DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed June 10, 2026 . In view of this communication and the amendment concurrently filed: claims 1-13 were previously pending; claims 3-4, 6, 10, and 13 were cancelled and claims 14-15 were added by amendment; and thus, claims 1-2, 5, 7-9, 11-12, and 14-15 are now pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 10, 2026have been fully considered.
The Applicant's first point (page 6 of Remarks) cancels claim 3, making the drawing objection moot. The drawing objection is therefore removed.
The Applicant's second point (page 6 of Remarks) amends claim 1 to remove the redundant antecedent basis. The 112(b) rejection is therefore removed.
The Applicant's third point (page 7-8 of Remarks) argues that the present invention is structurally different from Fröhlich. While the disclosure of the present invention may contain some differences, these differences are not claimed limitations; therefore, they are not considered at the time. Additionally, as outlined before the product-by-process limitations determine patentability based on the product itself.
The Applicant's fourth point (page 9 of Remarks) amends claims 1 and 11 with new limitations to not be taught by Fröhlich. The Examiner disagrees and a rejection is provided below.
The Applicant's fifth point (page 10-11 of Remarks) amends claims 12 to more clearly show the hybrid assembly, however in the process of amending the claims the Applicant has inadvertently created two distinct products and the process of making the product. As written the claims are now restrictable, the process claims should be only directed to solely the product as claimed. Additionally, the Applicant argues that RETTBERG does not teach the methods of claim 12. The claim has been amended and a new rejections has been provided on those grounds.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The Examiner points out the limitation of “a forged attachment flange”, “the additively manufactured coolant distribution body”, “a material-bonded manner”, and “a force-fitting manner” in claims 1, 3-5, and 10-11, are considered as a product-by-process limitation. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777F, 2d 659, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985); see also MPEP 2113
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7-9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated Fröhlich (US 20190207449 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fröhlich teaches:
A rotor shaft (Fig 7; 3) for an electric motor for an aircraft engine[abstract and 0003], comprising:
a rotor shaft (Fig 7; 3) having a forged attachment flange(Fig 7; 2), wherein the attachment flange is provided for attachment to another shaft to transmit a force and/or a torque(Fig 14 shows the transmission of one shaft to another through gears), includes a first axial end (Fig 7; A1)facing the other shaft, and includes a base plate (Fig 7; 19)on a second axial end opposite the first axial end(Fig 7; A2), the base plate (Fig 7; 19)including at least one base plate coolant channel(Fig 7; 21), which is at least partially limited by the base plate(Fig 7; 19)(cooling channel runs the axial length of the flange 2 which includes the base plate 19),
wherein the rotor shaft (Fig 7; 3) has a coolant distribution body (Fig 7; 24) that is additively manufactured at least in some regions[0014], wherein the additively manufactured coolant distribution body (Fig 7; 24) is arranged on the base plate (Fig 7; 19)of the forged attachment flange(Fig 7; 2) in a radially centered manner, the coolant distribution body (Fig 7; 24) including a plurality of coolant distribution body coolant channels (Fig 7; 35/36)that are in fluidic connection with channel openings (opens shown at the base of the arrows in Fig 6 and 7)on an outer surface of the coolant distribution body(Fig 7; 24), the channel openings on the outer surface of the coolant distribution body (Fig 7; 24)are in fluidic connection with the at least one base plate coolant channel(Fig 7; 21), and
wherein the rotor shaft (Fig 7; 3) has a rotor device(Fig 7; 5), which radially surrounds the additively manufactured coolant distribution body(Fig 7; 24) and is joined to the base plate (Fig 7; 19)of the forged attachment flange(Fig 7; 2) at least in a force-fitting manner[0007].
Regarding claim 2, Fröhlich teaches the rotor shaft according to claim 1:
wherein the attachment flange (Fig 7; 2)comprises, on the first axial end(Fig 7; A1), a mount for mounting the other shaft(Fig 14; 55).
Regarding claim 5, Fröhlich teaches the rotor shaft according to claim 1:
wherein the coolant distribution body (Fig 7; 24)that is additively manufactured at least in some regions comprises an axially extending coolant supply (Fig 7; 6.1)element, in addition to the coolant channels(Fig 7; 35/36), on an end facing away from the attachment flange(Fig 7; 2) and is separate from the attachment flange(Fig 7; 2).
