Response to Amendment
Amendment to claims of 11/10/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim objections in the Office action of 08/08/2025 are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, on page 10, that Kristensen et al. discloses method of controlling access to a location and not to lock box. Kistensen et al. is relied upon to teach a system with a pre specified delay parameter and successful authentication to operate the lock. The delay parameter can be any suitable period of time (Para. [0021].) Jiang discloses a lock box (301, para. [0003].) Authorization for different users require different types of values or tokens. Since access to a location or a lock box requires adequate authorization to operate lock mechanism. Kristensen et al. teaches authorization and delay time to operate the lock. Jiang modified with features of Kristensen et al. teaches all the limitations of amended claim. Applicant's argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 9, 11, 13-14, 16, 18-19, 21, 23, 28-29, 32, and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (U.S. Pub. App. 2019-0176036) in view of Kristensen et al. (U.S. Pub. App. 2016-0358397).
For claim 1, Jiang discloses, in Figures 1-21, a lock box (301, Figure 3. Boxes, para. [0003]) comprising:
a cavity for receiving an item (301 has cavity to receive items, Figure 3);
a locking mechanism for controlling access to the cavity (Para. [0032-0037, and 0078-0082]); and
a processor for controlling the locking mechanism so as to allow access to the cavity for a party in dependence on the meeting of a condition set by a controlling party (Para. [0063-0066]);
wherein the meeting of the condition is associated with the provision of a value of tokens that are associated with, and/or held by, the party (The server 101 has skill management module 1701, which contains value of tokens such as a library of different skills. Once the user finish assigned tasks, the lock will be opened. Para. [0084-0090].); and
wherein the lock box is arranged to require a delay between one or more of: the provision of a plurality of tokens; the provision of a plurality of groups of tokens; the provision of a plurality of types of tokens.
Kristensen et al. teaches a system with a specified delay parameter to operate the lock, and the delay parameter can be any suitable period of time. Along with successful authentication (Para. [0021]) the lock mechanism can be activated providing a secured and remote locking system. Authorization values or tokens for different users will be different to maintain secured access. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang with a delay such that the required delay is between one or more of: the provision of a plurality of tokens; the provision of a plurality of groups of tokens; the provision of a plurality of types of tokens, as taught by Kristensen et al. with a reasonable expectation of success of providing a secured and remote locking system. Jiang discloses the operation of lock is associated value of tokens (Para. [0084-0090]), and Jiang modified with delay features of Kristensen et al. teaches the claimed limitations.
For claim 3, Jiang modified with Kristensen et al. teaches the lock box of claim 1, wherein the processor is arranged to require a delay between consecutive operations of the locking mechanism (Jiang discloses processor, para. [0063-0066]. Kristensen et al. teaches a data processing system, para. [0063], and delay parameter, para. [0021] for a secured locking system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang with a delay system such that the processor is arranged to require a delay between consecutive operations of the locking mechanism, as taught by Kristensen et al. with a reasonable expectation of success having a deal parameter with secured lock.)
For claim 4, Jiang modified with Kristensen et al. teaches the lock box of claim 2, wherein the delay required is one or more of: more than one minute, more than one hour, and/or more than twenty-four hours (Kristensen et al. teaches a delay parameter for any suitable time, para. [0021] to provide a secured lock system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang with a delay system such that the delay required is one or more of: more than one minute, more than one hour, and/or more than twenty-four hours, as taught by Kristensen et al. with a reasonable expectation of success having a deal parameter with secured lock.)
For claim 5, Jiang modified with Kristensen et al. teaches the lock box of claims 2, wherein the delay required depends on one or more of: the condition; a party associated with the tokens; a type and/or value of the tokens; and the controlling party (Kristensen et al. teaches a delay parameter for any suitable time for different activities, para. [0021] to provide a secured lock system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang with a delay system such that the delay required depends on one or more of: the condition; a party associated with the tokens; a type and/or value of the tokens; and the controlling party, as taught by Kristensen et al. with a reasonable expectation of success having a deal parameter with secured lock.)
For claim 7, Jiang discloses the lock box of claim 1, wherein; the tokens comprise digital tokens; and/or the lock box comprises a user interface and/or a communication interface for identifying and/or receiving a token; and/or the processor is arranged to identify an association and/or an ownership of the token (The lock box uses user interface, Figures 10-11.)
For claim 9, Jiang discloses the lock box of claim 1, comprising a user interface and/or a communication interface for identifying and/or receiving the condition (Figures 10-11.)
For claim 11, Jiang discloses the lock box of claim 1, wherein the meeting of the condition is associated with one or more of; the provision of one or more of: a number of tokens; a type of token; and a value of tokens; and the performance of one or more tasks (Figures 10-11.)
For claim 13, Jiang discloses the lock box of claim 1, wherein the processor (Para. [0063-0066]) is arranged to identify a type and/or value of each token, wherein the meeting of the condition is associated with one or more of: the provision of a plurality of different types of tokens, wherein each different type of token is associated with a different type of task; and the provision of a predetermined value of tokens (Figures 10-11.); and wherein the lock box is arranged to communicate with a further computer device to verify the completion of tasks (Communication module 110 communicate with client device 104. Module 111 verifies the input, which is the task completed. Para. [0068]. Figure 5.)
For claim 14, Jiang discloses the lock box of claim 1, wherein a user interface and/or a communication interface is arranged to receive from the controlling party one or more of: an approver for a task; a reward for completing a task; and a requirement for a task to be completed (Abstract. Para. [0084-0088]. Figures 10-11.)
