DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on June 10, 2026, in response to the previous Office Action (03/13/2023) is acknowledged and has been entered.
Claims 15 – 31 and 33 – 38 are currently pending.
Claims 1 – 14 and 32 are cancelled.
Applicant’s amendment overcomes the following objections/rejections in the last Office Action:
Objection to claim informalities
Rejection under 35 USC 112(a)
Rejection under 35 USC 112(b)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant also submits that Canon fails to teach the added limitation of claim 15, “…the first heat transfer member is a plate- shaped member extending in an optical axis direction” (see remarks p. 8). Specifically, the “fin-shaped heat dissipating portions 24a-26a are not “plate-shaped member”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Canon, in figure 2, as pointed to by Applicant, teaches fin-shaped ends of the plates 24a-26a. These fin-shaped ends extend in the optical axis direction. The claim only requires “plate-shaped” but does not further define the term. The common definition of plate-shaped only requires that the object be thin and flat. The fins are thin and flat. Thus, Canon reads on the claim.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 31 and 36 – 38 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 29 includes the limitation “…a third heat transfer member”. This is not supported by the specification. The specification describes at most two heat transfer members in any embodiment. For purposes of art rejection, broadest reasonable interpretation will be exercises.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15 – 30, 33 and 36 – 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Canon JP2012-047798A (machine translation used).
Regarding claim 15, Canon discloses an imaging device comprising: a first heat transfer member (24/25/26) configured to transfer heat generated by a processing unit included in the imaging device to an upper part of a front cover (10) (fig. 1-2; ¶18), wherein a portion of the first heat transfer member (24a/25a/26a) is the first heat transfer member is a plate- shaped member extending in an optical axis direction (figs. 2).
Regarding claim 16, Canon discloses the limitations of claim 15. Canon also teaches comprising: a heat storage part (23-26) configured to accumulates heat transferred via the first heat transfer member (fig. 3; ¶18).
Regarding claim 17, Canon discloses the limitations of claim 15. Canon also teaches comprising: a second heat transfer member (24/25/26) configured to transfer heat generated by the processing unit (30/31) included in the imaging device to outside of the imaging device, wherein a fan (29) is disposed at a part of heat transfer destinations from the second heat transfer member to the outside of the imaging device (fig. 3; ¶18).
Regarding claim 18, Canon discloses the limitations of claim 15. Canon also teaches comprising: a second heat transfer member (24/25/26) configured to transfer heat generated by the processing unit (30/31) included in the imaging device to outside of the imaging device, wherein a heat dissipation part including a fan (29) is disposed at a part of a heat dissipation path from the second heat transfer member to the outside of the imaging device (fig. 3; ¶18).
Regarding claim 19, Canon discloses the limitations of claim 17. Canon also teaches wherein a rotation axis of the fan is orthogonal to an optical axis of the imaging device (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 20, Canon discloses the limitations of claim 17. Canon also teaches comprising: an image sensor (digital camera, located behind lens); and the processing unit (30, 31) (¶14), wherein the fan (29) is disposed at a position at which the fan does not overlap the image sensor and the processing unit in the optical axis direction (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 21, Canon discloses the limitations of claim 20. Canon also teaches wherein the processing unit includes a first processing unit (30) and a second processing unit (31), and wherein the fan (29) is disposed at a position at which the fan does not overlap any of the image sensor, the first processing unit, and the second processing unit in the optical axis direction (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 22, Canon discloses the limitations of claim 20. Canon also teaches wherein the processing unit includes a first processing unit (30) and a second processing unit (31), wherein the first processing unit, the second processing unit, and the image sensor are disposed at positions at which the first processing unit, the second processing unit, and the image sensor overlap in the optical axis direction (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 23, Canon discloses the limitations of claim 20. Canon also teaches wherein the processing unit includes a first processing unit and a second processing unit, wherein the first processing unit (30a) and the second processing unit (31a) are disposed at positions at which the first processing unit and the second processing unit do not overlap in the optical axis direction (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 24, Canon discloses the limitations of claim 18. Canon also teaches wherein the heat dissipation part is disposed at a portion that is not touched by an imaging device operator when the imaging device captures an image (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 25, Canon discloses the limitations of claim 18. Canon also teaches comprising an intake port (20) and an exhaust port (21) provided on one main surface of the heat dissipation part (fig. 1; ¶11).
