes of examination, “the set of relative pressure values” is being interpreted as any pressure values.
The dependent claims of the above rejected claim are rejected due to their dependency.
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites “calculate the functional outcome index (FOI) based on the formula …”. However, claim 8 recites a different formula for calculating the FOI. In light of the specification, it is currently unclear the FOI formula of claim 9 is modifying the FOI formula of claim 8, or if the FOI formula of claim 9 is a separate FOI formula from the FOI formula of claim 8. For the purposes of examination, the FOI formula of claim 9 is being interpreted as modifying the FOI formula of claim 8. It is recommended to the Applicant to amend the claims to clearly recite how the two FOI formulas are related or different.
The dependent claims of the above rejected claim are rejected due to their dependency.
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites “calculate the functional outcome index …”. However, claim 8 recites a first FOI formula, and claim 9 recites a second FOI formula. In light of the specification, it is currently unclear what FOI formula is being utilized in claim 10. For the purposes of examination, any FOI formula is being utilized for the calculation.
The dependent claims of the above rejected claim are rejected due to their dependency.
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites “comprises at least one of the following … a catheter comprising a pressure wire; a catheter comprising a pressure wire configured for manual pullback … a catheter comprising a pressure wired coupled to a motorized device ….”. In light of the specification, it is currently unclear if in an embodiment with 2 or more of the alternatives if “a catheter” and “a pressure wire” are the same or different. For example, it is unclear if there are embodiments with two catheters and two pressure wires. For the purposes of examination, the recitations of “a catheter” and “a pressure wire” are being interpreted as being the same.
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites the limitation "the set of relative pressure values" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In light of the specification, it is currently unclear if “the set of relative pressure values” is the same as, related to, or different from previously recited pressure values. For the purposes of examination, “the set of relative pressure values” is being interpreted as any pressure values.
The dependent claims of the above rejected claim are rejected due to their dependency.
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites “calculate the functional outcome index (FOI) based on the formula …”. However, claim 17 recites a different formula for calculating the FOI. In light of the specification, it is currently unclear the FOI formula of claim 18 is modifying the FOI formula of claim 17, or if the FOI formula of claim 18 is a separate FOI formula from the FOI formula of claim 17. For the purposes of examination, the FOI formula of claim 18 is being interpreted as modifying the FOI formula of claim 17. It is recommended to the Applicant to amend the claims to clearly recite how the two FOI formulas are related or different.
The dependent claims of the above rejected claim are rejected due to their dependency.
Regarding claim 19, the claim recites “calculate the functional outcome index …”. However, claim 17 recites a first FOI formula, and claim 18 recites a second FOI formula. In light of the specification, it is currently unclear what FOI formula is being utilized in claim 19. For the purposes of examination, any FOI formula is being utilized for the calculation.
The dependent claims of the above rejected claim are rejected due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Analysis of independent claim 1:
Step 1 of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.03).
Claim 1 is directed to a system, which describes one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter, i.e., a machine. Therefore, further consideration is necessary.
Step 2A of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.04).
Prong One: Claim 1 recites an abstract idea. In particular, the claim recites the following:
Determine a time window of which the duration corresponds to a fraction of the pullback time period; and
Calculate the maximum of the moving time window pressure change based on the dataset of the part of the vessel.
These elements recited in claim 1 are drawn to an abstract idea since (1) they involve mathematical concepts in the form of mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and/or mathematical calculations; and/or (2) they involve a mental process that can be practically performed in the human mind including observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion and using pen and paper).
Determining a time window of which the duration corresponds to a fraction of the pullback time period is a mental process that can be practically performed in the human mind, with the aid of pen and paper. For example, a person with ordinary skill in the art can reasonably view a dataset on a piece of paper, and determine a time window of which the duration corresponds to a fraction of the pullback time period. There is nothing to suggest an undue level of complexity. Alternatively/additionally, determining a time window of which the duration corresponds to a fraction of the pullback time period involves mathematical calculations for determining the fraction of the pullback time period.
Calculating the maximum of the moving time window pressure change based on the dataset of the part of the vessel is a mental process that can be practically performed in the human mind, with the aid of pen and paper. For example, a person with ordinary skill in the art can reasonably calculate a maximum value by viewing a moving time window pressure change dataset on a piece of paper, and calculate the maximum. There is nothing to suggest an undue level of complexity in the calculating step.