For claim 16, Jiang discloses the lock box of claim 1, comprising one or more of; a plurality of cavities (301 has plurality of cavities, Figures 3-4.); and a plurality of locking mechanisms, wherein each locking mechanism is associated with a different condition (Switch device management module 103 manages tasks for each switch device. Para. [0065].)
For claim 18, Jiang discloses the lock box of claim 1, wherein the condition is dependent on the party, preferably wherein the processor is arranged to determine an appropriate condition for the party (Switch device management module 103 can assign different tasks for different users. Para. [0066].)
For claim 19, Jiang discloses the lock box of claim 18, wherein the condition is dependent on one or more of: a previous activity of the party; a previous condition associated with the party; a previous condition having been met by the party; a previous condition not having been met by the party; a time required for a previous condition to have been met by the party; and a change in a characteristic of the party (Para. [0015, 0063-0066, and 0097-0098])
For claim 21, Jiang discloses the lock box of claim 1, wherein a user interface and/or a communication interface is arranged to output one or more of: the condition; an indication of progress towards the condition; and a number of tokens earned by a party (Rewards can be earned. Abstract. Para. [0003-0005, 0014, and 0084-0088].)
For claim 23, Jiang discloses the lock box of claim 1, wherein the condition is associated with and/or dependent on: a time; a party attempting to access the box; an item within the cavity; and a behaviour of a party attempting to access the box (Abstract. Para. [0003-005, and 0015].)
For claim 28, Jiang discloses an apparatus for controlling the lock box of claim 1, the apparatus comprising a communication interface (Client device 104, para. [0067]) for setting the condition.
For claim 29, Jiang discloses the apparatus of claim 28, wherein the communication interface is arranged to indicate the meeting of the condition to the lock box (Figures 4-5.)
For claim 32, Jiang discloses, in Figures 1-21, a computer-implemented (Figure 10-11) method of providing access to a lock box (301, Figure 3. Boxes, para. [0003]), the method comprising: identifying a lock box comprising a cavity for receiving an item (301 has cavity for receiving items. Figures 3-4.); and identifying a condition set by a controlling party of the lock box, wherein the meeting of the condition is associated with the provision of a value of tokens, wherein the tokens are associated with, and/or held by, a party (Client device identifies the user. Task manger assign tasks based on user’s skill level. Once the tasks are completed, the client device will turn on the Task enabled switch in the switch device. Abstract. Figures 10-11.); determining whether the condition has been met (Client device identifies the user. Once the tasks are completed, the client device will turn on the Task enabled switch in the switch device. Abstract. Figures 10-11.); and providing access to the cavity for the party in dependence on the condition having been met (Access can be provided in different ways. Para. [0004, 0006, 0008, 0072, and 0090.); wherein the lock box is arranged to require a delay between one or more of: the provision of a plurality of tokens; the provision of a plurality of groups of tokens; the provision of a plurality of types of tokens.
Kristensen et al. teaches a system with a specified delay parameter to operate the lock, and the delay parameter can be any suitable period of time. Along with successful authentication (Para. [0021]) the lock mechanism can be activated providing a secured and remote locking system. Authorization values or tokens for different users will be different to maintain secured access. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang with a delay such that the required delay is between one or more of: the provision of a plurality of tokens; the provision of a plurality of groups of tokens; the provision of a plurality of types of tokens, as taught by Kristensen et al. with a reasonable expectation of success of providing a secured and remote locking system. Jiang discloses the operation of lock is associated value of tokens (Para. [0084-0090]), and Jiang modified with delay features of Kristensen et al. teaches the claimed limitations.
For claim 37, Jiang discloses the lock box of claim 1, wherein the tokens are associated with the party and the value of tokens required to meet the condition is dependent on the party (The value of the token depends on the tasks completed. Para. [0063-0066].)
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (U.S. Pub. App. 2019-0176036) in view of Kristensen et al. (U.S. Pub. App. 2016-0358397) and further in view of Fisher (U.S. Pub. App. 2013-0187756).
For claim 6, Jiang discloses the lock box of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the lock box comprises a receptacle for receiving a token; and wherein the meeting of the condition is associated with the provision of a token to the receptacle.
Fisher teaches a system with a lock box 950 having a receptacle for receiving a token 905 to operate the lock (Para. [0161]. Figure 10) to provide a secured access. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang with a receptacle for receiving a token such that the meeting of the condition is associated with the provision of a token to the receptacle, as taught by Fisher with a reasonable expectation of success of having a secured lock system.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (U.S. Pub. App. 2019-0176036) in view of Kristensen et al. (U.S. Pub. App. 2016-0358397) and further in view of Baldasare et al. (U.S. Pub. App. 2018-0351375).
For claim 24, Jiang discloses the lock box of claim 1, comprising one or more of: a charging port for charging an item located in the cavity; a user interface for providing an output when an attempt is made to access the cavity and/or when the cavity is accessed and/or when the locking mechanism is operated (Para. [0003, 0005]); a communication interface for communicating with other computer devices, wherein the communication interface is arranged to receive transmissions from said other devices in relation to the condition (Mobile phone 104. Figure 3); and an output power supply for providing power to an external device in dependence on a power condition being met and/or in dependence on the condition being met (Figures 10-11.)
Jiang does not disclose a charging port. Baldasare et al. teaches a system to charge an electronic device (mobile device) from a charging port of a charging station 110 (Para. [0011]. Figure 4C.) and thus facilitating the charging process. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang with a charging port such that the charging port for charging an item located in the cavity, as taught by Baldasare et al. with a reasonable expectation of success of facilitating charging.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and provides examples of similar inventions. There are no suggestions in the prior art of record for combining any of the references to arrive at as claimed. A few relevant prior art is listed in PTO 892 form.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN CUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675