Regarding claim 26, Canon discloses the limitations of claim 25. Canon also teaches wherein the intake port is provided at a lower part of the one main surface, and the exhaust port is provided at an upper part of the one main surface (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 27, Canon discloses the limitations of claim 26. Canon also teaches wherein the one main surface of the heat dissipation part is a side of the imaging device (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 28, Canon discloses the limitations of claim 25. Canon also teaches wherein the heat dissipation part further includes a heat dissipation member (28) that guides exhaust air of the fan to the exhaust port (¶18).
Regarding claim 29, Canon discloses the limitations of claim 28. Canon also teaches further comprising a heat transfer member that guides heat within a housing to the heat dissipation member (¶21).
Regarding claim 30, Canon discloses the limitations of claim 28. Canon also teaches wherein the first heat transfer member is capable of dissipating heat within the housing in a direction different from a direction of the heat dissipation member (figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 33, Canon discloses the limitations of claim 28. Canon also teaches comprising: a lens mount (fig. 1-2; inherent with lens 11),wherein the imaging device is handheld (figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 36, Canon discloses the limitations of claim 15. Canon also teaches wherein the plate-shaped member extending in the optical axis direction contacts the upper part of the front cover (fig. 2-3: 23-26 are at the top of the device).
Regarding claim 37, Canon discloses the limitations of claim 15. Canon also teaches wherein the first heat transfer member is L-shaped so as to include (i) the portion that is the plate-shaped member extending in the optical axis direction and (ii) another plate-shaped portion that is perpendicular to the optical axis direction (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 38, Canon discloses the limitations of claim 15. Canon also teaches wherein the portion of the first heat transfer member is a rectangular, plate- shaped member extending in the optical axis direction (fig. 3: each fin have rectangular shape).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Obana (US 2022/0030150) in view of Canon.
Regarding claim 31, Obana discloses an imaging device (1) comprising: a heat dissipation part (10) disposed at a left side edge when viewed from an imaging device operator when the imaging device is held at a lateral position (figs. 2-3; ¶26), wherein the heat dissipation part includes a fan (15) and is detachable from the imaging device (¶24). Obana fails to explicitly disclose wherein heat from a plurality of heat sources included in the imaging device is dissipated in different directions.
In a similar field of endeavor, Canon teaches a camera with heat transfer and dissipation means including a fan and plates 24a-26a. The device of cannon dissipates heat in different directions via the fins of 24a-26a (figs. 2-39). In light of the teaching of Canon, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Canon’s teaching in Obana’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in the option to increase cooling effect using directional dissipation from multiple members.
Claim(s) 34 – 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Canon in view of Obana (US 2022/0030150).
Regarding claim 34, Canon discloses the limitations of claim 17. Canon fails to explicitly disclose comprising: a heat dissipation part disposed at a left side edge when viewed from an imaging device operator when the imaging device is held at a lateral position; wherein the heat dissipation part includes a fan and is detachable from the imaging device, and wherein the second heat transfer member is in contact with a side surface of the imaging device, and the heat is transferred to the heat dissipation part due to the contact between the side surface and the heat dissipation part.
In a similar field of endeavor, Obana teaches a camera 1 (corresponds to imaging device) with a detachable electronic device 10 (corresponds to heat dissipation part) that includes a fan 15 and that acts as a heat dissipation unit (abstract). In Obana, the electronic device 10 is disposed on the left side of the camera 1 (see figs. 1), the camera includes a receptacle connector 2 (corresponds to the second heat transfer member) that transfers heat from the circuit board 3 (corresponds to the processing unit) via plug 11, to the electronic device 10 for cooling (figs. 2-4; ¶28-29). In light of the teaching of Obana, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Obana’s teaching in Canon’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in the option to downsize devices and increase cooling effect using an external dissipation unit.
Regarding claim 35, Canon in view of Obana discloses the limitations of claim 34. Canon also teaches comprising a plurality of the first heat transfer members, wherein each of the plurality of first heat transfer members transfers heat in a different direction (figs. 2, via fins 23a-26a).
Conclusion
/ANTOINETTE T SPINKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639