Prong Two: Claim 1 does not recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application. Therefore, the claims are “directed to” the abstract idea. The additional elements merely:
Recite the words “apply it” or an equivalent with the judicial exception, or include instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer, or merely use the computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea (e.g., “a processor”), and
Add insignificant extra-solution activity (the pre-solution activity of: using generic data-gathering components (e.g. “receive a data set … from measurements of a movable pressure sensor …”); the post-solution activity of: (e.g. N/A); using generic data-outputting components (e.g. N/A)).
As a whole, the additional elements merely serve to gather information to be used by the abstract idea, while generically implementing it on a computer. There is no practical application because the abstract idea is not applied, relied on, or used in a meaningful way. The processing performed remains in the abstract realm, i.e., the result is not used for a treatment. No improvement to the technology is evident. Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Per the Berkheimer requirement, the additional elements are well-understood, routine, and conventional.
For example, “a movable pressure sensor” is well-understood, routine, and conventional, as disclosed by the instant specification (pg. 13) and Ryan et al. (US 20150112152 A1) - para. (0030).
Further, “a processor” does not qualify as significantly more because this limitation is simply appending well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry (see Electric Power Group, 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014)) and/or a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than being stored on a computer readable medium which is a well-understood, routine and conventional activity previously known in the industry (see Electric Power Group, 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014); SAP Am. v. InvestPic, 890 F.3d 1016 (Fed. Circ. 2018)).
Step 2B of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.05).
Claim 1 does not include additional elements, alone or in combination, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (i.e., an inventive concept) for the same reasons as described above. E.g., all elements are directed to pre-solution steps of necessary data gathering, which merely facilitate the abstract idea.
In view of the above, the additional elements individually do not integrate the exception into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the above-judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination (that is, as a whole) adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taking individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, for example, or improves any other technology. There is no indication that the combination of elements permits automation of specific tasks that previously could not be automated. There is no indication that the combination of elements includes a particular solution to a computer-based problem or a particular way to achieve a desired computer-based outcome. Rather, the collective functions of the claimed invention merely provide conventional computer implementation, i.e., the computer is simply a tool to perform the process.
Analysis of the dependent claims:
Claims 2-20 depend from the independent claim. The dependent claims merely further define the abstract idea and are, therefore, directed to an abstract idea for similar reasons: they merely
Further describe the abstract idea (“determine the duration of the time window in the range of 5% up to and including 50% of the pullback time period …” (claim 3), “calculate from the dataset the pressure change associated with the pullback time period …” (claim 4), “determine a threshold for a rate of change of the pressure values of the dataset in function of time …” (claim 5), “determine the threshold as a rate of change of the pressure values in the range of at least 0.05% of a maximum pressure value per subsection of the pullback time period …” (claim 6), “determine a threshold for a rate of change of the pressure values of the dataset in function of time …” (claim 7), “calculate the functional outcome index (FOI) based on the formula …” (claim 8), “calculate the functional outcome index (FOI) based on the formula …” (claim 9), “calculate the functional outcome index (FOI) such that the FOI is an expression of at least one of the following functional patterns of coronary artery disease …” (claim 10), “determine the threshold as a rate of change of the pressure values in the range of at least 0.05% of a maximum pressure value per subsection of the pullback time period; and - calculate a functional outcome index (FOI) based on …” (claim 16), “calculate the functional outcome index (FOI) …” (claim 17), “calculate the functional outcome index (FOI) …” (claim 18), “calculate the functional outcome index (FOI) …” (claim 19)),
Further describe the pre-solution activity (or the structure used for such activity) (“wherein the set of pressure values of the dataset, comprises: - pressure values determined from measurements of the movable pressure sensor while moving along the part of the vessel during the pullback time period …” (claim 2), “a stationary pressure sensor …” (claim 9), “wherein the pressure values of the dataset are determined from pressure measurements along a part of a coronary vessel from a patient under hyperaemic conditions” (claim 12), “wherein the movable pressure sensor is moved by means of at least one of …” (claim 13), “wherein the data acquisition system further comprises at least one of the following comprising at least the movable pressure sensor and optionally a stationary pressure sensor …” (claim 14), “wherein- the set of relative pressure values comprises a fractional flow reserve (FFR) pullback curve comprising FFR values determined from measurements of the movable pressure sensor with respect to a stationary pressure sensor during the pullback time period …” (claim 18)),
Further describe the computer implementation (“wherein the data process system forms a portion of a larger system, wherein the larger system further comprises a data acquisition system coupled to and/or comprised in the data processing system …” (claim 13), “computer-implemented method for operating the data processing system …” (claim 15)), and
Further describe the post-solution activity (“the data processing system is configured to output the value of the FOI such these values quantify at least one of the following functional patterns of coronary artery disease …” (claim 11), “the data processing system is configured to output the value of the FOI …” (claim 20)) (recited at a high level of generality).