Regarding claim 7, Fröhlich teaches the rotor shaft according to claim 1:
wherein the rotor device (Fig 7; 5)is joined to the attachment flange (Fig 7; 2)through a connection device[0063].
Regarding claim 8, Fröhlich teaches the rotor shaft according to claim 7:
wherein the connection device has first tie rods(Fig 8/9; 31/32), which are anchored in the rotor device(Fig 7; 5) and the attachment flange(Fig 7; 2)[0063].
Regarding claim 9, Fröhlich teaches the rotor shaft according to claim 1:
wherein the rotor device (Fig 7; 5)comprises a rotor unit(Fig 7; 4), which is arranged axially between two flange plates(Fig 7; 19/20)[0057], wherein the two flange plates are joined to each other by second tie rods(Fig 8/9; 31/32)[0063](The first and second tie are reference by the same articles 31/32 because the first and second tie rod are not both contained in the same line of dependent claims).
Regarding claim 11, Fröhlich teaches:
An assembly for a rotor shaft(Fig 7; 3), comprising:
a forged attachment flange(Fig 7; 2), wherein the attachment flange (Fig 7; 2) is configured and arranged for attachment to another shaft to transmit a force and/or a torque(Fig 14 shows the transmission of one shaft to another through gears), comprises an axial end (Fig 7; A1) facing the other shaft, and comprises a base plate (Fig 7; 19)on a second axial end (Fig 7; A2)opposite the first axial end(Fig 7; A1), the base plate (Fig 7; 19)including at least one base plate coolant channel(Fig 7; 21), which is at least partially limited by the base plate(Fig 7; 19)(cooling channel runs the axial length of the flange 2 which includes the base plate 19),
wherein the rotor shaft(Fig 7; 3) has a coolant distribution body (Fig 7; 24) that is additively manufactured at least in some regions the coolant distribution body (Fig 7; 24) including a plurality of coolant distribution body coolant channels (Fig 7; 35/36)that are in fluidic connection with channel openings (opens shown at the base of the arrows in Fig 6 and 7)on an outer surface of the coolant distribution body(Fig 7; 24), the channel openings on the outer surface of the coolant distribution body (Fig 7; 24)are in fluidic connection with the at least one base plate coolant channel(Fig 7; 21),
wherein the additively manufactured coolant distribution body (Fig 7; 24)is arranged on the base plate (Fig 7; 19)of the forged attachment flange (Fig 7; 2)in a radially centered manner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 and 14-15is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fröhlich (US 20190207449 A1) in view of RETTBERG (US 20170341178 A1).
In regards to claim 12, Fröhlich teaches:
forming a base plate (Fig 7; 19)
forming a coolant distribution body(Fig 7; 24)
arranging the coolant distribution body(Fig 7; 24)on the base plate (Fig 7; 19)of the base plate in a radially centered manner(Fig 7; Axial line).
Fröhlich does not teach:
a base plate by forging;
a coolant distribution body by additive manufacturing at least in some regions;
RETTBERG teaches:
a base plate by forging(not necessarily forged but can be [0017]);
a coolant distribution body by additive manufacturing at least in some regions(shaft received by bore 9 [0048]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fröhlich by using the manufacturing method as taught by RETTBERG, in order to increase manufactory speed and improve cost efficiency [0009 RETTBERG].
In regards to claim 14, Fröhlich in view of RETTBERG, teaches the method according to claim 12:
arranging the coolant distribution body (Fig 7; 24)on the base plate(Fig 7; 19)by additively applying the coolant distribution body(Fig 7; 24) onto the attachment flange (Fig 7; 2).
Fröhlich does not teach:
in a material bonded manner.
RETTBERG teaches:
in a material bonded manner[0048].
In regards to claim 15, Fröhlich in view of RETTBERG, teaches the method according to claim 12:
providing at least one base plate coolant channel(Fig 7; 21) in the base plate(Fig 7; 19);
providing a plurality of coolant distribution body channels (Fig 7; 35/36)in the coolant distribution body(Fig 7; 24);
arranging the plurality of coolant distribution body coolant channels (Fig 7; 35/36)in fluidic connection with the at least one base plate coolant channel(Fig 7; 21).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834