Per the Berkheimer requirement, the additional elements are well-understood, routine, and conventional.
For example, a stationary pressure sensor is well-understood, routine, and conventional, as disclosed by Ryan et al. (US 20150112152 A1) - para. (0030-0032).
Further, “a data acquisition system” and “a computer-implemented method …” does not qualify as significantly more because this limitation is simply appending well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry (see Electric Power Group, 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014)) and/or a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than being stored on a computer readable medium which is a well-understood, routine and conventional activity previously known in the industry (see Electric Power Group, 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014); SAP Am. v. InvestPic, 890 F.3d 1016 (Fed. Circ. 2018)).
Taken alone or in combination, the additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application at least because the abstract idea is not applied, relied on, or used in a meaningful way. The additional elements do not add anything significantly more than the abstract idea. The collective functions of the additional elements merely provide computer/electronic implementation and processing, and no additional elements beyond those of the abstract idea. There is no indication that the combination of elements permits automation of specific tasks that previously could not be automated. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, output device, improves technology other than the technical field of the claimed invention, etc. Therefore, the claims are rejected as being directed to non-statutory subjection matter. Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryan et al. (US 20150112152 A1), hereinafter referred to as Ryan, in view of Suh et al. (US 20190320911 A1), hereinafter referred to as Suh.
The claims are generally directed towards a data processing system comprising a processor, configured to: - receive a dataset comprising a set of pressure values measured during a pullback time period, the pullback time period corresponding to the time period during which the set of pressure values were determined from measurements of a movable pressure sensor while moving along a part of a vessel; - determine a time window of which the duration corresponds to a fraction of the pullback time period; - calculate the maximum of the moving time window pressure change based on the dataset of the part of the vessel.
Regarding claim 1, Ryan discloses a data processing system comprising a processor (Abstract, Fig. 4, para. [0036]), configured to:
- receive a dataset comprising a set of pressure values measured during a pullback time period, the pullback time period corresponding to the time period during which the set of pressure values were determined from measurements of a movable pressure sensor while moving along a part of a vessel (Fig. 4, Fig. 5, para. [0033-0037], “instrument … configured to monitor pressure within the vessel … monitor pressure within vessel while being moved … moved proximally (i.e., pulled back) … interface is communicatively coupled to a computing device …”);
- determine a time window of which the duration corresponds to a fraction of the pullback time period (para. [0063-0064], “distal and proximal pressure measurements associated with any heartbeat cycles determined to be irregular are filtered …”).
However, Ryan does not explicitly disclose the processor is configured to - calculate the maximum of the moving time window pressure change based on the dataset of the part of the vessel.
Suh teaches an analogous data processing system comprising a processor configured to receive a dataset comprising a set of pressure values (Abstract, Fig. 2, Fig. 3, para. [0029], para. [0035]). Suh further teaches the processor is configured to calculate the maximum moving time window pressure change based on the dataset of the part of the vessel (Fig. 3B, para. [0044-0047]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processor disclosed by Ryan to additionally be configured to calculate the maximum of the moving time window pressure change based on the dataset of the part of the vessel, as taught by Suh. This is because Suh teaches determining the maximum allows for approximating the fractional flow reserve (FFR) (para. [0045]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Ryan discloses the data processing system of claim 1, wherein the set of pressure values of the dataset, comprises: - pressure values determined from measurements of the movable pressure sensor while moving along the part of the vessel during the pullback time period (Fig. 4, Fig. 5, para. [0033-0037], “instrument … configured to monitor pressure within the vessel … monitor pressure within vessel while being moved … moved proximally (i.e., pulled back) … interface is communicatively coupled to a computing device …”); - optionally, pressure values determined from measurements of a stationary pressure sensor which remains stationary in the vessel during the pullback time period; - optionally, pressure values determined from a ratio of the measurements of the movable pressure sensor and the stationary pressure sensor during the pullback time period; and - optionally, a time-reference comprising: - an indication of the time during the pullback time period of the pressure measurements related to the set of pressure values; - an indication of a measurement frequency and/or a measurement interval of the pressure measurements related to the set of pressure values.
Regarding claim 3, modified Ryan discloses the data processing system claim 1 , further configured to: - determine the duration of the time window in the range of 5% up to and including 50% of the pullback time period, wherein the duration of the pullback time period is in the range of: - at least 10s; and/or - at least 10 heartbeat cycles; and/or - determine the duration of the time window in the range of:- at least is; and/or - at least 1 heartbeat cycle (Fig. 5, Fig. 6, para. [0034], “movement control device controls movement of the instrument at a selectable and known speed …”, para. [0061-0065], “distal pressure measurements and proximal pressure measurements for a plurality of heartbeat cycles …”).
Regarding claim 12, modified Ryan discloses the data processing system of claim 1, wherein the pressure values of the dataset are determined from pressure measurements along a part of a coronary vessel from a patient under hyperaemic conditions (para. [0041], “hyperemic state of a patient …”).
Regarding claim 13, modified Ryan discloses the data processing system of claim 1, wherein the data process system forms a portion of a larger system, wherein the larger system further comprises a data acquisition system coupled to and/or comprised in the data processing system (Fig. 4, para. [0036]), wherein the data acquisition system configured to: - receive as input the pressure measurements from the movable pressure sensor when moved along the part of the vessel during the pullback time period (Fig. 4, Fig. 5, para. [0033-0037], “instrument … configured to monitor pressure within the vessel … monitor pressure within vessel while being moved … moved proximally (i.e., pulled back) … interface is communicatively coupled to a computing device …”) wherein the movable pressure sensor is moved by means of at least one of: - a manual pullback of a pressure wire; - a motorized pullback of a pressure wire (para. [0034], “manually by medical personnel … automatically by a movement control device …”); and - generate and/or provide to the data processing system the set of pressure values of the dataset based on the pressure measurements during the pullback time period (para. [0033-0037], “instrument … configured to monitor pressure within the vessel … monitor pressure within vessel while being moved … moved proximally (i.e., pulled back) … interface is communicatively coupled to a computing device …”); and optionally, a time-reference comprising: - an indication of the time during the pullback time period of the pressure measurements related to the set of pressure values; - an indication of a measurement frequency and/or a measurement interval of the pressure measurements related to the set of pressure values.
Regarding claim 14, modified Ryan discloses a system according to claim 13, wherein the data acquisition system further comprises at least one of the following comprising at least the movable pressure sensor and optionally a stationary pressure sensor (para. [0034], “at least one of the instruments 130 and 132 is configured to monitor pressure within the vessel while being moved …”):
- A catheter comprising a pressure wire (para. [0030], “pressure guide wire …”);
- A catheter comprising a pressure wire configured for manual pullback along a predetermined part of a vessel during the pullback time period (para. [0030], para. [0034]); and/or
- A catheter comprising a pressure wire coupled to a motorized device with a fixed pullback speed during the pullback time period (para. [0030], para. [0034]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Ryan discloses a computer-implemented method for operating the data processing system of claim 1, wherein the method comprises the following steps performed by the data processing system (para. [0036]):
- receiving a dataset comprising a set of pressure values measured during a pullback time period, the pullback time period corresponding to the time period during which the set of pressure values were determined from measurements of a movable pressure sensor while moving along a part of a vessel (Fig. 4, Fig. 5, para. [0033-0037], “instrument … configured to monitor pressure within the vessel … monitor pressure within vessel while being moved … moved proximally (i.e., pulled back) … interface is communicatively coupled to a computing device …”);
- determining a time window of which the duration corresponds to a fraction of the pullback time period (para. [0063-0064], “distal and proximal pressure measurements associated with any heartbeat cycles determined to be irregular are filtered …”);
- calculating the maximum of the moving time window pressure change based on the dataset of the part of the vessel (See the rejection of claim 1 in view of Suh), and
wherein optionally the set of pressure values of the dataset relate to pressure measurements for a coronary vessel from a patient under hyperaemic conditions, and
wherein optionally the method comprises the further step of:
- quantifying the patterns of a coronary artery functional disease in a coronary vessel from a patient under hyperaemic conditions.
Claims 4-11 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryan et al. (US 20150112152 A1), hereinafter referred to as Ryan, in view of Suh et al. (US 20190320911 A1), hereinafter referred to as Suh as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sonck et al. (WO 2020212459 A1), hereinafter referred to as Sonck.
Regarding claim 4, modified Ryan discloses the data processing system of claim 1.
However, modified Ryan does not explicitly disclose the data processing system is further configured to: - calculate from the dataset the pressure change associated with the pullback time period; and - calculate a ratio of: - the maximum pressure change associated with the time window; and - the pressure change associated with the pullback time period, thereby determining the contribution of the pressure change during the time window with respect to the pressure change during the pullback time period.
Sonck teaches of an analogous data processing system configured to receive a dataset comprising a set of pressure values measured during a pullback time period (pg. 23, lines 3-19). Sonck further teaches the data processing system is configured to: - calculate from the dataset the pressure change associated with the pullback time period; and - calculate a ratio of: - the maximum pressure change associated with the time window; and - the pressure change associated with the pullback time period, thereby determining the contribution of the pressure change during the time window with respect to the pressure change during the pullback time period (pg. 34, line 1 - pg. 35, line 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processing system taught by modified Ryan to additionally be configured to - calculate from the dataset the pressure change associated with the pullback time period; and - calculate a ratio of: - the maximum pressure change associated with the time window; and - the pressure change associated with the pullback time period, thereby determining the contribution of the pressure change during the time window with respect to the pressure change during the pullback time period, as taught by Sonck. This is because Sonck teaches calculating the ratio allows for the computation of a functional index to allow for quantitative assessment of a coronary artery disease (pg. 14, line 27 - pg. 15, line 6).
Regarding claim 5, modified Ryan discloses the data processing system of claim 1.
However, modified Ryan does not explicitly disclose the data processing system is further configured to: - determine a threshold for a rate of change of the pressure values of the dataset in function of time; - determine, based on the dataset a portion of the pullback time period in which the rate of change is equal to or larger than the threshold.
Sonck teaches of an analogous data processing system configured to receive a dataset comprising a set of pressure values measured during a pullback time period (pg. 23, lines 3-19). Sonck further teaches the data processing system is configured to: - determine a threshold for a rate of change of the pressure values of the dataset in function of time; - determine, based on the dataset a portion of the pullback time period in which the rate of change is equal to or larger than the threshold (pg. 34, line 1 - pg. 35, line 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processing system to additionally be configured to determine a threshold for a rate of change of the pressure values of the dataset in function of time; - determine, based on the dataset a portion of the pullback time period in which the rate of change is equal to or larger than the threshold, as taught by Sonck. This is because Sonck teaches determining a portion of the pullback time period based on the threshold allows for the computation of a functional index to allow for quantitative assessment of a coronary artery disease (pg. 14, line 27 - pg. 15, line 6, pg. 34, line 1 - pg. 35, line 6).
Regarding claim 6, modified Ryan discloses discloses the data processing system of claim 1.
However, modified Ryan does not explicitly disclose the data processing system is further configured to: - determine the threshold as a rate of change of the pressure values in the range of at least 0.05% of a maximum pressure value per subsection of the pullback time period.
Sonck teaches of an analogous data processing system configured to receive a dataset comprising a set of pressure values measured during a pullback time period (pg. 23, lines 3-19). Sonck further teaches the data processing system is configured to - determine the threshold as a rate of change of the pressure values in the range of at least 0.05% of a maximum pressure value per subsection of the pullback time period (pg. 34, line 1 - pg. 35, line 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data processing system taught by modified Ryan to additionally be configured to determine the threshold as a rate of change of the pressure values in the range of at least 0.05% of a maximum pressure value per subsection of the pullback time period, as taught by Sonck. This is because Sonck teaches determining the threshold allows for the computation of a functional index to allow for quantitative assessment of a coronary artery disease (pg. 14, line 27 - pg. 15, line 6, pg. 34, line 1 - pg. 35, line 6).
Regarding claim 7, modified Ryan discloses the data processing system of claim 4.
However, modified Ryan does not explicitly disclose the data processing system is further configured to: - determine a threshold for a rate of change of the pressure values of the dataset in function of time; - determine, based on the dataset a portion of the pullback time period in which the rate of change is equal to or larger than the threshold; and - calculate a functional outcome index (FOI) based on the combination of: - the contribution of the maximum pressure change associated with the time window, with respect to the pressure change associated with the pullback time period; and - the portion of the pullback time period associated with the dataset in which the rate of change is equal to or larger than the threshold.
Sonck further teaches the data processing system is configured to determine a threshold for a rate of change of the pressure values of the dataset in function of time; - determine, based on the dataset a portion of the pullback time period in which the rate of change is equal to or larger than the threshold; and - calculate a functional outcome index (FOI) based on the combination of: - the contribution of the maximum pressure change associated with the time window, with respect to the pressure change associated with the pullback time period; and - the portion of the pullback time period associated with the dataset in which the rate of change is equal to or larger than the threshold (pg. 34, line 1 - pg. 35, line 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data processing system to additionally calculate the FOI as claimed, as taught by Sonck. This is because Sonck teaches computation of a functional index to allow for quantitative assessment of a coronary artery disease (pg. 14, line 27 - pg. 15, line 6, pg. 34, line 1 - pg. 35, line 6).
Regarding claim 8, modified Ryan discloses the processing system of claim 7.
However, modified Ryan does not explicitly disclose the data processing system is further configured to: - calculate the functional outcome index (FOI) based on the formula:
- maximum pressure change (time window) is defined the maximum pressure change associated with the time window; - pressure change (pullback time period) is defined as the pressure change associated with the pullback time period; and - threshold exceeding portion is defined as the portion of the pullback time period associated with said dataset in which the rate of change is equal to or larger than the threshold.
Sonck further teaches the data processing system is configured to calculate the functional outcome index (FOI) based on the formula:
- maximum pressure change (time window) is defined the maximum pressure change associated with the time window; - pressure change (pullback time period) is defined as the pressure change associated with the pullback time period; and - threshold exceeding portion is defined as the portion of the pullback time period associated with said dataset in which the rate of change is equal to or larger than the threshold (pg. 34, line 1 - pg. 35, line 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data processing system taught by modifed Ryan to additionally calculate the FOI using the claimed formula, as taught by Sonck. This is because Sonck teaches computation of a functional index to allow for quantitative assessment of a coronary artery disease (pg. 14, line 27 - pg. 15, line 6, pg. 34, line 1 - pg. 35, line 6).
Regarding claim 9, modified Ryan discloses the data processing system of claim 8.
However, modified Ryan does not explicitly disclose wherein - the set of relative pressure values comprises a fractional flow reserve (FFR) pullback curve comprising FFR values determined from measurements of the movable pressure sensor with respect to a stationary pressure sensor during the pullback time period, and wherein the data processing system is further configured to: - calculate the functional outcome index (FOI) based on the formula:
wherein: - maximum ΔFFR (time window) is defined as the maximum difference between FFR values associated with the start and the end of the time window; -ΔFFR (pullback time period) is defined as the difference between FFR values associated with the start and the end of the pullback time period; and - threshold exceeding portion is defined as the portion of the pullback time period associated with the dataset in which the rate of change in FFR is equal to or larger than the threshold.
Sonck further teaches the set of relative pressure values comprises a fractional flow reserve (FFR) pullback curve comprising FFR values determined from measurements of the movable pressure sensor with respect to a stationary pressure sensor during the pullback time period, and wherein the data processing system is further configured to: - calculate the functional outcome index (FOI) based on the formula:
wherein: - maximum ΔFFR (time window) is defined as the maximum difference between FFR values associated with the start and the end of the time window; -ΔFFR (pullback time period) is defined as the difference between FFR values associated with the start and the end of the pullback time period; and - threshold exceeding portion is defined as the portion of the pullback time period associated with the dataset in which the rate of change in FFR is equal to or larger than the threshold (pg. 22, line 1 - pg. 23, line 19, pg. 34, line 1 - pg. 35, line 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data processing system taught by modified Ryan to additionally be configured to calculate the FOI index as claimed, as taught by Sonck. This is because Sonck teaches computation of a functional index to allow for quantitative assessment of a coronary artery disease (pg. 14, line 27 - pg. 15, line 6, pg. 34, line 1 - pg. 35, line 6).
Regarding claim 10, modified Ryan discloses the data processing system of claim 9.
However, modified Ryan does not explicitly disclose the data processing system is further configured to: - calculate the functional outcome index (FOI) such that the FOI is an expression of at least one of the following functional patterns of coronary artery disease: - a focal coronary artery disease; - a diffuse coronary artery disease.
Sonck further teaches the FOI is an expression of at least one of the following functional patterns of coronary artery disease: - a focal coronary artery disease; - a diffuse coronary artery disease (pg. 14, line 27 - pg. 15, line 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data processing system taught by modified Ryan to explicitly calculate the FOI as an expression of at least one of the following functional patterns of coronary artery disease: - a focal coronary artery disease; - a diffuse coronary artery disease, as taught by Sonck. This is because Sonck teaches the FOI allows for quantitative assessment of focal and coronary artery diseases, while differentiating between the two (pg. 14, line 27 - pg. 15, line 6).
Regarding claim 11, modified Ryan discloses the data processing system of claim 10.
However, modified Ryan does not explicitly disclose the data processing system is configured to output the value of the FOI such these values quantify at least one of the following functional patterns of coronary artery disease:- the functional pattern of a focal coronary artery disease when the value is higher than 0.7;- the functional pattern of a diffuse coronary artery disease when the value is lower than 0.4; and/or - functional pattern of a mixed coronary artery disease when the value is between 0.4 and 0.7.
Sonck further teaches the data processing system is configured to output the value of the FOI such these values quantify at least one of the following functional patterns of coronary artery disease:- the functional pattern of a focal coronary artery disease when the value is higher than 0.7;- the functional pattern of a diffuse coronary artery disease when the value is lower than 0.4; and/or - functional pattern of a mixed coronary artery disease when the value is between 0.4 and 0.7 (pg. 20, line 17 - pg. 21, line 10, pg. 24, lines 21-26). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data processing system taught by modified Sonck to additionally output the FOI values, as taught by Sonck. This is because Sonck teaches outputting the FOI values allows for a cardiologist to be provided with treatment options (pg. 9, lines 5-21).
Regarding claim 16, modified Ryan discloses the data processing system of claim 4.
However, modified Ryan does not explicitly disclose the data processing system is further configured to: - determine the threshold as a rate of change of the pressure values in the range of at least 0.05% of a maximum pressure value per subsection of the pullback time period; and - calculate a functional outcome index (FOI) based on the combination of:- the contribution of the maximum pressure change associated with the time window, with respect to the pressure change associated with the pullback time period; and- the portion of the pullback time period associated with the dataset in which the rate of change is equal to or larger than the threshold.
Sonck further teaches the data processing system is configured to determine the threshold as a rate of change of the pressure values in the range of at least 0.05% of a maximum pressure value per subsection of the pullback time period (pg. 34, line 1 - pg. 35, line 6); and - calculate a functional outcome index (FOI) based on the combination of:- the contribution of the maximum pressure change associated with the time window, with respect to the pressure change associated with the pullback time period; and- the portion of the pullback time period associated with the dataset in which the rate of change is equal to or larger than the threshold (pg. 34, line 1 - pg. 35, line 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processing system taught by Sonck to additionally determine the threshold and calculate the FOI as claimed, as taught by Sonck. This is because Sonck teaches computation of a functional index to allow for quantitative assessment of a coronary artery disease (pg. 14, line 27 - pg. 15, line 6, pg. 34, line 1 - pg. 35, line 6).
Regarding claim 17, modified Ryan discloses the processing system according to claim 16.
However, modified Ryan does not explicitly disclose the processing system is further configured to: - calculate the functional outcome index (FOI) based on the formula:
- maximum pressure change (time window) is defined as the maximum pressure change associated with the time window; - pressure change (pullback time period) is defined as the pressure change associated with the pullback time period; and - threshold exceeding portion is defined as the portion of the pullback time period associated with the dataset in which the rate of change is equal to or larger than the threshold.
Sonck further teaches the data processing system is configured to calculate the functional outcome index (FOI) based on the formula:
- maximum pressure change (time window) is defined as the maximum pressure change associated with the time window; - pressure change (pullback time period) is defined as the pressure change associated with the pullback time period; and - threshold exceeding portion is defined as the portion of the pullback time period associated with the dataset in which the rate of change is equal to or larger than the threshold (pg. 34, line 1 - pg. 35, line 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data processing system taught by modifed Ryan to additionally calculate the FOI using the claimed formula, as taught by Sonck. This is because Sonck teaches computation of a functional index to allow for quantitative assessment of a coronary artery disease (pg. 14, line 27 - pg. 15, line 6, pg. 34, line 1 - pg. 35, line 6).
Regarding claim 18, modified Ryan discloses the data processing system according to claim 17.
However, modified Ryan does not explicitly disclose wherein - the set of relative pressure values comprises a fractional flow reserve (FFR) pullback curve comprising FFR values determined from measurements of the movable pressure sensor with respect to a stationary pressure sensor during the pullback time period, and wherein the data processing system is further configured to: - calculate the functional outcome index (FOI) based on the formula:
wherein: - maximum ΔFFR (time window) is defined as the maximum difference between FFR values associated with the start and the end of the time window; - ΔFFR (pullback time period) is defined as the difference between FFR values associated with the start and the end of the pullback time period; and - threshold exceeding portion is defined as the portion of the pullback time period associated with the dataset in which the rate of change in FFR is equal to or larger than the threshold.
Sonck further teaches the set of relative pressure values comprises a fractional flow reserve (FFR) pullback curve comprising FFR values determined from measurements of the movable pressure sensor with respect to a stationary pressure sensor during the pullback time period, and wherein the data processing system is further configured to: - calculate the functional outcome index (FOI) based on the formula:
wherein: - maximum ΔFFR (time window) is defined as the maximum difference between FFR values associated with the start and the end of the time window; - ΔFFR (pullback time period) is defined as the difference between FFR values associated with the start and the end of the pullback time period; and - threshold exceeding portion is defined as the portion of the pullback time period associated with the dataset in which the rate of change in FFR is equal to or larger than the threshold (pg. 22, line 1 - pg. 23, line 19, pg. 34, line 1 - pg. 35, line 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data processing system taught by modified Ryan to additionally be configured to calculate the FOI index as claimed, as taught by Sonck. This is because Sonck teaches computation of a functional index to allow for quantitative assessment of a coronary artery disease (pg. 14, line 27 - pg. 15, line 6, pg. 34, line 1 - pg. 35, line 6).
Regarding claim 19, modified Ryan discloses the data processing system according to claim 18.
However, modified Ryan does not explicitly disclose the data processing system is further configured to: - calculate the functional outcome index (FOI) such that the FOI is an expression of at least one of the following functional patterns of coronary artery disease: - a focal coronary artery disease; - a diffuse coronary artery disease.
Sonck further teaches the FOI is an expression of at least one of the following functional patterns of coronary artery disease: - a focal coronary artery disease; - a diffuse coronary artery disease (pg. 14, line 27 - pg. 15, line 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data processing system taught by modified Ryan to explicitly calculate the FOI as an expression of at least one of the following functional patterns of coronary artery disease: - a focal coronary artery disease; - a diffuse coronary artery disease, as taught by Sonck. This is because Sonck teaches the FOI allows for quantitative assessment of focal and coronary artery diseases, while differentiating between the two (pg. 14, line 27 - pg. 15, line 6).
Regarding claim 20, modified Ryan discloses the data processing system according to claim 19.
However, modified Ryan does not explicitly disclose wherein, the data processing system is configured to output the value of the FOI such these values quantify at least one of the following functional patterns of coronary artery disease:- the functional pattern of a focal coronary artery disease when the value is higher than 0.7; - the functional pattern of a diffuse coronary artery disease when the value is lower than 0.4; and/or - functional pattern of a mixed coronary artery disease when the value is between 0.4 and 0.7.
Sonck further teaches the data processing system is configured to output the value of the FOI such these values quantify at least one of the following functional patterns of coronary artery disease:- the functional pattern of a focal coronary artery disease when the value is higher than 0.7;- the functional pattern of a diffuse coronary artery disease when the value is lower than 0.4; and/or - functional pattern of a mixed coronary artery disease when the value is between 0.4 and 0.7 (pg. 20, line 17 - pg. 21, line 10, pg. 24, lines 21-26). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data processing system taught by modified Sonck to additionally output the FOI values, as taught by Sonck. This is because Sonck teaches outputting the FOI values allows for a cardiologist to be provided with treatment options (pg. 9, lines 5-21).
Conclusion
/K.W.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JASON M SIMS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791